Rent Disney Epic Mickey for Wii
view large frontback

Disney Epic Mickey

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.1

6183 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not an Epic, but an Above Average Mickey

posted by EmoChips (HOUSTON, TX) Dec 1, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

70 out of 75 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Pros:
- It's Disney. Nobody in this world hates Disney and their characters.

- It felt weird [in an awesome way] to play as Mickey Mouse in this... I wouldn't say entirely kid-oriented setting. The game is more for teenagers and adults who have a soft spot for Mickey as the game does have a more young adult inclination to it.

- Being given the choice to be Mischievous Mickey or Goody Goody Mickey. The game will still follow the basic storyline[I'm around the 60%-70% mark in the game] but you are given choices on how to do missions. A couple of them will give you the option of taking the easy road and doing it the "mean/thinner" way or the good/paint way. Just the fact one can do so with Mickey makes it all the more satisfying.

-A lot of the missions can be done with either paint or thinner.

- [for those who saw old cartoons... even House of Mouse] there are many old faces in here and seeing them in a non goofy [no disney pun intended] manner makes it better for me.

- The story is nothing out of this world, but seeing Mickey talking [well characters grunt and do noises while subtitles appear similar to Banjo Kazooie] and having serious/sad conversations again..... just makes it awesome because it's Mickey. Our childhood Mickey.

-the cutscenes have a beautiful art style.

Cons:
- The camera. Nothing game breaking, but this is where the second joystick would be preferred over the d-pad and wiimote combo.

- the gameplay is nothing awe-strucking. The paint/thinner mechanics are nothing mind blowing. It's just a platformer/adventure game.

- the game's main appeal pre-release [more on the hype in the next point] was the steampunk/dark like Disney locations. It's more of a Tim Burton than a dark. Pretty to look at in a twisted way.

- Some textures and objects are subpar.

- The hype made the reviews lower. people were expecting the second coming of Mickesus.

Overall- 8/10. Definitely worth a play, the pros outweight the cons.

Buy or Rent?- Rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The camera is the villain.

posted by DoomBean (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 30, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I wanted to love this game. I did. But the camera is so bad. Ungh. With all the obscenities you'll be spewing, you'll feel more like Donald than Mickey.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could have been better...

posted by lwalser (HASLETT, MI) Sep 10, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Though the controls weren't as bad as I thought they were going to be, they definitely had some glitches. What was most disappointing to me thought was the story line. It was often very difficult and confusing which led to frustration and me deciding to stop playing the game.

I have high hopes for Epic Mickey, I'm sad it didn't work out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A great game except for the difficulty

posted by pikirbyio (TOMS RIVER, NJ) Sep 3, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Disneys Epic Mickey was a great game. But i felt the game was too difficult. Players control Mickey Mouse as he saves the Wasteland, home to forgotten Disney Characters. Players use the Wii remote to spray Paint and Thinner, allowing them to restore and destroy certain objects. They have to make dissicions in the game like the coice to redeem bosses like the clock and captain hook, or use thinner to wreck and destroy them. Mickey is joined by the Gremlin Gus, and the forgotten Oswald the Lucky Rabbit, one of Walt's first cartoons. The final boss was not really a boss but has the difficulty of one. Many great ideas were scraped,(Scrapper and Hero Mickey for example) but the game was a great experience. The ending is based off of the dissicions you make in the game. So you either have a good ending, a bad ending or a mixture of both

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The story and game play couldn't make me care less

posted by yourdog23 (DENVER, CO) Jul 5, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to like this game, but I just couldn't care about anything that was going on here. Just to gauge how far I got, an FAQ on gamefaqs put me at about 1/3 ot the way through.

For starters, I'm not a Disney fan, so the promise of unlocking all the mysteries of the forgotten wonders of Disney did nothing for me. If you want that charm & mystique, it's here in spades. This isn't really a negative for me, just a lack of a positive. The fact that this doesn't play out like what most would expect a Disney game to play out as would be another non-negative (but still not a positive).

Second, the camera and frustration that a bad camera gives is so evident in this game. Using the D pad for controlling the camera just doesn't work anywhere near as well as a second analog joystick. I think I'd have hated trying to use the paint/thinner combo with anything other than the Wiimote, so putting this on PS3/Move or Xbox 360/Kinnect would have had identical or alternative problems.

Third, the fact that this is a game that is made up of what appears to be small quests, I really got the feeling that this game was made for someone with an extremely short attention span. That frustrated me to no end, making me not want to play at all. In fact, it was enough of an excuse for me to actively avoid playing the game.

With all the negatives, I will say that there is quite a bit that made me want to like it. When the camera/controls weren't a problem, the mechanics worked well. The concept for the game play did intrigue me. The mixture of 2D and 3D gaming was actually fun (though the 2D was too simplistic to hold my attention for longer than the short snippets you played).

Yet, I just couldn't get over how much I wanted to do something, nay anything, other than play this game. I even put it down for a week, and the same feeling persisted.

I don't expect to have any interest in the upcoming sequel either (which is why I wanted to check out the original).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Epic Fail

posted by Talca002 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Jul 3, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game had so much potential. Now it feels like if a 5 year old took the gritty disney and flicked paint onto it and then decided to start using thinner instead. when he realized what he did and sent it as "finished". the controls failed and feel like i need to swing the controls at the TV till mickey remembers someone had to tell him to do something

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not what was expected but not dissapointed.

posted by Slade_O_Niel (BURIEN, WA) May 30, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The big complaint about this game is that it was advertised as this horrendous dark chapter in the story of Mickey's life. What it turned out to be was a fairly kid friendly romp through a somewhat twisted version of Disney Land. However, looking at the source material and just how restrictive Disney tends to be with their licences, this is pretty dang dark.

Mickey is sucked into a land for forgotten characters to answer for the crime of turning it into a wasteland. Using the powers of paint and thinner Mickey can alter the world at will which affects what kind of ending you get as well as how come characters react to you. With horribly twisted version of Disneyland park rides and scenery it's certainly not the happiest place on earth. Plus, couple that to gether with the fact that all the characters you meet are forgotten never to be seen again outside of the wasteland this game has a very dark feel for your average Disney romp.

Gameplay wise it comes down to a platformer with collection elements. Mickey goes from place to place completing quests which usually consists of collecting something. The camera can be a little unresponsive or downright frustrating at times but if you just take your time it will usually catch up with you. The ability to paint and thin objects is actually quite fun to experiment with coming with the abiltiy to fire a stream of the stuff or blast it out like buckshot.

Overall not to diffecult a game and for those who have an interest in the history of Disney cartoons this is a welcome look into Disney's unexplored past. Though not as advertised the mood managed to be sufficiently dark to sate my presumptions and the story is rather charming as Walt's original character Oswald finally gets some much needed screen time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Frustrated...

posted by TheDew777 (ACWORTH, GA) Dec 12, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

27 out of 34 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

I wanted to like this game so much. The story is very creative and interesting and I love the nostalgic feel of the levels, but the game is ultimately too frustrating to be enjoyable.

I found myself constantly battling with the camera angle to properly platform. I can't tell you how many times I missed an easy jump and fell to my death in an acid pool because I had some awful camera view to deal with. You are forced to constantly adjust the camera with the D pad while platforming and it becomes so tiresome. It's a shame too b/c I really wanted to see how the story progressed and I really like the aspect of the player being able to play through as a helpful Mickey or a mischevious Mickey. The in-between levels that feature 2D side-scrolling are great and taken directly from old Mickey movies.

I gave up on this one shortly into it. Definitely try before you buy and if you are buying this for your kids thinking it will be some easy happy fun time, don't. The game is actually scary and will frighten younger players.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Epic Fail

posted by calebsdad (Bellevue, NE) Dec 2, 2010

Member since Sep 2005

24 out of 35 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

I was soooooooooooooooooo very excited for this game that i put it in the moment i ripped open the envelope. I was treated to a beautiful opening sequence that helped tell the lead-up to the story the game would tell. From the there the game fails in so many ways i couldn't help but almost cry. the platforming camera is so frustrating that I almost quit the game in the first task (jumping over a bridge) the game is in 3d but you have very limited control of the camera so from a jump across a bridge the camera should be from the side allowing you to gauge your progress in mid air, nope not there, maybe it was behind me that would be acceptable at least, no it was in-between behind and to the side thus rendering it not just useless, but counter to the game play. this is just the first of the major disappointments. next comes the disappointment that we are treated to DS style reading of all dialogue with the occasional grunt. really???? we couldn't get some voice acting here?????? next comes the fact that when i have to lock on to an enemy the lock on mode either sucks or is non-existent and here again our old friend the camera fails to be of any help. Levels design fails to be interesting and totally random at best. the game is beautiful and the story is so interesting, but they might as well just make it a movie or graphic novel because as a video game, epic mickey is an epic fail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Too Long

posted by jk_many (WHITELAND, IN) Mar 16, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I thought the game was pretty good. It was definitely something different for Disney; very dark and almost creepy at times. I enjoyed playing the game and thought storyline was pretty good. The problem I had was that I thought it was too long. Everytime I thought the game was over, when I had beaten the Shadow guy, there was like another hour or two of game play. More is not always better, but I would still recommend playing this game. It kept my attention, and it wasn't just doing the same thing over and over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

childs game that requires expert gaming

posted by Nephas (CALDWELL, TX) Apr 2, 2011

Member since Mar 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game was a severe disappointment, considering it has Disney's name attached to it. The physics were sloppy, the controls were sluggish in responsiveness, and just about all of the challenges were too difficult for my 9 year old daughter to play. This game frustrated everyone in my family. It was too childish for my teenager and myself who are the gamers in the family, but too difficult for my wife and daughter, who would otherwise have enjoyed it.

This game will irritate, frustrate, and disappoint you in every way possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mickey in dark disneyland.

posted by Papercaper (DELTONA, FL) Dec 3, 2010

Member since May 2007

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

When you get down to what the game is, its mickey mouse running around a broken disneyland with a nightmare before christmas theme going on.

The story is almost not there half the time and the direction in levels as far as what you need to do to complete your objectives is not laid out well. Also any sort of mini map would make a world of difference when playing. The camera is horrible so you basically need another view to make sure you are going in the right direction without the long winded slow camera controls hindering you.

The platforming for the most part is the most solid part of the game. There are both 3d and 2.5d platforming sessions. each of them is unique but I would say the 2.5d parts seem like they had alot less though put into them they are just mostly throw backs to old disney cartoons but they use the same ones over and over too often for them to feel unique.

The brush controls are for the most part good. There is alot of clipping if you are using the brush on any sort of incline. Overall you can almost always just point and click and as long as there are no objects between mickey and the target you should be alright.

This is just being nit picky but it really annoyed me when I first turned on the game and there was logo after logo to hit the A button passed and I ended up hitting it when the opening pre push start cut scene happened bypassing it. I did not know however that, that cut scene was the start of the story and instead of replaying it when you hit new game like they should have done they just toss you at the point right after it leaving you having no clue what is going on... To me this is just amateurish at best.

Overall: Epic mickey is a fun platformer puzzle game that has charm and a dark atmosphere for a mickey game. It has its flaws but none of them are game ending. The camera can be ok at times but most of the time you will find yourself fighting the camera more then the enemies. This game is not epic but its good enough. SFK

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Would have been "epic" five years ago/ epic fail

posted by Megamandan (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Dec 7, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

The game lacks much of what some of the latest platformers offer. Easiest way to describe the feel of the game, "a fan of psychonauts made a game with Mickey and it's not as good". Other critics can say the production is great, but I have to argue that it is lacking. For one, the vocal talent is lacking. The game should have been filled with great voices, including Mickey, but a choice was made to only use basic grunts. My daughter's watches The CG Mickey Mouse Club cartoon which has 25 minutes of Mickey dialogue in each episode. Why can't I play a game with some quality voices? The first two hours of the game are sub par. The camerawork is sub par. The bad guys are like Kingdom Hearts throw away ideas. The choices in the game of fighting enemies or coating them with brainwashing paint gets old fast. We play a game that is outdated in many ways. If this game came out 5 years ago, it would have recieved a higher rating. Too bad there are better platformers/holiday games out there. I find it unjust to compare this game straight across to Psychonauts because that game came out almost 5 years ago. So did Beyond Good and Evil. Both are better games than this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Epically Average

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 7, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

It’s been a while since I’ve seen Mickey Mouse outside the Disney Channel, and I was hoping that all the praise that Disney Epic Mickey was earned.
However, after playing with the game for several hours, I can say that Epic Mickey isn’t that epic to me.
At the basic level, this game is a 3D platformer where you play as Mickey on a quest to reverse a disaster (called the Thinner Disaster) You are armed with paintbrush that shoots paint and paint thinner.
You can use the paint to fill in certain areas of the level, and use the thinner to eradicate certain areas of each level. This does lead up to bits of inventive puzzle solving, but not enough for my liking.
What I did spend a lot of time doing was the basic platforming action: going from point A to point B, jumping over obstacles, collecting hidden items, and blasting enemies with paint or thinner.
And a few problems also show up.
First, the camera can go crazy at the worst times, making jumps hard to pull off.
Second, there needs to be a better way of showing the path I need to go in order to get past a certain level. Just showing me the destination isn’t good enough anymore.
Third, there’s too many mundane tasks while getting through a town named Ostown.
And let’s face it; outside of Mickey Mouse, many players are not going to have a clue as to who are the characters that populate each and every level of this game; and the old style of cartoon isn’t going to grab their attention either.
This lack of information makes the story bland and forgettable - something that the makers of this game didn’t want.
This game needs better level design, a more thought out story, and better use of the paintbrush, paint, and paint thinner. Without that, Disney Epic Mickey is just a basic 3D platformer. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad, but...

posted by noprob420 (BERLIN, NH) Dec 6, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Epic Mickey is not too bad of a game if...
1. You don't mind all the levels kind of looking alike.
2. Platforming frustrations such as camera angles.
3. Stupid cut scenes
4. Enemies that are no challenge to eliminate, but in sickeningly high numbers in some levels.
5. Figuring out what to paint.
6. Figuring out what to thin.
7. Mundane choice of controls scheme.
8. Not much variety.
9. Useless quests. For example this guy wants something so go find something to bring back something to get another something for someone else looking for something...so on so on so on
Other than that stuff, I don't have much else to play right now and Goldeneye was not too great either so its at least worth checking out. The side scrolling levels are pretty good though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Swing and a miss

posted by HowellBA (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Dec 6, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Horrible controls the movement is very unpredictable the camera is a pain and the overall gameplay was very repetitive.

I had higher hopes for this game but it was a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not So Epic Mickey

posted by Mantorock (LOMPOC, CA) Dec 3, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Epic Mickey is a game that had a lot of potential. You would think that a game featuring Disney's most famous character would live up to advertising hype. Unfortunately, despite many opportunities for greatness, there are several things that made me want to rip my hair out.

Voice acting: There is none. We all know and love the voices of these classic characters, why not use them?

The camera: Maybe the hardest thing to do in the game. I died countless times because I couldn't see where I was going, or see the enemies coming after me.

Dead ends: Several times in the game I found myself in some corner of an area with nowhere to go. Puzzles complete, treasure obtained, enemy defeated, and nowhere to go. I was forced to simply kill myself and hope my work would not be undone, and that I would respawn somewhere else.

Overall I enjoyed being reunited with those old forgotten characters, I loved having a choice between paint and thinner solutions to puzzles, and the visually distorted images of classic Disney destinations were definitely amusing and crazy.

I would recommend this game as a rent, but not a must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

feels like playing a mickey mouse cartoon

posted by wcgbraves (KATHLEEN, GA) Dec 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

if your looking for a game with alot of visual appealing graphics then this is not a game for you. The graphics are that of an old mickey mouse cartoon and are made to be that way The graphics looks good and adds to the game making you feel like your in the mickey cartoons. This game uses the black and white you have seen in pictures to connect areas and the main part of the game is in color.

The game reminds me a lot of kingdom hearts but does suffer with bad camera work but not enough to kill the game for you.

If you grew up watching mickey mouse cartoons or have watched them recently then this is a must play game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Frustratingly Average

posted by asgeras (IOWA CITY, IA) Jan 9, 2011

Member since May 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was hoping for a bit more from Epic Mickey.

The camera controls are more than a little awful. This is especially true when you're either stuck in a corner and can't get the camera to change angles, or when you're fighting a bad guy and the camera decides to pan to the opposite direction of the attacking enemy. Just controlling the camera is awkward, since you have to use the d-pad while the remote is facing the screen.

The other main issue I had was that you end up doing a lot of the same things over, and over, and over again. There's always going to be a little bit of an issue with this when you're playing a game, but after opening the 50th locked up gremlin it got to the point where I just didn't care anymore.

Overall, the ambiance of the game is nice and the concept of being able to control a mischievous (evil) or good Mickey is awesome. However, the presentation left enough to be desired that I ended up quitting the game when I was 3/4 of the way through through the game.

This is definitely one of the reasons GameFly was created. Rent it first, then buy it if you end up liking it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Epic Irritation

posted by moviegeek5 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Nov 14, 2012

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I wish this were a positive review. I wish I were writing something that hasn't already been said. But oh well, here goes.

The game handles HORRIBLY! I got sick of fighting with it after the first half hour, and just put it in the envelope to send it back. The camera is all over the place, and it felt like I had no control over Mickey. It was so bad, I came back here just to make sure I had the game controls right (I did), or what the trick might be. Another reviewer mentions a tutorial, but I couldn't find it. Maybe that might have been helpful, but I doubt it.

It is a shame, because I'd been looking forward to this, but if you have to be some professional gamer to play, I'm afraid you'll have to count me out. :( What a total disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game is better than the reviews suggest.

posted by karrde (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Feb 14, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm very glad I ignored the reviews on this game. Most of the complaints I've found with the game are unfounded. What I have to say to the people that had trouble with the camera -- play the tutorial and use the c button and arrow keys. You can change the camera. There are very few times you cant do this and in those cases God of War (1-3) was far harder for jumping.

The game is by no means great. The story is a little dark for the target age group and hard for an adult to get into.

Over all its a good game, but if you are over the age of 10 you probably wont like the game.

I gave it an 8 instead of a 7 because I give a lot of my points to game play. The game play was better than most platformers I've played. I think a lot of people go on story alone for this hence God of War(1-3) getting 10s. Compared to God of War 1-2 Epic Mickey is well programed, Compared to God of War 3 its better programed you have to give them some props for the improvements to GoW 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

i love it

posted by Wearex316 (OCEAN CITY, NJ) Jan 4, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is a awesome game. its fun to run around as mickey. the game has a kingdom hearts feel to it. its perfectly dark and twisted. the camera isn't the greatest. but the gameplay makes up for it. graphics are sweet very cartoon like again very kingdom hearts like. i would buy this. another perfect Wii game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Such a Great Idea Ruined...

posted by MikeDeas (LOS ANGELES, CA) Dec 2, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

After playing only two hours, I turned this game off and sent it back. And to think I almost bought the dang thing. When I first read the sneak peak in Game Informer over a year ago I could not be more excited. This sounded amazing! But in playing - the camera was a joke, the light/ dark of the levels was cool but extremely hard to distinguish, the levels themselves were boring and while the idea is inventive I found it somewhat tedious and a little boring. Wah wah.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great Concept, Terrible Camera Angles

posted by megsylove9 (BEAUMONT, TX) Jan 16, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The concept of Epic Mickey is a fantastic one. Mickey Mouse being drawn into another world trying to save or destroy it with either paint or paint thinner? Where the player's own choices determine the outcome of the game like never before? WOW! Epic!

Except that Disney has NO idea how to program camera angles. Nor do they give Mickey any upgrades of any kind, except for larger paint and thinner reservoirs. Nothing more powerful to defeat the ever more challenging Blotlings.
The entire time I played this game I was fighting the camera, and sometimes I couldn't even complete a quest or died multiple times because the camera wouldn't move away from its position, leaving me helpless and blind.

Its a very frustrating game with an amazing concept. Alas for the camera programmers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Should not be rated E

posted by jen_52 (STANWOOD, WA) Aug 28, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I didn't even start the game and i had to take it out and send it back, just the intro is bad, super dark and really disappointing, so glad i rented before i bought. I was shocked how dark it was especially with an E rating. Very disapointed in Disney.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse