Rent Disney Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two for Wii
view large frontback

Disney Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360, Wii U
GF Rating
6.6

224 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Just opened it up and played this game.

posted by MegaMauserMan (PORTLAND, OR) Nov 20, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is good, it's a little over hyped I think, but generally good control on the Wii over the avatar. I haven't unlocked too much storyline so far. To sum it up, this game is a solid 7 rating adventure game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

One step forward, one step back for EM2

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 20, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When the first Disney Epic Mickey game came out, it was hailed as one of the best games of that year. So naturally, they came out with a sequel that tried to improve on the original.
In Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two, there are two players – Mickey with his brush, and Oswald with his electrical remote control. You can play this game single player and have the AI control Oswald, or you can have another human join in for some co-op fun.
The gameplay for this is much like the original; you have to get past several obstacles by using the brush to paint in objects or remove objects with the thinner. But this time, there are obstacles that Oswald has to deal with – programming locks to open, shutting down turrets, powering up fuse boxes.
The combat is the same with the blotlings (black ooze type creatures), but this time around, there are robots to deal with. Here, Oswald can help by freezing the robots so Mickey can destroy them. It will take about five to six hours for the basic game – a bit more if you go for the optional missions.
One of the biggest problems the last game had is fixed here; the camera. In this game, you can move the camera about so it’s in the right position to make that jump or find that object.
But the level design still has flaws in it. For example; in one area, there are three identical doors, but only one can be opened using thinner. Why can’t the other doors be opened the same way? I have no clue.
Also, the second boss battle goes on for far, far too long.
And it’s far too easy to get lost and overlook a critical fuse box or item to destroy – which brings the game to a halt as players wander about aimlessly looking for the way out. It’s a good thing you can use YouTube to find the answers.
Disney’s Epic Mickey 2 is a lot of fun to play – solo or co-op – but the level design needs work. It’s a definite rent, and fans of the first game might want to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointment!

posted by brirus17 (UPPER SANDUSKY, OH) Dec 9, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was a HUGE fan of the first Epic Mickey. It was fun and challenging. Then I was so excited to hear a 2nd game was coming out. After playing it and beating it in one weekend I was very dissatisfied. It was too short and too easy. It just seemed like the game was being rushed to be made and released. I really wish it were more similar to the first game. Very disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Epic Mickey 2 Review

posted by VampireJoe (PAW PAW, MI) Dec 1, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Alright so the things that I got to say about epic mickey 2 are that the frame rate when there would be a bunch of enemies or anything else the frame rate would go down...WE LIVE IN THE YEAR 2012 ARE GAME DEVELOPERS LAZY OR WHAT????? Second of all there are glitches in the game were would the guy you would shoot thinner in his mouth there is wood and if hes in it and i paint the wood HE WOULD BE FROZEN...but the story is ok and the gameplay makes me yawn there's really nothing fun just painting and jumping and going into projector's but they finally added voice acting in this game not like epic mickey 1 were they would speak gibbersh. It's alright you can rent it if you want but it's a ok game for a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sub par

posted by sonicc101 (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Apr 19, 2014

Member since Mar 2012

I don't write too many reviews, but had to for this one. The controls are very confusing, and it's pretty much impossible to play if you decide to co op. The split screen is just too difficult to manage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

boring

posted by zeke365 (POWDER SPRINGS, GA) Apr 22, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

The reason I say that is that in the first epic mickey felt you wanted to save everyone but in this one the game is just boring. The voice acting is good but in this game there seems to be no reason to do the side quests. Its like you beat an area, I'm done routine. It does not feel like forgotten characters instead it feels like a Disney classic. Which I was expecting more eeriness and darker story than this. That my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but too short

posted by kermitluvver (BEL AIR, MD) Mar 1, 2013

Member since May 2012

First let me say this game was visually stunning. It was fun to play much like the first however it was much too short. The majority of my time spent playing this game was during the epilogue portion, which was a very strange design. I'd already defeated the bad guy, yet still had to play the game in order to complete the vast majority of the game's challenges including some that couldn't be started until after the boss fight. Don't get me wrong, I didn't mind the extra Mickey-time, but it was a strange design to have the closing scene then find out that your heroes have to trek back through all the completed levels to complete these challenges. Then when I finally completed the challenges, there was no additional game ending sequence for closure. I just turned off the console and went to bed. It was very anti-climatic. It just seems sad that a game series with so much potential keeps missing the mark. I enjoyed playing this game but definitely liked the story line of the first Epic Mickey better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not as good as the first one.

posted by Gohan24 (KENOSHA, WI) Feb 13, 2013

Member since May 2011

This game was kinda boring at first, but then I got really bored. I don't know if it was me or not, but it wasn't as good as Epic Mickey.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

no good

posted by tiger2326 (BELTON, SC) Jan 24, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

i really diddn't like this game because there is way to much running around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

kool game

posted by CRazYToWN13 (ROSWELL, NM) Dec 11, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

very nice game for my kid and even for me 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »