Rent Don King Presents: Prizefighter for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Don King Presents: Prizefighter

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, Wii
GF Rating
4.6

1626 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not that Great

posted by DanteGrave (WEST CHAZY, NY) May 5, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game did not size up to what I thought it would. I have played other boxing games like the Fight Night series and was hoping this game would be an improvment (if that were possible).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

fight night it isnt

posted by left4dead9 (SALEM, OR) Feb 9, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

at first the game seemed to show promise build your guy very good then it falls way off the game takes a turn for the worse.The actual boxing in the game is bad it figures 2k made this monstrosity of a game its like they didnt even put any real work into it i have played better games for the ps1 2k better think long and hard before they try to make anything else or they will get ate up by other companies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Problem Fighter

posted by Scarab893 (TAMPA, FL) Jun 14, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

29 out of 36 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

I too play pretty much every boxing game that comes out and I guess I had high hopes for this game. I almost think i was expecting an upgrade from Fight Night. Well after playing thru the career mode it has its cool momements. I mean its all live video filmed like a documentary. I built my fighter which of course is always cool, the options are plentiful, but I have to say once the gameplay started and to me thats where the game falls short. First thing you notice as well are the not so nextgen graphics. It just reminded me of something I would play on the PS2. The game play was ok, the button combo system was sloppy as well and just reminded me of something that was put together over the weekend at some shotty little game company. Its a fun game to play with 2 players or online, but again to me after playing Fight Night, the games mechanics werent working for me. I would just think "in Fight Night I could do this" If you've played fight night just keep playing that cause in the long run this game really isnt worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

You Either Love It Or Hate It

posted by BondsJuice (DAVENPORT, IA) Jun 13, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

28 out of 39 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

As a huge boxing fan Ive always played every boxing game going back to mike tyson punch out on Nintendo.. Knock out kings Fight night all of em Ive played them..

But nobody had ever quite gotten the REAL feel of boxing.. The closest had been Fight night round 3..

A great game great Gfx but horrible career mode and not really realistic with the parrys which left an opponent just standing there for 2 or three seconds while you wailed at his face..

Then along came Prize fighter!!!

I'll go into the negatives first..

The gfx are great better than fight night, but some times the punches look weird after being thrown, the collision detection is also sometimes suspect, and over all its not a PERFECT game (8 over all) online is weak , no lobbys, rankings or belts.. pretty bare bones

With that being said if your a REAL boxing fan not just a Mike Tyson fan, not just a HUGE pay per view fight fan, if your really a fan then ur really going to love this game..

No one has ever come so close as to get the real feel of boxing before in pace and tone

you cant throw punches non stop since the stamina plays a huge factor after 2-4 punches your stamina is gone meaning you have to back up and regroup like real boxing..

sometimes even when u block punches get through ur guard like real boxing..

you cant throw super fast combos with out landing some punches like real boxing..

You can side step throw lunging punches, clinch, stick and move all with the real feel of a boxing match..

if the crosses didnt look so weak some times you would swear this was a real boxing match not a video game.. (2k's speacialty)

it does take some getting used to especially if ur used to playing fight night, since sometimes u have to wait for punches to come out before throwing the next one so to some it feels like the controls arent responsive, but I think thats by design and a feature like this game that you will either love or hate.

GFX- 8.5
Sound-9
Gameplay=8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ITs A good Game

posted by Capone (CLEVELAND, OH) Jun 11, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

14 out of 20 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Don King Presents Prizefighter is equal parts sports simulation and true boxing drama that takes place both inside and outside the ring. The action within the squared-circle accurately mimics the sport’s tactics and hard knocks by allowing players to create angles and openings using a full arsenal of true 3D motion captured movement and punch mechanics found only in the real world sport… until now.

Outside the ring, the drama continues as the player is faced with temptations inherent in any professional athletes’ life, where they must balance these trappings of notoriety with the hardship of training in order to find the road to glory. As the player progresses through their career, a live-action documentary tells their story, warts and all -- never before seen in any video game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game

posted by MpStalkei2 (ANTLERS, OK) Jun 16, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

I haven't played this game much. Controls are different yes and at first not much fun getting use to them.

Funny how so many people write, I played the the game 10 minutes then sent it back. No one can get used to controls to any game that fast. If your like me you switched from COD4 to this then you got a lot to switch back to. It's a bit slower game. How many boxers you see go in right away trying to knock the other out in first 10 minutes of the match?

Games are becoming more realistic and intense. Not some Fantasy where gamers can just throw punches all day and not worry about their stamina in their fingers running low.

If you have patience for a good game this one is for you. If not go buy or play Halo 3 where stamina never runs low and you can get hit hundreds of times without dying.

Sad how good games get low ratings because of our generation of gamers, they'd die if they ever played Dungeons and Dragons from our Nintendo days.

Gamertag - MpStalkei2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Repetitious

posted by smitty7784 (LIVERPOOL, NY) Sep 9, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I hope you are ready to spend most of your time watching people pick themselves up off the canvas because knockdowns are frequent and the computer AI somehow manages to pick themselves up 9 times. The controls are fumbly and when you hit a button control the punch will either come out late or not at all a lot of the time. There is also the repetitive nature of the training which toward the end of the game you are advised to just auto-train. In my opinion, if you want a boxing game, go out and buy Fight Night Round 3 which came out 2 years ago.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good

posted by xVLADx (HALLANDALE BEACH, FL) Jun 16, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Your created fighter's attributes start off weak and the controls are different than FN3 so you might want to give this game more than 10 minutes before you toss it. Actually this game is pretty cool and in many ways more realistic in terms of what goes on behind the scenes in the fight game. Worth the play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Evolution in 'some' ways, devolution in the rest..

posted by Aleksandr (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jun 13, 2008

Member since May 2007

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I rented this expecting it to be at least up to par with Fight Night Round 3 in fighting mechanics and perhaps a much more advanced story mode,though the story mode was pretty cool in how it plays out like a documentary; but most of what i got was a lousy ineffecient way of controlling the character in battle(and training) and many seemingly overpowered opponents that can get to you easy simply because their split second programmed reactions will overpower your poorly controlled character that will probably anger you in many ways which will result in button mashing and another losing round(i mean of course you'll get better with time, but i dont think this game is worth your time, nor is that insane capitalist ba$trd Don King). After having such an innovative experience in the ring on Fight Night, you will see this is just another mediocre game produced mainly for profit, not innovative use by gamers (like a lot of games are these days).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This is good

posted by dylw75 (NEW LONDON, CT) Jun 13, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is a very good game that is just as good as FN, even i'll admit the gameplay can be weak at times but it aslo has great things about it, the story mode is very strong, i give them credit for taking on a new story mode. it is told as a documentery. A young scrapper that rise through the ranks to become champ and defend the title, the training is much more in dept than fn, it also gives the game an arcade feel, this game is a must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's not Fight Night

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Jul 18, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The major drawback to this game is that it follows in the enormous footsteps of Fight Night Round 3. FNR3 beats it in many ways, but not in every way.

The main thing this game has over Fight Night Round 3 is story. Another minor thing I for which I give it the win is the character creation options. Many more choices here in Don King's game. Most of the fighters in FNR3 ended up looking pretty similar. If not for the many hair style options, the only real difference between fighters in FNR3 would have been the skin color and obvious weight differences. Prize Fighter lets you really tweak the facial features to a much deeper level.

The graphics are pretty good, but not as good as FNR3. The sounds are pretty good, but again... FNR3 wins. The controls are all about button mashing, so there's no comparison there at all. FNR3 dominates when you compare the control schemes. Animations were slightly stiff in FNR3, but in Prize Fighter, they are very obviously stiff and a little clumsy. Also, it feels awkward to go backward when it comes to the HUD. FNR3 did away with the HUD, and it really wasn't needed at all. You could tell you were getting hurt by the sluggish movements of a fighter and the cuts and swelling on their faces. Watching a meter at the bottom of the screen seems so last gen now.

Well, Prize Fighter is a pretty good game. If you have never played Fight Night Round 3 and you try this one out, you'll probably like it a lot more than most people. But veterans of FNR3 can't help but look at this game and feel a bit disappointed. I'm still going to play it for a while and try to get my character a couple of hot girlfriends, and maybe a heavyweight championship or two. But I'll return it to Gamefly after a couple of weeks knowing that Fight Night Round 3 is a game that I bought and will keep for as long as I have a 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

don king prize fighter

posted by blake111 (ALPHARETTA, GA) Jul 13, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

warning do not rent this game insted of punching with the right stick you have to hit the buttens. it doestmt even have floyd money mayweather.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's no Fight Night that's 4 sure

posted by DanTheMan9 (FORT PIERCE, FL) Jun 15, 2008

Member since Apr 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's a decent game with a good story mode. Mechanics aren't even close to Fight Nights and Don King never shuts up lol. Overall it's a good rental and if you go on Live then it's ok, but as a buyer I would've been disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Good Game

posted by loumoney71 (PARKESBURG, PA) Jul 10, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have played this game for about two weeks now and I haven been through about 20 fights. I think this game is pretty exciting to play as a boxing game and gets some aggression out. The storyline is not that bad as well as video's and the pda system. The controls are good as well, and it seems as the more you play, the better you get with combos and different fighting styles. Exciting game to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

controls are no good

posted by andylal (FAIRPORT, NY) Jun 12, 2008

Member since May 2008

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

Why after fight night would you Ever have a boxing game use buttons? it sucks lemme tell you, doesnt have that feel like your in the game, wheres the next fight nigh?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

its ok

posted by SHEEMxbox (IRVINGTON, NJ) Jun 10, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

10 out of 28 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

its no fight nite has no cut man but i like it its well worth the rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Don King Presents: Prizefighter

posted by Hogman777 (MORENO VALLEY, CA) Jan 14, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is better then Fight Night is or will ever be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Please I beg you not to rent this! seriously!!!

posted by dustin8388 (CONROE, TX) Oct 2, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

man game/boxing lovers no matter if you play Raze's Heck(substitute word) or Halo...this game has GOT to go ASAP. why would 2K put their name on a poorly executed game like this? i went for an exhibition match looking for real heavyweights...didnt find them...im a nice guy i say ok and proceed. i get into the match and its even worse! im constantly pressing the buttons only to have my punches thrown 3-5 seconds later(literally) then my opponent is walking right through them beating the dog poo out of me...the commentators(HBO Sports) should have never agreed to this. Don King was at an all time low and cut the bottom out of his current low to reach a new one if i could got below 1 i would rate this negative infinity...please don't put this on your gameq and waste 2-3 days waiting when you could have gotten something better...PLEASE DON'T PUT IT ON YOUR GAMEQ I SAY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

lame

posted by bigD0207 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Jun 4, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

this game sucks they fight slow dont move well just a lame game i would only pay $1 for the game and thats with tax

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Really

posted by game34rate (AURORA, CO) May 13, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

I can make a game better then this with pie and pankakes fnr123 are better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible... did not meet any expectation...

posted by calhouny (HOUSTON, TX) May 12, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

This game is lacking in every department except for the "custom boxer creation" in career mode. The controls are very primitive, two buttons for either punching hand. The graphics are very very rough and no where near realistic. The graphics seriously look like old XBOX quality graphics. Who would have released this game, knowing that everyone had already played Fight Night? Prizefighter is sub-par compared to Fight Night and other boxing games. This game was a bad idea and should have never been released. Someone lost millions of dollars in promoting this pitiful excuse of a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great boxing game

posted by Tiddles (GOLDEN, CO) Apr 15, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

The career mode on this game is really fun. The online part is good when there's other people on but they hardly are. The game controls are easy and the graphics are good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its not Fight Night, but its okay

posted by Roger41051 (INDEPENDENCE, KY) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

If I hadn't played Fight Night Round 3 first I would probably think this was a great game, but...its NO Fight Night ! Its ok, the graphics are weak, the blood content is PG, and the shots you take are a little far fetched as far as the damage they cause. I can tell you after the first night of playing it, both hands were KILLING me! If you like boxing its not bad, but I had a few Face Breaker flashbacks here and there !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

don king presents prizefighter

posted by CCLL26 (GLOUCESTER, VA) Mar 18, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

extremely language much was to training i not like the story mode it was to control lacking the voice was not language very rude in the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

don king presents prize fighter

posted by mjgdevils (Prescott Valley, AZ) Jan 30, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

i rented this game from gamely, the sameday i recieved it i played it and sent it back the next mail day. the graphics are horrible and the action is too slow. if you want a good boxing game dont play this one go with fight night. this game is horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse