Rent Doctor Lautrec and the Forgotten Knights for 3DS
view large frontback

Doctor Lautrec and the Forgotten Knights

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.3

100 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great puzzle variety.

posted by tiloho (IRON RIVER, MI) Feb 3, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is a combination of adventure(quest based), puzzle solving(including short fill it ins), and strategy battles. Some of the elements are confusing at first but if you pay attention to the tutorials and practice a little, they grow on you. After the 1rst chapter you accept quests where you have to solve clues that tell you where to find a labarynth. Then find and defeat(without draining completely) animated treasures by using other treasures in your inventory. Once you've defeated all of the treasures in a dungeon you're sent back to the opera house(quest headquarters) where you collect reputation points for the puzzles solved in the dungeon. Points are determined by how few or many hints used. You can use the points/any gems you've collected to buy resurrection stones to revive your animated treasures if they are drained in battle. This game has interesting story sequences and good voice acting which makes you want to keep playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Unfulfilled potential

posted by Calibus (CASTRO VALLEY, CA) Jan 20, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Unlike the Professor Layton series, Dr. Lautrec and the Forgotten Knights has you spend the majority of your time running around the city and listening to/reading dialogue.

At the 1-1/2 hour mark, I had only completed 3 puzzles. Not because they were too difficult, in fact that were pathetically easy. No, I only completed three puzzles because 1-1/2 hours into the game, assuming you take the first available quest, that is all the puzzles available.

The idea is to find Treasure Animatus or living artifacts. Unfortunately, this usually involves 10 minutes of wandering around the city "finding" clues. I put finding in quotations because the game does everything for you. You walk to your mark, talk to someone, and the game tells you where to go next. Eventually you will find an entrance to whichever dungeon you were looking for, all without actually solving a puzzle.

Once inside the dungeon, things just degenerate. You spend about 75% of your time avoiding the police that walk designated paths, about 10% actually solving door puzzles which are unimaginative, and the last 15% fighting the Treasure Animatus in order to subdue it.

The menu system is clunky and cluttered. The directors clearly think that the dialogue is fresh and funny when in reality it makes you want to strangle every character.

In conclusion, this game is only fit for the extreme masochist.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ghost battle

posted by kdoggiewv (MORGANTOWN, WV) Dec 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

This is cool! It have ghost battle and some puzzle. I like it!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not good

posted by _Erratic (BRANDON, MS) May 5, 2012

Member since May 2012

There was way more story than there was game. The little bit of actual game play is good and fun, but constantly pressing 'A' from all the talking is annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I really wanted to like this game

posted by SesshomaruDC (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jan 24, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

I really wanted to like this game, but there wasnt enough game to flesh out what seemed like a good story. A lot of running around, avoiding gaurds, repetative puzzles (nothing like layton), and it was immpossible to develop any kind of stratagy to take down the treasure gaurdians. I gave it five hours and as entertained as I was during that time I was watching a french anime, not playing a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not what I thought :(

posted by Thrashhome (PAW PAW, MI) Jan 21, 2012

Member since Jan 2008

Looks like they were trying to copy Professor Layton series and failed. The story isn't as good & it's hard to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »