Rent Dirt 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Dirt 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.8

2175 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Racing Fun

posted by RegissReg (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Sep 17, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I really like this game. The carrer mode is good lets you experience the different off-road & rally vehicles + tracks which I highly advise before going online. Sound and Graphics are great, I love seeing car damage which seems to be missing on alot of racing games today. Controls are top notch but be warned, Dont go full speed around corners when driving Buggies and some trophies trucks you will spin out or crash, my advice tap the gas.

The online to me is the best part of the game. I cant remember the last time I had so much fun racing online. The reason for me is that it connects you to a race right away. There is no lobby, similar to Call of Duty, no custom matches. You can be the best racer but can easily come in last if you get bumped or taken out by another racer, which makes the playing field pretty much even.

The only bad thing about Dirt 2 is the loading times between races. I use this time for bathroom breaksand for that I cant give it a full 10 rating but if you are a racing fan Get this game you wont be dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game for those wanting some offroad fun

posted by dowroa (DURHAM, NC) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Overall, this is a great game. If you are in the mood for a little "hargy bargy" racing, DiRT 2 delivers. As long as you can understand and have the mindset this is an offroad racing game, and not a pure rally game, you will not be disappointed. There is plenty of challenge and a lot more difficulty available than most gamers will be able to handle. Also , there is A LOT of multiplayer fun, which can be controllable with a good room of racers.

First, the graphics on this game look great. Playing on a 42" 1080p TV, the 30fps frame rate is consistent, along with great visual dynamic colour and brightness range. This is one of the few games that I actually will play the replay post-race as it feels like a reward watching a winning accomplishment!

Also, the feel of the cars is great. Coming from an avid Forza player and rallyXer, the dirt surfaces are rewarding for their variety, and the fact you need to use finesse, instead of full throttle all-the-time action, to REALLY do well. Finally stringing a set of corners together and getting the lines to a multi-surface rallyX tracks is a reward in itself, and great for persistent drivers.

For single player, there is a great variety of race types, and if you prefer a specific race type (I prefer rallyX/circuits), you can pretty much make your way through a lot of the game, initially while only driving what you like. As long as you like the initial car offerings, you can stick to a car you like through out your career (I like that), and it keeps being upgraded (different "kits" and it gets "faster"). To that point, I am still using the 07 No Fear STi, and winning races on "Extreme".

Multiplayer takes some patience, but is very rewarding with some patience. Initially there is bumping and banging, and you will lose races to "squids", but people quickly learn clean and fast is the way to go. Ranked and unranked races are great, especially with the built in party system!

Overall, a great game that is easy to pick up and play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Give it a chance!!

posted by jcca77 (GLEN ROCK, PA) Oct 20, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Very good game. It is the first game that has had my attention for a while and that I actully look forward to playing... and have been for hours at a time.
I played for a while when I first got it and then came back to it and have been having fun online and doing the time trials and trying to see how I stack up against the rest of the world. I enjoy putting up a faster ghost and trying to keep up with him.

Again I was about to send it back after a few weeks but now it may be on my buy it list, the gameplay is really good and the tracks are really good.
Try it you'll like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One step away...

posted by tsb2247 (VENTURA, CA) Oct 17, 2010

Member since Jul 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

from being an amazing game. i gave it a 9 because the game is awesome....i just wish there were more tracks and that you could upgrade the cars you buy with better parts.....otherwise awesome game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

They nailed it...

posted by ElecDyNomt (NEWMARKET, NH) Oct 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Best racing game made to date bar none. Every aspect of this game music, racing, graphics, physics, and fun factor never run short. The only people that wouldn't like this game are the one's that prefer to spend hours in menu's milling over ever detail of there car settings. You can adjust your car setup but they keep it simple.

This game aims is to keep you behind the wheel racing, and it dose this very well. Better than any Gran Turismo game I own, and I own them all.

If you can't do everything that you could do with a real car it's not a simulation, the end.

Rolls, flips, spinouts,and donuts? yup you can do them all in Dirt 2 the crashes can be down right brutal just like in REAL LIFE RACING (are you listening Polyphony?)

Gran Turismo Code Masters have taken the racing game to a new level what will you deliver with GT5? All I can say is it better be way beyond steller. Stitches in the leather seats? Sorry Polyphony I'm having way too much fun tearing up the tarmac with Dirt 2 but we'll see if you can hurtle the bar now that it's been pushed way up there with Dirt 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun Game for racing fans

posted by gdfather31 (CORINTH, KY) Dec 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Dirt 2 is a good follow up to it's previous title. It is packed with alot of fun races. But it has it's flaws. One flaw is that in each country there are only two or three tracks to race over and over and over again. The tracks become boring after a while. They need to have more track selection. Another flaw is the AI is really dumb sometimes, I mean they don't even seem competitive towards you. For example, if you crash one of them on purpose, they should retaliate.
It only takes about 13 hours to complete the whole tour. I think that in the next one that they should have a story mode and more tracks to choose from.
I give this game 4 out of 5.

Great graphics
OK sound
descent gameplay
realistic physics
average replay value

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very nice game control and graphics

posted by dallen76 (LEANDER, TX) Oct 17, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I loved the controls of the vehicles, although some vehicles seemed to not handle well. I raced a few races before I realized all out gas didnt work, you have to brake and let off the gas on some corners and jam on the gas coming out of them. I loved this game and would highly recommend it to people that like a mixture of asphalt and dirt racing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Don't let the difficulty ruin it for you..

posted by vihazur (CHICAGO, IL) Jul 22, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Some people probably play enough racing games that this game isn't that hard, but I'm not one of those people. Within 10 minutes, I almost felt like paying for the game, just so that I could smash the disc into little bits. Seemed crazy how hard the game is, even on "easy."

I like car games, I love driving in GTA4, for example, which seemed plenty difficult to me, and I've done well with less sim-like racers. They're not at all like this game, though. Controlling these cars at even relatively slow speeds can be really frustrating, until you learn the basics, some of which aren't at all obvious. I mean, we all know that in any decent driving game, you need to slow down around corners. You know you'll lose control if you aren't careful with the breaks. Things like that.

What I had to muster the patience to learn though, is that I needed to work a lot harder to control the car, at all times. Even slight turns could send me spinning, until I learned to ease up on the gas a whole lot, even when I wasn't taking sharp turns. I had to learn to pump the gas pedal to regain my grip on the roads, rather than just expecting to be able to steer out of a slide. Things like that.

I still play on easy, but at least now I'm able to play well enough to see how well done the game is. I'd still prefer a driving game where I can just tear through, exhilarated the scenery speeding past, rather than needing to incessantly focus so hard on every minor but demandingly precise adjustment to steering and speed.. but that's just me, and maybe this isn't exactly my kind of game.

Still, now that I'm getting somewhere with it, instead of just wrecking my car on the first track at even the easiest settings, I can appreciate how polished and fun this game is.

I just wish they had some sort of tutorial mode, for those of us who are new to the genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game!

posted by RhythmiC (ONTARIO, CA) Oct 22, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Almost a perfect racing game as far as picking pretuned cars and racing. Gave it a 9 because theres always something to improve.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

dirt 2 gotta get!!!!

posted by bigmak756 (FOSTER CITY, CA) Oct 14, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

great game love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Dirt racing game ever!

posted by BoomerHans (WOODLAND HILLS, CA) Oct 6, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm not all that into racing games. But this one is top notch. I was hooked from the very beginning. I managed to get to level 40 and completed all the tracks. I recommend this to anyone who wants to play an awesome racing game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

DiRT 2 is Amazing!

posted by RokkBndFan (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Oct 4, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great game, buy it now. The only thing I didn't like was there arent enough X Games tracks... but oh well!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hey Hey Hey Dirt 2

posted by sockit2me (NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR) Oct 3, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the off road racer is back better than ever. Graphics has improve and controls are slick. this is better than the original, simply fantastic. this is not the best racer of the year, but a sure contender for the title. i got to give the game props.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

best racing game ever

posted by dantedmc22 (HOUSTON, TX) Sep 21, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

best game ever better then need for speed shift

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WOW

posted by cptnchrsto (ALBANY, NY) Sep 18, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

best driving game since Grid takes some getting used to on the dirt but once you get it down the points rack up. Got some length to it as well took me about 10 hours of driving to get all the cars. Still have some tracks to compete on in the pro series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WOW

posted by defected (GREENVILLE, NC) Sep 17, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Love it Love it Love it Love it Love it Love it ! Going to buy it !!! Sorry if your waiting on a copy but I want it can't let this one go !!!!!

Graphics 10

Sound 10

Physics 8

Music 8

gameplay 9

Online 8

Make sure if your new to Dirt take it easy learn the game don't rush it ! when you get the feel down you will be Dirt addicted and that's a fact - Start your Drifters its game on !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dirt 2

posted by mxkid80 (MILLERSBURG, OH) Sep 13, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I just got Dirt 2 a few days ago, I think its a solid, well thought out racing game. I love racing games and I was one of the first people on gamefly to get it. So far (I'm at level 18) the graphic quality is amazing and that during game play its very smooth and realistic feeling. The vehicals all sound very realistic and all handle in different ways on different surfaces. The only thing I don't really like about the game is that its not two player so I can race my little brother. But all in all I love the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awsome driver

posted by wiabomb (BOWLING GREEN, KY) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

response of the cars are near perfect, top notch graffix, id give it a ten except there are long dialogues you are forced to sit through, this will keep me entertained for a while

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A Fruity Game, For Fans of Fruit!

posted by damianrock (DULUTH, GA) Dec 12, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

If you love staring at pics of 20-something-year-old, d-bags, with smug looks on their faces, and arms crossed, you'll love this game!

If you love spending the first 20 minutes of the game watching a video (instead of playing), then listening to a 20-something-year-old, d-bag, talking forever, you'll love this game!

If you love never being able to drive in a straight line, because the mechanics of the game force you to constantly slide, even on a straight-away (even though in reality that would not be true), you'll love this game!

If however, you don't love staring at men, or listening to them talk about how great they are, or watching video's of the game you rented rather than actually playing it, or playing a "racing game" that is not based in reality at all.... then skip this game.

I play a "racing game" to "race," not stare and listen to frat boys for 20 minutes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good, but could have been great!

posted by jones8352 (PORTLAND, OR) Sep 19, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I liked Dirt 2 a lot. I got quite a few hours of fun out if it so far. The game looks good, sound ok too. Some of the AI's comments do get a little old after a while.

I only have two complaints, some of the cars are very tough to drive. I'm not rookie, I've been doing racing games for a long time. Some of the vehicles were just absolutly frustrating to drive. One big thing to me was the game doesn't fully support Logitech wheels. I have GT and a wireless wheel, neither one was even close to being driveable. Way to twichy!!!

The bottom line is any racing fan is going to get a lot of good entertainment out of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't Believe the Hype

posted by michael059 (SAN JOSE, CA) Dec 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

If you are new to racing games, please avoid this game at all costs. This game has the worst driving control ever. If you enjoy losing control of your car and driving around in a circle, then go and play this game. When I played this game, I thought my steering wheel that I just purchased was defective because it kept on making the car going out of control. But then I played Gran Turismo and noticed that it wasnt the steering wheel, but it was the stupid Dirt 2 game. I'm sticking to play racing on pavement from now on and avoid anything that has mud, sand, dust, dirt and desert because I know that the game will suck because you have no control over the car. Thanks to Gamefly for allowing me to test this out or else I would've wasted $60 on a wackazz game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

garbage

posted by Bund (MAYPORT, PA) Oct 1, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

if you want to play rally car racing, try a game designed by Europeans. If you like tribal tattoos, X-games, Monster drinks, loud rock with boring rhythms from the USA, then maybe you will like this.

suggesting you wait for the WRC game for PS3 if you don't want "rally cross" but you do want some good rally car racing. I'm expecting more selection in cars and customization. also, better controls and atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

very good!!

posted by Naruto_Godtoad (LOMPOC, CA) Sep 10, 2011

Member since May 2011

this game is really fun but yet challenging and multiplayer is full of cheaters, hackers but the campaign is really good but its very long time!! have to get 1st place in all the 100 races!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent game could be better

posted by strayz_doc (LA CROSSE, WI) Aug 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

All in all a decent game, the different vehicles that are available is great. how ever you cant upgrade performance parts. also the controls are really sluggish and dont always respond the way they should, and every little bump seems to throw your vehicle into an uncontrollable spin or roll over which causes you to lose your place but the bumps dont effect the AI the same way...I didnt like the game that much

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

mehhh

posted by jkiller94 (CAMBRIDGE, OH) Jun 29, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

This game is fun but very repetitive. I notice you may race the same track two or three times. If you are a fan of the dirt series you might love this game, but if you are looking for a realistic racing game avoid this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse