Rent Dirt 2 for Wii
view large frontback

Dirt 2

Not Rentable
GF Rating
4.0

214 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Crazy

posted by nd4speeder (HANOVER, NH) Dec 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

They actually did it. they turned 1 of the best rally games and made it awful! The controls r strange, the graphics are terrible, and then theres the fact that it just isnt all that fun to play!! If you have an xbox 360, playstation 3, or pc, then CHECK THIS GAME OUT!!! But if you only have a wii, check out one of the need for speed titles! DO NOT PLAY UNLESS DESPRIT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't waste your time!

posted by jackzilla (BELLEVILLE, IL) Sep 28, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game sucks! The game control seems difficult just for the sake of being difficult. If you want a fun racer, rent "Excite Truck".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

An evening lost to curiosity.

posted by ThePauls (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Nov 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As the case with most of the Wii games I have played the game appears incomplete.

Graphics is what I would have expected in the late 90's.

I started playing it and took first place on my first track in my first try.
This is how I got lost to curiosity wondering when the game would get tougher. I finished the game that evening and only had 3 tracks out of about 30 (I didn't count them up.) that I had to make more than one attempt to take 1st place.

The game description touts tricking out your car... two maybe 3 color schemes (depending on the car) does not warrant "tricking out". Each track that you place in earns you either a new car type or color for a type you already have. The only good thing I have to say about the cars is at least they do have different handling characteristics.

The only reason it got a 2 instead of a 1 for the rating is because it did keep my attention (like watching a train wreck) from 6pm till slightly after midnight.

This review coming from a player whose first game had a lick and stick plastic net you stuck to the screen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Dirt 2 brings nothing noteworthy with it

posted by Endgamer77 (DEER RIVER, MN) Nov 3, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i suggest you dont rent or buy Dirt 2. It is so bad that Most PS2 racers are better. Bad Controls, and semi bad graphics dont help. If you need to race. I suggest playing wii mario kart.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

please read before renting

posted by wildbeast2 (PALATKA, FL) Sep 28, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

with game is fun but the graphics are really bad for new it is

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible

posted by tony13 (BOTHELL, WA) Sep 16, 2009

Member since May 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I just played Dirt 2 on the Wii system, and cannot believe how dissapointed I am. As we all know the graphics aren't going to rival that of the the PS3/360, but most racing games I play I enjoy on the Wii so when I say that the graphichs were unintetionally comical, it's not just a system issue. My first thought of the graphics was Sega meets Cruising USA.
I could have played for a while despite the graphis if the gameplay was good, because the whole point of a game to me is playing it. Admittedtly I didn't play long. I played 3 races with 3 different vehicles to see if there was hope, there wasn't! My #1 comp;aint was that if you pushed the gas you were uncontrolable. I get that power + dirt = lack of control. But this was so extreme out of control, I tried tapping the buttom as I accelerated, but then I basicaly spun slower.
So frustrating because I really wanted to like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WHY

posted by Matte30 (BUCKLAND, OH) Jan 15, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Ok seirsely this game sucks the only good freaken graphics on this game was the freaking car i have played this game on the PS3 and that game was freaking asome and i thought it would be cool on the wii and well wrong do not rent this game it sucks you cant look in the car and their is no dust if these ppl should make a game where it is the same on every freaking system DO NOT RENT!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Little DiRT never hurt anyone

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Sep 14, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's time to get dirty in DiRT 2, where you race through the well maintained asphalt streets of the United States (wait that doesn’t get you dirty; let me start again.)
DiRT 2 is a game where you get dirty by driving through the mud in Ethiopia and Mexico (that’s better). You get to race using sports cars, buggies or trucks (there's a total of 13 available) against other players or the AI.
The modes are what most of you expect: In single player you get World Tour where you race against the AI in sets of tracks ranging from 1 track to four tracks per set. Don't finish last in all races in a set and you unlock the next set; there's 16 to get through.
There’s the Time Trial mode and Single Race mode for any of the 15 tracks in the game (you don’t have to unlock them in World Tour mode - which I like).
And a Championship Mode with a set of five races for points - winner is the one with the most points at the end.
Finishing off the Single Player options are five challenges - Airtime (get as much time in air as you can) Tailblazer (finish a three lap race in a certain time), Gatecrasher (hit gates on track with a minimum speed or more) Power slide (do a lot of fishtails) and elimination (a race where you avoid being last at the end of every lap) This adds some needed spice to what could've been a basic racing game.
The multiplayer modes are race against the opponents or go against them in a challenge - but there’s no online option here - a big drawback.
Also, the controls are very sensitive; it's too easy to go into a skid or fishtail which ends up in a jarring stop - and a last place finish. Game makers still have not mastered the tilting mechanism that is the Wiimote.
But DiRT 2 gives some racing fun, and you don't have to jump through hoops (literally or figuratively) to race on all the tracks. If only the controls worked properly and there were online options. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not worth the time

posted by Geeky33 (JANESVILLE, WI) Dec 5, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This can is very bland noth work the time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DiRT-2- it's the best

posted by esc (HAMPTONVILLE, NC) Apr 14, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Right on man!! This is the best high-speed off-road racing!! The graphics, tracks, modes, and cars are all perfect! It's great for all ages. This is the best!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SLIP SLIDING AWAY!!!

posted by anderson5 (CORONA, CA) Apr 12, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Note to the game makers: If you are going to make an unrealistic physics engine then err on the easier side. This game is so difficult play because you are constantly over steering and sliding out. It makes adults look like todlers in arcades over steerin back and forth while the AI cars race away. The graphics are very impressive, but the physics kill it. It kind of reminds me of the RatBag game Powerslide (all the potential in the world with terrible physics). At least put out cheat codes for sticky tires, non-collision culture, and free ride of maps. This game is extremely frustrating and not worth the 2-3 day turn around waiting for the next one in the mail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Neverrrrrrr

posted by xN3ed2Kill (RIVERDALE, GA) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I didn't like this game one bit. the control where difficult, he graphics suck. and there isn't much to do in the garage it's just there to hold cars and nothing else, I sent this game back the same day I got it. If we could use negative number reviews I would give it a -7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

what the HE double hockey stick

posted by cooleric (CHICAGO, IL) Apr 28, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

i got dirt 2 wensday. me and my sis played mutliplayer first to our surprise the right turn on the wii remote was sluggish though i got brand new wii remotes. the graphic where VERY BAD and the AI where suisidal
they will try to run you off a cliff then t-bone you and cause you to go in last place depening on where you are.I HATE THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »