Rent Donkey Kong Jungle Beat for Wii
view large frontback

Donkey Kong Jungle Beat

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.6

629 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games on Wii.

posted by Lindyin44 (CINCINNATI, OH) Dec 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

One of the best games on Wii. The controls are good. The music is fantastic. Nintendo EAD Tokyo really stepped up the DK franchise big time. I would put this game up there with The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess and Super Mario Galaxy. Yes the bosses can be repetitive with FOUR!!!! different boss types. This game is for EVERYONE!!! not just children. Yes the game is short but has lots of replay value. I say it has just as much as NSMBW. Overall a better experience than the GCN version. Defiantly Rent or Buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Same adventure, diffrent level

posted by Tekken1 (BAINBRIDGE ISLAND, WA) Oct 2, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

With this new play control, it feels like your on a 2d Mario Galaxy but you are useing the best of the best, "DONKEY KONG!" the gamecube version was easy cuss of the grab and the sound waves and lots of health, but with the Wii it's a little chalanging with the soundwaves cause you have to use the control stick to face the direction of your wave. Plus, way you move the bubble is fun and challanging cause you have to move the mote like a joy stick. The barrels wernt in the orrginal, so that bilds up some combos. and finaly, it's just plain fun! you will enjoy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A strangely familiar Beat

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) May 10, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

One of Nintendo's most known icons makes a return in one of his must unusual games, Donkey Kong Jungle Beat.
But instead of using bongos, you beat with the Wiimote and Nunchuck to unleash an attack.
You can use the slap attack that destroys/stuns enemies and sends some projectiles back where they come from.
You can also grab enemies (most likely stunned enemies) and pound on them with your fists. No matter how many times I do that, it never gets old. The rest of the controls are your standard platforming fare.
The story is not very memorable; you have to rescue several kingdoms from evil by getting through two platforming levels and beating the big boss at the end of the second level.
But games like this aren't known for their story, their known for their fun factor. And there's a lot of fun on display here - lots more fun if you're a platforming fan.
Blasting through barrels, riding on birds, and zipping through zip lines are featured in this game. Though not original, they're used very well.
But just like any other platforming game, there will be a few sets of jumps that will try your patience.
And the bosses repeat over and over again. There are only three boss types on display here.
Getting past the twelve kingdoms will probably take three to four hours for most skilled players (which is a bit on the short side), and those not interested in platforming games won't find anything to like here.
But Donkey Kong Jungle Beat has a lot going for it, and you don't have to buy an accessory to play it. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Game was good for some

posted by pronex (GREENVILLE, SC) Jun 8, 2009

Member since May 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The game was a good game if you like this kind of game. It got boring to me doing the same thing every level. It took me about 8 hours to beat the game and I am no good at games really. Nothing very hard about it but a good and easy game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great

posted by reece1973 (WICHITA, KS) Mar 7, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

Great game bought it for my son he love's it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

so good I actually wrote a review "best game

posted by 999love (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Oct 17, 2011

Member since Oct 2006

game was fun ez to play, had better controlls than the game cube vershion with the bongos. got rid of all the bugs. its not a ddr type game it is a side scroller. fun bosses, cool moves. alittle ezer than the gamecube vershion. good replay value. I bot the game. good for kids not violent but still entertaining yet also good for adults not childish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

donkey kong jungle beat

posted by liladdytude (ALTOONA, PA) Sep 9, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

i recieved my game and it wouldnt load .would like new one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Donkey Kong Jungle Beat

posted by Legostu64 (ROCKY MOUNT, VA) Jan 11, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

When I rented this game it soon shot up to my favorite DK game. It is a very unique game that makes great use of the motion control on the Wii. You're going to be shaking the controller so much, your arms will feel like jello.

Story: Isn't really much to say here. The game doesn't do the best job at explaining the story, in fact I didn't even know what the story was until I beat it. For all I knew I was just running around fighting ninja monkeys and pig monsters out of boredom. But apparently you're trying to help these monkeys because evil kings took over the kingdoms.

Game play: The game play is brilliantly suited for the Wii. The game looks great. It looks as if every individual hair on DK was animated. Everything has this same look to it as well. I had tons of fun jumping, punching, deflecting watermelons, throwing pineapple bombs, and making birds explode by cracking the egg they're holding. The level design is unique from one level to the next. You go from jungles to volcanoes to arctic oceans, and even space! The only thing I didn't like was the final boss. He actually seemed to be the easiest in the game. He's the only boss I DIDN'T take damage on. Other than that I enjoyed everything about the game.

Overall this game is great and I definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Donkey Kong Jungle Beat

posted by marilynyae (NEW BERN, NC) Dec 27, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

This is just like the gamecube version except it really gives your arms a good work out. I didn't like it as much as my kids did

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Meh

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

The graphics are very good, and the concept is an admirable one, but the gameplay gets old fast. There are some neat things to do, but most of it is pretty repetitive and tedious. It's fun for a while, but you may well lose interest before you've completed the game (which isn't overly long in the first place).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

becomes frustrating

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 20, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

unfair restart points, violent and spastic boss fights, just not what it could have been

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WII Donkey Kong JB

posted by granmamab (Owings Mills, MD) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This is a good game. I love Donkey Kong. And this one is good also. Gives you a workout and is fun also.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Family Fun

posted by evanzmom (WILMINGTON, NC) Jan 5, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

Kids loved it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

LAME

posted by dawnr715 (BURBANK, IL) Oct 15, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 word...LAME! It is too easy. It is the same thing from level to level. There is nothing challenging about it. Just shake the controllers around alot and you beat the level, not worth it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Another Wii strikeout...

posted by TrojanCat (CHRISTIANSBURG, VA) Sep 4, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

It lasted less then 5 minutes on my tv... I played it for less then 60 seconds probably. It may be the best game in the world but you usually can tell pretty quickly if it is going to be worth your time or not. It seemed like a game designed for little, little kids. So if you are under 8 you might love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

dissappointing but fun for the wii

posted by mrtazz (SHELBY, OH) Aug 20, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

ok the titale syas 10+ but thru the missions all you do is collect bannnaa and the whole misison takes no mor e 3 min ! then you fighht a boss etc and thats prety much the whole game ! they use fruits for the kingdoms but i would rank this as for kids maybe 5-8 older than that and its just way to easy the firts few leveels ar fun till yuoy relaize thats all yuor doing ove r and ove r grapghics / sound etc is all great on the wii and much easier than shoving a litle anoalog stick my 14 year played it and in 145 min wa s thru half the levels fun to rent never buy but stil l give it a 5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good for kids

posted by nyrfan23 (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Aug 9, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

It was Good ! Could've been better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

dk jungle beat

posted by gjmgfghyg (ABBEVILLE, LA) Jul 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

this game is good until you get to the banshee swamp on melon kingdom because the bird is impossible to beat so this game is slightly above average.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

So-So

posted by imanderz (Seattle, WA) Jul 16, 2009

Member since May 2009

Played this game for about an 1hour and got bored.. The controls were abit of a challenge to figure out.. This could be a good game for the tweens & teens but not so much for the young adults to adults. DK is one of a few icons that nintendo graced us with and this game is abit of a let down to us that grew up playing DK on older consoles..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Better on Gamecube

posted by Junbug8 (HOLLAND, MI) Jun 15, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

This game to me was a let down not big one though. There just was a lot I didn't like about it like the boss battles those were way to repetitive thats one and also that using the Wii remote and nunchuck on this game got my hands hurting after the first couple of levels. Sure the bongos in the first one hurt my hands too. However it was just a whole lot funner there was just no fun in swinging the remote and nunchuck in this game. To me beter played on the gamecube and with bongos.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

DKJB

posted by desert (CASA GRANDE, AZ) Jun 8, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

This game was really fun to play! Get those bananas!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pretty pretty pretty pretty good.

posted by IamMusic (BROOKLYN, NY) May 23, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

this is one of the best games on wii. if you were a fan of the super NES donkey kong. then you will LOVE this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good job on the second chance

posted by wiiplayer2 (BATAVIA, IL) May 13, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

Well nintendo got a second chance on the DK jungle beat, and I have to say it's much better than the gamecube version. some pros are obviously the control is better, it's simple, and it's a good kid friendly game. now for some cons: the game is short,it seems repetetive, and the story is not inspired. ok so you will never get this... guess what the storyline is, some bananas were stolen and DK goes to get them. how original right? well aside from that the game is actually pretty good. So I wouldn't say it's the must have of the year, but you know I would rent it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »