Rent Donkey Kong: Jungle Beat for GC
view large frontback

Donkey Kong: Jungle Beat

Not Rentable
GF Rating
7.5

442 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Innovative and addicting!

posted by Justy8 (BURBANK, CA) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Once again Nintendo leads the pack when it comes to innovation. With Donkey Kong: Jungle Beat, you use the bongos from Donkey Konga as a controller. Keep hitting the right side to move right, the left side to move left and hit both to jump. It takes some getting used to, but once mastered, incredible combos can be pulled off.

Boss battles are the most fun. It takes little strategy, but when you get your chance you get to hit those bongos like a mad monkey to pummel evil gorillas.

My only complaint is occasionally the response to the bongos can get irritating. Since hitting the side of the bongos is like clapping, you might want to hit one drum and wind up hitting the side, or the bongos slide away from you (If you do not have a bongo stand, or carpet).

I always love it when games are innovative. It gives gamers a different experience then what they are used to and Donkey Kong: Jungle Beat is one of those games. I definitely recommend renting it if you have the bongos already. The game is not much fun using the controller. That would be like playing DDR without the mat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Donkey Kong: Jungle Beat

posted by XMen1Alex (Chicago, IL) Jul 19, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is an awsome game i enjoy the challenge i can sit and play for hours.the beat of the music the little monkeys make me laugh. the bad guys are tough to beat we dont have the bongos but the controller are just as fun all the kingdoms are exciting the jumping and clapping to get the most points again awsome!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It actually works.

posted by ndogg550 (NORTH AURORA, IL) Mar 20, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Leave it to nintendo to be able to implement a strange control scheme...and have it actually work well. It's a very simple game, but the fact that the controls seem second nature after about 2 or 3 levels makes it a really fun experience. I can't imagine playing it w/o the bongos, because on it's own, it's a pretty simple and weak platformer, but it surprisingly is a LOT of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

donkey kong jungle beat

posted by ekekukui (WAIKOLOA, HI) Aug 25, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

could not rate it fairly. game kept displaying "not able to read". opening graphics were excellent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun with bongos

posted by Junbug8 (HOLLAND, MI) Jun 24, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

First of all only rent/get this game if you have the bongos. Anyway I thought this game is got to be one of the most innovative action/adventure title I played in a while. I played the game with both the controller and bongos and it seems kind a like each of the controllers have ups. The bongos seems to be okay with platforming and are very good at the fighting parts of the game. Gamecube controller I only suggest if you get stuck pretty hard in one of the levels. Fighting parts of the game are really hard wth the gamecube to me anyway. So overall this game is excellent however the only thing I didn't like were the boss fights way too repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Donkey Kong is GOD!

posted by Tekken1 (BAINBRIDGE ISLAND, WA) Jun 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Their is no stoping this stubern monkey! In this game, Donkey Kong shows his true form of Power and Strength by your bongo abillity. I wish that Nintendo made a sequal and make another Donkey Kong Jungle Beat, cause this is just unstopable!

It's sad that it became a short game, but I still want to play it again, and again, and again. Better watch out TABU, cause here comes DK!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very fun but tiring

posted by Jumpman (COTTAGE GROVE, OR) May 9, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

This game is lots of fun the only thing wrong with it is always smacking the bongos and the game is to short I beat it in like 3 hours. But if you do not have bongos don`t rent it you don`t have to use the bongos but the controllers controlls are the worst I1ve ever seen. So make sure you have bongos. The game has only three worlds with 4 levels each world but al levels are like two levels in one and each level has a boss. But that`s all there is to the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun game

posted by initiator (NORTHRIDGE, CA) Jan 24, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

When played with the Donkey Konga Bongos, this game is a lot of fun. My only complaint is that my hands got tired after playing the game for about 15 minutes. Other than that, it was great. It's interesting to note that several character moves and sounds in this game are now found in Super Mario Galaxy on Nintendo Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by AwesomeAJ1 (NATCHITOCHES, LA) Aug 15, 2007

Member since May 2005

This game is awesome but very short. It's definite worth a rental

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stupid Frikken Monkey.

posted by angerstorm (CEDAR PARK, TX) Mar 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

I made the unfortunate mistake of buying this game.I don't think it even deserves to be rented.The controls are indeed unique,and they may entertaining at times,but because Nintendo and the Donkey Kong team like the idea of bongos for controls,the the gameplay is limited.For example, the fighting.With small fries,you clap.You touch the enemy and they blow up or some other goofy animation.The boss battles are the best part of the game and still not too impressive.And,you know,when you beat a boss too bad,it powers up with rage.When you get beat up(trust,you will)you don't get a new ability,and you know why?Ding!His controls consist of an L beat,a R beat,a clap,two beats at once,L beat then R beat over and over again,and-oh wait,THAT'S IT!A.K.A.,not enough to learn new moves.Because of this,Donkey Kong Jungle Beat is barely over repetitive.Please,for your sake and mine,don't get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great, Great, Great

posted by nnaatteedd (BIG STONE GAP, VA) Jul 21, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

This game is really really good. Sure, the controls are really hard to get used to. But as soon as you figure it out...wow. It's a fun game, no replay value, but just getting through it once is a challenge. You feel like you're beating up the baddies, as you smack the bongos. I DO NO RECOMMEND THIS GAME WITHOUT THE BONGOS!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Donkey Kong: Jungle Beat is a great game.

posted by mathman817 (FAIR OAKS, CA) Jul 16, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

Donkey Kong: Jungle Beat for the Nintendo Gamecube is an excellent game for Gamecube fans such as myself. It introduces a new type of Action/Adventure game genre, by using the bongo drum controller as a new way to move Donkey Kong around the many colorful worlds and environments by either clapping or banging your way through many worlds. The main goal of the game is to become king of the jungle, but to do that, Donkey Kong must collect as many beat as he can in order to earn crests of royalty. You earn the bronze crest just for beating the boss, and in addition you can earn other crests by collecting many beats. 400 beats= Silver Crest. 800 beats= Gold Crest. The more crests you collect, the more kingdoms you can unlock. At the end of every kingdom is a boss. Each of these bosses have special weaknesses that you can use to your advantage. At first the bosses may seem easy, but later as you progress through the game, they become tedious and difficult.

Although the compatibility with different age groups and skill levels is limited, Donkey Kong: Jungle Beat for the Nintendo Gamecube is still an outstanding game. The graphics are colorful and well-defined, the gameplay is innovative and fun and overall, Donkey Kong: Jungle Beat is a must have game for the Gamecube.

Overall Score: 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »