Rent Disgaea 2: Cursed Memories for PS2
view large frontback

Disgaea 2: Cursed Memories

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.4

718 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Sequel to Disgaea, Very Similar, O Just as Fun

posted by entenkatsu (DENVER, CO) Jan 25, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Disgaea 2: Cursed Memories is the first true sequel to an NIS game, and is sixth game they released for the PS2. It picks up three years after the events of Disgaea, and introduces a new cast of interesting characters.

Gameplay is more or less the same as Disgaea, but with a few new prominent features. Geo Panals can now move around, you can unlock the Dark World (a la La Pucelle Tactics), a new central hub, fight various pirates within the Item Worlds, upgrade your items even more, and much more. With new classes and characters, as well as new skills and spells (such as the new "Tera" level of the elemental spells), you can customize more than before.

The Dark Court is an especially nice touch, adding the ability to increase your stats, build your demonic reputation, and EXP gain by obtaining Felonies, which are considered war medals for demons. New Proposals exist in the Dark Assembly as well, such as becoming a senator yourself and increasing the voice (influence) of the parties! Unlike before, the Assembly now shows your chance of passing a bill, giving you an even better idea of what you are capable of, and sometimes, Legendary Senators appear, who, if you can get on your side, make powerful allies in there!

The difficulty is even more balanced than the first Disgaea, allowing for a game that is not too easy but not too hard for most. While it may be simple for hardcore NIS fans, it now features the most intense and difficult final secret boss ever, surpassing even Phantom Brave's!

Overall, the game deserves a slightly lower rating, however, than Disgaea. The characters are not as unpredictably silly as in the first game, and the main character hardly changes his attitude throughout. Despite these little gripes, it's still an awesome game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I love SRPG's

posted by Kenross (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Sep 10, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I like strategy games a lot so this review is biased. I thought the only flaw is that each non main character didn't have enough moves. If you liked Makai kingdoms, Disgaea, or Phantom brave, i think you will love this game. The long term capabilities of this game reach level 9999. With multiple endings and run ins with other characters from the other games this game is quite fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

one of the funniest games you can buy

posted by VGking (PUNTA GORDA, FL) Jan 3, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is great, simply put it has things for just about any one, for gamers a great story that is both engaging and funny with fun game fly, the jokes are similar to one's in animes for otaku's.
for fans of the first a lot of characters from the first make cameo appearances and you can get both Etna and flown in your party. even has a french speaking flying frog. the only problem with this 200+ hour games are the graphics that are extremely outdated, this is the PS2 not the PS1, oh and there are references in the game, a lot of references, they range from ones any one can catch like the description fr a item called gum in the game double the flavor double the fun to complete nerd references like a sword in the game called the sessumaru (i know i didn't spell that right and i don't care) with a description find the jewel shards(a reference to the popular anime series inuyasha)this game in a great game that would make a fine addition to any game collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's Disgaea, again...but, is that so bad?

posted by Urganite (AKRON, OH) Sep 29, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

While I gave this game an 8 rating, if I had to rate the game in terms of originality of content, I might end up giving this a 4 or 5, because the game is essentially Disgaea with new graphics (and some old graphics). This game might deserve an even higher rating however, as it's yet another example of what tactics RPG's can be, but generally aren't. It only earned the lower rank due to its lack of more unique gameplay elements compared to the first Disgaea.

As with other Nippon Ichi games, the graphical style is the same, and high enough quality to be appreciated, though the same sprites have been recycled into this latest NIS game as have been used in Disgaea/Makai Kingdom. The dev time seems to have been very short as the first Disgaea's engine was also reused, and the reuse of these elements seems to have given NIS more time to dedicate to splash art inclusions at various points in the game, though I have to wonder if they weren't just trying to rake in more money from the current Playstation hardware iteration before it becomes outdated. The translation seems to be off again; NIS games in English seem to be rewritten quirkier than they actually are in Japanese, and I am not sure why this is. Thankfully, the Japanese soundtrack is again included as an option in the game.

The storyline is decent though lacks cohesion, occasionally reaching out toward the nonsensical as far as character behavior, similar really to a low budget manga. The music is not poor, but like other NIS games, could be much better, if they didn't use the same composer for every game. Graphically, the game is Disgaea, meaning it's 2D and sprite driven. Though the sprites are very good viewed from that perspective, they are the exact same sprites...not much of the sprite work is new. Though I can't claim to have finished the game yet, I don't expect to be seeing many new character classes. As far as gameplay, Disgaea 2 still delivers the same tactics type game experience as its predecessor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best turn-based strategy RPG out-to-date

posted by Insanity (Perry, FL) Dec 6, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Now what makes this game awesome?

Absolutely everything in it. My first thought of this since it is a RPG is "what is the level cap?". Well be satified because the level cap is at least 1000. Now for the rest of it, I will start with how you unlock things. There is a Court system in it which you use mana to make characters or propose bills. Bills help you unlock stuff in the game such as new character classes or just messing around with the game. Now with messing around with the game you can make more or less costing items, stronger or weaker enemies, or just set rules for the next stage you go to. I have mentioned getting classes by bills which you unlock the bill for by completing a certain task. With this system said and done the battle system is intuitive and can keep you engaged in it. Now with battles all you do is kill the monster so it would seem to get boring right? Wrong, since you can set the difficulty of the monster by bills you can have enemies twice your level fighting you at the begining and they have a mode called item world. where in which is a set of rendom battles you use to level up your item's strength. Also, when you create chaaracters you can reincarnate them at level one with increased stats, so even if you do reach the level cap (whatever it may be) you can always make you characters even stronger!! Overall for RPG and Strategy fans why don't you already have this on your Game-Q? For average gamers this is definetly worth trying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best one yet!!

posted by moldymilk (Elgin, TX) May 15, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Best strategy RPG out there. SIMPLE. If you liked the first one you'll love this one. It improves on all aspects of the first one. MORE characters, better/smoother graphics, and more humor. great game, I suggest you buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A GREAT Game

posted by GinzanKitsune (JARRELL, TX) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

This game never gets old. You can play it over and over again with characters that you either can get reborn to be back to Lv 1 but still have all there abilities or you can raise the Lv of the monsters that you fight. Its perfect for people who like the different looks of the same character. I personally loved this game and i'm still playing it. Theres so much to do and master that you will never get bored! I would advise everyone to play this game. Monsters, Fighting, Funny lines, Hidden items, AMAZING Characters, and not stop fun. Who wouldn't want that?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

interesting game..

posted by dulun21 (CHANDLER, AZ) May 27, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

ideal for SRPG gamers.. it's easily last for more than 50 hrs+. it's old 2D style graphic though.. if you don't like SRPG and 2D graphic.. then maybe this is not for you..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

excellent

posted by bachampion (RAEFORD, NC) Apr 22, 2008

Member since May 2007

i played the first disgaea game and i was amazed at the graphics, the battling, the strategy all of the above that the game has to offer. I rented disgaea 2 to see what improvements that they made and because i love series and they have not let me down yet. I've played the game for two days now and the gameplay is amazing better than ever im still amazed at how this game is constructed. all in all excellent game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Disgaea 2

posted by xreddawgx (CHINO HILLS, CA) Mar 27, 2008

Member since Sep 2005

this game would be better if they made it online capable co-op and head-to-head like they did for FFtactics war of the lions for psp

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Disgaea Collector Says...

posted by HardCritic (CAMANO ISLAND, WA) Jan 16, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I have all the series games for most of the systems and it still holds mildly true to the game play. If you liked the other games like this then you should like this one with one exception. The thieving ability now cost you items and no longer is a true skill.

If you never played this sort of TB-RPG-STRAT, then you may like this game also. The concept is an OLD one by far, as I have MANY other games simulated like this one.

Graphics: Not bad. Combat misses, skills/mage effects should have been revamped a little. Skills missed should not show your character rag dolling all over the place anyway.

Game Play: Like I said above

Story: Semi adult-ish…Funny at times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Turn Based RPG Heaven

posted by MissTru (OMAHA, NE) Dec 15, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

So...call me old school, but I LOVE ME a turn based RPG. Very happy the the Disgaea saga continued and just like the first, it did not disappoint.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great story,great game

posted by ELEMENTX (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 13, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

this game i have to say was probably the hardest game for me to send back to gamefly because it was made soooo well. the story was well done characters were really thought out well,and the comedy who could forget about the comedy. all in all the game is solid and if anyone likes srpg's such as growlancer or la pucelle(great game btw)should definatly get this as a rental or to own
the game can still get to around $30 for a used and the original Disgaea is actually a rarety to come by and could sell for as much as $80.

Problems with the game:
1.some"comedic" parts were out of place or just terrible jokes
2.looks like a ps1 game
3.voice acting while good for some characters was lackluster for some others(axel)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A good bit of fun

posted by Natiow59 (CHICAGO, IL) Oct 4, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

First off, let me say that if you liked Disgaea, you'll probably love this game. In some ways, I even liked it more. One of the perks of this game is that the story is pretty easy to get into, and the game is not very hard to learn. You can get by on the basic controls pretty easily. This is good, but some of the more advanced mechanics tend to have little practical purpose in the story, just because if you play through it, you'll probably be able to beat it without extra work.

For those hardcore gamers, there is a ton to do in this game. Stealing legendary gear, getting secret characters, making your guys godly, it's all there. Maxing weapon skills, getting lotsa felonies, if you are a completionist, you'll be busy for a while. If not, well you might just put the game down after the story. Casual gamers might not get as much out of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Is it worth your bucks?

posted by FFCyborg (BETHESDA, MD) Jun 8, 2007

Member since May 2007

The PS2 is a vast land of RPGs .Disgaea was the start of a trend of qwerky and humorous style to roleplaying on the PS2. While many try to seem like Disgaea, Nippon Ichi mastered the tried and true formula, making it FF Tactics meets sitcom. After quite a few years, Nippon Ichi is back with a sequel, Disgaea 2, and it doesn't seem like its the newest of them all. Are story starts off in Netherworld that has just been taken over by Lord Zenon, and everyone has been turned to monsters. Adell, the last human in the world, and his family try to summon Zenon, but end up with his daughter, Rozalin, and Adell is off on a quest to kill Zenon. The story has a few twist and turns, but its a bit to linear to its predecessor. Just like the voice acting in the original, it is spot on. Just MGS and GTA, they didn't just hire people with accent off the street, which many games fail to do.On to gameplay, which is a bit of a flavor you've had to many times already. unlike the original, the learning curve is less steep, probably because of Atlus stepping down from this one. But the combat system is absolutely the same, sharing its pros and cons. Its good, and fun, but to be a sequel to a game that defined this idea of gameplay, they could of (and definetly should of) done more with the game. In the end, Disgaea 2 is not a bad game at all, but in all ends, it seems like the same game with a new story slapped on. those who played the original will (and should) definitely try it out, but if you were expecting a whole new game, get ready for disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A step forward or backwards? Makai vs. Disagaea

posted by jfriedlan (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) May 24, 2007

Member since May 2006

If you've played one NIS tactical rpg, you've played them all.

That's not necessarily meant to trivialize the games or their qualities. It's astonishing that so many enjoyable hours can come of repackaging the same game. Then again, how many games, original or not, are really worthy of one's time.

Being a utility/dollar-satisifed owner of Makai Kingdom, comparisons between the two naturally spring to mind, and really, I cannot help but wonder which is the sequel (not strictly speaking).

Disgaea lends a purpose to the mindless dungeons through levelling up one's items. The geo system creates a little variety, but the AI's failure to take advantage of it, detracts somewhat from the strategy. If certain places grant the unit great advantage, but the computer thoughtlessly steps past them, what real incentive is there to try to alter terrain? The geo squares, then, benefit only the player. The only real disadvantages occur when every square is harmful.

Lifting is actally useful in Disgaea. It saves a great deal of time to chain throws to reach the next level of a dungeon. Let me say it again. Lifting is excellently implented. However, one cannot move while holding a player. Despite being much more useful than in Makai Kingdom, it seems like there are fewer options.

This game does away with the oftentimes tedious micromanagement of objects for reincarnation, but at its core, it's still a stat-management exercise. It also much relieved me to see the massive number of imbalanced weapon options slimmed to the basics.

It's not all improvement. The dialog, sadly, lacks Makai's witty luster. The 3D targetting spheres were omitted, no bulidings, no machines, and there are no level extensions through throwing. That last had potential with some refinement, but the first three are serious. Unit deployment is much more tedious without buildings to organize them. Clearly, they and buggies could have caused problems with the dungeon completion objectives, but…

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »