Rent Dirt 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dirt 3

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.0

3607 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Gorgeous and really fun

posted by BigShloppy (BATON ROUGE, LA) May 26, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

25 out of 25 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

DiRT3 is a great game with a mix of everything you won't in an racing game. It has singleplayer, multiplayer, and the DiRT Tour itself. With the addition of the Gymkhana courses you will be hooked to DiRT3 for hours and hours just trying to achieve better medals, scores, and times.

The graphics in this game are amazing with many tracks to display them on and almost every weather effect imaginable. The sound quality though is out of this world. The sound of your car revving up the engine and switching gears is spot on.

The only complaint about this is game is the 'new' factor. There really isn't anything too new about DiRT3 that wasn't in DiRT2. The only difference is a new layout of races and a different way of selecting your cars. And don't forget about Gymkhana.

Overall this game is really fun and it will keep you on it for hours and hours at a time just because you enjoy the feel of off-road racing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Another Great Instalment!

posted by TownRenegade (DEXTER, MI) Aug 6, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I will start by saying i fully enjoyed everything about dirt 2. The visuals were great and the handling of the cars was even better. Dirt 3 not only takes it up a notch, they even boosted up the multiplayer side of things.

Single player: Just like dirt 2, i found myself engrossed by every new race i had to compete in. The tracks were very detailed and I had issues at times with looking at the details and not the road. The driving was very similar to dirt 2. It was easy to manipulate the car through tight turns or narrow passages without feeling the extremes of the cars weight. This makes it easier for newcomers to jump right in and not feel overwhelmed. If your a seasoned racer, you can always disable all the driving assists and crank it up a notch. Codemasters also brought in some side challenges as well like drifting, stunt challenges, and speed challenges as well. This not only helps along the career mode but also keeps you learning new ways of racing.

Multiplayer: This is where dirt 3 shines. In dirt 2, i found to much complacency when challenging others online. This time around they added a leveling system just for muliplayer which includes car unlocks, vinyls, and car horns which are as funny as always. They have tons of options like circuit racing, drifting, rally, and fun small games like alien invasion, capture the flag, infection. All collecting points to level up. They have something for every racer. Every unlock done in multiplayer transfers to the single player as well.

Codemasters definitively showed what they can produce in a game. I was pleased with every aspect of the game. Definitively worth a rent if not a buy for any racer or non racing gamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

8/10 Rating

posted by alexf2010 (LITCHFIELD PARK, AZ) Jun 9, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

8/10 - One of the best racing games I've played. My only complaint with it is I wish I had a racing wheel, because trying to play this game with a standard controler was just frustrating trying to make the little ajustments needed to really play this game well.

The feel of the game is almost the exact same as Dirt2, but with different cars/places and a little better graphics.

Deffinitely worth a try if you like racing games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game...hate the "VIP PASS"

posted by AutoEuphoria (MIDLAND, MI) May 29, 2011

Member since May 2011

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Others have probably written more eloquent reviews than I could, so I will just keep this short and to the point.

The game is good...true to the Dirt series. The new things are good, and some of the old annoyances are gone. It's still a bit more on the arcade-like scale than a true simulator, but that's to be expected.

The game requires you to purchase a VIP pass to play multiplayer, have access to all the in-game cars, and upload your replays to YouTube. This trend needs to STOP. I understand companies trying to make the most from their investment, but to penalize people who only want to rent the game? That's pretty low.

Good game (8/10). VIP pass can suck a fat one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Installment in a Great Racing Series

posted by TXYeti (AUSTIN, TX) Jun 1, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

All three installments of Dirt have been great. Each one seems to combine outstanding graphical realism with a confidence-inspiring, fun-to-play racing component... an ideal balance of immersion and "arcadey" playability.

I'm no aficionado of rally racing as a sport -- I don't follow the events or drivers, so I can't speak to it's appeal in that sense. However, the racing itself manages to be intuitive and frantic, at once. Part of the reason for this is the variable difficulty and driving assist settings. If you just jump in and play straight away, you'll more-or-less be on the easiest setting in terms of difficulty and assists. Fortunately, it's very easy to tweak everything from braking assit, HUD-visible racing lines, acceleration assist, AI difficulty and more in the menu to get a setting that lets you feel competent, but challenged.

At my ideal setting, which was a lower difficulty with almost no driving assits, I was able to hit a point where I could be competitive in most races, but would often have to retry in order to grab a 2nd or 1st place finish. The difficulty does ramp up toward the end of the "Dirt Tour" (career mode).

The rally racing itself is broken up among a variety of locations and weather conditions (asphalt, gravel, dirt, mud, snow, and various combinations thereof) and covers a healthy variety of vehicles. Additional vehicles automatically unlock as you progress through the career and car choices never become stale.

The standard rally races are interspersed with Gynkhana events, which amount to stunts and tricks, usually involving drift tecchniques, for points. These are usually a fun and welcome departure, but "Gymkhana Sprint" events in particular proved to be quite frustrating for me.

Visual presentation is outstanding, sound design is more than passable for someone who's neither a car expert nor audiophile and the music choices were fitting, if forgettable.

Couldn't try multiplayer due to the online pass restriction. Boo!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome Game

posted by Rv28 (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Awesome Game!

Pros:
Realistic
Graphics
Controls

Cons:
Marketing
Online pass

Overall a great game. Looks good and is fluid when playing. casual difficulty is a joke so play on intermediate. Only downfall really is they are constantly telling you about the DLC. I guess i just got the point where it went in one ear and out the other. It didnt take away from the game at all. Took me about a week to beat the career mode. Also you wont have the Online pass that most games have now since its a rental. I still enjoyed just the offline play tho.

If your debating renting it, DO IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is it

posted by RogueWRX (LONE TREE, CO) May 24, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I have been a fan of the Dirt series since their first game, and the sequel only got better. Both games definitely had things they needed to add and change to get it to be "just right". When I heard about Dirt 3 coming out, I ran out and pre-ordered it as soon as I could. I didn't want to waste any time with renting it because I knew it was going to be amazing.
And I was right.

Dirt 3 brings in all the best aspects from the first two Dirt games, and improves on them. The physics are amazing, as are the graphics. When you start racing on all different surfaces (dirt, mud, wet and dry tarmac, snow) it only gets that much more amazing. Dirt 3 also focuses more on the rally racing and rally cross/cross-over races.

This game has an impressive car selection, including cars from the infamous Group B Rally of the 80's (which has since been banned) such as the Audi Quattro S1 and the Ford RS200. I do admit, it would be nice if there were more options when it comes to the trophy truck and buggy races, but overall, they did a great job.

Definitely worth my money. Even more worth renting if you aren't convinced to buy it....yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game would be a 9 but.

posted by Bhazulle (FERRON, UT) Aug 17, 2011

Member since Jan 2007

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

I refuse to drop another dime into a greedy game developers hand, after dropping 60 Bucks for the game they demand I continue to shovel money into thier mouths by making a good 40% of the cars, content and courses "Available on Live marketplace" No. No I say. I'll not only not purchace any content just to play the "Core" game. but I'll never purchase another product from your companies again. If everyone would do the same, these pathetic money grubbing developers might get the hint.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good but not great

posted by Onetrillion (RED LION, PA) Jun 4, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I was very excited to play the new dirt. I've played each one and have been very happy with them. Dirt 3 however was a little bit of a let down. I was truly expecting more from the actual game play (what more is there for a racing game tho). Very well made game, very fun, lots of interactive stuff and very high definition racing.

One thing that I did notice that I really didn't enjoy was the repetition of the races and the overall indifference between races. Very standard and straight forward. (I guess some people like that) It's not a terrible thing but just something to consider. Also it took a little while to get the steering down pack but once I did, it was off to the races.

Over all good game. Fun, very challenging, very good quality!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tis good but I still miss #2

posted by Estaban (new windsor, NY) Jun 5, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Went to Gamestop in hopes to buy the second installment after beating it a couple months before and with my luck they didnt have it, yet the 3rd one had just released. I hail maried it knowing that it may be a $60 mistake (plus taxes of course) but to my suprise it was primarily the same as the 2nd but 3 has gymkhana were you do freesyle drift sessions n such for points. Its bangn to play for hours on end while to me only slightly falling short of #2. Supprisingly there is no replay for some strange stupid reason. There is only the ability to do a 10 or so second replay when preparing to flashback during races. I dont understand that at all & is a exremely disapointing (unless im looking in the wrong place for it or have a setting out of wack. i donno) but other then that it is Nice T!ts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Safe Approach

posted by S4mWitch (CLEVELAND, OH) May 30, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

More of the same great rally action. If you haven't tried this with the racing wheel, you haven't played the game yet... Its too twitchy with the controller, but made for the wheel.
This experience is even more linear and directed than dirt 2, which means you'll have barely any "open end" options of where to go and what to do next. Very straightforward, predictable, and actually annoying at times, as the eccentrically generic voice "personalities" lead you along your pre-determined path. I can only hear the words "bro" and "amigo" so many times before I wanna kill the person saying it... And you can't turn it off.
There are simply a few interface problems, similar to what I mentioned with the voice audio levels, and changing your car's livery is over complicated. Overall, the interface is put together well, but still too "safe" in my opinion.
I like what they did with the physics of the cars. It has a slightly more weighted and "slidey" feel to it, meaning you have to anticipate corners a little more, making it more challenging in a good way.
The overall feel of the game seems somewhat limited, because it is so linear and directed. I personally like the open ended style of Forza better.
Great game, but not exactly what a hardcore racing fan would want.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST DIRT EVER HANDS DOWN !

posted by JMAN46 (HAVELOCK, NC) May 27, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you dont like this game for its pure fun and feel you need to quit your job sell your house to race off road cars full time.Wait most of us cant afford to do that ,so play this game and jump into the life as a full time off road racer this is about as close as you can get. Atleast until Dirt 4 comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Driving?!

posted by jango62301 (NORTH APOLLO, PA) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have to admit that I had minimal hopes for this game, unfortunately the game didn't even meet those. It looks like a decent game graphically but the controls were about as responsive as flying the space shuttle during re-entry! Rent if you want a frustrating experience that looks good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

sucks

posted by streetmodz (MOORESVILLE, NC) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game has very poor graphics, I expected more from codemasters, Dirt 2 has a lot better graphics, I think they should have put more time into the graphics and game play.
I will never play this game again. The only good thing about the game is the cars the cars look great, the spent more time on the car graphics then the game play graphics,

if any of yall disagree you can hmu with a email:
eat.skittles72 at yahoo
when you send me an email name and your username for the reviews
thanks and have a great day!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fast and Fun

posted by decade84 (ONTARIO, CA) Aug 4, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

starts a bit slow but quickly gets harder. steering is a bit touchy but when you get used to it, game comes alive. didn't think it would be this good.

pre race car adjustment is key
dont try to steer to much when it gets sloppy just try to flick it back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Racing Game of the Year!!!

posted by DanNaruto1 (CHANNAHON, IL) Jun 29, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

There is no need for me to write a 100+ word review. I can describe this game with 1 word -EPIC-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Another great entry, but

posted by BROCK_SAMSON (FOREST FALLS, CA) Jun 20, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

.....I think 2 was better. The only complaint I have is that I thought there was extremely too much concrete in this entry. Gymkhana does grow on you like a fungus after awhile though, yet the point to points and trailblazers are a little short. And traditional rally was a little lacking. Music and graphics are very well put together. The controls are customizable to your liking and the ai can be tuned to be challenging so you have to push your self. Overall an excellent entry and looking foward to dirt 4 already.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nice 3rd Installment

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) May 25, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I really like this series. While I am American, I did live in the UK for a couple of years so I learned to appreciate Rally Car racing. I've always liked the Dirt series because you could adjust the difficulty and assists at any time in the game to keep the challenge rolling. Total driving game rookies through the seasoned video game racing pros will find a challenge in this game. Graphics seem a little brighter and better than D2. Handling on the cars seems to be much tighter with the steering.

I'd give this game higher marks, but there are some flaws. The biggest flaw is that eliminated my driver nickname between D2 and D3. No longer will I be hearing "Bush" over my headset from the other drivers. I had to go with "Razor" for this installment.

Huge disappointment with the VIP Pass required to access the on-line part of the game and the on-line achievements. Shame on you Code Masters for following the lead of EA on this lame attempt to grab cash from the video game renters. Having played D2 on-line, there is no way I'm spending $10 for a VIP pass for D3. Folks, this game is not Halo and you aren't going to be attracting thousands of on-line players. D2 was lucky to see a few dozen on-line players in the US game time hours. There may have been more during the European game time hours, but I'm busy working at that time. Guess I'll just have to skip those achievement points.

Dirt was 1000 gs
Dirt2 was 885 gs due to bad on-line participation
Dirt3 maybe 700 gs but it's hard to tell which achievements are on-line only.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nonstop Marketing

posted by VooDooRising (HIDEAWAY, TX) Jun 21, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

To be honest the graphics in this game are awesome and the game itself is pretty good. I liked the Dirt 2 menu format much better than this game though.

Here the problem with this game, NONSTOP MARKETING. Your so called buddy that helps you through the game does nothing but endlessly pitch the new car pack and VIP pass. I got so sick of it I just said forget it and sent the game back. If this is where gaming is headed I might be headed out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

MUST PAY $10 FOR MULTIPLAYER

posted by filter2700 (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jun 3, 2011

Member since May 2011

6 out of 19 gamers (32%) found this review helpful

Yea, so I thought this game would be fun online, but you know what codemasters (developer of the game) decide to do? They require a "VIP Code" in order to play multiplayer. What the helll? Really? I have to buy 800 MS points ($10) to get a code to play online? Why would anyone with a brain pay money for multiplayer when they haven't played it yet? That's the stupidest thing I've ever seen. At least they can give you a trial. Gamefly doesn't give you a code to redeem multiplayer, so basically this game is single player only. Pretty much a waste of time if you wanted to play online, I know I'm certainly not going to pay $10 for a code when I can't even get a trial to see if I like the game. This is a terrible game just cause of the fact codemasters are greedy, multiplayer should be free (when you buy the game it comes with a code, but really? when did it become ok to require some special VIP code to get multiplayer access? its a scam for your money), if people rent the game they're supposed to pay an extra $10 just to play online? I don't think so. Do not rent this game, do not buy it either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A step back from DiRT 2.

posted by k3levra (NEWELL, WV) Oct 19, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Not impressed with anything in this game, from the online vip pass that you need to purchase if rented to the gymkhana. Maybe I had too high of hopes for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Same Thing

posted by D1GG1TYDOG (Spartanburg, SC) Jun 4, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It seems all the Dirts are the same thing over and over. Only thing changed is Slightly better graphics and Gymkhana.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

VIP Pass

posted by Boricuapr (BRONX, NY) May 27, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 20 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

VIP Pass to play online which costs 10 bucks. Looks like all these dying companies are trying their hardest to grab extra money from us.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't bother.

posted by RaveSacks (HAMBURG, NY) Jul 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I would never bother to waste my time writing this if I wasn't beyond frustrated with what shouldve been an easy game to play, beat, and return. All it does is freeze during the pointless loading screens after each race. I gave it plenty of chances, tried installing to my HD, turned off notifications, etc... I have officially given up and now I'm sending it back to GameFly so I can wait another 2 weeks for them to send me the next game on my list of 40+ games that most are "medium", "high", and "available now". Yes, I've almost had enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW

posted by Bakamicado (DELTONA, FL) Jun 2, 2011

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

just....WOOOOOOOOOOOOW (:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse