Rent Dissidia 012: Duodecim Final Fantasy for PSP Games
view large frontback

Dissidia 012: Duodecim Final Fantasy

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.0

679 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Upgrade from Dissidia

posted by 8280PIE (CHARLOTTE, MI) May 4, 2011

Member since Mar 2007

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dissidia Duodecim is the prequel to DFF, but everyone already knows that, i'm here to spell out the improvements.

-New world map featured in every stage transition
-New soundtracks to EVERY final fantasy game from the original
-9 new characters
-An all-original plot of AFTER the story
-The ENTIRE story of the original DFF with upgraded story elements
-Some new character movesets (Firion doesn't suck now!!!)
-Playback mode in theater and sound test
-Lightning is a character!
-New assist mode and improved EX mode
-Another alternate costume for every character
-Improved battles

Although some battles are exceedingly difficult and can be frustrating, this game is very much worth buying, essentially a way better version of the original!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

First (had to say it)

posted by STB123 (KALAMAZOO, MI) Mar 22, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Let me just say that Dissidia 012 is GREAT! For those who have played the 1st one, you will be familiar with the combat side of things. For newcommers, dont feel obligated to play the first one before this one. You wont miss anything and you get caught up quick.

First off: gameplay 10/10
The gameplay is easy to understand and combat feels like the first Dissidia with a few differences. In my opinion, characters feel heavier than before, and you will need to act faster or be more exact with dodging or blocking.
You may need to get more familiar with characters moves because when they are used against you, you will need to know when and how to evade certain attacks.
You will also notice new additions to the fights and what you can do. Like assists, and slow motion! They can help but they take time to figure out how they work and when is the proper time to use them.

Next: Storyline 8/10
The voice overs are still nothing to brag about, but they are done better. They also improved on how you play durring the story. Its more like a FF game, moving normally rather than moving on squares, although you still do that by entering in "fog-like doorways". It takes too long to explain, but its not complicated.
The story is based on the new 6 characters. But I dont wanna give anything away. Lets just say, you might be supprized about where specific whos are.

Testing..1, 2: Sound 9/10
Great music, sound effects, ect. They've added more music from previous FF games. However, I felt like the main "theme" music should have been left alone. They've changed it slightly, though, I am a musician and I'm picky about that.

Overall: 9/10
I love the game! WHOOHOO!! It takes some time to get used to if your used to the last one, but it gets you into the game quick and theres not really any problem with the game; unless your picky about the voice overs, or small changes in some of the music. If you like fighting games, or final fantasy games, I'm sure you will love this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dissidia 012: Duodecim

posted by mysticxradiance (LAKE FOREST, CA) Apr 16, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I feel that Dissidia 012 [Duodecim] was a big improvement from the original game. However, I feel like it could have been better.

Pros:
-The music is wonderful <3. This was probably my favorite part of the game.
-Graphics are superb. 
-I love the world map. This is definitely the best improvement in the game. This adds a break from the constant battling. 
-The battle system is unique and fun to master. Assist attacks are a nice new feature. 
-I love the ability to purchase and unlock galleries, music, costumes, etc. I love that after every battle I win points to unlock stuff. 
-The ability to create your own levels. 
-Each character has their own unique abilities. Keeps the game fresh when switching characters. 
-The autosaving is very convenient and helpful. (for example: my psp ran out of batteries and I only lost 3 minutes worth of fighting rather than an 2 hours worth of fighting.)
-The entire original game: Dissidia is featured on this game (with improvements such as the world map).

Cons:
-Storyline is boring.
-After every chapter you start with a new character back at level 1. It felt demoralizing after leveling up with a character to be back at square one every time.
-The museum is unlocked after you complete the main storyline. I don’t understand why it’s not unlocked in the beginning of the game. -Very inconvenient and confusing. (The museum contains avatars/bios/music.)
-Unable to preview the costumes that's purchased. Even after buying the costumes you have to enter a battle to see what it looks like. 
-No online multiplayer. This would be a fun game to have on online, especially because you can create your own levels.
-Personal Preference: Ultimately it’s mostly a button smashing game so this makes the game get boring quickly.  

Verdict: 8.2/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I LOVE this game.

posted by Joker4479 (SALEM, IL) Mar 21, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This is a must have for any Final Fantasy fan. Customizable characters with a built in level up system like in RPG's, except this is a fighting game.
There is a LOT of downloadable content on the PSN, such as Prologus (Pretty much go get this for a few dollars if you must have an upgrade for Lightning's weapon, have Aerith as a sidekick, and easy level ups)
Once again, unfortunately, this is a game that hardly anyone plays online.
I've left my PSP on for countless nights hoping to trade cards with someone only to dissapointed.
You can try the online rooms, but I've checked them all multiple times and there is no one there.
I miss the feature from the first game where you simply had to send out the code and type it in to trade cards.
Prologus is a prequel to Dissidia, and if you haven't played the first game, you dont have to.
Once you beat the first part of it, you unlock basically the story mode for the first game.
The point gathering for the moogle shops in story mode does get a little bit annoying after that.
But being able to have One Winged Angel play as you battle Cloud as Sephiroth is very satisfying.
Literally able to play this game ALL DAY.
I request also, to check your moogle mail every day, you get new icons and things, sometimes even Ghost Cards
(Which I still /really/ wish people played this more so they could trade them online)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

aswsome

posted by 0309 (BRUNSWICK, GA) Feb 12, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

this game is the best game i have ever played and i sugguest it to poeple who like fantasys game fly is the best thing to have

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

this game is ok

posted by superflykid89 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

this is a little fun i did better than my best friend in this one i made i got to these two guys it was easy to get here but the guy i had to fight was really hard and he was kill way too fast i think the game was cheat tought.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

highlights

posted by 999love (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Aug 2, 2012

Member since Oct 2006

story was lame and clishe
loading time was ridiculas(long) even when using the pre download
at the last minute they turn off the original rules(the settings you use in all the levels before the last level) and crank up the dificulty even on ez mode.
there isn't a story mode for the enemy caricters(who are way more interesting then the lame good guys.)
the trade item system tedius and annoyingly random.
stores for kp were all over the place and annoyingly different
forceing you to wander all over the place to find that shop that had the item you were looking for (please programers make just one shop that only uses money that is ez to reach and all items should be purchaseable at the start of the game.)
and the calender system was stupid and annoying(nowon want's to only play the game on certain days)
and all the abbilitys were lame and generic

but the game was good
the leveling was quick
the combat system was good (except for all the items(equipment summons accsesorys) (and except for the overly complicated abbility system) it was fun when you actually fought. and rpg mode made the game run smother and faster(untill you catme
to the last level and they force you to go on normal mode because you will fail if you don't).
and if you failed you could always just try again withought penalty.
and it killed alot of time withought much frustration (untill the end of course.)
and when the cinimatic action seans came on when the resoulon got good it was actually exiting (for about 30 seconds untill it was done.)

my advice to programers
make games short and sweet with good 2 player modes and always make an ez mode that is ez the entire game(including the challenge parts and the final boss) put trophys for people who like challange. they don't care if the trophys actually do any thing they just want them for the challange so stop making me challanged when I just wanna have an ez good time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow

posted by Kenjibaby (KISSIMMEE, FL) Jan 20, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

This is the first FF game that I actually got into. The new action fighting style is awesome. I did not finish the game because I decided that I am going to purchase it when I get some money. I love this game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Final Fantasy Fill

posted by draven1911 (VISALIA, CA) Oct 23, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

This game owns if you have ever played more than one ff game you will be enthralled in the immense choice of characters, battle in story mode for a unique rpg feel like no other or go head to head in battle against your favorite friends and foes overall its a ff fans dream cant wait for more games like this .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun, addicting game. I just have one problem.

posted by Squiggles (CHELSEA, OK) Sep 27, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

I want to give a warning while making this review I am only on chapter 11 and have not played the first game, not all the information may be accurate.

Dissidia 012: Duodecim Final Fantasy, is a fun addicting game brought to us by the #1 RPG makers of all time Square Enix. This game stars Lightning, Vaan, Yuna and many other familiar FF faces along the way.

Story:
The game's adventure is pretty good, and being a huge fan of FF10 I personally enjoyed Yuna's parts. The story is about the fight between Chaos and Cosmos, now Cosmos has summoned the worlds greatest fighters to battle as her army. You first play as Lightning from FF13 these first 2 chapters get you started on knowing the story and what the heck's going on. Overall from what I've played the story is fun and gripping.

Gameplay:
Here's where the flaw comes in but I'll get to that last. The gameplay is fun, fast-paced and smooth. You first start off by attacking the opponents BP (Bravery Points) now BP is your attack power, the more you have the more damage you do. Once you think you have enough BP start attacking there HP (Health Points), Once you deliver the final blow you win! Around the stage you can find EX cores lying around when you fill the EX bar you can enter EX mode when you're in EX mode you can preform a HP attack to preform your signature move! Alright now with the problem, somewhere around chapter 6-10 I think you run into this guy Kefka, now Kefka is a clown. To me he is known for these attacks, Havoc Wing and this spell where he launched this Ice block at you. Now most of time when you even try to attack him he will most likely steal your bravery with that ice block when the ice block hits you it breaks into three and hits you again. Once he gets enough bravery he will attack you with Havoc wing. If you even try to run back and think he'll attack you with this lightning attack that gives him enough time to get back up close to you, he also likes to dodge your attacks.....alot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dissidia 012 Duodecim

posted by RD3 (COLORA, MD) May 9, 2011

Member since May 2011

This game is awesome, although the story could be tied in better. Each of the character's stories are very well written, however could have gone deeper than they do.

I give this game a 7 out of 10, for the action and the characters
I give this game a 7.5 out of 10 for the overall stories and progression

Good game if you are a Final Fantasy Fanatic or a simple Fan, although you might get angry at the time it takes to level up. Firion and Cloud are back, but the new characters are better than the rest of the characters in my opinion. Prove me wrong if you'd like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worse than it's predecessor

posted by Delorean (CRIMORA, VA) Apr 11, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

Once again, Square Enix has graced us with another installment of the Final Fantasy: Dissidia series. In Duodecim, everything is pretty much the same as it was in the last game. There are some minor differences such as actually having a severely limited 3D exploration and of course, more characters.

The game forces you to play the stories of the new characters before you can do anything else in the game, which is pretty frustrating. The gameplay is still as horrible as it ever was, and an NPC could still dodge your attacks for hours on end if they really wanted to.

If you are a die-hard Final Fantasy Fan, your fan... er, organism might just fangasm over seeing some of your favorite characters in 3D. but simply, as a game; Dissidia features some of the worst gameplay I have ever seen. There is no limit on your dodge, you can block as much as you want, your characters will never become fatigued from jumping up and down like a kid on placebos.

There is no vulnerability or vantage point to exploit, it's just out maneuver the enemy and hope they don't just want to dodge all of your attacks.

Even still the music and visuals are pretty good, but it just can't justify how unappealing the game is - particularly for players who don't like long and pointlessly drawn out cat and mouse games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Boring.

posted by Daleisme0001 (NORTON, MA) Mar 31, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

This game could not keep me entertained. It was like playing the 1st game all over again only with the joke characters from Final Fantasy XIII added to the list. I mean seriously... anyone who finds this game amazing... well... its not a complex tactics game, you can just spam buttons, and you either die or you win, there is little strategy to the game.

Sure it has my favorite characters, but really it only has 2 or 3 of my favorites. Where Vincent, Berret, and those crazy guys from Final Fantasy VIII. I mean in all honesty the two greatest final fantasy games without getting into Final Fantasy Tactics are Final Fantasy VII (Crisis Core included) & VIII. They were the only true Final Fantasy games aside from Final Fantasy Chronicles.

Though don't get me wrong if you like to keep yourself occupied while traveling sure this game can be alright, but the PSP wasn't made for traveling. I mean if it was, it would have an LED light. Otherwise your stuck playing in dimly lit places.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »