Rent Dokapon Kingdom for Wii
view large frontback

Dokapon Kingdom

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2
GF Rating
7.0

363 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dokapon Delivers!

posted by ThaSquare (ROSEVILLE, CA) Nov 1, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dokapon Kingdom is an extremely unique type of game; it’s part board game, part RPG. The main goal in the game is to retake as much of the gold stolen by monsters as possible. By making your way around the map, fighting off the evil creatures that roam about, you’ll be on your way to achieving this task. At the same time, you’ll be gaining experience in the job you’ve chosen. Master this and be rewarded with a new role to play with its own set of abilities and power ups. Use items and spells to detour your friends’ progress and gain the advantage.

There are plenty of ways to become worth your weight. You’ll fetch a lofty sum by freeing individual towns of their loitering leviathan. Kill the beasts that inhabit the cities and you’ll be voted into office posthaste. You can then collect taxes from its citizens and invest in the city itself to reap even more dough. Once the town reaches level three, it will begin producing valuable items which you can send to the king to win his favor. You can also fight other players to jack their stash, rob stores to put a few bills in your bank account, and kiss some serious butt to gain a the king's favor.

There are also quite a staggering number of classes to choose as you embark upon your quest. 24 roles await your unlocking and each carries with it new abilities and perks. You first start the game with only three jobs (or classes, if you will) - Magician, Thief, and Warrior. By mastering these, you'll unearth more jobs to choose from.

Even without online, Dokapon Kingdom is a very fun experience. When it's played with friends, it only gets better. There is a ton of stuff to do and see in this sleeper hit. I've spent over 15 hours in the game already and I don't think I'm anywhere near the end of this game. There are dozens of towns to recapture, spells to cast, items to use, hidden paths to find, missions to accomplish, and jobs to master. This is the type of game we need to see more of.

8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I rarely use the word perfect...

posted by Vignirsson (SANTA CRUZ, CA) Oct 18, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

But this is as close as it gets if you are looking for an RPG/Board game and an excuse to use your Wii again. Even though this might slip under some people's radar, you should do yourself a favor and get your hands on this right away.

The game play is simple enough, it is a board game that uses RPG elements to drive it. You pick from three classes (Warrior, Mage and Thief) and move along the board via a spinner.

The best part of this game is the ability to really screw over your friends. This is a great little party game, though it isn't in the vein of Mario Party or any other repetitive party game out there. This is more for getting the friends together before an event or just to get together to play this game.

Battles are pretty straight forward, four options from the offensive and defensive stand point, you pick an option and hope the other doesn't do something that counters it. Battles can take one turn or if they are stubborn, maybe a few turns.

You can capture towns and use them to generate revenue for your coffers. You can use the revenue to improve your towns so you can get more money and you can see where this spiral keeps going.

Graphics are decent, this game was released for the PS2 originally so they are on par with that level. Don't expect mind blowing graphics or detailed voice overs.

The only minor flaw is playing the story mode against the computer opponent. It will really feel like it is getting a leg up on you often because... it really is! You must play this game with friends to get the full benefit!

All in all, this is one of those little gems for the Wii that no one will notice, much like other games like Zack & Wiki. A fun game all around and very time consuming. You will find yourself constantly saying "one more turn" more often than not!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A "Kingdom" made for more than one player

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Oct 21, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

They took Mario Party and Final Fantasy, tossed them into a blender, hit the "liquefy" button and viola, they got Dokapon Kingdom.
In this game, you go about a Mario Party type board, beating up monsters, saving towns from more monsters and keeping a lid on your opponent(s).
Almost every space has you fight off monsters of many types in the same way as in Final Fantasy; you take turns being the attacker or defender. You select your attack/defense using the Control Pad, and watch what happens. First one to lose all HP, or forfeits the match loses.
Other spaces are stores where you buy/trade items, towns where you can stay the night, management spaces where you manage the money in any towns you have under you control, and the castle where you can change your job or appearance.
The game is over when all the towns have been saved and several main tasks have been performed. Here, the game declares a winner.
But don't expect that anytime soon; games can go on for hours as you build your character up to fighting fit form.
Also, the board is divided up into sections, some with easy monsters and some with hard monsters. It's not easy to determine which is which. Go off on a wrong path, and your hero will get killed. The AI doesn't have this problem and can get off to a unfair start.
The game can get unbalanced very easily. If you get behind, it's real tough to make up ground; the other players can beat you into the ground and any towns you want to save are guarded by monsters that will beat you into the ground.
The biggest strength/weakness is that this game should be played multiplayer only. Get a few friends and you'll have a great time with Dokapon Kingdom. It's no fun going at it solo.
Rent Dokapon Kingdom and give it a try - with a few pals.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

To bad

posted by Kenross (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Oct 21, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Summary:
Game is predestined.
Computer cheats
The game seems against you.

It had the makings of a very good game. At first glance luck determines everything but as you play you will find ways to move exactly as far as you need. It looks like a solid game but has some strange coincidences and outright cheating computer tactics.

Do not Ever play with a computer. Me and my friend were playing and trying to work cooperatively and were about 10 levels ahead of the comp. Then by one fight the comp gained 10 levels... I think this ruined the game. Even though a player can jump in the computers shoes and he will not be left behind it still feels like being stabbed in the back by the game creator.

Other such occasions like not getting the exact number you need to go to a destination or a sudden "miss" when attacking seem to tip odds in the comps favor.

Like i said before this game seems luck and skill based. It is not. You would like the believe that you got that great item because you pushed A at the right time, but it is kind of rigged. If you save the game and play some then load game. The exact same thing will happen, same roll, same loot, same cards, it is uncanny. The game seems predestined.

Once i moved to a square and got the bad guy who takes half your money (at least) then we loaded game because we thought that was a bit unfair. after loading i went to another space of the same type, the same thing happened. In other words you can not dodge fate if you do not have items. I used a crystal to go to a space to get an item and dodged the bad guy. Anyway i have droned on long enough.

Again i really wanted this game to be great but it just missed. By adding chance to all things or maybe skill by when you push A it begins to stop. Just some kind of player involvement would have made this game really good. The fact that its predestined takes all the fun out. To bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

WEAK

posted by Talon787 (HAMILTON, AL) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

This game had the potential to be great but it really bombed. You cant play alone you have to have 2 player even if one is a comp. you can take control of the comp. and play 2 characters but it was to long that way.

I have a 8yr daughter and she and I were playing this the first night this was her first console game so I was up like 6lv's and had the best gear you could on the first stage of the board game she lands on my space and duels me and kills me with one hit lol

See the first person to att. is random all chance.

I did not care for this game and I really wanted to I gave the game about a 2 day chance but felt like the game was going no wear.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Wrong Game

posted by Geordanpetrotta (IDABEL, OK) Mar 30, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

You sent me tales of graces f not dokapon kingdom.But it shows that you sent it to me,im really confused.so help me out about that.please?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Competitive chaos with no hope

posted by palumatzu (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jan 18, 2013

Member since Feb 2011

When I played this, I felt like I was playing Mario Party a lot. You go around, fighting monsters in control of towns. When you defeat a given monster in control of that town, the town starts producing tax for you, which you have to collect, either by landing on that town, or by landing on certain game board spots. The rub comes in the multiplayer aspect. Alone? Then get the exceedingly broken AI to play with you. Either way, the base premise is you go around, grinding for levels and money, trying to keep your combat levels ahead of your opponents. Whoever has a superior combat level is destined to win out-- Having more money does not mean you have an advantage, it just means your standing in first place. Sound confusing? Then try racking up over a million gold coins, only to have your opponent come and beat you into coughing it all up. And then there's the towns--oh, the towns. Beating the monsters in control of them makes you the governor, and makes that town's worth go to your final score, which in the end determines who wins the game. After all this, there's luck. Sometimes, even the strongest player can fall to last place with a little bad luck. I did not like this game, and if you don't like fighting to cheap-shot your opponent with out receiving cheap shots in turn, then neither will you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Neat game, but not very fun

posted by MichaelO (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jun 14, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2010

As usual, Atlus has delivered a unique game which doesn't fall into the usual genres. The best summary I can give is that Dokapon Kingdom is like the board game Life if it were an RPG. On the one hand you have a class, level, stats, equipment, etc., but on the other hand you move around on a board and land on spaces which give you random battles, new items, gold, and so on. Your goal is to end the game with more stuff ("Life points") than any other character.

Unfortunately, this game is undone by all of the details. There is too much randomness and chaos in the game, the battle system is not fair or well-balanced, and the game is extremely confusing and somewhat aimless when you are getting started. The rock/paper/scissors style battles are not a suitable battle system for an RPG, the random chance of who acts first in a battle or what numbers you roll can make a huge difference in the game, and good luck figuring out any of the game's details and nuances without using an online guide of some kind. I really wanted to like this game, but instead I found it frustrating, confusing, and unpredictable.

In addition, it's worth noting that the game is much more fun with more than one player. The one player game is simply the multi-player game with AIs controlling the other player(s). At least if you are playing with other humans, you can enjoy the ups and downs, enjoy harassing and pranking your friend's character, and maybe even enjoy when you are undone by a frustrating bit of random chance. Against an AI, none of these things are very fun, and the game falls especially flat.

If you've got 1-3 RPG lovers who'll dedicate some time playing with you, if you really love board games, or if you love to see something unique and different, this might be worth a rent, but otherwise I'd skip it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent and fun!

posted by Access (IONIA, MI) Feb 26, 2012

Member since Sep 2008

This isn't my favorite game, but it's deffinatley top 20.

It's a cute game to play with younger family members (or to let them play alone).

It's sort of like a Turn-Based RPG (similar to Heroes of Might & Magic etc.) where each player takes turns moving. You can also equip items along the way which will help protect your character and also do more damage, etc. It lets you choose from 3 different classes (jobs) which offer different levels of fun, although the Thief class is my favorite since you steal items from other players as you pass them on the board.

The game allows for some really fun PvP combat in which you have the options of taking things from the loser, renaming their character (LOL can be funny!), or even changing their appearance!

The only draw back I would say is that there are certain instances where you have to land on a specific location in order to actually use it (entrance to a cave, etc.), which can be very annoying.

I would say more but playing the game and finding out all of the hidden extras is 1/2 the fun!

Definitely worth renting, and buying if you want to learn RPG games (simple interface) or have young ones that like playing board games (very similar to Mario Party 8, Pac-Man Party, etc.).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not fun

posted by titusdeuce (FRESNO, CA) Feb 13, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

The game is not fun... I could not play for more than 5 mins. Unless you have absolutely no other games to buy/rent out there--- wait, even then I wouldn't get this game. I can't describe what a waste of time it was to use a rental on this game. I just can't even begin to describe how bad this game is...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun... until you hit you start losing.

posted by penguinpaladin (FAIRBORN, OH) May 16, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Dokapon Kingdom is a party game combining classic rpg elements with a board game element. You jump right in and start playing. And then the 'fun' starts. I tried to start as a magician, but I got my butt kicked everytime I fought a monster. You have to buy the ablities, so a magician is absolutely useless as a starting job. When I started as a thief, I was able to get past the basics, but then discovered you can win any battle if you choose 'strike' on your attack turn. It can be countered with 'counter' but enemies rarely use it. I still forged on, and then my rage reached its apex; one of the cpu went onto a Dark Space. In one swoop he stole my castles, my items and all my towns, and when I went to the Dark Space, it wouldn't let me use it! And you have to spin the exact number to land on a certain space, so you're circling the board for weeks (game time, not real time) just to get somewhere. So in short, lousy battle system, lousy move system, just plain lousy game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME EVER!

posted by DudeLove (CEDAR CITY, UT) Sep 14, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

If you are looking for an rpg multi player, this is the closest, and best you will get. Everyone in my dorm is addicted to this game constantly wanting to come over and play. Not one person has hated it yet. So many twists that happen, and the best part of this game is it evens it out. If one person gets uncontrollably ahead of everyone else, the game sticks in stuff to balance it out, one month, somebody could be first, the next month another person will be first, I love that. You will never get sick of this game, I wouldn't even rent it, I'd buy it on ebay. I'm returning this from gamefly and buying me a copy as we speak.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SOOOOOOOOO cooool!

posted by tomkarl (HAMILTON, MT) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

This game is a board game, RPG combo. With cool looking playable characters, magic, attacks, and monsters to use them on! The kingdom of Dokapon is being attacked by the monsters, and the king isn't geting his taxes, so he calls in heros from across the land (A.K.A. you.), and you defete monsters,complete challenges, and save the kingdom! Overall, fun but, a bit hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A Lot of Potential but Too Much Wait Time

posted by RamCow (HONOLULU, HI) Jan 26, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

This game really does have a lot of potential and the actual gameplay is enjoyable.

The only problem is you don't spend much time on gameplay. Bulk of the game is spent waiting for either another player or for the computer players to act. It gets very frustrating and if you're playing with more than one other computer or other player, over half your time is spent just sitting there.

I suppose that's a consequence of the board game style of play but I found the long wait times to be unbearable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

An Okay Game

posted by epictunes (BATON ROUGE, LA) Jan 2, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

As far as gameplay goes, it's actually kind of boring. This game is basically a third-party Mario Party™ knockoff. The story is also sort of bland. You basically have to liberate towns and get more money than your opponents. Also, it is an EXTREMELY boring one-player game. Only good for about two to three hours of satisfaction time. This title will definitely turn you into one of the Gamefly commercial guys if you were to purchase it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Multiplayer RPG!!

posted by Johnnyprod (WILMINGTON, DE) Aug 25, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

This game is highly addictive!! My wife and I like RPG's but the problem is they are all 1 player. With this game the time seems to fly by as we both level up and collect new weapons and items for the adventure! Even if you were to play 1 player; I'm sure the game would be worth it. It's not too hard or complex to figure out which for me makes it fun. Some rpg games need strategy books to figure out. This one is straight forward and has a great pace. Enjoy!! I know we are!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun with other people.

posted by MattMims (KERSHAW, SC) Feb 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

This game is fun but its like the game is just helping you to lose but its a luck/chance game best with other people.Graphics are good sound is good overall a vary good RPG game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Multiplayer Board Game with D&D Theme

posted by Owlpete (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jan 13, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Less of an RPG and more of a board game, I imagine this game would be better if you played with other people who similarly didn't know the map very well. The concept is pretty easy to grab: You spin the wheel, move 0-6 spaces and things happen. At the start, you collect things. Later on, you're fighting things. Buy better armor / weapons / spells at the shops. Free some towns and collect taxes from them from there on. Every few rounds, they score you and your opponent.

If you're looking for an RPG, this is more like the old "Dungeon" board game than it is an RPG. It's probably moe fun for multiple human players than it is just one person vs. the computer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Definitely fun!

posted by wuvuvu (AVA, MO) Jan 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

The Bad:
Computers are quite annoying. If they beat you once it's "Ha ha in your face!" Seriously, the computers comment. In the beginning, they're in last place: they whine and complain as though its the end of the world. It's like playing with a human that is both a sore winner and loser.

The Good:
You aren't limited to three basic classes. As you master classes you gain more. You are guaranteed one new class for mastering any one of the first three you're given. If you want more options: master more classes.

Story mode is dragged out depending upon how you play. You can play to help your stats, which could pay off in the long run, or you can just go after reclaiming as many towns as you can. Just remember: being in last place for awhile doesn't mean you've lost the game for good. I was in last place for quite some time in a game with my fiancee and sibling and suddenly the positions are flip flopped, I am now leading the game.
The other modes are alright but I think I prefer story mode over them.

Character customization is interesting. You get a choice of around eight colors to be. Male or female. Now where it matters: the characters face. Each face carries a different personality. It's not just looks you play with it's also the way they react when winning and leveling.

The game is also revolving around the game "Rock, paper, scissors." So occasionally it gets a little tricky facing human players. While they attack monsters one way, they'll treat you like something totally different...which in this case you are, aren't you? Do your best to predict what you're opponent will do.

This game is best played with human players. Computers are just annoying. So if you're a lone kid or live alone I advise inviting a couple of friends over to play with you.

Overall we really enjoy the game. It does take some thinking sometimes, to insure your survival. We all agree and advise playing casually, for fun, especially if you hate losing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Entertaining as a multiplayer

posted by jdsampson (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) Jan 2, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2007

At first when we started playing the game we didn't really know what was going on because of very little tutorial but after plugging on for a little while we started to understand what was going on better. There is a lot of depth to the game and much more strategy to it then you will originaly think when starting. There are a lot of quest that you will be sent on and is a game that you can play for a little bit every time you get together with your friends. It's hard to explain the game. It is basicly a board game mixed with an RPG. You level up and do job changes to advance your character. But you roll the dice and move around to different spaces and depending on the space you land on different things will happen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best multyplayer ive ever played

posted by gamerman11 (MAPLE GROVE, MN) Nov 8, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

This is a must rent if you like RPGs or game board games. As long as you've liked one of your RPG games you'll like this one. It is good if you have someone you don't like and invite him/her and beat him/her she/he will be mad because when you win you usually really win. P.S. if you have a bat on top of your head go to the dark void and you'll be temporarily invincible (basically).That will help you win BIG TIME I hope this will make you want to rent this game or help you if you already have it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Party Game that's Fun!

posted by Precisi (MARQUETTE, MI) Nov 4, 2008

Member since May 2007

A great game for 2-4 players. If you like board games and you like RPGs, this is a must-rent. The gameplay moves fast enough even with 4 players that you won't find people getting bored and wandering away. You find yourself taking just "a few more turns" quite a bit.

It's cute, but not so kidsy that it feels like it's aimed only at children. My husband and I have put in around nine hours on a game we're playing together, and we have a game with another couple that we're working at weekly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »