Rent Disney Epic Mickey for Wii
view large frontback

Disney Epic Mickey

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.1

6187 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Would have been "epic" five years ago/ epic fail

posted by Megamandan (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Dec 7, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

The game lacks much of what some of the latest platformers offer. Easiest way to describe the feel of the game, "a fan of psychonauts made a game with Mickey and it's not as good". Other critics can say the production is great, but I have to argue that it is lacking. For one, the vocal talent is lacking. The game should have been filled with great voices, including Mickey, but a choice was made to only use basic grunts. My daughter's watches The CG Mickey Mouse Club cartoon which has 25 minutes of Mickey dialogue in each episode. Why can't I play a game with some quality voices? The first two hours of the game are sub par. The camerawork is sub par. The bad guys are like Kingdom Hearts throw away ideas. The choices in the game of fighting enemies or coating them with brainwashing paint gets old fast. We play a game that is outdated in many ways. If this game came out 5 years ago, it would have recieved a higher rating. Too bad there are better platformers/holiday games out there. I find it unjust to compare this game straight across to Psychonauts because that game came out almost 5 years ago. So did Beyond Good and Evil. Both are better games than this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Epically Average

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 7, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

It’s been a while since I’ve seen Mickey Mouse outside the Disney Channel, and I was hoping that all the praise that Disney Epic Mickey was earned.
However, after playing with the game for several hours, I can say that Epic Mickey isn’t that epic to me.
At the basic level, this game is a 3D platformer where you play as Mickey on a quest to reverse a disaster (called the Thinner Disaster) You are armed with paintbrush that shoots paint and paint thinner.
You can use the paint to fill in certain areas of the level, and use the thinner to eradicate certain areas of each level. This does lead up to bits of inventive puzzle solving, but not enough for my liking.
What I did spend a lot of time doing was the basic platforming action: going from point A to point B, jumping over obstacles, collecting hidden items, and blasting enemies with paint or thinner.
And a few problems also show up.
First, the camera can go crazy at the worst times, making jumps hard to pull off.
Second, there needs to be a better way of showing the path I need to go in order to get past a certain level. Just showing me the destination isn’t good enough anymore.
Third, there’s too many mundane tasks while getting through a town named Ostown.
And let’s face it; outside of Mickey Mouse, many players are not going to have a clue as to who are the characters that populate each and every level of this game; and the old style of cartoon isn’t going to grab their attention either.
This lack of information makes the story bland and forgettable - something that the makers of this game didn’t want.
This game needs better level design, a more thought out story, and better use of the paintbrush, paint, and paint thinner. Without that, Disney Epic Mickey is just a basic 3D platformer. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad, but...

posted by noprob420 (BERLIN, NH) Dec 6, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Epic Mickey is not too bad of a game if...
1. You don't mind all the levels kind of looking alike.
2. Platforming frustrations such as camera angles.
3. Stupid cut scenes
4. Enemies that are no challenge to eliminate, but in sickeningly high numbers in some levels.
5. Figuring out what to paint.
6. Figuring out what to thin.
7. Mundane choice of controls scheme.
8. Not much variety.
9. Useless quests. For example this guy wants something so go find something to bring back something to get another something for someone else looking for something...so on so on so on
Other than that stuff, I don't have much else to play right now and Goldeneye was not too great either so its at least worth checking out. The side scrolling levels are pretty good though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse