Rent Disney Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Disney Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii U, PS3, Wii
GF Rating
5.6

617 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

So-So

posted by ktm910 (WILSONVILLE, OR) Dec 30, 2012

Member since May 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As a veteran of the first game from the Wii, I was worried about getting it on the Xbox. The controls were surprisingly easy but that and the consistency in scenery from the first game are the only good things I can say about the sequel. The game was definitely designed for two players, trying to run as Mickey solo with only AI for Oswald created a lot of frustration; Oswald was constantly either in the way when I didn't need him, no where to be found when I did, and constantly shoty about using his powers when I wanted him to. The story itself was very choppy and ended ridiculously fast. The camera also seemed to have a mind of its own at times and Mickey's recovery time after being hit was terrible, it took seconds upon seconds for him to stand back up, which was extremely frustrating in larger battles. Finally there seemed to be no accomplishment in the game. You could just buy your powers and upgrades without having to work for them. I give Disney an A for concept and trying, but the first game was much better, had a longer, more in depth story line and better mechanics. I recommend it only to people who are a-retentive about playing every game in a series like I am.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Broken Game Does not make it Epic

posted by Gimmly22 (EL MIRAGE, AZ) Jan 27, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Seriously, played this with several people. Several time, in different areas, the game respawned Mickey in a area that Oswald could not return to on each occasion, had to reset back to the last save point just to pass the obstacles again. Time and again, different areas would have major flaws, or hidden walls. Did not matter who was playing who. Oswald's remote works part of the time when the aiming dot was aligned.

The overall story is good, and the characters are well researched and voiced. The platforming is ok and the general look of the environments is clean. The cinematics are short and not as annoying as some games (MGS4), and work to tie the different areas with the overall story.

The worst aspect of this is that both Epic Mickey and Epic Mickey 2 were designed by Warren Spector, the co-creator of Deus Ex and the Thief series. I liked Deus Ex and Thief, and was really looking forward to the usual element that made those games great: immersion. In both his previous IPs, you really were immersed in the story and gameplay elements. However, the Epic Mickey series feels like the games were rushed though development, and the immersion I am so used to with Sector's IPs fell by the way side.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun for a small amount of time

posted by Alwinsmd (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 25, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Although this game captures the Disney feel, it falls short in a lot of other things. To start, it's pretty hard to see what you're working towards. For a good part of the game you're left wondering what you're working for. The gameplay is fun but, like so many other things, gets boring after a while. Even the boss fights aren't really fun, especially if you're oswald. In many cases you're left running around while mickey does most of the work.
Where this game really shines is in it's visuals. The cartoon graphics really make the environments very interesting. The game is very fun to look at, and exploring the cartoon wastelands is a worthwhile experience. Disney did a great job in this department, but it really isn't enough after a while to keep you coming back for more. Barely worth a rent, not worth a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Kid loves it!

posted by tiffhoop84 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 14, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

My 8 year old son loves this game to death! It's not to had for him to play. I like it to because I can play with him!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not as good as expected.

posted by motoj93 (NORTH ADAMS, MA) Dec 15, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Well I figured I would give this try since I heard some good things about this game.What I don't understand is E for everybody. It should not be because this game is a pain to play and to understand what you have to do so little kids may need help.So lets get to it.First the graphics were okay but could of been better.I give a 6 for graphics because it has some glitches and they were a little outdated.Second the gameplay isn't bad but the problem is that sometimes Osborn will become unresponsive at certain times when you need him.Other times you don't know what or how to do things for the story or sidequests.Plus you can not go directly where you want to until you have most of the story completed.Going from place to place and so on repeatedly until you have realized you have already been there and now you are in the wrong place.I think the game should of been more open world and more to the point of where to go and on how to do it.I give that a 4.Then of couse the story.If you like disney then you have your answer.Also it was kind of a fun story 7.Sound was good and had some nice voice overs too 7.Over all this game should been better. It was kind of a mess.A bit confusing and too many extras in the game with little explanation on how to get them.Difficulty a 6.Very little replay value.A must rental.
Graphics 6
Gameplay 4
Story 7
Sound 7
Difficulty 6

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

yawn

posted by lezBreal (FREMONT, CA) Nov 27, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

boring and confusing. didnt get very far before i sent it back. maby 24 is to old for this game...: /

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good For Kids and nothing else

posted by ZackRT (GLOUCESTER, VA) Nov 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

The only real reason I rent this game is for my little sister. Since this was co-op I decided I'll play with her. For me it was an absolute bore like for most. But for the younger ones this game just might be what they want. So don't rent this game unless its for a kid or someone who really just loves Disney that much

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

(un) epic mickey 2

posted by bigjim (ORANGE, CA) Nov 21, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

wow, what a waste of time. do NOT bother wasting rental time on this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun but frustrating

posted by Draco181 (BEDFORD, TX) Aug 28, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

If it wasn't for the AI of the partner, being dumber than a box of rocks this game could have easily made a 7.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

sad

posted by centurion209 (MANTECA, CA) Apr 5, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

i miss the days when disney games were great fun... sadly this is not one. The grafics are pretty good, and a decent story line, but its to much grand theft auto, not enough of a actual target on what you are suppose to be doing. I found my self lost multiple times not knowing what i should be doing. The two player controls dont work as well as i would like either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

epic micky

posted by eddiesgirl (RUPERT, WV) Mar 24, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

My opinion on this game is , decent.
It is fun traveling and painting things but it isn't fun
because all you do is walk around solving problems.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by PiNkLaDy76 (MOUNT VERNON, IN) Mar 2, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

really good game love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Epic great

posted by bigbadbear (BESSEMER, AL) Feb 14, 2013

Member since Aug 2007

I really enjoyed playing this one. I found major issue with the difficulty in navigating the endless run through stuff just to not find what you need. The fountain parts well still looking for that head down the whole they sent me and well it's not there. The glitches are everywhere and no fixes are sent out. This is defiantly not a game for kids due to the lack of feasibility in game play. More for a teenager or older.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Get Two People Or Don't Bother

posted by DaveMichael (ANNAPOLIS, MD) Feb 11, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

The game really needs two people playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What?

posted by SaintJames012 (AMES, IA) Feb 10, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

this game is genuinely boring and starts to feel like work to get through

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great for 6 year old

posted by Zori (LATHROP, CA) Feb 9, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

The game is great for little ones and not too demanding or challenging.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Glitch infested game

posted by Rols574 (RAHWAY, NJ) Jan 11, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

This game had lots of potentials but stupid AI and glitches ruin it. My AI partner fell through the board and i could not advance because i needed his help. Tried to reload the save point but because of autosave my character would load out of the map into instant death. after investing 2 frustrating days into the game my only option was to restart. no thanks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun

posted by tnw1987 (ATHENS, GA) Jan 7, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

If you're up for some good and light fun it's a great game especially if you want to play two players. It is definitely not a "guys" game but maybe a couple's game or a mature kid's game. My boyfriend and I rather enjoyed playing Epic Mickey 2 especially since you never truly die and can just keep on going. We will be buying it as soon as somewhere like Gamestop offers a lower price.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not on the level of EPIC

posted by DragonDan2453 (CHANNAHON, IL) Dec 28, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

If you have a younger sibling at home, or if your an adult and have a kid, this game is perfect to get some play time with them. But for everyone else, I doubt you will find much to do in this game. I like a game that you know what to do and where to do it at. Sadly though, this game has a hard time helping you understand your current task is. There is no mini-map, or arrow, or glowing trail leading you to your current mission. For the first part of the game I kept getting lost because the game just wasn't giving me enough information to go on as to what I was supposed to do. After awhile that kind of started to annoy me. If your playing by yourself, you will more than once get frustrated by the dumb CPU. The game doesn't let you switch characters, so you will be Mickey and the CPU is Oswald. I can't tell you how many time I yelled as Oswald telling him to go here and do that. If your going to have a partner CPU in a game, please give them a smart intelligence. The best part of this game is the story and visuals, espically the animated cutscenes, which are top notch perfect. But for everytime else, the game just doesn't live up to the word EPIC.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

epic Mickey 2

posted by joegavi (RENO, NV) Nov 21, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

one of the crappiest game i have played in a long time boring zzzzzzzzz

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »