Rent Disney Universe for PS3
view large frontback

Disney Universe

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.1

468 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Fun action-platformer, good for the kiddies

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Jan 3, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

"Disney Universe" is a fairly simple game, as it should be, being that it's geared primarily towards younger players. The whole premise is that a virtual Disney has been created to allow players to experience worlds from Disney movies. A virus named Hex invades, and so it becomes up to you, choosing a sprite in your favorite Disney outfit, to save the day. Gameplay is fairly straightforward, solve simple puzzles and engage in combat with enemies to progress through each level's three stages. Each world is comprised of three levels, which need to be unlocked with the purchase using gold pieces in the shape of Mickey's head. You can also unlock additional costumes to play as more characters. The graphics are bright and colorful, though the music is more standard kid's game fare. The camera can be problematic, as it is fixed, so it doesn't always provide the best view. Not to worry- even if you die, you respawn right back where you last left off as you have infinite lives. This may not provide a challenge for more seasoned gamers, but you can play co-op with up to three others, making this at least a nice rental for parents with young children or gamers with younger siblings. You're likely to blow through everything in around 10 hours, so a purchase may not be warranted for some. It's not quite up to par with a superior platformer like "LittleBigPlanet", but it's still a pleasant diversion, even if it's only for a short while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not a bad game, just not my thing

posted by Malumcallide (UNION CITY, CA) Jan 21, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's seem very clear to me that this game was meant to be a more kid-friendly version of Little Big Planet. The levels are bite-sized, but at 9+ per world length isn't an issue. There also many costumes to collect that level up with you. The game is simplistic with little story, so it's very easy to just jump right in.

My main issue with the game is that i was looking forward to playing out cliff note sized version of my favorite Disney flicks, but the costumes and worlds are more brand recognition that story. For example, the pirates of the carribean world covers three areas from On Stranger Tides. It coves London, The Queen Anne's Revenge and the Fountain of Youth. However these are just locales that give the game reason to swarm you with pirate flavored enemies, with no real connection to the movies story.

In short if you like Disney, have kids, or both, give this game a whirl. Just don't expect too much story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I know its been out 5 days But

posted by michaeljpitts (GAINESVILLE, FL) Oct 29, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

Why do people write a review before the game is even out. All sites like this have people that do that. And of course if its a 360 game its sure to have like a user score of 11 out of 10 for a vary average game 3 weeks before anyone plays it lol. But its just stupid (not the game.) I blame the sires as much as the people for allowing reviews before a game comes out. We all know company buy some user reviews (Micro caughhhh ) But come on site s we need to do better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Cant wait

posted by wahoopunch (OWENS CROSS ROADS, AL) Oct 24, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 16 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

i can tell already that this game is going to be cute and fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game but fun!!!!

posted by gatorchron (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 10, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

This game is really fun and good graphics and gameplay I love this game because they have alot of costumes and serveal levels it's like lego pirates and the carribean and little big planet. You can buy more costumes and upgrade it I want to give this game like 10 out of 10 but there is some parts I do not like. Like you have to get 4 controlliers for couple trophys you need local friends to get these trophys it do not have online multiplayer but it have local multiplayer you have go world select and turn on 4 controllers and start each player and start the level. This game is good for people that have friends at there home or have 4 controllers on them. If you do not have friends or 4 controlliers with you dont rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good, but annoying

posted by GlassDarkly (DUBLIN, CA) Sep 13, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

I bought this to play with my kid and she likes it ok. There's a lot to unlock, the visuals are cute, and the gameplay OK, but there are some major annoyances.

In the first place, you can hurt your teammates. When you are playing with kids, this will happen a lot. And the controls sometimes aren't tight enough for what you need to do. And they keep throwing that stupid bonus box at you when you're trying to solve a puzzle.

It's the Lego games with the would-be charm of LittleBigPlanet, but it doesn't amount to a great experience. More of a grind.

And, although it features characters and disney locations, more could have been done with it. It doesn't have a lived in charm of a Disney Universe, more like a half-hearted effort.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Freeze Issue

posted by rodrigmays (HAVELOCK, NC) Sep 12, 2012

Member since May 2011

I'm unsure if its because its a rented game or not but I usually never came across this issue with gamefly until I rented this game. Everytime I would start the game it froze. I tried it on different days and the freezing would start always at the same level. Could have been its server issue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

disney universe

posted by elecroshock (PALMDALE, CA) Aug 24, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

i first played the demo and the real game one problem i found is the controls are a little stiff moving around other then that if u like disney movies u will love this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Really? Real Cash To Pay?

posted by Achika_Matsuki (AUSTIN, TX) Aug 21, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

To actually pay 25 bucks for this game and then finding out you have to actually pay 2-5 bucks if you wanted more worlds or levels is HIGHLY unfair and stupid to even make this game i think it should be free to get more worlds and levels but to pay extra if you want costumes but this is pathetic! i will never ever rent or buy this game at all i think it highly stupid to even make this game as well

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good for kids and adults

posted by ghosttbp (BROCTON, IL) Aug 18, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

if your a fan of disney movies you will enjoy this game its disneys version of mario bros.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

view/controls

posted by pops12 (WASILLA, AK) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

not very good bad viewing angle and weird controls

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome

posted by methead1 (LUBBOCK, TX) Dec 21, 2011

Member since May 2011

best game ever cool costumes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »