Rent Donkey Kong Country 2 for GBA
view large frontback

Donkey Kong Country 2

Not Rentable
GF Rating
7.3

195 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Fun Nintendo Game

posted by Spider (KANSAS CITY, MO) Aug 31, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The only Nintendo game I've liked that wasn't portable was the Super Smash Bros. games. This is about Diddy and Dixie Kong fighting alongside each other. It's pretty fun and has a great co-op mode that my brother and I play quite a bit. It has a few mini games which are fun, but not so great. Finally, I give it 6 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good if you've never played the original...

posted by dakaptin (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Mar 13, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is actually pretty decent. In fact, if I'd never played DKC2 for the SNES, I'd have no problems at all. Now for the sake of objectivity, I'll review this as though I've never played this before. But I'll get into my gripes later on.

Graphics: 7
Graphics are well designed. Sprites are clearly seen. Colors are good. But nothing really stands out, especially since all this has been seen on other games.

Sound: 6
Music is OK as well. I did have some problems with the audio being too loud, even after adjustment, but the music itself is par for an action platformer.

Gameplay: 6
Again, decent for a platformer. It did feel a little stiff at times, but overall, it was good.

Overall: 7/4
Alright! Gripin' time! Above you'll see two scores. The first is for your first foray in DKC2. If it's your first time, this game doesn't do much wrong, but it really doesn't accel in any way either. It's fun for a while, but I'd only recommend renting this, as you can only do everything once.
However, if you have played the original before, my apologies to you for being tricked into renting this. This is NOT DKC2. At all. First off, the controls are totally off. Not because of the ABLR control scheme, as you can get used to that. It's the change in mechanics. Everything that was good about the mechanics has been changed. The characters slide FAR too easily. Diddy has become a nuisance, since Dixie now climbs faster than Diddy, and she's able to kill stuff in front of her, even though she carries stuff ABOVE HER HEAD! The bosses are WAY too easy compared to the original, and stuff that used to be easy is now UBERLY hard. The new boss is easy and DUMB (unless you play with Diddy, of course) and the extras (Wrinkly's cameras, Funky's flight missions, Cranky's Expresso races, Klubba's Bug Chase) are all DUMB and IRRITATING. Anyway, if you've never played DKC2, it's good for a weekend, but if you've played it before, don't even bother renting.

3 of 5 (2 of 5)
7.5 of 10 (4 of 10)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Donkey kong country 2

posted by crazynano (LA GRANGE, NC) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

donkey kong country 2 is amazing I have donkey kong country for the snes and gba but neither was better than 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Don't give up.

posted by boobuddy64 (CLOVERDALE, IN) Oct 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game was very fun. Even though it got tough I still tried. The final boss was hard but also very fun! The ending was great and cool. This is one of the best games I have ever played. But also one of the thoughest too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great for SNES and also GBA!!!

posted by CashIsHere (WEST NEW YORK, NJ) Jun 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

The Donkey Kong series is my favorite that Nintendo has to offer. It all started on the SNES and from there I fell in love. A few months ago my friend let me play his DK series but for GBA. I fell in love once again. I didn't want to stop playing so i asked if i can borrow it and he said no. I looked all over online to purchase and nothing. Until Gamefly saved the day until i never received the game =[...DK2 for GBA is just like the SNES but hard to get used to the controls. It has the same characters and worlds but this is on my guess since i never got to play. But i've heard its a great game and won't let you down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »