Rent Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze for Wii U
view large frontback

Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze

Rent

Keep for: $39.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.9

358 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is so fun, yet frustrating

posted by jackjackisback (LISLE, IL) Apr 9, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Donkey Kong Country: Returns was a game that I was not crazy about, but this one was so good. Tropical Freeze is easier than Returns, but it is still not easy. I was able to make it to the final boss fight and still have not beat it. Still, if this game was easy then I would have finished it fast and would've possibly never played it again. This game makes you work to win, and I love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game of 2014 so far...

posted by mesota (POST FALLS, ID) Mar 3, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is hands down the best game of 2014 so far. There is nothing to not like. This is a perfect game. Thank you Nintendo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A great title and a great deal of fun.

posted by marlynbrando69 (ELGIN, SC) Mar 11, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I will not embellish, this game is incredibly difficult. I also found it to be greatly satisfying whenever I finally beat a level or boss I had been stuck on for a while. To be brief, If you don't enjoy this game, you probably don't enjoy video games. Definitely pick this up for a rent, buy it if you really enjoy it.
-MB.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Equally fun and challenging

posted by Phatsnake (NEW YORK, NY) Jul 28, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

The game is truly fun and challenging, specially if played cooperatively with another player. A lot of trial and error and patience are required to beat the game. The new character Cranky Kong has a pogo stick move that can make platforming a little easier. I think children may find it too challenging so please keep that in mind before renting. Tropical Freeze is a better game than Donkey Kong Country Returns in my opinion and it's a worthy successor to the SNES classic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Blurry

posted by NJE160904 (CINCINNATI, OH) Jun 8, 2014

Member since Jun 2013

When we received this game, it was so blurry that we couldn't play. I'm not sure if it was a problem with the one copy we rented, or if that's true for other copies, but my brother and I were disappointed in the visuals quality.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nothing surpring.

posted by f22chris (SAN ANTONIO, TX) May 31, 2014

Member since May 2014

I could be alone on this, but this game seems like Super Mario except instead of Mario it's an ape. Of course the graphics are better than the previous DK games but like I said, it's like Super Mario. I do like that you can use Diddy, Dixie, and finally Cranky Kong, and that they have their own special ability. I will give it this, this game is HARD at times, if you like the challenge you'll like this game, but the replay value of this game isn't very high in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FUN FOR EVERYONE

posted by baseball4life (MERCED, CA) May 31, 2014

Member since May 2014

This game was super hard, but also really cool!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Nothing to see here. Been done better elsewhere.

posted by Beweeg (ROCHESTER, NY) May 28, 2014

Member since May 2004

It's a platformer about monkeys/apes that cannot grab ledges. Frustratingly difficult and makes no sense. Nice graphics though!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nice!! Classic!!

posted by R3C0NXD45 (CASTLE ROCK, CO) May 19, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

I love donkey kong. Especially classic snes donkey kong. This feels new and fresh and yet very loyal. New and old with both enjoy this amazing game, classics like these are the only reason that I own a wii u.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Okay Game

posted by juaneaters (EL PASO, TX) May 6, 2014

Member since May 2014

It's a fun game but too difficult for my kids. They are nine years old and they just played it one time and just left it there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring game with vapid characters

posted by karlaamspacher (BEAVERTON, OR) May 3, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

After playing Rayman Origins, Rayman Legends, and the new Super Mario games, this game leaves too much to be desired.

It feels like a SNES game and the lack of Anti-aliasing is unbearable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MOST DIFFICULT GAME OF ALL TIME BUT WORTH IT

posted by KyCoDi25 (LAKELAND, FL) Apr 7, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

it's almost as good as the old DKCs but the graphics look phenomenal and the gameplay like i said is challenging just like the classics. THIS IS A MUST PLAY!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A must have for your Wii U collection

posted by hydropolos (Springfield, MO) Mar 14, 2014

Member since May 2007

If you've been holding out for a a solid Nintendo title that will bring back the classic feel of console gaming, now is the time for you to buy your Wii U. If you already own a Wii U, it's pretty much your BIRTHDAY! Donkey Kong Tropical Freeze brings back so many elements of DK Country with absolutely gorgeous graphics and catchy tunes from the original composer.

Play it, beat it, buy it, and saddle up on your rhino cause there are plenty of secret levels with loads of bananas just waiting to be found. Rayman was great, Donkey Kong is awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but not fresh

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Mar 7, 2014

Member since Apr 2010

It's a very good game, and well made, but, if you've played "Donkey Kong Country Returns" on Wii or 3DS, don't expect anything new. It's basically just more of the same, except I thought "DKC Returns" was better. That's not to say that you shouldn't bother with this otherwise excellent game. Just don't go in looking for a dramatic shake-up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Follow-Up to a Classic, but Not For Me...

posted by XYA (NEW LONDON, CT) Feb 28, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

This game is true to the Donkey Kong series in every way (I loved playing it on super nintendo when I was a kid). Many of the previous elements like red balloons, 'Rambi the Rhino', and "Evil Boss going out of his way to pick on Donkey Kong -just because-" make a return (haha).

Playing it was nostalgic, and the newer mechanics (like climbing ceilings, co-op moves, etc) make the game much more appealing than the older ones, but it didn't feel new. After playing it with my cousin for an hour, the game became less and less fun, and we pretty much dropped our controllers and gave up.

This game is definitely directed towards a newer generation of gamers among others who still find joy in the series. Unfortunately, I don't fit the category. Even with that said, do not let this discourage you from renting this game, but just know what to expect if you've already played the originals.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »