Rent Disney Universe for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Disney Universe

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Wii

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.8

737 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Disney Universe is a fun filled family game.

posted by flyboy8498 (ELIZABETHTOWN, KY) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The presentation is simple yet very good. The story is simple & the menus are easy to navigate.

The graphics are... well they aren't up to CoD or Mass Effect 2 standards but they are passable. They are very simple and very good for a Disney game.

The sounds can be repetitive & get annoying at times. However, it's amusing at the same time. There is very little voice acting but overall the story really didn't demand it. The music is good & will leave a smile on your face for awhile & then it may become repetitive to you.

The gameplay really shines. It's a fun romp through different Disney "worlds." In these "worlds" you defeat baddies & solve easy puzzles to advance in the game. These puzzles are not the puzzles in the traditional sense. It is more like go find a cannon & drag cannon to an area so you can use the cannon. In the process you may have to change into a character to go underwater or figure out how to traverse an area. During the world play you collect Mickey Mouse Heads for virtually everything you do which includes beating up baddies, breaking things, beating the "arcade game" in the level, & opening chests. The Mickey Heads are the in-game currency to buy worlds & characters.

Each world is broken up into 3 different levels. Each level has 3 different sub-levels. So in total, for one playthrough, you will play 9 different levels in each world.

The great thing about the game play is it is really forgiving about mistakes. If you die, you respawn with less Mickey Heads

The lasting appeal of Disney Universe is very high. There is a ton of game to go around. You have 5 different worlds that you can unlock, each world has 9 different levels total. If you want to unlock all the characters you have to play each world twice. And there are 30 or so characters. While it very easily could get repetitive it never does.

This is a very easy family fun buy. For hardcore gamers, maybe not so much. Achievement hunters will love it for the easy sc

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by ktravers (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 25, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Got this game for my son thought it might be fun to play. He has all the Lego games and he has been playing this game at every opportunity. I am glad I got it for him !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not bad, but not worth buying

posted by LastNight5 (DENVILLE, NJ) Oct 29, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Obviously set in the Disney world, your character is dressed in a particular Disney-related costume (Most of which are memorable and cute, with the exception of oddly-placed characters like Quorra from Tron). You play through several worlds with three-four parts, of which those parts have 3 parts (technically, 9-12 areas per world). The melee system is basic, and reminds me of combat system in Batman AA or AC; your character is directed towards the nearest enemy (or teammate) while attacking. The graphics are good, nice enough for what the game is. The worlds are cute, somewhat related to the actual movie they depict. My two gripes with the game include achievements and co-op. Achievements can only be gained by the player hosting the game, which is a bit unfair and angering since some of the achievements are time-consuming and easily attained with 2 or more players. The game is also co-op only; no online multiplayer. With that being said, some could consider it a plus since it is a Disney game directed towards children and families, so I doubt most parents want to encourage their kids to play online. Overall, its a great game to play with friends and for those who want a break from Gears, Batman, or Rage etc. But its $50, and can be easily finished in an afternoon, so I would say just rent it. It gets an 8/10 for its small, short worlds, lack of multiplayer, achievement issue, and price.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great for Kids

posted by marie19734 (BRUNSWICK, GA) Jan 25, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I found this game fun the first play through. It was cute but easy. I think it would be perfect for kids that enjoy the "Lego" games. Overall enjoyed playing but glad I rented & not bought.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring

posted by Merna (DORAL, FL) Aug 1, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I thought it would be fun and interesting but I got bored by the first level. Well it is a kids game so maybe thats why I got bored.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Cd scratch :/

posted by ADAN518 (AULT, CO) Jul 13, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

The cd that I got of Disney universe is scratch my Xbox will not read it I was going to keep it but I don't want it scratch. But it's a great game because I've played the demo that's why I'd like to buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun, but not a keeper

posted by AdammReilly (ROUND ROCK, TX) Jun 5, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

I rented this as something to play with my son. He enjoyed it, just for the smash everything aspect. Completing objectives with him running off in the opposite direction was tiresome since I had to wait for him to catch up just to go a little bit farther past the screen stretch limits. I replayed some levels without him, and found it kind of repetitive even tho it said the level changes on subsequent play-throughs..I didn't notice any changes. This is definitely a good game for younger players, but I wouldn't play it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Family Game

posted by jacksonran (BEDFORD, IN) May 23, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

I got this because it looked pretty funny. It is very simple and an easy 1000/1000 for an adult. The puzzles can be challenging for a child.

Good: The character costume diversity and environments. The weapons change when you level them up too. Good challenge but acomplishable for children.

Bad: Having to be the same little guy and costumes only.

Ugly: The storyline. Plain and simple.... a good virtual system gets taken over by an evil system (virus).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Kingdom Hearts Meets Little Big Planet? Or not...

posted by OtakuCO (WRAY, CO) May 1, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

Ok so this game tries seriously hard to be a cross between LBP and KDH when the enemies look remarkably like bad heartless and the game design feels like a cruddy version of Little big Planet I just felt like I was being ripped off due to my time being wasted as I already own these two fantastic games and don't need to play a cheap disney mickey mouse version. Half the time your fighting the heartless little red guys and the other half your collecting Orbs that are shaped like Mickey Mouse's head. I digress though its a childrens game... wait no I don't so is Little Big Planet and that game at least allows kids to explore their imagination. I had a bit of fun beating the tar out of the little heartless buggers and give them props for telling kids to harass one an other... but when they do it to me I get irritated because they think its funny so funny that they will do it for hours if I do not murder my own children kin. So yes this game gets a max of a 3 rating. I'd recommend getting it if you don't have a PS3 or a kinect if your looking for something for your kids to do. Still the Park would benifit everyone better anyway...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Like a Lego Game

posted by Amynmatthew75 (ORLANDO, FL) Mar 27, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

Break this, collect that, put those together. Only difference between this and a Lego games is that it tells you what to do. Fun for kids and gamers that don't want to think hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun for the whole family!

posted by VegMomNetwork (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Mar 5, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

This game was just hard enough that everyone was able to enjoy themselves playing. A good game for a family with multi-age kids like mine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

VERY CUTE

posted by elebeu10 (WATERVILLE, ME) Jan 19, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

This is a great game if you are a disney fan for sure. i loved it mite be a tad difficult for a child at times but other wise easy. took me 3 days to beat it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A fun family game! That adults can play too.

posted by JonDavid1210 (PALM BEACH GARDENS, FL) Jan 14, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Yes it's marketed to kids but this game is fun for everyone. Not super challenging and its a great wat to increase your Gamerscore. Th only problems are the lack of consistency when your character takes damage (though the game let's you respawn as much as you want) and the lack o downloadable worlds. (Right now there I one.) it'd b nice to see more added via Marketplace Downloads. Everything els about the game is great. You can play it with your kids and not worry about it being too childish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

cool idea, executed wrong

posted by gearslovingun (WYANDOTTE, MI) Jan 9, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

This seemed like an awesome idea just done wrong. It takes inspiration from the lego games but isnt as fun as those games. Playing with a second player splitscreen is more irritating than I have ever experienced. achievements arent supported for the second profile signed in so i felt i didnt deserve some that my partner earned but it gave to me. the levels are very boring and repetitive. only six worlds to choose from and youre supposed to replay them for unlockable characters which doesnt really hold up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!!!!!

posted by docella1977 (FEEDING HILLS, MA) Dec 30, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

I rented this game on a whim and since a free 1 month membership came with his XBox 360 Kinect bundle, I figured we couldn't go wrong. I am now going to purchase it and becoming a permanent member of Game Fly! It's a game that all three of us...me, him, and his 16yr. old sister, can play and it is WONDERFUL family fun and you can change characters...he's Tron, I'm Lilo, and my daughter is Nemo...how awesome is that! It's easy to understand the instructions are a breeze...Definitely 10 stars...Thanks Game Fly :-)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

review

posted by alyeli27 (BRONX, NY) Nov 28, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

sort of like kingdom of hearts but not as good love all the characters you can create and play with also pretty funny story line.recommended for your kids.espeacially kids who are just learning how to figure thing out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

disney universe

posted by smoken420 (PUEBLO, CO) Nov 20, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

Tthis game is fun for the family. It helps people playing the game to work together. our kids are 6 an 9 there is not a lot they agree on. And thid game i on e they both would play all day if allowed each world if gered to look similar to the actual movies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Family Friendly Experience

posted by Alacer24 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

Disney Universe is an excitingly repetitive ride through six different Disney Worlds. Seeing as the targeted age range is most likely young children and hardcore Disney fans, this game does a good job of bringing a variety of characters together. I myself, being an avid Disney fan, enjoyed the game for the most part, and found the collectibles and achievements to be extremely easy to obtain. Hardcore gamers won't get much of a thrill in this game since there is much repetition in the levels and the replay level is particularly low in my opinion. Overall, Disney Universe was a fun and family friendly experience that my family and I enjoyed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good but dont buy

posted by HikasuDingo (TILLAMOOK, OR) Nov 8, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

first off when you think of a disney game, you might think ( just for kids ) or ( low buget junk ) and you would be right but then they came out with this. Disney univers is a fun new look at what a good disney kids game should be.
story: 4.5
theres not much of one here.
game play: 7
fun and keeps you in the game, there is some funny stuff here to like in the c/s and in the worlds them self. the game play its self is fun and esay to do and learn.
graphics: 9
mmmm candy for the eyes
sound: 6
not much here too, but youll be making to much of a ruces to care.
multiplaer: 7
and i can say is ........the most fun youll have with your friends. why? there are lots of fun min games 2-4 per lv in ech wold. and in game not to bad in its self.

over all: 7

buy: no
rent: yes
buy as a gift for a kid: very yes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

couldnt even keep my 10 year old son interested

posted by bigjim (ORANGE, CA) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

both of us thougt it was lame that little guys kept coming out to kill you even after you killed them the ENTIRE time you are trying to complete your objectives in your missions. DISNEY DROPPED THE BALL ON THIS ONE !!
dont waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

For Kids and Families only

posted by iambosh (LEXINGTON, KY) Oct 30, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I thought this would be like a lego game mixed with kingdom hearts, but this is even more "baby-proofed" than the lego games are, if that's possible. It's great for toddlers and parents to play with toddlers, but not for core gamers like me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »