Rent Disney Epic Mickey: Power of Illusion for 3DS
view large frontback

Disney Epic Mickey: Power of Illusion

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.3

184 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Quickly sent it back

posted by HippyVock (SEATTLE, WA) Jan 18, 2013

Member since May 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

From the very second the game started and static cutscenes of a classically animated cartoon began telling a lengthy, no voice acting, story that went on and on boring the spit out of me, I admit I was put in a bad mood.

For a moment after the gameplay started I felt a little better but quickly realized this "3D" platformer had no use for 3D, the stylus use was drab and irritating at best, and the platforming - definitely the working aspect of this game - was really no different from any other except every time Mickey jumps he lets out an exclamation.

Let me repeat that for you. EVERY TIME he jumps, he yells out. Maybe only I have a problem with that, but like Mario Galaxies before, the constant yelp drives me crazy. And I'm not turning the volume down for one awful sound effect.

After finishing the first 4 stages or so, I realized I was doing the same controls and basic timing I had worked with in a different, ninja (Shinobi - recommended) game that actually used the 3D, didn't bother with the stylus because the 3D is on the top screen, and most importantly the ninja is SILENT. The platforming controls, the Ninja has an additional grappling hook, are very similar in my opinion with difficult jumps, tricky moves, and increasing difficulty to get to the out of the way places.

I like Mickey and Disney, but this game lacks everything I've always liked about their cartoons: animation, not static pictures, voices, not gibberish, and if you are going to use the stylus, make it cool...I never was one for drawing inside the lines.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ugh..

posted by Ryoichui (ROY, UT) Nov 21, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

One of the worst games i have palyed, i didn't even get through the first part and hated it, as much as i tried to give it a chance, it was just so gruling, the fact you can't even use the paintbrush unless you're ata specail point, it bugs me more than a little, only reason you'd play this is to try and remeber the ilusion series, which this hardly owns up to..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Remember The Good Old Days?

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Oct 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

Unlike the series this belongs to, this game is more like Sega's "Castle of Illusion" with a few Epic Mickey Elements. Of course it feels like "Castle of Illusion" as it was designed as an homage to that series. However, the painting mechanics on the bottom screen require the right amount of lighting for accurate tracings as well as little to no movement, it probably would've been better for a home console. Either way, i do recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game; glad i played it

posted by criticman95 (BRANDON, FL) Aug 16, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

this is a good game. the themes are usually from the movies but some of the attacks are from the games. like scrooge can help mickey out by using the(Kinda SPOILER ALERT!)POGO attack from the NES games.(and DUCKTALES REMASTERED came out less than a year later coincidence I think not.)and ALADIN will throw apples(Like in the Super Nintendo version made by CAPCOM. Interplay made the SEGA Genesis version and he used a sword.)and lastly this may just be a coincidence but clams open up when Ariel sings which I think was them referencing splash woman from mega man 9(Who was technically a reference to Little Mermaid)BYE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun action RPG.

posted by tiloho (OSHKOSH, WI) Jan 24, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2005

This game could use a configuration option menu for both the sounds and the controls. The sounds don't usually bother me(I either have it on low while watching tv or off completely) but I'm used to using the a button for jumping and the b for attacking. There is a little bit of reading to do especially during the intro but if you like rpgs/adventures you should be used to that. I like the moderate difficulty(I usually only play turn based) for those of us who don't have perfect timing. It seems dificult enough to provide some challenge while not being too frustrating. There are quests to move the story along and usually reward your character with stronger ablities etc. The ablity to switch between paint and thinner for distance attacks makes it easy to recharge your health whenever you need to(one gives you hearts the other gives you money). Beside those attacks you also have a jump or a spin attack to for nearby enemies(the spin attack is handy for when you don't want to jump into overhead spikes). While in the fortress you can use the game currency to upgrade your stats and if necessary you can replay older levels to earn extra money. Overall I love the puzzle solving element of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

So Boring

posted by supastarguy (WEST HOLLYWOOD, CA) Jan 11, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Fun for a few levels, but gets boring fast. I hate using the stylist every time I need to paint. This is an EPIC fail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

So far so good...

posted by Pebbles_21 (BURTON, MI) Jan 10, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

It has its faults, but overall its a good game :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not very epic

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Dec 16, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

"Epic Mickey: Power of Illusion" tries to carry on in the tradition of classic Disney video games like "Duck Tales", "Aladdin", "The Magical Quest", and, of course, "Castle of Illusion", but comes up extremely short. It lacks the charm and whimsy of those older games; it all rings very hollow. In addition, there are very few levels, the gameplay is severely lacking in variety, and though plenty of beloved Disney characters put in appearances, they're all very boring and devoid of personality.

"Power of Illusion" can be an amusing romp for a couple of hours, but you won't find much life in it beyond that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »