Rent Disney Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two for PS3
view large frontback

Disney Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, Xbox 360, Wii U
GF Rating
5.5

391 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Truly a missed opportunity

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Nov 25, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

"Disney Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two" starts off decently, with some terrific graphics, voice acting, and even a catchy musical number. Problems appear soon enough when Oswald, the AI partner who accompanies Mickey, makes his appearance. For a few levels though, despite some slippery platforming, poor objectives, an annoying guide, and an AI partner that doesn't always behave as he should, there is a bit of fun to be had. Cutscenes are especially well done in a style reminiscent of classic Disney cartoons, and the side scrolling bits between levels (a la "Alice: The Madness Returns") are a bit of fun, often traveling through some classic Disney landscapes. You encounter plenty of NPCs with side quests, so the game does give you plenty to do. Things do get a bit repetitive, but can still be enjoyed. And then you hit that level where no matter what you try, you cannot pass it as a solo player. Junction Point Studios really dropped the ball with this, and should have taken lessons from Telltale Games and the far superior LEGO series on how to blend co-op and single player right. Not being able to switch between characters proves the downfall of this game, which is a shame, considering that the story is well written, engaging, and entertaining musical numbers. Poor game design is inexcusable in a game like this, especially since it targets a young audience. For those looking to play a game with their kids or indulge the child within, stick to the LEGO franchise. You can rent this to give it a try, but you're liable to get frustrated and return it in the mail long before you reach the ending. A shame really, as this had so much potential, but instead of being epic and living up to its name, it's just another missed opportunity.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Kind of interesting but frustrating too

posted by ML1187 (FAIRBORN, OH) Dec 13, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Played with me son for a few days, interesting on how you can make choices on where to go/what to do/ that will affect the game's outcome. Visuals are nice but just got boring way too fast!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sent Back Same Day

posted by VINCE47 (Terrell, TX) Nov 23, 2012

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

started off great,,story,graphics etc. but the AI Character you need to play the game was always where you didnt need him or so far up you couldnt reach him..very frustrating to die over and over trying to jump chasms or get to treasures to collect.. not gonna waste my time,,,feel sorry for you if you purchased for your kids,,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Oh Thank You I Love That Game

posted by seanmoore (LAND O LAKES, FL) Dec 22, 2012

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I Love That Game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth my time

posted by palumatzu (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Dec 21, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game has so many problems, i don't know where to begin. Maybe it's my fault for playing single-player with a wired controller? A big chunk of the game requires a wireless controller, because of a motion sensor not found in wired controllers. And as for the cooperative AI sidekick your given--it is an idiot. In situations where a second player would step on a switch to make a gate or pathway open, the AI will just sit there, for at least a solid minute, before catching the hint. As if that's not enough, the timing required for jumping in this game is so precise, over half the time, you'll never make the jump you were supposed to, and instead will be left wondering what you did wrong. Take my word for it--AVOID.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not impressed

posted by goatrules1 (PORTAGE, WI) Dec 16, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game seems more suited for kids, not very fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

do better disney plz mickey deserves it

posted by ksambad (SANTA ROSA, CA) Aug 23, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

the idea is cool the graphics are cool but.... there is no direction or suggestions for were to go at times and the ai on this game is terrible, wish they could have done a better job cause my 2 yo son loved watching me play but i couldnt go any futher got stuck and couldnt figure out my way out. come on disney do better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Who is this for?

posted by MiniDragon (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jun 25, 2013

Member since Jul 2010

With the expansive world and the difficulty involved in completing some of the tasks, I'm not sure who this game is for. The animation and characters suggest children, but the difficulty and storyline suggest adults. I'm an adult, and I couldn't get past the goofy (no pun intended) animation to get too far into this game. I played through a couple levels, never really started any of the giant side-quests, and my disinterest caused me to send it back. Decent game, but probably more for a very specific audience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Correctly Titled

posted by BloodyHeck (HOLCOMB, KS) Jun 4, 2013

Member since Oct 2008

Love this game; the only changes needed would be to fix the slow loading time, be able to use the arrows and not just the analogs if not using the move, able to skip the cut scenes, and fix the clunky controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game ever

posted by GrantSize (HAMPTON, VA) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Never rent it worst game ever!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really Fun

posted by alexisBeyond (HIALEAH, FL) Feb 27, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

+ Good voices and characters
+ - Gameplay is fun but it has some issues
+ Great story mode
+ CO-OP!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good game

posted by germ_man (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jan 10, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Epic Mickey 2 is a good game. It's good, challenging (what gamer doesn't like a good challenge), and its nostalgic.

It's pretty cool how the creators of the game not only include the cast for Mickey and friends such as Goofy, Donald, Daisy, Pete, for you old school Disney fans - Horace& Clarabelle, etc. but how they include Disney characters from various movies - especially in the DEC levels.

The only thing that makes this game fall short of what it could have been is that the game ends pretty quick. I won't spoil how quick but I thought it should've been a bit longer.

The game play was good. Very simple - R2 to paint, L1 to thin. I wish there was more to do with Mickey and Oswald, though. I felt more could have been done like not just a double jump but a triple jump or to use different items other than a paintbrush. But that's just my opinion.

The use of the projectors and the projector levels were really creative. I really enjoyed seeing classic cartoons being put to use instead of being in the Disney vault or something.

I liked the graphics. Especially the cartoon sequences before entering a new part of the story.

Overall, I enjoyed this game but the story was not as long as expected. Sometimes I got a bit lost of where I was and what was going on but eventually I found my way back. Can be frustrating with two players but overall it was good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible

posted by najd (VIENNA, VA) Jan 8, 2013

Member since Jan 2012

just terrible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

My 2yr old's first game...

posted by RizenFromDeath (DEARBORN, MI) Dec 29, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

has its bugs for sure. I rate 8 cause this title held the attention of my 2yr old daughter for 8 hrs straight, also it was her very first ps3 game. "landmark moment" I gave 8 cause my daughter gave 10, and I rate 6. happy medium

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »