Rent Disney's Chicken Little: Ace in Action for Wii
view large frontback

Disney's Chicken Little: Ace in Action

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, DS
GF Rating
5.8

211 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great fun for fans of the movie.

posted by RedShoe (REDWOOD CITY, CA) Jan 9, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I remembered the "Chicken Little" story from my youth - and so when I found out that a movie was being made - I made sure I saw it on the 'big screen'. When I saw there was a game being made - I wanted to play it. The game does a great job of adding something to the movie. It is fun - although - if you did not like the movie or a 'fan' (in some way) of 'chicken little' - you just might find this game to be an average action/adventure game. It almost has a Lego Star Wars 'feel' to it - as you go around the levels collecting 'acornium' (acorns) and other such items to purchase - better weapons, shields, etc, etc. The way the game and the movie are integrated within the game is the most 'fun' part of this game. I say - give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Impossible To Beat

posted by deekim (HOUSTON, TX) Sep 22, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Pros:
Graphics are nice at 480p. Easy menu interface and setup. Immediate entry into game-play. Fairly easy controls that can be picked up right away. Mission variety. Cheat codes.

Cons:
Even though the graphics are nice the colors seemed a bit bland with basic shades. Controlling the hovercraft took some time to get used to. Time-limit bonus is ridiculous; you will never finish most missions in time for this bonus. Missions get progressively difficult to impossible to beat. After the first set of Pluto missions, forget it. I was unable to find market place within the game to purchase extras with the loot money. Probably because of the cheat.

This game has a target market for children so I rented this for my younger brother. However, I found it to be impossible to play after the Pluto missions. Some missions are so impossible that it took several tries even with cheat codes. This children's game is harder than Zelda: Twilight Princess, believe it or not, even with cheat codes. You cannot beat this game without them and still difficult with them. Not only is this children's game ridiculous, but most levels are impossible to beat without cheats. I keep emphasizing children's game because I don't know any adults who are into Chicken Little. It is clear that the developers did not test this game with children before they began selling it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Generic action has a new face

posted by Gobbles (KISSIMMEE, FL) Feb 23, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game highlights a genre that works very well for the wii: the satirical, non-photorealistic genre. Obviously, the graphics probably aren't the best, but they are very good cartoon quality during game play. The game play includes over-the-shoulder shooter, aircraft, and assault vehicle game play, which places the game in the '3 for the price of 1' category. The controls are awkward at first, but very easy to use once gotten used to. There is no online content, and I didn't get a chance to try the 2-player mode due to a lack of hardware. The only real problem I had with this title was the graphical quality of the cut scenes. The animation looked like a preliminary CAD sketch used for the animated movie. I was hoping for movie quality cut scenes. This is not a major problem, but it does keep it from having a perfect score. Overall, this game is a very solid effort that is hopefully a sign of good things to come from the Disney/Nintendo studios.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

lame

posted by pogocoop (CONCHO, AZ) Jun 3, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

im disapointed repetative game play and its super easy i beat it on the first day i had it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Chicken Little: Ace in Action - Wii

posted by BizarroP (CORONA, NY) Nov 12, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Considering this was one of the earlier games to come out for Nintendo's new system I decided to give it the benefit of the doubt and try it out for curiousity purposes and I'm glad I did. This game upon first viewing is very pretty even though it has "port" written all over it. The controls are suprisingly well for the wii and i found controlling the various characters/vehicles comfortable and easy. The main problem I had with this game is sheer repetition. You play as Ace and its a 3rd person shooter, you play with Abby and its a shooter on a jet, you play with Runt and its a shooter on a tank. This wouldnt usually be a problem if it didnt feel lazy at times with not-so-great gameplay. I found myself easily board with this one by the end and it wasnt that it was too easy (because it wasnt), it just felt uninspired. I'm sure the target audience of 8-13 boys will love it though and spend hours leviling up characters and buying items.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

above average title for kids

posted by veelaunch (GLENDALE, UT) Sep 15, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

This game was fun to play and the cut scenes were quite funny. However there is very little to the game and it repeated itself a lot. The contorls were a little shaky but overall it seemed to do better than a lot of the cheap kid movies made into games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun but with camera flaws

posted by yegman (ROCKLIN, CA) Sep 13, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

The game was fun, graphics were decent, and movement was ok. The problem was in the camera being controlled by the movement of the remote. There seemed to be a cut off when turning. This caused a lot of problems when you are getting beatup from behind and need to turn around. Other than that, it seemed like an enjoyable game. Rent, but not a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A little surprise

posted by Ragnex (SILVER SPRING, MD) Aug 14, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

It wasn't a good game, really, but it was better then most disney games by a long shot.

Pros:
Comedy was to be had for all.
Some neat blasty action.

Cons:
Multiplayer was lame
Gameplay wears thin fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Like Ratchet and Clank but....

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Jun 13, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

My New Rating Method...

Gameplay: Fun
Difficulty: Hard
Graphics: Good
Audio: Good
Contols: Good
Camera: Bad
Length of Play: 10hrs
Replay Value: Low

This is an under rated title (but not much);

I had high hopes for this game because I like the Ratchet and Clank series and thought this would come close but the bad camera puts this game in the good rental category. I gave it an 8 because of Gameplay.

Please make a sequel and improve the camera!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

easy to learn

posted by janilla (MESQUITE, TX) May 12, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Having just discovered the fun of video games at age 57 (my son let me play his Wii and I was hooked), I found this game easy to learn with just enough challenge to keep it interesting. It's great to be able to blast away at things. While I'm sure this game would be extremely easy for experienced gamers, I loved having something I could just jump into and figure out without feeling overwhelmed by my lack of gaming knowledge. The helpful hints I've discovered on Gamefly have opened up a whole new area of entertainment for me. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

COULD HAVE BEEN A 10

posted by JDADDY518 (COHOES, NY) Apr 10, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

IF YOU LIKE RATCHET & CLANK. THEN THIS IS A DECENT
ALTERNATIVE. THE GAME PLAY IS VARIED BETWEEN FOOT, TANK AND HOVER CRAFT. THE ONLY 2 THINGS HOLDING THIS GAME BACK ARE THE RANDOM STUBBORN CONTROL GLITCHES THAT REFUSE TO LET YOU TURN AROUND AND CONFRONT YOUR FOES(MOST OF TIME WHILE YOUR GETTING PUMMELED) AND THE LACK OF DIALOGUE. YOUR CHARACTERS BASICALLY SAY THE SAME 5 FUNNY PHRASES IN BATTLE OVER AND OVER.

THE ENVIRONMENTS ARE JUST LIKE THOSE IN THE RATCHET GAMES, I MEAN JUST LIKE! I THINK SOMEONE USED TO WORK AT INSOMNIAC GAMES.YOU COLLECT BOLTS LIKE IN RATCHET(THAT YOU UPGRADE WEAPONRY WITH) AND THE HUMOR(ALTHOUGH TONED DOWN)IS LIKE RATCHET. THIS IS A DECENT RENT, THAT SHOULD KEEP YOU BUSY FOR A WEEK OR SO. AND CONSIDERING ITS ONE OF THE CHEAPEST PRICED GAMES FOR THE WII, BUYING IT WOULDN'T BE BAD EITHER. AFTER YOU'VE FIGURED OUT HOW TO WORK AROUND/WITH THE CONTROLS PROBLEMS.

BUT THIS GAME COULD HAVE BEEN A 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

good for a kid

posted by abcefghijk (PIONEER, CA) Feb 9, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

its ok.i saw my son play it and he loved it.the graphics are good,so are the controles.my son needed my help for the controles.but hay he's young.so he toled me he liked it, ALOT!but if you have a son thats about 6,7,8, he'll proubly like it. so thats all i have to say about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »