Rent Don King Boxing for Wii
view large frontback

Don King Boxing

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox 360, DS
GF Rating
4.9

261 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Don King Boxing: It's a Split Decision

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 17, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let's get redy to Grumble ... to Mumble... to - oh forget it.
Don King Boxing takes the controls from the Boxing part of WiiSports and adds a few moves to the mix: the uppercut and the hook.
You can either play against a human opponent, go up against the AI in single match mode or go through the story. Or you can do some Training.
In Story Mode, you play as a boxer named "The Kid". You have to fight your way up the ladder to become a heavyweight champ.
The controls are sort of skiddish - the jabs and straight punches work fine, but the hooks don't always work and the uppercuts are the worst of the bunch. Sometimes I got a jab when I wanted an uppercut.
And the training doesn't add anything to the mix. It doesn't matter if I'm punching a highlighted heavy bad or doing a sequences of punches with my coach or (worst of the bunch) punching a speed bag, I never got the feel for the uppercut.
And moving around the ring was tough and sluggish. Going on the offensive was tougher than it should be.
Fighting against the AI was fun - for a guessing game. The game didn't get into any strategy or showed me where the holes in the opponent's defense were. It was more of a case of me throwing a punch and hoping that punch will land.
After each fight in Story Mode, I got more of the story via interviews of the characters involved. This part looked great and felt like a real documentary. It's too bad I didn't know most of those people being interviewed.
Still, I say Don King Boxing is a better boxing game than the one in WiiSports, and it's fun to beat up a player's boxer. Just don't expect the same joy when taking on the AI. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

AWFul

posted by nezashak (PORT BARRE, LA) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Veary easy to beat. I've beat it in three hours. But what upsets me the most is you can't create your own fighter and you can't fight in a on-line circuit but sorry no wi-fi connection. Bottomline Do Not Buy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Graphics, Lame Control

posted by JDigitty (BLYTHE, CA) Apr 21, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is "OK". The graphics are good and it has the exclusive license for dozens of Boxing Legends. The cenemas are actual video's and this make it entertaining.

My problem was the lag in control. When you first begin the game you have limited selections to choose aa boxer. The higher the stats the better the boxer, this is ok if you own the game or want to spend weeks completeing the game.

I would like to have a boxing game, or a game in general, that uses the players ability to the fullest. So, the faster I punch - the faster the game punches; the faster I swing, the faster the game swings, the quicker I slice, the faster the game slices. Wii developers tend to make games for babies or handicaped players.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Fun, For A Weekend

posted by johnsrevie (CUPERTINO, CA) Mar 21, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

First off, I have to say that without Wii Motion Plus, this game isn't really an upgrade to Wii Sports Boxing. Without Wii Motion Plus, the controls are really horrible, and the Wii sensor bar only recognizes what you're doing about 50 percent of the time, so during the game, you don't feel like you're boxing, you just feel like your just randomly moving your arms around.
With Wii Motion Plus is a different story. You have so much control over where to punch and what type of punch to do, its amazing. Still, you will get pretty bored from this game after about 2 hours.
What really dissapointed me was the lack of big name stars. I mean, I don't follow boxing, but I know who people like Manny Pacquiano and Oscar De La Hoya are. Nobody in the list of characters was recognizable, and part of the fun of sports games is being your hero.

Overall, a rent at most, only if you have Wii Motion Plus.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

How hard is it to make a boxing game?

posted by blunau (SAN JOSE, CA) Jan 12, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I got both "Don King" and "Punchout".

All I wanted was a cool game with minor storylines and Wii control usage that mimics real punches. Giving a work out would be great.

On those criteria, Don King was best. The controls are similar to a punching action, but I agree with other reviews that say that the balance board is useless. It took me about 45 minutes of going quickly to work up a minor sweat.

What really disappointed me about Don King is that it has text messages and junk between matches but there aren't any instant replays of knock-down punches. I can't tell what I did to knock someone out or how they knocked me out.

Is a replay feature that hard?

The controls for Punchout were too much like a joy stick and the opponents were too goofy: you had to know the exact combination of punches to knock down the goofy characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the worst game ever

posted by bklynbadda (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 15, 2009

Member since May 2009

this has the worst game ever made..not responsive at all, a waste of my time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Better than R2Rumble but...

posted by D1rtyyyy (METAIRIE, LA) Apr 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

Don King Boxing is MUCH better than Ready2Rumble2 or whatever it is. This is more of an FPS-Boxing game, like Punch-Out. It uses the WiiFit Balance Board and the controls, I must say, do an OK job!

BUT... I would suggest waiting till the May release of Nintendo's Punch-Out!! before you drop any coin. This is a good rental to get your fix on till Punch-Out!! arrives.

-D1rtyyyy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »