Rent Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness for PSP Games
view large frontback

Disgaea: Afternoon of Darkness

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.3

570 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Flawless

posted by YOYOlaser (PLANO, TX) Nov 5, 2007

Member since Dec 2004

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Unlike the recent port of psp game from the original PS1 FF: Tactics, this game is absolutely flawless! No hiccups, no slowdowns. It is smooth and very very fast. Awesome original story with humor and battle system with incredible depth. If you have not played this game for PS2 this PSP port is definitely worth checking out! It even includes multiplayer mode which was not available in the original ps2 game. Stunning visuals with infinite replay value, if you are a fan of strategy RPG don't pass this up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Amazing

posted by KoolAidMan321 (WILSON, NY) Mar 25, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the greatest SRPGs I've ever played. The amount of classes and weapons make you want to play the game over and over. Definitely worth a buy. The only problems I had with it were 1. The camera angles. they could be extremely awkward the see your opponents or your team. 2. The endings. If you play this game, you will find the most annoying ending basicly right away. If you lose a certain battle (that i will not mention due to a slight spoiler), you will "complete" the game on the worst ending possible.

Overall, this was a great game that I myself have bought. If you don't know if you should rent/buy this, now you know: do it. It's worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow

posted by greenman30 (CONYERS, GA) Dec 22, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i rarely give games a 10 but the main reason i gave this game a 10 is due to the replay value. I dont buy to many games due to me renting them but this is one of the few. you will spend hours upon hours leveling up to crazy levels, customizing weapons, funny storyline, great game any way you look at it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A perfect port of a not so old classic

posted by Drakenrahl (Dearborn Heights, MI) Nov 20, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After the slew of sub-par games that have been released on the PSP by NIS it is a relief to finally see a real gem hit the shelves. It is to some extent also a shame that the glimmer of greatness for NIS' PSP career is not an original title but a port of the very game that put them on the map for the western gamers.

Disgaea was the first game that Nippon Ichi released to any success in the states. Since then they have formed their own western branch, NIS, to publish games in the US.

The PSP port brings to the table everything that was both good and bad about Disgaea. What does that mean for the players? It means that while they didn't touch anything that would have lowered the quality of the game, they also didn't improve upon any of the issues that can sometimes distract from the gameplay. Camera angles are of course one of the glaring complaints that have been translated with perfectly frustrating accuracy. It can a test on a persons patience when they simply cannot see some squares on the board because they are blocked by taller sections, but there is no way to tilt the camera that would allow you to see them.

All that being said though the game still delivers what made it great and such a cult classic. An excellent story with great wit, charm, and characters. To top it all off they even added on a completely new story mode to give even more longevity to the game.

The game also supports multi-player options. While a true Wi-Fi experience over the internet would have been nice, the addition of ad-hoc multiplayer is still welcome. Now players can finally decide who has the stronger group of characters and equipment.

For any fan of Disgaea this game is an absolute must. For fans of strategy RPGs, give this one a serious look, you won't be disappointed.

I give the game a 9 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The greatest PSP game yet

posted by sixtysix (MIAMI, FL) Nov 22, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

this game makes FF tactics look like checkers. the moves are awesome i absolutly love the humor in this game the story line is..... different in an awesome way. this game is great but one thing if you cant stand anime dont pick it up but anime fans out there pickk it up and put that bad boyy in your PSP my only complain is....... i have no complain wow thats a first...hmmmmm lemme think.............. O its a tiny tiny problem this game really makes you try and level up so if you think that its a game that it leads u through exp.. well ha ha your WRONG!!!! youll be playing past levels a couple of times which is no problem at all because the comnbats fun. besides its got dual sword wielding, explosive, penguins that say dood after every other word i thats not a kik butt character i hav no clue wat is! sincerely: that guy who wants more weapon wielding blue penguins in games, 66 lol penguin

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hard Mode

posted by Expansions (BALTIMORE, MD) Jun 19, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I travel often, and this has been my one and only PSP title for a year now. I only get to play 1-4 hours at a time, and as such, this title is perfect for those type of sessions. If you like grinding, being a perfectionist, solving puzzles ( figuring out the perfect color grid combination to wreck the entire map in one move ), and being challenged, this is the game for you. I could put more detail but others have already said enough.
The only thing I could add is that you need patience for the game at first, because it is unrelenting. Once you learn how to "exploit" the advantages of the movement/action system, and how to correctly predict enemy actions, its simply an amazing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, but..

posted by dengyy (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 10, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

its a great game for RPG gamers. but the characters (other then the mains) are the same. no variation in moves between characters containing the same type of weapon (sword, lance, axe, bow, gun) great variation of recruits (although some are just too expensive to get like dat genius dragon that i wanted)

the story line is cool and keeps you occupied.

item world was very well done...

but etna mode is too boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too much at once

posted by ChipBound (ONALASKA, WI) Jul 30, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

The game could've been spectacular, but it tried to do too much all at once, it left you feeling overwhelmed. The game pretty much just plops you down with very little explanation as to what you are to do. So unless your an experienced gamer this game is probably not for you. Fans of Tactics based RPG's probably would enjoy this, but I felt the game was just trying too hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a fun SRPG!!!

posted by dulun21 (CHANDLER, AZ) Jun 19, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

you can easily spend endless hours into this game! it's fun and interesting to play... not to mention.. fast pace comparing to other SRPG.. it's just right on a portable system..!! worth a rental and a purchase if you are a fan of SRPG.. since this rare title could easily sell for $40 a few years later!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If you like the franchise, you will love the game

posted by adbrandel (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Mar 19, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Another great title in the franchise. Rent to play the story line, but if you want to fully complete the game, drop the money and buy it...you will be playing for awhile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Improved over PS2 version & one of the best SRPGs

posted by LdySaturn (DETROIT, MI) Nov 9, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

Those of you who enjoyed the original will love this game! If you haven't played Disgaea before, rent this or the PS2 version, you won't be disappointed if you like Strategy RPGs.

NISA fixed the issue with the dub voices being used for attacks when Japanese is selected for the vocals.

The English dubbing is the same high-quality from before and the graphics seem a bit cleaner that what I recall from the original.

Do yourself a favor and rent, or buy this title today!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »