Rent Dirt 3 for PS3
view large frontback

Dirt 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.0

1932 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by game_attic (BRIDGEPORT, CT) Apr 8, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is great ill give it a 10 it has great force feed back feels like a real car on off road tracks i think u should get it and the drifting is great also

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pure Awesome! If you like racing game, get Dirt 3!

posted by Z5ayD3v0rak (UNIONTOWN, WA) Mar 31, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When it first starts it has assist on and that means that it pretty much helps you drive the car. Once I had played a couple of racing, I turned it on expert and it had no assist of its sooo real. Its is true racing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Sim Racer

posted by giger4life (CLEBURNE, TX) Mar 24, 2012

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Top notch graphics, controls, and presentation. What more do you want? The race locations are a big part of what make this game unique. The standout locales for me were Kenya, Aspen, and Monaco. It's also one girthy game. After I finished the Dirt Tour (single player campaign), which took me around 10 hours, there was still close to 100 races that I can attempt.
The new Gymkana sections were also a blast. Definitely a learning curve with this one but once you master it you'll feel like Ken Block on youTube. I wish I could have down donuts around a guy on a Segway though. I hope this franchise never disappears.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not the Best Dirt, but still fun.

posted by munstes (Spokane, WA) Jun 4, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This Game Claims the most Rally ever, but I checked and Dirt 1 has more, but still the stages were pretty good. I liked the way you could skip disciplines, The Gymkhanna stages are not that appealing to me, I never saw the popular appeal to drifting games. The VIP pass is annoying, but there was also a registration issue with Dirt 2 that made it unable to play if you rented it. I had to buy both Games brand new to get full feature. Also up until a couple days ago, with PSN store being down, you couldn't even use the vip pass code even if you had one. Now that it works, online is ok, you can vote as to which tracks and disciplines you want to race with, not just the leader decides. However the amount of players is small, but I think that is just because, its only been a couple days since any of us could go online due the stupid VIP pass code.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I can't believe the reviews..

posted by Jawshooa (SUNRISE, FL) May 29, 2011

Member since May 2011

16 out of 23 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Why are people giving this game a 1?
The VIP pass isn't really a big deal. The ONLY thing that isn't accessible without a VIP pass is online play and a FEW cars. I'm having a blast with this game. I've played Dirt 2, and more importantly, many of the other racing titles out right now. If you like racing, you will LOVE Dirt 3.
The graphics are great, the gameplay is smooth and fun, and I enjoyed the commentary. In comparison to Dirt 2, Dirt 3 is much better.
Don't expect this game to be a simulator, because it's not. You pick from a select number of cars that can be unlocked, and race. There are many different categories of racing: Rally, Rally Cross, Head-2-Head, Trailblazer and the Gymkhana races. Gymkhana races are basically stunt runs. Donuts, spins, jumps, crashing into things, that sort of thing.

Dirt 3 is a very fun game, and the lack of a VIP pass isn't enough to give this game a 1/10. It would be nice to receive a VIP pass with the rental, but it's not going to happen. If you like racing, put this game in your GameQ, you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game....just not my thing

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 25, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Overview
=====================
Dirt 3 is a good rally race game. I just can't get myself to play most racing games and this one bored me in a short time. If you love rally racking this is probably a good rent or buy....I just didn't enjoy it.

Pros
=====================
1) graphics are pretty good
2) ability to tune assists and car handling was nice

Cons
=====================
1) The "world tour" system is slow paced with lots of commentary.
2) It is just another standard racing game...nothing new here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

All good things must end

posted by KaneShadow (NEW YORK, NY) Dec 6, 2011

Member since Jun 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Dirt 2 is one of my favorite games in history... I guess I should just keep replaying Dirt 2 instead of expecting more of the same. I mean, I guess they can't just make the same exact game again. But I'm disappointed none the less.
The driving and the physics are still amazing. But my complaint is the drifting. If I wanted to drift race, I would play Need For Speed. I want to drive in the dirt with a British lady calling my turns for me. I don't want to spin my car around neon yellow pylons. That, plus the tiny revision of no longer having a map, and just having the competitions positioned along a linear menu, make the game feel really shallow where Dirt 2 felt like a much deeper "career" experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ok racer

posted by jerock03 (WELLSBORO, PA) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have always loved the Dirt series, and this one is right in line with the rest. That being said, it does have some hang ups. First the good! Graphics are amazing. And the tracks are great. The amount of cars that you can drive are great and the way the progression of your driver goes is great. There was was too much time between races, and load times seem to take forever. Overall a good race, and was fun to drive, but also glad I didn't buy it. Its a must play, but I am not sure it's a must own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Jun 16, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is one of the few racing games that is easy to control your car where your not all over the place while driving. The graphics are sweet and the game play is awesome as well. I like the brake assist on the casual level, makes it easier to keep the hammer down while turning the sharp corners, i also like the voice that tells you what kind of curves are coming up and how sharp they are, thats a classy touch.
This is a great game overall, when the price goes down i will definetly buy it. The only other racing game that was as fun was the recent F1 game.
If you like racing, you'll like this game for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game if you buy, good game for renters.

posted by dafeesh (CLERMONT, FL) May 27, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a lot of fun and looks great. The menus are very streamlined and they made the great decision to cool it with the celeb voices telling you how awesome you are for passing them. If I were to have bought this game it would receive a higher score. This is simply due to the fact that renters/borrower/used game buyers will not be able to play online or have full access to all of the cars without purchasing a VIP code which comes in the original game packaging. I hope that this isn't the future of the gaming industry but i have a bad feeling that it is. The career mode is really fun though, seeming like a more adult, more polished dirt two. My only career gripe would be the excessive loading times between tutorials. This isn't really a big deal because there really aren't a ton of tutorials. I would like to review the online play but i can't justify purchasing a VIP code for about $10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, BUT...

posted by knine86 (HAMILTON, OH) Nov 21, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Is a really fun game. Can be both very challenging and very fun. Not enough custumization for me. Nothing but prebuilt cars and no way to customize any of them. Not bad for some just fun racing. Doesnt really simulate the rally experience in my opinion

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Thrilling and amazing

posted by shooterjunkie56 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Aug 16, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The DiRT series has always been awesome. The first game was very fun and realistic. Dirt 2 was even better than the first. Now we have Dirt 3. This one is one of the best rally games I've ever played. The campaign is nice and long, the racing is very realistic, graphics are amazing, unique modes, and awesome multiplayer.

The good:
Everything about Dirt 3 is awesome. The graphics, sound, gameplay, presentation.
The bad: nothing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fancy yet gets old!

posted by Bacon1 (CARROLLTON, TX) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The levels are wow! Although the choices of locations are few.. Maybe 5 same locations to level 13!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

DIRT 3

posted by GRIBBLE (WYOMING, MI) Jun 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

THIS IS A GREAT GAME AND LOOKS AMAZING BEST RACING GAME OUT THERE ITS VERY LONG AND HAS A LARGE VARIETY OF VEHICLES TO CHOOSE FROM..ASIDE FROM A FEW NEW RACEING STYLES THE GAME IS EXACTLY LIKE DIRT 2..STILL A VERY ENJOYFULL GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Come on

posted by Boricuapr (BRONX, NY) May 27, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

8 out of 21 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

VIP pass ? seriously ?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

VIP Pass

posted by Trucidatio (METAIRIE, LA) May 25, 2011

Member since Nov 2008

6 out of 17 gamers (35%) found this review helpful

Another lame VIP Online Pass game. It's comical to even call this "feature" a VIP Pass.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not a good game to rent.

posted by BadNewsBunny (COLUMBIA, SC) Jun 1, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

I didn't rent this game from Gamefly, but from my local video store. I enjoy racing games, but a major draw to this game is being able to play capture the flag and race online. Unfortunately, this game only lets you play online by entering a code included with the new packaging (VIP Pass).

If you rent, borrow, or buy this game used, you will have to cough up an additional $10 for the VIP Pass. Other games that I have played have a similar system, but give the player a couple of days to play online for free in case the game is a rental.

The rating of 5 denotes the single player portion of the game was fun, but without being able to play online, my experience was incomplete and lacking. Personally, after paying 7 bucks to rent the game (or 15 a month for Gamefly), I'm not willing to pay another 10 just for the "privilege" of playing online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dirt 2 was better

posted by phr3ak (PHOENIX, AZ) May 27, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

graphics dont seem like they have got any better in. as well as load times are really long and lay out of picking the races you wish to do is no where as cool or as fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ok

posted by BS_Ford (SAINT PAUL, MN) Mar 31, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

pros: This game has terrific graphics, and the feel of the car on different surfaces is amazing.

Cons: One of the most fusturating things a game developer can do is make it so you have to spend real money (via playstation store) to drive the "good cars." They also have additional tracks you have to purchase if you want to expand your race at the end of a season. Playing online required you to buy their online pass, which I realize is becomming more and more present in todays games, but its still fusturating. Also the game difficutly isn't as trying as it used to be in the first and second dirt, and every race can pretty much be won on the first try.

Overview: This game is fun, and I'll casually enjoy playing it, but also do not plan on spending extra money to be able to drive the cars I want. I'll stick to the 1980's opel. ;) If you're looking for a racing game, maybe look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SuckKhana Ruins this game

posted by 10001gamer (NAPLES, FL) Oct 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2006

I want a racing game, not a suckKhana mess... ruined this series...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not a game for keepers

posted by ncm0318 (CHAMBERSBURG, PA) Aug 4, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

When I first played any games in the Dirt series I played Dirt2, Although Dirt3 has made a disapointing dropdown. The Racing visual effects in Dirt3 we're the main thing that got my attention, as in Dirt2 the environmental effects came down to stuff as real as tiny pieces of gravel bouncing around as a drift was performed. Dirt3 was very disappointing, the way the career was, is that different "Teams" we're interested in you. You cannot customize liveries. The only way of control you had over customization is the teams. Lastly, the way you drive is somewhat boring. There is something called a "racing line" that slows you down without control in the middle of a race to make a turn that does not need to be slowed down for. Dirt3 has tainted Dirt's reputation. And thank god for Gamefly. You'll want to send it back within about a week.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ready. Set. Fail!

posted by Gamejunki2 (SALEM, VA) Jul 31, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

Get ready to crash into the wall of mediocrity and frustration as you take the wheel in Dirt 3. I'm a big fan of Dirt 2...the jumps, close quarters racing, the cars. It seems as if Dirt 3 ignores all of that to make a considerable weaker game. Controls are incredibly laggy no matter how tight you try and make them but it's not all bad as the graphics have brought a smoother look to the game yet make some courses appear non realistic. The challenge and thrill of defeating the other competitors is no longer an issue because of the subdued nature of this game. One such issue is adding an arrow shaped pathway to direct you in which way you're supposed to go. It's obvious by this one fact alone that they slacked through this game as much as they could to make bucks. Avoid this game and try out Dirt:Showdown or go back to the better game of Dirt 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Where's the Dirt?

posted by ADion24 (EL CAJON, CA) Jun 13, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This game was truly disappointing. I'm an off-road racing enthusiast, and unfortunately for me, there aren't a lot of games to choose from. This series started out with potential, but by this third installment, it just feels like a generic knock off of other racing games.

Don't get me wrong. The racing is pretty good. The graphics are good. The problem is this game has no identity. I enjoy off-road racing. Rally racing too, but I'm not a big fan of racing the clock. I understand some are, and it's an off-road event, so it makes sense that it would be there. I don't want a game with parking lot drift challenges or locking up the brakes to burn circles around a pole. There are a ton of other games for that. I want to fix up my truck and race it against others in off road events.

I played a couple hours of the campaign here, and spent a good 75% of it on a road course or in a parking lot. There doesn't appear to be any customization at all. I could choose between a couple different racing teams. As far as I could tell, the only difference is the color of the car. It's not my car, it's theirs. I get to borrow it for the race, which half the time is not even a race. Some of them are literally just doing donuts.

And to top it all off, they took every possible opportunity to get me to buy their stupid online pass. Shut up about it already. I don't need to be reminded every couple minutes about it. I know you're selling it, and I hate you for it.

So long story long, this game didn't last long in my PS3. I sent it back the next day. There are better racing games out there, and as for an off road racer, this disappoints. There's hardly any off road in it. Your car may be a little banged up at the end of a race, but it's definitely not dirty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not all that great

posted by vizzerdrix1401 (FONTANA, CA) Apr 23, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

the trailer made it look way cooler than it really is i really liked dirt but dirt 3 really went down hill from its first game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fight it!

posted by pigmadic (ENGLEWOOD, CO) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

online pass enabled

en.wikipedia. org/wiki/Online_pass

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse