Rent Divinity II: Ego Draconis for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Divinity II: Ego Draconis

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.3

2825 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

i liked it very much!

posted by airintc (TRAVERSE CITY, MI) Jul 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the game is pretty good itself. there wasnt a bunch of custimazation choices and i think to many can be a little crazy (oblivion). there were a few flaws in the game the graphics were very well done but the directions some in game people told you were way off and right before you get to a place you want to go a random person jumps out of no where and you go through a massive semi story line thing. but overall i liked the game a lot. definently a game to rent you like rpg games oh and its 3rd person.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The difficulty of this game is exaggerated

posted by Ax3man (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Jan 8, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

94 out of 110 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Let’s just say the difficulty of this game is overly exaggerated. It is not as hard as risen and surely not even close to demons souls.

THE GOOD
The game is great story wise. However, the ending might not be appealing to everyone.

Skill tree is fantastic; you can add points to any skill no matter what is your class, which gives you opportunity to create flexible character.

Exploration is great. There are hundreds of places to explore. It is also rewarding. Just an ordinary crate can have the best armor or weapon in the game.

Flying in dragon form is fun. This is probably the only thing that works well in the game.

THE BAD
The character design is non-existing.

The graphics are not appealing at all. Actually, it’s pretty horrible.

The mechanics of the game are broken. It is impossible to lock on to the target no matter how hard you try. Not to mention that it would never lock on the target you want.

Saving system is also broken. DO NOT OVERWRITE SAVES! This corrupts saves. Rather, save new and delete the previous one.

TIPS
I can give some tips if you have trouble with the game.
-play this game as mage; it is easier to kill enemies from the distance.
-focus only on few skills. Fireball works great. Add points to destruction. Get "summon the undead" skill. Later on you can summon the undead (or demon) and your creature to fight by your side at the same time.
-maximize lock picking.
-always have a bow and a melee weapon available.
-when you complete the quest, don’t take the money, rather take experience points. I found money useless. I never used any potions (only in the last boss fight), neither I bought any weapons or armor. Everything you can find in the crates or as quest reward.
-read the minds of every single boss, it often gives you extra skill point.
-don’t take any books unless it is skill point book or quest item.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I dont know what You all are talking bout...

posted by Kleinsky86 (NEVADA, IA) Jan 24, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

61 out of 73 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Okay. I read all of the reviews of this game and decided to give it a whirl anyways. I'm glad I did. This game is amazing. I have not finished the game as of yet, but I have logged 10 hours into it already.

I see nothing really wrong with it. The graphics are amazing. The gameplay is great. The weapons and armors are plentiful. Quests and sidejobs are interesting. The best feature of the game I think, is the ability to not just chose one preset skill slot. (Like Dragon Age and many other games of this type).

You have the choice to be a flame throwing duel wielding ranger with pick-pocket skills and the ability to use offensive and defensive spells. It is amazing.

I also saw that people are saying its way too hard and unrealistic in difficulty. Well, you dont know strategy do you? I went with a ranger to get the bow right away. I pick off my foes from a distance and run if they are too high level. Shoot and run...shoot and run. Not a big deal. If you've got a mob of 5 skeletons the smart thing would be to try to pick off a couple before you just bum rush the entire group of 5. Which is what I think these people were doing.

So if you are reading the other reviews and are not sure...trust me...rent it. It is worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

No walk in the park

posted by CaptainX79 (AVERILL PARK, NY) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

79 out of 99 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

First let me say that I really like this game, next many others may not.
I say this because this game is in no means easy. Save always and save often because death awaits around every corner, save yourself a frustrating retread through areas you've already been through.
As I said I still really like this game it's not really like anything out on the 360 as of yet the graphics are pretty good and the environments are relitivly crisp. The audio is on point and the voice work is believable and not as annoying as some of dragon ages characters are and you can speed through the dialog if you want.
this game really shines though in its skill progression, yes in the first chapter you pick either mage, warrior, or archer but you can mix it up any way you want and learn whatever skills you want be a mage with ranger skills with hand to hand combat or a warrior who summons ghosts and picks locks. The combinations are endless and completely up to you to choose. so go out there level up and create a character that suits your own playing style, just dont forget to save and try to do every side quest that you can because xp is in short supply. and don't forget to mind read it help alot with quests but don't abuse it because it costs XP.
Overall awesome game but not for everyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Deep, engaging, weeks of playtime

posted by norse (SEATTLE, WA) Jul 21, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Gorgeous graphics, great soundtrack and really good voice acting, and engaging storyline, plenty of sidequests - and organized well enough so that you don't get lost.

Ego Draconis is surprisingly great.

The only thing that almost turned me off this game was how tough it seemed in the beginning. I kept dying and felt like I didn't know what to do. Once you spend some serious time with the game and figure out how it works, it's a pleasure from there on out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Divinity II Take your time!

posted by ccjasoncc (HOUSTON, TX) Jan 28, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

15 out of 22 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

I am a big fan of western RPGs. Elder Scrolls Oblivion, Dragon Age, etc. A lot of people have been turned off by this game due to the difficulty. However, when playing this game there is one simple rule that will make it less frustrating: If you die repeatedly and the game is "too hard", you need to try and visit another area before you can pass through the "tough area." Some of the characters you come across will be several or a couple levels higher than your character, so they are VERY tough to beat. This just means you are not ready for this area. Complete as many side quests as you can, which are actually fun and some quite hilarious. Visually, this game isn't bad, it's nowhere near COD MW2 quality, but neither is Elder Scrolls Oblivion. However, the story is really cool, weapons/armor are awesome, and you can turn into a dragon, so that's really cool. Give this game a shot and ignore the "This game is too hard" whiners and try it for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Janky Port of a Solid PC RPG

posted by Poseidon76 (WEAVERVILLE, NC) Jan 3, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

14 out of 22 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I love Western-style RPGs; I loved Morrowind and Oblivion, and most recently I've played through Demon's Souls and Dragon Age:Origins. I also enjoyed some of these European made RPGs, like The Witcher and Sacred 2, so I wanted to give this a shot.

But like Two Worlds, this game is weak port of a vastly superior PC version of the game. The framerate probably hovers in the 15-20 FPS range (at best), the graphics are pretty poor, and worst of all, the character animations are abysmal. I also had some odd trouble with the save system; sometimes the save would not load until I dropped back to the dashboard and then rebooted the game. Even stranger was an issue where when I'd load a save my character stats/progress would be correct, but my character's position in the world would be from a previous save. Really weird.

The final straw that made me stop playing after 4 or 5 hours was the difficulty. This game is frustrating and sometimes unfairly difficult unless you grind. Now keep in mind I have played Demon's Souls to completion. But playing as a level 10 character I would routinely get swarmed and destroyed by level 11 enemies. Early in the game potions are relatively expensive and hard to come by. Often you'll also get locked into a room or temple with beasties much stronger than you - if you haven't been keeping multiple saves, you're outta luck. Demon's Souls was difficult in a tactical sense - this game, even when set on Easy, is difficult because you can easily get swarmed and beat to death by enemies that do too much damage. If you want a leisurely RPG experience where you explore and plow through enemies, look away. Prepare to grind and do every side quest to level up properly and succeed.

I did enjoy the humorous writing and the voice acting is pretty solid. The story seemed decent as far as RPGs go. If you need a weird German PC-to-360 port RPG, I'd recommend Sacred 2 - it translates much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

well not much good to be said.

posted by Zeldaion (CELINA, OH) Jan 13, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The games flaws outweigh the good points by the dozens apart from the horrible graphics awful saving system and difficulty for anyone not playing as a mage with fireball and magic blast.the boss fights are insane you are often one shotted by most of them.overall 4/10 and that being generous

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Only 5.1?

posted by BlakePayne (ROGERS CITY, MI) Apr 5, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I would like to say that some of the problems i encountered could have been my box or the disk itselfs fault, you may not have these problems.
I was hesitant to put this particular game on my Q because of the low rating. I found that this game did have many problems such as loading the game after getting my rear end handed to me after getting pwned by one of the more difficult enemies. Most of the problems i had with this game are mostly tied to loading. Sometimes i would load the game and it would show me my death and freeze. Other times i would be locked out of important quest areas. Still other times i would load successfully, but the game would put me in some ridiculous place far,far away from where i had saved it.
There was a solution to this thankfully. Loading a different save file or the autosave and then loading the file you want bypassed the warping or getting me locked out of rooms i was in. The other solution was to restart from the dashboard
another thing that i disliked was monsters did not re-spawn at higher levels. Once an area is cleared monsters won't repopulate, which i thought made the game a little dull running around with no monsters to kill until you find a new area, then the glorious bloodshed can begin again!!
I really enjoyed the game because it had some unique qualities. you can shortcut the four actions you use the most (normal attack/potion/magic skill/ranged skill for example)
I think this game is challenging enough yet simple enough. Unless you have less than ample adaptability or intelligence you might not be able to appreciate this game, as doing stupid things would really mess you up, like failing quests or something similar.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Divinity II is NOT awful - quite the contrary!

posted by Fhaullen (MARSHALL, MN) Oct 14, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I love this game deeply. It captured me from the start and I played it through up until the end (which was a surprising one, but one that I enjoyed).

I own over 60 games (why? I have no idea!) so that is certainly saying something when I cannot put one single one down. Yes, you become a dragon (20+ hours in). Yes, you become master of your own battle tower (again, 20+ hours in). Yes, you can craft your own unique undead monster - GO ONLINE AND WATCH THE PROMOTIONAL VIDEOS REGARDING THESE FEATURES AND TELL ME YOU ARE NOT IMPRESSED! I CANNOT GRASP HOW PEOPLE (ahem, reviewers) ARE NOT RESPONDING TO THIS GAME!

I played through as an archer and no, lockpicking is not a good investment of skill in this game. Instead, focus on Master Herbalist, Reflect, (and in my own case) Way of the Ranger with Explosive Arrows!

I have played Dragon Age: Origins and thought it a total bore - YES A BORE - as it took me well over 80 hours to play one of the most predictable, cliche games out there.

Give DIVINITY II a try and it will hook you in - 3rd person dodging during combat in a close-up over-the-shoulder view? H-LL YES! Archery through an over-the-shoulder 3rd person view? H-LL YES! And that's not to mention anything about the story or progression of the character build . . .

MY ONLY COMPLAINT - SPOILER - RIVERTOWN IS NOT A MASSIVE 3rd AREA LIKE BROKEN VALLEY OR OROBAK FJORDS! That's it! Not a big deal as the story explains why - I was just expecting a 3rd area similar to Viking was all. I love this game and the least you can do is try it for yourself.

Seriously, though, are people completely distilled lately? How dare they say this targeting system is broken? How could I have completed this game playing faithfully as a stealthy rogue/archer with a broken aiming reticule? STOP BEING RIDICULOUS!

I love this game - it brought me back to Knights of the Old Republic for playability and its surely been a very long time. Of course, Red Dead is my fave now

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Rpg

posted by taylor5vt (WARRENTON, VA) Feb 2, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game was one of the best rpgs I have played. Its somewhat different form other games of its kind, and doesn't allow as much free-roaming time as other rpgs. The game is really easy to get used to, but requires lots of thinking and planning ahead, its not just running around and killing things. It also requires tons of saving, which can sometimes be a problem, but the game was definetly worth it, and the dragon part is pretty awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Divinity II: Ego Draconis

posted by Rastion (LOGAN, UT) Jan 6, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

14 out of 28 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First the good. The story line seems interesting although a bit generic. Sound and voice acting are also decent.

Now the bad... This game has so many bugs its essentially not playable. The graphics are xbox 1 level at best. The auto-save function is next to worthless. The quests are generic and not plentiful enough to keep up with the difficulty in the game. Most creatures of equal level can kill you in one shot. You are often attacked by swarms of creatures at a time any one of which can easily 1 shot you. What really takes the cake though is when you die , which you will often, the game tends to lock up. Forcing you to exit out to dashboard and reload the entire game. Another interesting bug is that when you do get back into the game you are often transported to the location of your old save. For me this worked out really well because I was in a locked encounter and upon dying was moved to another building and couldnt get back into the locked encounter. The items you pick up off the ground are also very small and dont glimmer , highlight or give any indication that you can pick them up. You have to individually scroll over every corner of your map to find which items you can and cant pick up. Very tedious and frustrating when you walk into a room with 14 crates 13 of which are empty.

Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Too many other ones to play

posted by smitty1971 (LOUISVILLE, OH) Jan 5, 2010

Member since Jun 2005

11 out of 22 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have to agree with the majority of people here - this game is borderline BAD - with a capital "B". The graphics aren't close to nextgen - the voice acting and story is almost comical. I played the demo, and went to take it out of my queue - but it already shipped. So - I tried it again, and played for about an hour - and back in the mail it went. The beauty of gamefly !!!

Play Dragon Age or or go back and play older ones like Mass Effect 1 or Oblivion. Heck, go back and rent an XBOX RGP favorite that is compatible with the 360......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great old style game

posted by steve22226 (RENO, NV) Feb 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

People giving this game bad reviews obvioulsly care more for glamour than substance. All the problems the game has can easily be worked around. It is a very solid roleplaying game with a lot of interesting charactors, good quests, humour and extensive and solid voice acting. I am an oldtime rpg pc gamer and the game has that sort of feel to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not bad/Room for improvement

posted by Shadow321x (HINDMAN, KY) Jan 5, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As I played though the game it was indeed a frustrating challenge. It takes a while to get the hang of the game play in general, also to achieve a level that you can compete with the AI depending on your progress through the story. I found that this game is not a fast passed by any means. In many cases I had to explore in attempt to level up before going forth in the story. some parts in the game are very fulfilling and rewarding to overcome. I did run into some bugs such as a (save) problem. The game has a large arsenal of weapons and tactics. The graphics are very reasonable; though I am connected via Hdmi. During game play I felt that many aspects of the game could be improved I will not get into that now. Replay factor is moderately high. sound is good. To sum it up, The game was a challenge that I had a good time meeting.

Shadow321x

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I have better things to do...

posted by Xsalot (OSSEO, MN) Jan 5, 2010

Member since Dec 2004

8 out of 17 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

I put this game in thinking I'd be up for a something with a little more of a hands-on feel as opposed to Dragon Age but I was surprised t just how crumby this game was at first blush. The graphics might have turned heads back in 1999 but now-a-days what this game has just isn't enough. The character creation was an out and out JOKE, I say if that's all you plan to offer in creating a 'custom character' then why bother at all? A few ugly faces and a handful of bad haircuts, it looks like the line at a Aerosmith concert in the deep south. Totally lame there. I tried to get into it, thinking it would get better as time crept on but all I found was a bunch more suck, suck piled on top of suck. I was extremely disappointed in this game, if it ends up getting sent to you do yourself a favor and put it right back in the mailbox and wait for something decent to come your way. After I tossed this one back in the mail I re-visited 'Red Faction' to get that bland, dragon dook taste out of my mouth. Literally a 1 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not the worst game ever

posted by CWH1981 (Urbana, IA) Jun 20, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to like this game, but, I could not. I am more of a run and gun gamer but with this game I slowed down and played more tactical, still didnt work. You get hit by one spell and it takes 3/4 of your life away because your enemy is only 1 level above yours (I had it on the the easiest difficulty as well). I just got tired of dying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very one-note

posted by cernunnos (GAINESVILLE, FL) Feb 9, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I realize most RPGs are repetitive but I just couldn't seem to get into Divinity II: Ego Draconis, it lacked a certain punch other RPGs tend to have. The RPG elements seem shallow and the story is just not very enjoyable or epic, two musts for any RPG. The graphics are so-so which basically means they should have been better in this day and age, heck in a few years we will probably be seeing the next-next gen consoles and we're still getting sub-par graphics now? Doesn't bode well.

If you are just dying to play a RPG you can definitely find a better one out there. Perhaps try Dragon Age and I have heard good things about the new Magna Carta game. Heck if you are not above turn-based combat check out Lost Odyssey, a little too robust for my tastes (3 game discs I believe) but it seemed to have potential. And of course, check out Mass Effect in you can buy into the whole RPG -in-space concept.

I know you are tempted to play this game because you build your own dragon but trust me, it's not any fun to do. Feels like work you are not getting paid to do. No thanks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Well...

posted by KHMDark (COVINGTON, GA) Jan 9, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The concept of it was interesting, and the graphics in the cutscenes are very impressive (not in gameplay, mind you).

But...

This game felt like the better version of Two Worlds. That simple. It's not NEARLY as bad as Two Worlds was, but not as good as Dragon Age is.

The story is pretty solid; this is the first game I've played that lets your character have shining silver eyes, which is always a plus! And the fighting style of your character makes him look SO awesome...

But, again, like Two Worlds, it tried too hard. It's near impossible to put the curser on anything to pick it up (it's about the size of the curser in Oblivion, but in Third Person, which does NOT work at all). The bugs are... ugh... the people walking around in the towns looks SO much like a program, it makes me sick to my stomach (literly, no joke here!).

Another plus would be the fact that you can change the look of your character any time you wanted, even gender! Now THAT'S pretty cool... but kind of takes away of making the player think really hard of how he or she wants his or her character to look like.

And the voices. Ugh!!! I couldn't quite hear then all the time. I'm sorry, but I don't have super sonic freaking hearing! Even when the voice is set on 100%, it's STILL hard to hear, enough so that I have to increase the volume on my TV to hear them. Now, it's not all the time like this (Thank God!), but it gets annoying,

So, in the end, it's a better version of Two Worlds. It tried WAY too hard to be a good game (it really could have been!), the glitches makes it feel like they rushed it out, and... there are just too many games like this these days. They should have just stopped at Dragon Age, because there's NO WAY a game could top that, or can still be good after so many others came out.

Honestly, they should start making regular RPG for a bit, like Kingdom Hearts!

Anyway, if you HAVE to play this, then only rent it. Only thing I like are the silvery eyes! X3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Underrated

posted by blueboy93 (MCALLEN, TX) May 7, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The bad mechanics and annoying glitches didn't stop me from enjoying the storyline. It's well put together, adventerous, its makes you think, and there is even a little bit of humor in there. I had some mixed feelings about the ending but overall I think it was a pretty cool twist. I really liked the features that the battle tower had like how you get to make your own monster. Give this game a chance, a lot of people don't like it, but I don't really enjoy most of the games that are released witha bunch of hype anyways.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

could have been great

posted by biggie91 (HAMMOND, LA) Jan 8, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Im disappointed that this game isnt from a better developer. It simply has a great concept and story, but gameplay is just lacking. The graphics are terrible, but thats not even a big issue with me. The land battles, unless youre a mage, can be too hard at times and you have to basically clear an area before you move on simply to keep up with enemies levels.
Being a dragon is fun though. They do pretty well hiding little places in cliffs and such that you simply have to find.
Overall, a descent game that could have been much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Divinity II: Ego Draconis

posted by AProctor (SHELDON, VT) Dec 22, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After purchasing this game, I decided never to buy another one until I had played it first (most of the reason behind the GameFly membership). I played this game for about 8 hours, and I have to say that this time was spread over about 2 weeks, because the frustration factor limited my interest to about 30 minute blocks. This game is a free roamer, allowing you to take on side quests and complete them at any time you may choose, though the main quest is strictly linear. Much like the Fable series, you are limited to certain environments at a time, and are unable to access the next before you finish the current. The story line itself is fun, and keeps you interested, but the mechanics and most everything else serve only as distractions and deal breakers.

PROS:
> The story line, this is very sad, because this is the only thing I could justify putting in the PROS column. The main quest itself and many of the side quests are very entertaining, both funny and solemn, with lots of dialog and twists.

CONS:
> EVERYTHING ELSE, including (but not limited to):
> Targeting system, as I said before, this game is free roaming. For some reason the developers decided that a lock on system was right for this game, and apparently never play tested it after implementation. Ranged weapons have a VERY limited range, and though you can break the lock while aiming, YOU DEAL NO DAMAGE WHEN IN FREE AIM MODE!
> Difficulty curve, it is important to note that your character builds skills and gains powers based on an XP system. Even though I killed EVERY creature and completed EVERY quest in EACH area as I progressed, I still found myself being trounced by the SAME enemies I fought in the previous area.
> Production quality, graphics, sound, character customization, whatever the category, this title scores below average in them all. There is absolutely nothing here that breaks any new ground.
>Combat, which is very repetitive and consists mostly of button mash combos, with some generic magic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The light at the end of the tunnel...

posted by Mendle (TAYLOR, MI) Oct 25, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

You know, when i first got this game i thought itd be a nice big RPG kinda game, with a moderate ammount of hack and slash. And then i got killed by the 2nd grp of mobs your sent out to kill in the games. (i count as seccond atleast, its the skeletons.) I chose to be a mage/priest cause i thought that summoning a ghost thatd heal me would be sweet, and throwing fireballs at peoples faces and laugh as they burn. The ghost hardly ever heals, and the fireballs are terrible. I go into the fight with the skeletons, its 1 skelly at 1st, then 2 more come from behind him. I couldnt kill the 1st one in time, died, lost an hours worth of time from talking to everyone in town and getting quests. So i get back in there hopen mebe i screwed up. So i went in and out of the room casten a spell and running out befor i got 2 shot. (Yeahh, thats always fun huh?) Finally killing them, then i go a bit deeper in and you get your first boss fight. Attacks me, does some burning AoE, Bam, 1 shot. So i go back and kill the skellys, then save before the boss again (the auto-saves are so far and few you should save before EVERY FIGHT if you even rent this). You die in this game, ALOT. Not all classes are created equal, i found out later that in order to make it to dragon form you pretty much NEED to be a ranger, why? Only class that has a damage over time spell. So you use poision arrow, then run behind a wall, rinse and repeat till it, or they, or all of them, are dead. Thats not really fun.... at all.... Its stupidly time consumeing. I tried, i really did, i got to about lvl 11 or 12 after 14 hours of game play or so, and idk the number of deaths. Then it sends me up against hordes and hordes of 12s and such to become the dragon and i cant even imagine how much time that would of taken with attacking then running in fear of being 2 shot. I tried hard to find a light at the end of the tunnel for this game, turns out that light is a train, and its the reality of you wasted so much time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Difficult, lack of emotion, repetitive

posted by juicedaman (NORTHBOROUGH, MA) Oct 10, 2010

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Divinity 2 Ego Draconis looks and plays similar to Two Worlds did, and while Two Worlds typically gets better reviews than this game, I thoroughly enjoyed Two Worlds more than this game. First off the game is far too difficult-the parts are mostly manageable to get through but you will die and you will die often, so in turn you must save often. The story is rather boring and the combat gets to be repetitive, especially since skill points don't come easily in the game and therefore you can only allocate them 1 level at a time. Playing as a dragon is very boring and pointless as well. One of the redeeming qualities of this game is the customization and the creative, but often difficult puzzles. Overall Divinity 2 was a very mediocre RPG but nothing special.

5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Confused

posted by rilllazy (PENSACOLA, FL) Feb 5, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I thought the game controls were good. I thought the visuals and the story were good. The way you upgrade your tower was great... but I just didn't know what to do!! I'd fly around or run around for hours doing mindless junk and wondering how the heck I was supposed to actually accomplish the next main mission goal. Not very helpfull hints. I suggest buying the game guide with this title. I bet it was decent, but I never finished it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse