Rent Disney's Bolt for Wii
view large frontback

Disney's Bolt

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, Xbox 360, PS2, PS3
GF Rating
5.9

384 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

I like this game

posted by gamer740 (SMITHFIELD, RI) Jun 21, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I don't always find games made from movies all that fun, but this game is very fun. The graphics are awsome and you are able to switch between the two main characters. This game is sort of difficult, but it makes it more fun. Especially, if you liked the movie you should try the game. Its a great kids game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not for little kids (too complicated)

posted by J0hnny (OCEANSIDE, CA) Feb 17, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I agree with TrillTexas that a smaller child will have problems with game play. I have a 6 year old who can play MarioKart and other games all day, but he couldn't go a few minutes without asking me to take over.

Yes, the guide says 10 and over, but I thought that was just because in today's PC world the "violence" might offend. It's not the case, although you are beating people and flipping them off cliffs.

For example, to use the wheel tool for picking locks a large DOWN ARROW and the letter C flashes on the screen. My son tapped the C, but didn't realize he had to keep doing it for a long period of time (long to a 6 yr old). I tried explaining it to him over the phone (he called me at work to ask how to get past it), and even when I got home that evening, he still didn't master it until I'd showed him a couple times. Later on, you have to hit a sequence of buttons, again flashed and random, in a short period of time (<1 second each).

For older kids, possibly 10 and over, this is a great and fun game. If your child is under 9 or 8, you probably want to pass unless you plan to spend considerable time with them playing the game (for them in some cases).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Can be difficult for smaller kids

posted by Trilltexas (PHOENIX, AZ) Jan 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I rented this game for my 5 year old. The game is fun and entertaining but it required me to help my son more often than I expected. Gameplay and skill suited for kids a little bit older.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Bolt

posted by spiderfist (BOWIE, MD) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Good game but not great for younger children like I thought although it is a fun game it takes some time to get use to the controls, my son is 5 and had a hard time with it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

bolt is awsome

posted by James4 (ARMADA, MI) Nov 30, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 19 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

Bolt is a dog who livs in Romeo.He has frens named Penny Rhino and mittens.They all work together.They all are a team.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awsome and cool game

posted by tallmario365 (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 13, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

this game is awsome and cool at the same time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kids Game?

posted by gramywheels (INDEPENDENCE, MO) Jun 6, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

I got this game for my grandkids who loved the movie and have loved other Wii games that were attached to movies they had watched and loved. The great thing about Bolt is the interesting and challenging action and wonderful changing playing field. Unfortunately this is soon overtaken by a game is that has becomes too difficult for even extremely skilled young players. By the time the Bolt and Penny get back inside the "compound' the challenge is hard and my grandchildren, (9 and 10) quickly got tired of the constant fighting, and the focus needed to move forward. They no longer seemed to need any skill to move around the environment, they just kept knocking out what was beginning to feel like the same old group of bad folks once again.

I know the game is rated 10+ but quite frequently this rating is a game that my kids play and enjoy. I wasn't like that with Bolt. I have to say for myself, the fighting after a while got redundant and I got tired of it. My kids gave up and had the game sent back before finishing, pretty unusual for them, they more often than not play the game through several times before they are ready to send it back for a new one, or we end up buying it. I would just suggest an adult give Bolt a try (play at least half way through) to see whether it works for the skill level of the children you are getting it for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not really impressed

posted by PunkGamer7 (EVERETT, WA) Jul 19, 2010

Member since Dec 2003

Ok first off, the game is ok but not something many would want to play. I find it a little complicated for a child to play. I'm a little displeased with the graphics of this game, it IS after all a wii game, but the graphics on this game remind me of a playstation 2 game. I also dislike that the game is in a 3rd person view, where instead the camera should be centered behind the character. The beginning tutorial for Penny was easy, but Bolts was hard. To play bolt you have to be very fast and quick thinking. I actually almost would have enjoyed playing a Bolt game based off the movie, since the movie was better. I was bored within the first level of this game, and thats why my rating is a 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bolt - Wii

posted by drummt (CHARLOTTE, NC) Apr 15, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

Game is very inappropriate for children as there is guns, bombs, killing, violence.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NOt what we expected

posted by 5cutegrlz (SANDWICH, MA) Feb 7, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I felt this game was for a much older child range - our twins age 7 were unable to do most of the game elements themselves, they needed much help from their older sister and to a point this fine, but its violent to boot, guns galore - very black night if you ask me. I feel the age should be bumped up to 10+ and then only let your child play it if they are used to 'gun' thing. ours were not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »