Rent Disgaea 4: A Promise Unforgotten for PS3
view large frontback

Disgaea 4: A Promise Unforgotten

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.1

1035 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Disgaea at its best

posted by Geomancer (PORT HUENEME, CA) Sep 18, 2011

Member since Jul 2006

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well, if you've played the previous games and didn't like them, you won't like this one. However, if you are a fan of the series, well, let's just say you are in for a treat.

For a start, there's half a dozen more things for you to get 100% completion in. Pirate ships, capturing innocents, and bugging other people are just a few.

As for the graphics... excellent. Seriously, when I saw the graphics I just thought how pretty they were. The previous games were okay but this game is just so nice to look at.

All of the previous jobs and monsters have returned, along with Magichange. Now, however, you can fuse monsters into bigger versions. In addition, Magichange has been upgraded to feel, well, worth it. You don't lose a spot after the character disappears, for one.

The humor has returned full force in this game. I actually found myself laughing out loud, an action that, unfortunately, did not occur during the previous game. The characters are nicely varied as well.

Evilities have returned but now every monster and job get unique evilities, not just the main characters. As you increase in level, more evilities are unlocked. For example, the warrior gains an evilitiy that boosts his attack when using a sword by 30% of his current SP.

It's safe to say that there is a lot to keep you occupied. So let's reach 40 million hours of playtime, everyone. Remember, sardines are your friends and with them, you will become all powerful!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

they keep getting better

posted by Kryeed (LAKEWOOD, WA) Sep 7, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I've played the series from the first title to this current one, playing the ports of the first two on the psp as well. Every new installment involves new characters and tends to refer to older ones in the post game (or in part of the main plot)

The classes are more balanced to use, so you won't be losing out if you don't like a specific class of character, and all the advancements from the first one add to the storyline, this time around they've added double weapons, giant weapons, and giant monster fusion to name a few.

storyline wise it keeps with the disgaea tradition of a new main character, and interactions from the original cast.

the only thing that keeps it from being 'perfect' is that I would have loved to see a direct vs mode like the psp port of disgaea 1 used.

10/10 from me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

im addicted

posted by CashCashKid (TUCSON, AZ) Sep 18, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

i honestly have no idea when i am going to return this game in, i honestly think im going to keep this game as long as possible, this game just never ends, even when you think your done they trick you ha which is no surprise, because with this series you need to expect the unexpected haha

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Quirky, challenging strategy RPG

posted by CylanthMN (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Sep 7, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

Pros: Quirky Disgaea humor, hi-def visuals, deep and challenging strategy RPG, lots of content, bizarre story, very Japanese

Cons: Characters are still 2d sprites instead of 3d, voicework is lackluster, bizarre story, very Japanese

Overall: 9. Very entertaining strategy RPG, story will not make sense, but its not supposed to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game Ever

posted by jonesey (JEFFERSON CITY, MO) Feb 21, 2012

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 14 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

I don't know where to start. First off, the dialogue in from the first scene must have been written by a 10 year old. Hold on, before that, the premise is so amazingly stupid. It is one of those rare stories that is both convoluted and idiotic simultaneously. The game play is something I would expect to find on the original Gameboy System. The graphics are.... (sigh) I just realized that I've wasted another 5 minutes of my life writing about this terrible game. Don't ever play it. Tell your mother, tell your friends. Worst game ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible. Typical NIS title

posted by Sageous (COLUMBUS, OH) Jul 29, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

Think Final Fantasy Tactics NIS style. This means childish, annoying dialogue designed for immature 12 year olds. Not average 12 year olds, but immature ones. That's bad. NIS specializes in childish, immature dialogue, sexually innapropriate innuendos, and subpar gameplay. But they have great graphics. What a shame. I'd like to see more Tactics style games, but not like this. NIS is the worst developer out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

next go round

posted by kittykun2011 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Nov 17, 2012

Member since May 2011

i love disgaea but i get tired of the ame stuff over and over again. might just be me though., i played all the digeaea games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disgaea 4

posted by wccomics (CHICAGO, IL) Oct 8, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

So im a big fan disgaea series. But this wasn't good.
First: The dialog use between characters was bad. Horrible voice actors. I mean really NIS what were you thinking taking such a great title and letting this happen.

Second: The intro with the longest tutorial i have even seen. If you play one disgaea you play them all.

Third: Not worth a rental. If i had purchase this i would have returned it. Thank god for gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is a real game

posted by Lenny732 (BAYVILLE, NJ) Jul 4, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

do you like wasting weeks, months, maybe even years on a game!? Then step right up disgaea is your catch this game series never ceases to amaze me and i look forward to the next one. The mere fact that you can get your charters to lvl 9999 should be just enough to make you go hey I'm going to rent this game and give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than the others

posted by Agonyyy (CENTRAL, SC) Jun 29, 2012

Member since Jun 2009

A refreshingly humorous and coherent story from a series which I'd feared had stagnated-- plus a ridiculous amount of stuff to do, which only begins to feel like grinding around level 2000 or so

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not the best game i've played

posted by iLuvEzio (MUKILTEO, WA) Jun 28, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

this game was not the worst nor the best... however i was confused when i won by dying in the third battle... really... dying... why.........??????? graphics are ok... but something i would see on a DS, not a ps3.... I wish i could have gotten further but apparently you can save the world by dying in this game YAY!!!! anyway... if you are good at strategy games, which i am apparently not, i recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Disgaea series that is interesting

posted by dshiver (GULF SHORES, AL) Jun 14, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

the game, for the most part from people who gave it a bad review, was not well thought out and i agree the some parts of the game that were idiotic. however, the main idea of the game, that was the most seen for me, was that when a person who's honest and pure they can make promises and keep them in a world filled with hatred, violents, liers, and cruel people. that, in my own opinion, was needed to reasure for those who have lost hope in others and served as a reminder, for me, that there are still good people in this world that's heading south into chaos. aside from that, the battle play, for me, was vary creative and what i would've expected from a Disgaea game series. 8 out of 10 is my rating on the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

havnt played yet. want to.

posted by blmundy (TOPEKA, KS) May 23, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

i seen someone said this is the worse game ever. it doesnt look like it to me. the worse game ive ver played was on ps2. it was called Run Like He11. this looks like an anime game. i have never played any of the series, but i have always been a fan of anime. it cant be as bad as what i am reading. ok, cant say the name of the game i thought was bad, because its offensive. replace the "1's" with L's.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Disgaea 4

posted by annex50 (LINCOLN, NE) Apr 3, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

This game is like many of the Disgaea games of the past. However, let's be honest, the dialogue and most of the voices are awful!! That said, the strategy aspect is great as it's always been. There are unlimited opportunities to play the game and level your characters up with or without the story. Just keep in mind, this story is super lame but the gameplay is 100% Disgaea and that's all that matters to the fans of the genre. I liken this series to Romance of the Three Kingdoms; it's an acquired taste and is a strategic game. Keep that in mind and have fun if you dare. I loved the game minus the boring and eye-rolling dialogue. Right Big Sis?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game Overall

posted by DmeshOnPS3 (GARDINER, NY) Mar 1, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

this game is fun. i would have given it a 10 but -1 for the lack of view options. it was frustrating when the levels get crowded and there is different heights. an overhead view and perhaps a war room setting like old chess games to simplify the view would be nice. also -1 for the cheesy anime style, it looks ok but its not my style. maybe a samurai or soldier style title with similar gameplay would be awesome. hours of level grinding...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

YAY DISGAEA!

posted by D0CT0R (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Mar 1, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

I am in the middle of FF13-2 which I'm really into, but I find myself just playing Disgaea for my RPG itch. I loved Disgaea on my PSP and this big-screen version is even more fun. I love the fact that even though it is a highly technical game, it's still easy to pick up and play. It is a HUGE time-sink though since a lot of the game doesn't become relevant until you are a fairly high level. It has good graphics & sound, the dub is quite good (Which after the Star Ocean 4 travesty became a huge concern for me) but you use the Japanese voice overs instead. The new features that they added are really fun, all around I love this game and am probably gonna keep it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Disgaea 4

posted by L26 (HIALEAH, FL) Feb 24, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

Raised the bar for this franchise. It keeps on making the game more difficult to beat. It is very funny and awesome to play. It continues to expand players options of team tactics and special abilites for each character.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Disgaea 4 A Game Unforgotten

posted by EbonyC (CLEVELAND, OH) Jan 23, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

Within Disgaea youll find memorable characters. Good solid gameplay that improves on the previous games solid system. Great soundtrack that fits every situations. Insanely high tier voice acting and decent story.

Literally the only downside to this game is if after you complete the main story you dislike grinding because the game forces you to for the later unlockables and extra battles. But if you enjoy grinding itll be even more of a enjoyable experience.

-Heigou

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What a waste!!!

posted by MrEdwards21 (GOOSE CREEK, SC) Jan 6, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

This game SUCKS!!!!! AWFUL graphics, looks like I'm playing SNES all over again!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

True to the series, fun as always

posted by grayvisions (SUNBURY, PA) Jan 3, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

If you're not a fan of the Disgaea games of the past, you're not going to be any more impressed by this one. The story and many of the characters are new, but the game system and conventions are the same as they've always been. Fortunately, many of us are perfectly fine with that.

The new HD sprites are beautiful and make this feel like it actually belongs on the PS3, whereas D3 left me wondering. The storyline is excellent, filled with humor and mirth, with some serious undertones often hidden behind metaphors that, unless seriously considered, will likely fly over people's heads. Some of what Desco says, for instance, has meaning beyond her candor. I found the characters, for the most part, endearing and as colorful as the game, and have thoroughly enjoyed playing. For those of you who love powerleveling your character, Disgaea 4 makes it easier than ever with Evil Icons that allow you to share exp and Mana gain among your members, making it easier to open up those top-tier job classes than ever before.

If you love Disgaea, you'll love this. For those who just want a good tactics game, I recommend this as well; the powerleveling is icing on the cake, but thanks to the Senate system, you have the ability to control the level of the monsters you encounter and make it so you never have to do any powerleveling at all, if you chose to avoid it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Suuuuucks! You might like it though

posted by Treazemaitis (HONOLULU, HI) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

This game was just not my style. I found it super cheesy but if you like this anime quirkiness then you'll love it. Just wasn't for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OUTSTANDING!!!

posted by SMRTNESS (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Oct 24, 2011

Member since Sep 2006

Im LV.9999 nuff said

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Another Disgaea to own... It is pretty good!

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Sep 11, 2011

Member since May 2010

What else could it be other than Disgaea..
NOW haters don't hate me... for scoring it a 7 out of 10... I AWAYS give some what lower scores than other reviewers, because it is only that, I have such a High standard for the games I play... That said 7 in MY book maybe a 10 in others.... As a reviewer I tend to look at things such as player options, player freedom, balance, variety, and blend...ect. Although I admit it has all of these, they don't seem ground breakingly orgasmic.... The stories are almost never serious though...Which can actually be a good thing.... The Strategy combat still rocks... And you have Plenty of troops to choose from, but some will need unlocking first, though... I won't offer any spoilers... But still... You should try it yourself before you buy it, and see if it is for you... I get a little sick of all the people who always say that a game has to have a strong story to be any good, Disgaea series proves that WRONG on every count... Just remember to have fun...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »