Rent Disney/Pixar Brave: The Video Game for Wii
view large frontback

Disney/Pixar Brave: The Video Game

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, DS, PS3
GF Rating
7.0

146 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Has courage, but little imagination

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jun 22, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

When a lass named Merida sets forth a curse on her family – turning her mother into a bear – she has to go forth and defeat all sorts of monsters to set things right.
Through seven levels, your task is to go from point A to point B, and defeat every creature you come across using your bow or sword.
Along the way, you gather up charms that will vary your attack. One charm is fire based, one charm in air based, one is stone (or earth) based, and the last is water.
Each creature you go up against is vulnerable to one of the four types, and the trick here is to ready that charm, and then beat up the monster.
You can also gather up hidden items that boost your attack power, your health, and your mother’s attack power and health. You also gather up gold to boost your charms’ abilities and power, get more health from potions and obtain other minor abilities.
But this game got repetitive really fast. Most of the time I spend wandering through the levels and beating up everything that I come across with the bow (the swing mechanism used for the sword is very clunky and unreliable).
And there’s really no difference between the charms other than aesthetics; there are only a few attacks available – the swing, the ground pound, the single shot, or the power shot. I was hoping for different types of attack for different charms, but that didn’t happen.
The game tries to break up the monotony with segments where you can be the mother bear and rip apart armies of monsters, or use the triplets to solve very simple puzzles. But they just don’t carry much weight to them.
If it weren’t for a very tough final boss, this game would be over in three to four hours – far too short for a game costing $50. I feel this game deserves closer to a $30 price tag.
Brave, the video game is fun for those of us looking for a simple beat them up game, but it could’ve been so much more than that. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just Okay

posted by slw (KILLEEN, TX) Jul 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I got this game for my 9 year old she enjoyed playing it for a while but lost interest shortly after.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Disney/pixar brave video game

posted by jwiiz (LAUREL, MD) Jun 21, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this was the best game ever!!!! I got the game instently in the mail.Kept the game for a week and sent it back. Gamefly is the BEST!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not good for a 5 year old

posted by historymomma (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jul 23, 2013

Member since May 2013

The actions were too complicated for my daughter to do on her own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game!

posted by HTownBalla (AUSTIN, TX) Apr 29, 2013

Member since May 2010

Great game to play co-op with your kid. My 7 year old daughter and I have been loving this game and it's easy enough for her to pick up on her own when I can't join her.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Oh my...

posted by AubittheHobbit (GRANTS PASS, OR) Mar 18, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

I love Brave. As soon as it came out my fiancee grabbed it up on Special Edition Blue Ray and the soundtrack too. I know my general rule of thumb for video games based from movie, stay away. But based on the excitement of it I tossed it to the Q hoping for the best.
Sigh.
I understand they can not have the same graphics as the movie, but honestly the graphics felt late N64, Early Gamecube. But the storyline was kind of rushed. Easy to follow and beautiful control handling, but both my fiancee and I felt it butchered the story.
For such a beautifully stunning movie this game is like the ugly redheaded stepchild that needs to stay in the broom cupboard.

For little kids go ahead, but if you have any respect for graphics in your games and some challenge keep this off the Q!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

brave game

posted by gamesrme67 (YUCCA VALLEY, CA) Jan 12, 2013

Member since Mar 2009

it is a fun game except some scenes are so dark I can't see her. It needs to be lighter so you can see what is going on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Brave Review

posted by geek12be (PORTLAND, OR) Jan 5, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

My 7 year old son had fun playing this game although as the levels got tougher I ended up being the one playing it. The part that he liked best was when he got to be the bear. The graphics were ok, there was one level that was so dark we had a hard time seeing the path that the character was suppose to take.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very cool

posted by spyroawesome12 (MONTE VISTA, CO) Nov 12, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I liked tis game very much but Iam irish so. Very good game,best I played since I have been on this sight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game!

posted by Snowshock (DULUTH, MN) Oct 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Good game! Daughter and Son both liked the game alot! Had alot of good action, kept them occupied for awhile!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »