Rent Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D for 3DS
view large frontback

Donkey Kong Country Returns 3D

Rent

Keep for: $27.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $27.99

GF Rating
7.5

259 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

PRETTY GREAT!!!

posted by Reviewz (WEBSTER, NY) Jan 10, 2014

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Normally I don't really enjoy these types of games, but this game got me hooked as soon as I played it. There are extra items to get in each level which makes you want to play even more. Graphics are great for a DS game and the 3D looks amazing! The game also changes from foreground to background sometimes which makes playing even more fun! I personally have no problems with this game. Its fun, exciting, and challenging at times but not too difficult. I would highly recommend this game to anyone! You wont be disappointed :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good game!

posted by xxmctotoxx (NEWNAN, GA) Aug 23, 2013

Member since May 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After reading other reviews I was very hesitant to try it. I haven't played the Wii version, so it was a completely new game to me. Graphics are pretty good and it's a really fun classic game. Other reviews don't give it proper justice.

If you have not played the Wii version and love classic Donkey Kong, then you will love this game. A lot of extra add-ons make the game a bit easier to play. The 3D part of it is funny and actually good. Overall, this was a great game and I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

donkey kong on the 3ds LOL

posted by tomacito90 (MCALLEN, TX) Jul 4, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i love this game better than any oyher game reto stodus did a grate job put donky kong for the 3ds

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

super mario bros. but donkey kong!!!!!!!! love it!

posted by donkeykong8 (CHATTANOOGA, TN) May 30, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

this is like super Mario bros. but its donkey kong!!!! also you are not timed I didn't even try this game out and I loved it which doesn't happen very often.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Overall Bad QUality

posted by HPDonut (SOUTH PLAINFIELD, NJ) Jun 4, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 15 gamers (13%) found this review helpful

I've always followed the Franchise of Donkey Kong Country since the Super Nintendo titles, but this game is an exact copy of the Wii version slapped on a 3ds cartridge with mediocre 3d effects. if you have already played the Wii version don't bother because all you will get out of it is portability and some mediocre 3d effects.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

<3 DK

posted by Californinja (SAN JOSE, CA) Apr 17, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

DK is Beast

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Hands Down Worst Controls in a Sidescroller Ever

posted by pizzaquest (NORTH CHESTERFIELD, VA) Feb 26, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I was incredibly excited to rent this title. At the beginning of the game I was having a great nostalgic time reentering the jungles of Donkey Kong Country, but that nostalgia wore off within a few levels, and I started to catch of a glimpse of the clunky controls. At first I figured I would get the hang of the controls. There has been plenty of games I have played where the controls felt unnatural at first, but soon enough those controls became second nature: THIS IS NOT ONE OF THOSE GAMES. By the seventh world in the game when the level difficulty actually picks up I found myself screaming at my 3DS every time I died. Not that satisfying "I WAS SO CLOSE, I CAN FEEL IT! I'M GOING TO BEAT THIS GAME!" scream, but a much different "ARE YOU KIDDING ME? NO YOU'RE RIGHT DONKEY KONG, I DIDN'T PUSH THE JUMP BUTTON AT THE EDGE OF THE LEDGE!" scream. The game never registers your button inputs at the ABSOLUTE worst times. It feels like the game decides randomly if it wants the controls to be too rigid or too loose every time you make a difficult leap, seemingly always in the way you don't want it to be, resulting in jumps that fall too short or completely past the target you were aiming for. I initially was trying to complete the game 100% by finding all the collectibles and secrets, but realized that was pointless halfway into the second world when I needed to quickly and efficiently ground pound and blow objects in the game to gather puzzle pieces while dodging obstacles; a literally impossible feat when the game doesn't register 50% of your down+Y and down+B commands. I played until the very last level of the game wherein you have to use one of rocket barrels (which have exponentially worse controls than normal gameplay) to navigate upwards while dodging stationary and mobile obstacles. The problem here was the game NEVER registered any of my leftward joystick inputs resulting in me killing myself for 40 minutes. These controls make a mockery of a would-be good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

True gamers know this is a perfect game

posted by mackyoshi (PORTSMOUTH, NH) Jan 21, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

To the two people who gave it a bad review: The 3D effects aren't "mediocre" they're astounding and you don't even need glasses; I don't find ANYTHING wrong with it. And hello, but if you can't handle a challenging platformer, then perhaps you shouldn't be playing video games at all.

Retro Studios is my favorite game developer. They revived the Metroid franchise and impressed Nintendo so much they let them remake Donkey Kong Country, and it couldn't be better, it really couldn't.

They took one of the best platforming games in history and recharged it with dynamic gameplay, captivating new and old remixed music, and now the graphics are in near-flawless 3D? Yes please.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fun game

posted by gunznbutta (MECHANICSBURG, PA) Jul 6, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

i didnt have a wii so i rented this n it was a real fun game but definatly some time wanted to throw the 3ds good rental but it is challinging at timescant wait for the next one hopfully i will get a wii u

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »