Rent Dissidia: Final Fantasy for PSP Games
view large frontback

Dissidia: Final Fantasy

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.7

1704 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Truly awesome for FF lovers

posted by Carbine (COLTON, CA) Aug 25, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

30 out of 34 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Square Enix hit the nail on the head with this one plain and simple. Right from the start you will notice this little UMD is packed full of content. Two different Story modes, quick matches, multiplayer, extensive bios, the ability to record fights, and more.
The basic idea is a fighting/rpg style game where as before every match you choose your character and equip them with different items, gear, and summons that you get from playing that will modify your stats. Once thats done you go into the match with your character and fight. The fighting is really simple to pick up but fairly hard to master. The basics are that you build bravery points by using bravery attacks. the higher the points get the more damage you will do when you use an actual hp strike. Also while raising your own bravery you can simultaneously lower your opponents points by landing your attacks. The skill comes from learning when to use bravery or hp attacks as when you use hp attacks your points diminish and if your opponent catches you off guard there points will skyrocket. At the end of each battle you will collect experience, items, etc. As you level up eventually you will unlock new powers and can use better gear.

Theres a lot more to it so I will just get into the pros/cons:
Pros: Beautiful graphics, plenty of characters all brought back perfectly, Good voice acting, epic music, and more content in one UMD then I've ever seen.
Cons: No online multiplayer!!!, the first story mode can get old (but the second one is way better), and it can get insanely hard sometimes even on the easier settings.

All in all if you are a FF fan I believe you will love this as it was made as the ultimate fan service project. There is soooo much more then I was able to share and I label this game a MUST rent, and highly approve of as a definite buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GET THIS.

posted by Done25 (ALBANY, NY) Sep 8, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Describing the GOOD things would take too long. So I will go over the (few) bad.

1. Blocking and dodging is a bit overpowered. You can LITERALLY backstep INTO an attack and not get hit if you timed it right. (Ex. Genesis Rock - Rips rocks out of the ground and shoots them in different directions. I can EASILY back step through the rock as it get's shot at me. The computer abuses this like crazy. It will literally stand IN PLACE and not get hit.)

2. If you don't keep up on your level and equipment grinding you will quickly fall in power levels in story mode. (Not THAT big of a problem.)

3. Some characters are borked (Exdeath) and some suck. Horribly. (Kefka and his "all my brave attacks can be dashed back at me.")

3. You (basically) have to buy the villains to play as them and you have to do the hero's stories to unlock the secret characters. So that you can buy them. (One at 5 and the other when all 10 are done) But you have to beat their story first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fan Service in Spades!!

posted by PATSFAN2K6 (attleboro, MA) Sep 8, 2009

Member since May 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Crossover fighting games are nothing new, and they always tend to have one thing in common: From Super Smash Bros. to Marvel vs Capcom 2, they're less about exploring what happens when disparate universes come together, and more about seeing how hard those universes can wordlessly kick each other in the teeth. It's almost always fun, but for fans invested in the stories and characters of the crossover properties, it often feels like something's missing from the experience.

To say Dissidia Final Fantasy isn't like that would be a gross understatement. Bringing together a cast of 20 heroes and villains from the first 10 Final Fantasy games (plus two secret ones from XI and XII), it blends RPG elements with deceptively simple one-on-one fighting to create a crossover fighter unlike any seen before. It also puts about as much emphasis on story and character interaction as it does on fighting, and the action is supported by dozens of lengthy, densely chatty cutscenes, most of them devoted to just showing how all these characters interact with one another.

There's a fresh plot behind these meetings, revolving around the gods Cosmos and Chaos gathering champions for one last, end-of-the-universe battle. But ultimately, how much you care about it all will tie in directly to how big of a Final Fantasy fan you are. If the thought of FFVII's Sephiroth having a conversation with FFVIII's Squall gives you fanboy/girl chills, or if you've always wanted to see FFIV's Cecil reconcile with his brother/nemesis Golbez, then the stories that unfold here are a huge treat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Addictive For Hours... Then Gets Old

posted by RamCow (HONOLULU, HI) Feb 9, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The gameplay for each character is relatively unique and the game itself is extremely fun.

The only design that could use some improvement is the movement which makes the game fairly old after a few run throughs. The movements are essentially limited to running toward or away from your enemy which doesn't work so well with some of the stage designs.

Still overall an excellent game and a must-try. Given how cheap it is to buy, it would probably even be worth it to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good

posted by cromostone (UNIONTOWN, OH) May 20, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game was fun for a while but got a bit boring but the graphics are amazing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It could be worse....

posted by Tobikun (PITTSBURG, CA) Sep 10, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was the reason I bought my PSP. At first I loved it being a hardcore Final Fantasy fan I was almost drooling over all of the awesome characters I could play as. However that got sour once I beat around two character's story modes. The game gets very repetitive very quickly. Ok here is the breakdown.

Visual: I give the visuals a 9/10. I have not played many PSP games but I must say this is game is very visually appealing as far as a handheld game goes. However in mid battle less than favorable (BAD) camera angles can get annoying and while in the fast paced fighting Dissidia has you won't have much time at all to change the camera around so you can see.

Sound: I may only be 15 but the soundtrack for this made me feel nostalgic in a way. As always with Nobuo Uematsu you can't go wrong with his compositions. This game featured some of the best tracks from all the Final Fantasy games and the older ones got a newer finish to them. Flawless sound.

Gameplay: This is where the true flaws in this game come out to play. The battle system is quite fluid and the controls are quite easy to understand. However the game will get incredibly repetitive incredibly fast. Not to mention the lack of a Wi-Fi multiplayer option without a PS3 is not appealing to me at all. This game really didn't make use of the PSP's built in Wi-Fi. Annoying AI battles will ensue when you find that the CPU characters end up doing things your character is not allowed to do. 6/10

Final Thoughts: All in all Dissidia Final Fantasy is a decent game and if you are a Final Fantasy fan I recommend it as it can be quite fun and addictive despite its' flaws. However if you are just looking for a fighting game this is not the game for you. For a fighting game I would recommend waiting for Soul Calibur Broken Destiny to come out for the PSP as that is more your classic definition of a fighting game.
The Final Score: 8/10 (and yes this is correct I averaged it out myself)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dissidia Disappointing

posted by drdynamo (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) Sep 21, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This game did not live up to the hype. In fact I wouldn't even consider it an RPG, and I think most hard core RPG fans won't like it that much either. The battle system is complicated and repetitive, having to fight several quick battles to level up and the story line leaves something to be desired. All in all it looks like square just jammed as much into the game as they could to market it, but it just fell short for me. I even bought the strategy guide to figure it all out but after a couple of weeks I'd had enough. If you like action games and have all day to devote to playing this game maybe you'll like it, however an awesome RPG it is not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dissidia, not living up to all the hype.

posted by TranzorZ (MONTPELIER, VT) Sep 2, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

Good, game, not a lot really going on here.
I doubt thiis game would have any attention if not for the FF skinned players.

Pros: Top Notch Cut scenes (above par for PSP - it is Square Enix after all). high level of model detail. Fast arena fights, easy to master combat system. Tons of customizations.

Cons: fights are monotonous, repetitive and almost boring.
Arena Maps look as though someone spent 5 minutes on the concept and 15 minutes building them. Physics are iffy, like starting to slash your sword in mid air (not hitting anything) and you float there for a second, almost as if the gravity is absent. Some of the ingame movement systems, like riding a light beam rail, have a bit of choppy control - for instance in battle, one second you will be traveling in one direction, but the locked on camera system can reverse your direction if your enemy moves to the other side of the light beam.
The object of slashing your opponent many times inflicting almost no damage at all, in order to build up strength to slash (with the same weapon equiped) with your HP attack to finally give damage is a big game kill. (unless you like pressing buttons over and over that essentially are doing nothing). No adventure maps, just a hokey Chess board style movement system.

In closing; i was actually looking forward to playing this title, but the substance wasn't great enough to keep me playing more than the few hours that i lent to this game. Repetitive game play, endless button tapping, no adventure, lack luster map design, and absent minded physics all had me ask myself
'would this game make it if it were not associated with a large franchise like Final Fantasy?' 'No'
after playing this, I probably wouldnt purchase it.
I rated this a 6, lower if it wasnt for the beautiful cut scenes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE GAME BY SQUENIX

posted by OtakuCO (WRAY, CO) Jan 8, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

YA know I have been insulted by many a game but this game really hit my peeved off button and mashed it for the full three hours of play I could take. You start off the game going through a lame tutorial just to have to go through another tutorial after that. The move list is far to simple for the characters Final Fantasy gamers love. The characters are limited to the square and circle buttons combined with back forward standing still or using the R button for moves which comes together at a whopping 6 or 7 moves for each character. The control is clunky and the play is amazingly horrid. The only Kudo's I give Final Fantasy Dissida is the fact that they made it look beautiful but I dont want to rate it past a 1 because everything else was horrendeous. The voice actors are somewhat impressive till you reach the onion knight zidane and the fact that every one of the heroes has a whiney emo kid voice. The absolute worst thing about this game though is they made some (Insert adult word here) storyline with dumb "Gods" fighting and summoning the character's to fight. WHY? I mean couldnt a god of distruction just BLOW THEM ALL TO (Insert adult word here) AND BACK? Yeah that makes me so peeved its just not even funny. So overall 1!!!!! because I cant give a (Insert adult word here) 0 to a game the Creators should be shot for just because they are wasting precious time with it and not REMAKING FINAL FANTASY 7. Possibly this is because Squenix has developed a fear of money success and quality games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointed

posted by jeanzep (MODESTO, CA) Oct 5, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 18 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

This isn't a rpg game it's a fighting game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sent it back after ten minutes of playing...

posted by Ranzoid (ALBANY, OR) Dec 1, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

How could Squire Enix screw this up? Instead of and exploring adventure through different lands, collection scared weapons and talking with random folks what we have is a cross breed between the old square by square strategy like the first two Godzilla games for the NES mixed with tournament fighting.

This is not how a FF game is suppose to be, i can understand that they might be trying to experiment with new gameplay techniques but not for a game that is know for having sprawling world maps and reducing it down to a grid and a bland fighter

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not the Best Square Title

posted by abird1111 (MADISONVILLE, KY) Jan 3, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Just couldn't really get into it, seemed very repeditive, I mean, the game looked great and the score was awsome, but just not what I was expecting from Square

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amasing

posted by yohmaster (RIVERVIEW, FL) Aug 25, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

this game is great any final fantasy fan would love this it has 2 character from each final fantasy up to 10 and one exra.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Final Fantasy Dissidia, not a FF

posted by Nojiske (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Apr 5, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I do not know I sat down and played this literally within an hour I was already annoyed and angered by how it was, it was a bad game that had only the characters of final fantasy without the game style of Final Fantasy. The game play was severely lacking, it reminded me of a soul caliber theme instead of what final fantasy is about. The story line did not really catch my eye in the least, I could not get into the game I tried to but when I was playing I just could not help but think, Final Fantasy is not about this, I liked how they added characters from certain games, that was enjoyable and the bios that they had were perfect as well. Still I could not get into the game play what so ever, so to sum it all up....

1. Gameplay lacking and did not work for Final Fantasy in the least.

2. Story line lacking in interest.

3. Could not get into the game

4. Bios of the characters are amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

No dissin' dissidia

posted by STB123 (KALAMAZOO, MI) Mar 21, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I know, dorky title...Final fantasy fans will love dissidia! I've been one for a while, the only problem I have with them, is the combat system. Dissidia takes care of that with ease.

Fist off: the storyline: 6.5/10
I wasnt too thrilled with the story to dissidia. It has its ups and downs.
You follow each of the 10 worriors in the game from FF1 to FF10. Each has their own story that takes place at the same time as the others. This is pretty cool, and you can watch everything in the "proper" order once you've unlocked all the cutsenes.
On the other hand, the acting is pretty bad. Not much to listen to.
The story itself is interesting and it will take a long time to completely finish, but after a short time it gets repetative and boring.

Next: the gameplay: 10/10
Im sure not everyone will agree with me, but for those who are into this type of combat, you will love it.
One downside, is that explaining how you fight is complicated. Luckily, once you play the game, it becomes obvious. Basically you can attack with bravery attacks (gain more strength to do more damage with HP attacks), or you can attack with HP attacks (does HP damage).
Sometimes starting out can be a bit frustrating, hitting an opponent with HP attacks can be difficult and once you learn your opponents HP attacks, you can dodge them nearly every time. But once you play for a while, and unlock new abilities, you will have an easier time and be thrashing past opponents no problem.

Testing..1,2...: the sound: 8/10
As I said, the voice overs are nothing to brag about.
But the music is top notch. They have music from the previous FF games including Once Winged Angel from FF7 and Otherworld from FF10. Attacks, grunts, taunts and all durring the gameplay are all perfectly fine and can add to the game.

Total: 8.5/10
I might want to give it a 10, but in all honesty it doesnt deserve it. As impressive as the game is, there is much to improve on, but overall it is a Great game. go on try it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hours Upon Hours of Gameplay

posted by Zephyr71 (EL PASO, TX) Nov 14, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

I really enjoy the Final Fantasy series fromt he beginning. This game offers a different form of play from the usual play of the series. The individual story line is unique to each character. The development of each character is somewhat individualized; however, the EX abilities and extra tend to be the same. I'm not as good playing freestyle, so I choose the Command Line battle system which is still fun.

It would have been nice to have another mode where you can team up and go at it. I can't wait for the next Dissidia coming out soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Fighting game for Me

posted by smorri1 (ANTELOPE, CA) Sep 23, 2010

Member since Sep 2005

I rented this game. This game is a very well put together, I really don't like Fighting games but this one is very good. So now that I rented it from you guys I went and bought it from Gamestop. It's a game I will keep playing for awhile. The stories are pretty good the graphics are outstanding and it is fun to play. This is the only fighting game I will play. I like how it has the characters from FF's 1 through 10. I can't wait for Dissidia 2 to come out. That one will have Lightning from FF 13 and some other characters from the FF's plus the ones from Dissidia. This game is great so I'm giving it a 10 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Disidia: Final Fantasy

posted by Raziel111 (LINDSAY, CA) Sep 13, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2010

This game was very fun. In many ways it was enjoyable. Combat was fun, including the ultimate moves that could finish off an enemy in one move if successful enough. But, it did have it's share of flaws.

First things first. Combat was cool. The environment was really interactive, including the abillity to run along walls or destroy certain objects. Combat was fun with the cool power ups known as EX-Mode.
A supermove that could greatly turn the tide of battle, if not winning it for you. It also allowed you to to do certain types of button commands that were different between characters. Plus, the story mode was cool and fun. Being able to play as a main protagonist and a main antagonists from ten of the games was fun for a variety of characters.

On the otherhand, combat was fun for some characters. Players each have two different kinds of attacks. One that makes them more powerful and the enemy weaker and another that takes away HP. Some of these attacks are incredibly slow and weak, while others are more powerful than the other. Plus, EX-Mode is usless if you cant land a hit on the enemy. The one fault of story mode was constant one on one battles, no one against many.

Overall, the game was fun. Even though the flaws were definetly noticeable, they weren't enough to stop you from liking the game. Especially if you are a great fan of the Final Fantasy series. It doesn't really matter what the critics say.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game but very repetitive

posted by yepitsme (BURLEY, ID) Aug 15, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Pros- great fighting scheme, graphics, and a great concept.

cons- unbelievably repetitive, boring storyline. getting good equipment (above lv 75) is crazy hard.

I loved this game at first the idea of being cloud beating up on sephiroth or vice versa is great. The battle scheme is a much smoother version of a newer dbz game, but this storyline was given absolutely no thought. i mean come on enix if your going to take years to make a game make a good and deep storyline. this game is crazy repetitive, all the monsters are shadows of the twenty or so characters and you fight them over and over and over and for a change of pace you actually fight a real person.

Overall this game is great for the first 10 hours. but the fighting is really fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good and Bad depending on the person

posted by Zer023 (EDISON, NJ) Aug 1, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This game is a Final Fantasy game but the gameplay isn't a RPG like the rest. Its more of a fighting game. For some people its good because theres something new, but for the others its horrible because the true FF elements were left out such as Monsters, Exploration, and the RPG feeling. Its fast pace so faster gamers might like it, but for the slow pace gamers this game is not for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games for PSP

posted by nacho689 (SNOW HILL, NC) Jul 29, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

This game is amazing, it basicly is all of the final fantasies put togeather into yhis RPG/Fighting (sorta) type game and between all of the different stuff you can do and the gameplay it is like one of my favorite games EVER. Gameplay is great, literally an endless amount of stuff you can do, the only thing is like eh is the story I man its good but you know its not as good as the games them selfs but still is an awsome game. RENT this game its more than worth trying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Finally a good fighting system

posted by phatboyjj (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 19, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Story line: (2/5) Could have been way better than that. If was like they were rushing and just threw it together

Graphics: (4/5) Not bad for psp

Voice Acting: (1/5) So so bad

Game play: (5/5) Amazing the game play made the game

Music: (5/5) Great and clear.

Over All: This game was not bad for ppl who want a faster pace game with good music and decent graphic. The story line is horrible so just play arcade mode. but sadly in order to get the better attacks you gotta do story but its not good at all. Over all its a must play for the game play really good. but dont think about the story its not good at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW

posted by tennisking (MARION, IA) May 19, 2010

Member since May 2010

It is off the hook with action try it dude

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Unorthodox, but quite addictive!

posted by ExWifeH8tr (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 18, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

This latest version of Final Fantasy only serves to prove how much the series means to the hardcore gamer. However, it is quite strange at first; but very addictive! A must have for any PSP enthusiast!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sweet!!!

posted by Sims25 (PENSACOLA, FL) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

IF SQUARESOFT LEFT A BAD TASTE IN YOUR MOUTH WITH ERHGIZE THEN READY YOURSELF BECAUSE DISSIDIA WILL LEAVE YOU WITH A SUGAR RUSH! I WAS THOUGHT OF THE GAME AS QUESTIONABLE AT FIRST ,BUT SINCE I STARTED PLAYING IT I CAN'T PUT IT DOWN. GOOD COMEBACK FOR SQUARE IN THE FIGHTING GENRE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse