Rent Donkey Kong Barrel Blast for Wii
view large frontback

Donkey Kong Barrel Blast

Not Rentable
GF Rating
5.2

1317 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's OK

posted by LACCA88 (LOMPOC, CA) Dec 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I like racing games and I like Donkey Kong games...I thought this game would be awesome. But, unfortunately, it falls short. The tracks are repetitive and the movements are strange. It's okay to play for a little bit but it gets tiring after a while. The replay value just isn't there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Fun for Adults

posted by johnoed (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Jul 2, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

We absolutely loved this game. Yes, it was written for the DS originally but it is loads of fun on the Wii. The one thing we had a little problem with was opening other races after completing a course. Hoping that once we buy the game we will be able to open those easily.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sluggish Racing, Poor Controls

posted by trucles (REDWOOD CITY, CA) Jan 18, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Thought this might be fun to try, since we usually like wacky racing games. Very disappointed, as controls are difficult, resulting in a lot of random and inopportune jumping. In addition, the max speed is slow, so you find yourself constantly trying to accelerate beyond max speed. Finally, there's little to no steering, as your racer will follow the track even if you don't do anything. Could've been a lot of fun, but was just very frustrating instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun, but not worth buying for $50

posted by pushpops07 (LAFAYETTE, CO) Nov 14, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a pretty fun wii game. However, you will unlock pretty much everything in about 4 days. After that, there isn't much to do. Yhe controls make it seem fun though. I recommend renting it, because you will be dissapointed that you paid $50 for such a small game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent In Small Doses

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Oct 12, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Nintendo Knows How To Make Fun and Unique Games!

I do have to agree that your wrists do hurt after an hour or two of gameplay. However this game transitioned well from the original Gamecube to the Wii (along with the Super Paper Mario).

This has great (everything); except it can be a bit difficult at times. I never played the Donky Konga games or even the classic titles from the SNES (I will download soon).

I will buy this one but not now because there about 30-40 games this year from Third Party that I want. These games will put away the negative that the Wii won't be around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

D.K. Blast

posted by barrel (MURRYSVILLE, PA) Apr 27, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The game Donkey Kong Barrel Blast literally is a blast! You get to play 3 in awesome levels with tons of characters. It's a fun racing game and I think everyone should try it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Charecters that should have been in the game

posted by Tekken1 (BAINBRIDGE ISLAND, WA) Apr 25, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Good guys:
1. Chunky Kong
2. Kiddy Kong
3. Donkey Kong Jr.
4. Candy Kong
5. Swanky Kong

Bad guys:
1. Dread kong
2. Karate Kong
3. Ninja kong
4. Sumo kong
5. Ghastly King

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

New way to race

posted by Prime79 (POTTSTOWN, PA) Oct 23, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game takes your regular race game, and makes you think twice. You need the nun chuck to play this. The basic idea is finish first, and use items to slow other racers. I liked the idea of being able to reach a max speed, though some characters max speed is slow. The ability to get speed boosts was a good idea. The ability to attack obstacle and other racers is nice as well. Short cuts with barrels are available, as well with a sword fish, from what I saw. Moving around the track was easy, even the needed jumps. My 3yr old was able to play this game to race. I found some of the challenges a real pain, and got sick of playing the same 3 races. If you have the time to figure out how to unlock other race tracks, and enjoy simplistic games this is for you. I think if more race tracks were available from the start it would have held my interest longer. I played with 2 players and had a good time for the most part.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Is this what Donkey Kong is become?

posted by ryezenup (CHARLOTTE, NC) Oct 12, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have no idea why they had to make it so that you had to move your arms like that it's very repetitious and I 'm sure they were meaning very good intentions on this style of gaming but this is down right torture and really if your not a kid with adhd then you really can't pull this off and the meaning of having to go out and buy more nunchuks so everyone else can play is down right ingenious marketing but like I said before if you wanna have a coronary bypass in the future please refrain from picking this title, your better off getting it for the kids it surely will tire them out. but for this old gamer this is far from the other wii-esque style gaming that I like in other games. I think I'm turning it back in for the kids to rent so they can burn off there infinite energy way to go Nintendo!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

REALLY WORKS OUT YOUR ARMS!!

posted by trarocks (TRENTON, NJ) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Can be a fun game but not much variety!! All of the options are the same three courses! Easy to control and fun being a monkey!! Give it a try!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not as bad as they say

posted by killabart (NEW LONDON, CT) Oct 16, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is not as bad as the reviews wouldmake u think. its a little slow but the obstacles make u react fast. the controls work pretty good i could dodge barrels just fine except sometimes when the tracks turning u have to jump the barels because they push u towards the wall and wont let u turn nomatter how hard you drum. the random jumping isnt that bad u just cant drum too fast and from my expierience it doesnt really make a difference also u can still turn in the air so worst to worst youll miss a baanana or a ballon. ayway id say its worth a rent not a buy and a good holdover while waiting for mario kart.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Can I stop? I'm Tired...

posted by mghtmike (LA HABRA, CA) Oct 19, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

This game reminded me of a mario cart gone monkey. The only problem with this game is the controls. Similar to rowing a boat you must keep in constant struggle to turn and straighten by shaking your Wii remote up and down. Left remote to turn left; right remote to turn right. It gets tiring and old fast!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

don't bother

posted by kkkkk (ORTONVILLE, MI) Mar 5, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

just don't just... don't.i played this game for about 10 min and i was so tierd that i almoust passed out. you just swing the wii controler up and down up and down and the traks are miles long. but the look of the game is good. but that is the only good side. so just don't bother it's BAD.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Looks terrible

posted by cahil10 (WATERLOO, IA) Jun 19, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

Just by the video I can tell it's terrible!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

disapointed

posted by wlmaul (LANCASTER, PA) Apr 17, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

This would have been a great game if it had not been for the controls. The figure would not turn when it waqs supposedtoo. There is a tutorial on the game but it doesn'really help.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's a good one

posted by granmamab (Owings Mills, MD) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I played the original Donkey Kong games from NES and SNES. This one is good. I enjoyed it. It gives your arms a workout. After a while it does get tiring and repetitive but overall it is a good one.
I will buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

fun,hard,cool

posted by imxman9999 (OAKDALE, CA) Nov 22, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

great game sort of , but fun but controls are hard and i only like it because of winning chracters

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Banging the drums too much

posted by drwebmonke (JACKSONVILLE BEACH, FL) Apr 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

I thought this might be interesting, but it's like a strange implementation of a simple race game that requires shaking the WIIMote to go, steer, jump. It would be a better game if it used the controller like a normal racing game.

Avoid it unless you are a drummer and want to bang on the drums!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not what we expected

posted by cdonn76 (PETOSKEY, MI) Jan 26, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This game is nothing like a racing game should be. It's pretty boring, not much to keep you interested. The controls are awful, you really never feel like you're in control. My wife and I played it for about 10 minutes and decided to send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst racing game

posted by zack21 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

this is a very wierd "racing" game. I dont know if you could even call it racing!!! you have to pound your remote and nunchuck constantly to race. and i couldnt even figure out how to steer...

if you like racing games, DONT GET THIS GAME!!!!!
IT'S A DISGRACE TO RACING GAMES!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Comes up waaaay short

posted by rallyfan (KUNA, ID) Nov 23, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

I was initially believing the hype to this game when i rented it. In my opinion don't even bother wasting the shipping time by renting this it blows. The controls are simple, drum the wiimote and nunchuk to build up speed and drum left or right to turn, which the game pretty much does for you really, but even within the first 3 races it got repetitive which makes this game have like 0 in the replayability factor. The motion to jump and turn is very simple, but the game fails to match the motion onscreen which makes you second guess when to jump and results in running into things alot. Even my kid and his friends thought it sucks, so i guess nintendo failed to meet their target market with this one. epic fail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Epic Fail!

posted by Vericlese (EDMOND, OK) Nov 9, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

Controls are wonky at best. Graphics are meh. The AI is insulting even to my 2 year old. Depth...none. To each there own but I would steer clear of this thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What the....

posted by Snow1118 (WOODHAVEN, NY) Mar 29, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

it is bad... it is bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Mario Cart Meets Bongo Drums

posted by Tylus0 (HONOLULU, HI) Mar 11, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

This game is good if you have a bunch of 5 yr olds who need to release some energy.

After 1 hr of playing I sealed it up and sent it back. The game is not intuitive to play, and is actually very very hard to master. Both of my arms hurt from the repetitive bongo "banging" this game requires.

Besides the horrible controls, this game WILL NOT ALLOW you to advance unless you get 1st place in all events. So basically you are limited to 3 races on initial play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Racing Game until Mario Kart

posted by jkiddfan (SYRACUSE, NY) Dec 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

Donkey Kong Barrel Blast is not bad as people say! It is easy to play and it's fun. There are a variety of characters to use. Until Mario Kart for the Wii, this is the best racing game out there.

Pros:
easy controls
fun
Different then any other Nintendo Game
Donkey Kong Game

Cons:
Can get tiring from shaking the remote and nunchuk
No online :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse