Rent Dirt 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dirt 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Wii, PSP Games, DS
GF Rating
8.0

4864 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

solid game

posted by bogwire (OREGON CITY, OR) Jun 30, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the game offers tons of different enviroments and different racing modes and challenges.The variety of cars is great and u can tell the diferences between them.

My complaint is like with most racing games eventually it will get old, but only after puting in a solid 15 hours or so. The game's normal setting casual is way to easy u will win every race first time.if u want the game to last play on serious.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Impressed

posted by brandon035 (BLOOMINGTON, IL) May 1, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Very well done and expected nothing less.

Very, very well developed story mode. Was a little less than satisfied with the redundancy of the different countries courses. Cars controls were above average as compared to other games. In car view is alot of fun and actually has a sense of realness coming from someone who has done events like this in real life. Love the evolution of the driver and making friends and earning rep/xp. Havent played on XBL yet, but the story mode is more than enough to keep me occupied for a while. Deff rent, maybe buy but I would find something better to buy personally. Overall, 9/10. Looking forward to seeing more from codemasters

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome game but falls flat after a while

posted by SPenguin (WOODINVILLE, WA) Jul 14, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had never been into rally racing games but thought I would finally try out Dirt 2 once I got a proper racing wheel setup (I found the game to suck without a racing wheel). What is instantly noticeable is the amazing graphics that really suck you in. These are some of the best racing graphics I have seen. The mud and water flying around, the dirt tracks, the amazing car details, it's all superb.

The racing itself is very good as well. Each car reacts differently and so do the different types of terrain that you drive on. There is also real time deformation of tracks that make things just a tad different on laps. I didn't find it enough to throw off my driving at all but it was fun to see. I also found some of the different variations of races fun. My favorites were the Rally and Trailblazer but Land Rush and some others were a blast as well. The variety kept things fun despite my biggest complaint which I will go into next.

My only complaint about the racing is that about halfway through the game I found the tracks to be a bit limited. There are some really fun tracks but there is only a dozen or so and different variations of those tracks (backwards, longer/shorter versions, etc...) I just got bored of racing the same exact tracks after a while. If there had been a handful more then I think this would have been worthy of a 10. (I ended up finishing 72ish out of 100 total races).

I tried online play but I wasn't that impressed. It was more about how can you push your opponent off the track or into a wall to get ahead rather than pure skill. I found it fun for a few races but it made me mad more than anything because I was more interested in racing rather than extreme bumper cars.

Overall, this game was a total blast for the first half but I wouldn't be surprised if anybody gets bored after that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dirt 2 8/10

posted by Charbachuk (GULFPORT, FL) Feb 24, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game from an overall standpoint it much better than the original, and much better than most racing games this year. The graphics are very detailed, especially the environments which make you feel almost like you are there. The controls are fairly simple, with really no press this button to drift type of thing. The level system works well, much better than NFS Shift in comparison. There are plenty of cars in each discipline to keep you entertained, I just wish there was more customization on the cars then what they have. The game play itself is very well made, with the X-Games, World Tours, and 1 on 1 throw downs giving you something to strive for. The Flashback feature fixes the age old problem of spinning out on the last turn in a race, and having to restart the entire race. The only real problem i see in this game, is with 100 events, most being multi-race events, and only 41 different tracks, most of them being either shorter versions, or backwards versions of the original tracks, makes it kind of boring after a while driving on the same tracks over and over again, and sometimes twice in the same race event. But like i said overall a very well made game and most definitely worth renting and even buying. And credit to the makers for including the Colin Mcrae event, cars, and memorial video, very nice touch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

DiRT + GRID = DiRT 2

posted by Behemoth26 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Sep 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

19 out of 22 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

First off the graphics are still amazing, but they still dont seem like a big improvement from the first one. load times feel much shorter but that might be because you go through 3 tiny loads instead of one big one. also they took the flashback feature from GRID which helps (sometimes because if you wreck your car you can only begin rewinding when your car stops, meaning sometimes you will only rewind far enough to crash again) The handling is much different than both DiRT 1 & GRID. mainly the fact that your breaks are useless as well as your car will want to drift every corner whether your going 20mph or 90mph no matter what surface. But after getting used to the driving style Ive begun enjoying the way of stealing position by sliding turns at 70mph. also there are less rally events and more stadium events which I'm not to happy about but thats marketing for ya. Also the events are much shorter. a race lasting over 3 minutes seems to be forbidden fruit or something. there does seem do be a nice variety of cars but not really any reason to buy most of them mainly because you can afford the best cars pretty quickly. You start with a co-driver who has to be modeled after the worst ex girlfriend ever. I dont think Ive ever been more annoyed by a fake person in my life. Good thing I unlocked a new co-driver fairly quickly. Also the whole water graphics thing is completely pointless. all they did was add random puddles to every track. when its 118 degrees in Baja there shouldn't be puddles anywhere. but it is nice to force a passing car into the water. Also taking another note from GRID they didn't make to many different tracks, they just reversed the courses.
The main reason I rated it a 9 is the fact that DiRT 2 Isn't only the best Off-Road game released since DiRT. its also the best racing game Ive played in along time. The problems with this game are so small they can easily be overshadowed by the gameplay. Definitely worth a rent to all, a must buy for most.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If you like racing games, you'll love Dirt 2

posted by juicedaman (NORTHBOROUGH, MA) Mar 29, 2010

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Having played the first Dirt, I had high expectations for Dirt 2. I liked the first one a lot, considering it was so different from normal racers. Instead of racing on the streets or speedways, you race on dirt and gravel. At first, I wasn't liking Dirt 2 as much as I thought I would, but as the game progressed it got better and better, to the point where I began liking it more than the first one.

Dirt 2 was my favorite racing game since Midnight Club 3: Dub Edition, which has been untouched in terms of competition the several years since it has been out.

Dirt 2 emphasizes building friendships with the other celebrity drivers and has a large variety of racing types, all of which have their own unique requirements. For instance, in Domination, you have to get the best time in certain sections of the track, and it doesn't matter if you win the race, as long as you hold the best times within the sections.

Overall, Dirt 2 was a very good game, but it did have some drawbacks. Firstly, the new nickname system seemed like a good idea, but it gets annoying when you start hearing Hey Justin every two seconds. In addition, Dirt 2 did not put much emphasis on customization, which is always one of my favorite parts of a racing game. Lastly, the whole liveries and dashboard toys addition wasn't very memorable either, because it limits you to what they give you instead of you fully customizing it yourself.

9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Addictive to the nth degree!

posted by flyboy8498 (ELIZABETHTOWN, KY) Sep 13, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

DiRT2 has virtually all the qualities you want in a game of this nature, & it is one you can't put the controller down once you start playing.

The graphics are off the charts & eye popping. There are no flaws that I could see. The water splashes like it should when you fly though it, the naturistic things like grass & dirt acts the way it is suppose to, the enviorment is very realistic, & it continues on from there.

The main improvement from Dirt to Dirt2 is flashback. Codemasters took the flashback idea from Grid & applied it to Dirt2. That can be good or bad, depending on how you look at it. From a casual gamers stand point, it most likely is good. From an expert gamers stand point, it may not be as good.

The handling of each car is darn near realistic. Brakes become more & more useless as the race progresses, & vehicles want to drift around each corner. Casual gamers & beginningers to DiRT will have a learning curve to this, but it's WELL worth the effort put in to it.

There are less rally events compared to stadium events, but that is the way the audience is going these days. Is it more proffitable to show Mirra, McRae, & Pastrana at the X Games or is it more proffitable to show them at a rally event? Along with the stadium events, the races become shorter, but that is the nature of that beast.

There aren't a whole lot of tracks, which is great in my opinion. There are more emphasis put on a few tracks & the quality of them compared to a little emphasis put on a lot of tracks & the quality. Less tracks inevitably equals better quality.

This game is great for casual & expert gamers alike. There is a cavet here: If you're use to NASCAR racing and going 100mph at all times, and expect it to work here, you WILL be BADLY disappointed. With patience & a small learning curve, this game is VERY rewarding & I would recommend it to everyone. The problems are so minescule that they are far over shaddowed by the greatness of gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutely stunning

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Sep 16, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I never played Dirt one, but i played Grid, which from what i heard was the same just all on road game. But for Dirt 2, you live in a really junky trailer, and you travel all around the world in that trailer to go to your races. And just so you know the trailer is the main menu of the game. The campaign is called Dirt Tour, and it has regular races and then it has X-Games events which are really fun. Theres a bunch of different types of races in Dirt Tour and im not going to say them all, but they really change up the game a lot and dont get you bored fast. The graphics are breath taking. One thing you have to keep in mind when your playing Code Master's racing games is that handling is very realistic and hard to control cars at high speeds, so when going into a corner slow down. But prouble one of the most recognizable things in Code Master racing games is you can rewind the game a few seconds back and start over at that time of a race. And you get more or less replays depending on your difficulty. And the multiplayer is pretty nice and will give you something to do after you beat the game. So overall this game is just amazing, and if you like racing games, this is one that you really need to try out and buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Racer this year

posted by DegoFever (SAN DIEGO, CA) Sep 15, 2009

Member since Aug 2004

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I haven't played much of the first DiRT this year so it took a little while to get used to it again, but everything about this game is better than the original. For Example...

While D1's multiplayer was simultaneous single player racing, in this game they manage to have seamless full contact multiplayer racing by limiting the draw distance of cars in front of you... not enough to be a problem though. I haven't experienced any lag yet.

D1's interface between races was very clean and professional, but in all honesty it was boring. this one is a much more Action Sports feel, and it definitely holds your attention better.

I like the chatter between drivers, but sometimes it's repetitive, and the water is nice, but after a while it's just water. Neither of these really took the score from a 10 to a 9, but what did it for me was I felt the game stopped a little short of what it could have been. there didn't seem to be any customization of how the car ran, just what it looked like and what the horns were. I think there probably could have been half a dozen more tracks, not just reverses of them.

It's definitely worth buying, but it's not worth a 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A little let down

posted by MadMonster (CHULA VISTA, CA) Nov 5, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was really looking forward to this game so I was very excited to finally play it. As I played it all I could do was think about the parts of the game that I did not really enjoy. So here is my list of things that i did not like.

I hate the fact that on the landrush starts you can never get the holeshot. There is no way that you can ever have a holeshot, you always have to battle through 6 or 7 other racers.

I hate the jumps in the game. They seem like they would be a great addition but they just mess up my car/truck and you never really seem to have a good landing. There are no smooth transitions on the jumps, so you pretty much just jump 150 feet and slam into the ground, bounce all over the track, pinball off some walls and finally spin out. I tryed slowing down and taking it easy on the jumps but that seemed to make it worse, and you also get the racers behind you slamming into you from behind and knocking you out of control.

As a whole I found Dirt more enjoyable then Dirt 2. 2 Just seems to be made so that it is "COOL" and not so much about racing. The original Dirt was about racing and not much else. This game reminded me of Amped 2 and Amped 3. Amped 2 was one of the greatest snowboard games over, then they followed it up with 3, a game that i felt they tryed to hard to make "COOL" and the game just sucked.

I am not saying Dirt 2 sucks, its a great game but I find myself cursing at it too much and contemplating putting Dirt back in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better then the first.

posted by XxD34THxX (Wichita, KS) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Jul 2003

12 out of 21 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

If you liked the first one then you'll love this one. amazing graphics, the water effect is amazing, the game is very lengthy and very addicting. Must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Get Dirty!

posted by ShayJay (CONWAY, AR) Sep 14, 2009

Member since May 2006

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This game offers a lot of improvement over the first Dirt, from the polished visuals to the clever xp unlockables. The improved UI is cool, although it seems awfully familiar, NFS Pro Street mayhaps? The physics seem a tad more forgiving than the original and the flashback feature is sure to be used by novices and experts alike. Bottom line, if you loved the original Dirt then Dirt 2 will not dissapoint.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome!

posted by Viper1 (CHARLEROI, PA) Sep 11, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Dirt 2 is the type of game that just draws you and won't let go. The graphics are unbelieveable and eye catching. The game flows smoothly with minimal load times. Not hard to pick up and play from casual to expert gamer. Dirt 2 is even better than the first Dirt. I would highly recommend this to anyone who likes racing games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by Mike15 (BEAVER FALLS, PA) Sep 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is fun for hours upon hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

All i can say is wow

posted by cflagg (CONGERS, NY) Sep 14, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

when you come out with a rally game is gotta be jam packed with all the drifting you can think of....the drifting in this game is so beautiful just hearing the car bang red line and slide for 200 feet....all and all it's an addictive game for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Couldn't be a better offroad racing game

posted by xxVMAFIAxx (JOHNSON CITY, TN) Sep 15, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Thank you gamefly for shipping dirt 2. i loved the first one but i still wish they had offroad races in russia. well i better hope the next one will

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dirt, but slightly worse everywhere.

posted by chrsssmn (NEWTOWN, CT) Jan 18, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Less ability to customize your ride.
More convoluted menus (well, slower anyways)
Silly focus on cultivating relationships with npc's (well, voices of people).
less rally, more poof.
gatecrasher? okay - sure, cute, but on the regular?

The good is the multiplayer. I didn't keep it too long to be downright honest. Maybe they dumbed it down because they figured the video gearheads would be stuck on forza for 18 months - but still - i wanted a rally game and this has less depth than sega or dirt1.

I could see itbeing fun if i was sitting around a hookah with a few friends, but i don't want to have hang out with people just to find a way to enjoy a game. If that was my scene, id have a wii (or rock band).

just not a game that i could get into, or didn't want to get into.

beware anyone looking for smoething with more depth than dirt. less isn't more here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome Offroad Madness

posted by steppin (PORTLAND, OR) Sep 15, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is addictive and fun. There are a huge number of races in which you can compete, with a compelling career mode that keeps you going for just one more race. The graphics are incredible, with no real bugs or glitches. The physics are great. The multiplayer is a little repetitive, with a limited number of races. I don't understand why there are so many varieties in the career, but so few races in multiplayer. I played online for like an hour and raced on the same tracks multiple times. What I enjoy most about this game is that it depends entirely on your racing ability, rather than just having the best, tricked out car.
That said, this game does have some problems: your car can be stopped by a random sapling or rock. The environments aren't completely destructible by a car, no matter how fast you are going. Also, when choosing a race, there is nothing to indicate what the track will be like. In other words, you can't really predetermine how to configure your car because the track might be entirely different than how you imagined it would be. Some cars are all over the road, while others handle really well.
Achievements are strong and noteworthy. A good challenge. Worth buying if you are into racing games. A must-have if you are into offroad racing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatness!!!

posted by de9mize (PRESCOTT VALLEY, AZ) Sep 14, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First off i loved the first one and Dirt 2 is just awsome the look and feel of your cars/trucks is spot on.They handel great and when you drive through water at 130mph you realy feel the car bog down.Over all buy it I rented it but couldnt wait so I bought it so should you...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Stunning Realism

posted by cerealkell (EMPORIUM, PA) Sep 11, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

A demo on X Box Live turned me on to this game. I was blown away by the realism of the graphics in the demo and the sweet physics engine driving the game. I really can't stress enough how incredible these graphics are. I bet they're the best graphics any console has ever rendered ever. Even for a hardcore PC gamer like myself it was stunning. What it looked like is Farcry 2 for the PC with maxed out settings only a racing game and on the X Box. The games not too hard, but it took some getting used to. There are several difficulty settings so you can find the right one for you and the harder you go the more you're rewarded. You win cash and gain XP by completing races. The cash you can use to to buy new rides for the many various race styles for which you'll need a different car or truck for each class. The nice ones aren't cheap but you can get a cheap one to start off which you can use for awhile before it becomes obsolete. The XP you gain gets you higher levels which unlock new races and new locations. You build relationships with the other drivers based on your behavior and skill behind the wheel which becomes essential later in the game because you need your buddies to help you unlock races and to back you up in the team races. You also have somebody sitting shotgun in the timed races who navigates for you. Which at first is annoying but later on becomes crucial. I personally can't stand the sound track of mostly terrible punk music so I shut it off. Thankfully you could turn the music and the speech off if it's annoying you. The vehicles respond very realistically and you've got several camera angles you can choose from in race. Thers's no hardware upgrades you can buy, so you're stuck with whatever comes with the vehicle you buy. Once you've earned it you can change the appearance of your vehicle, I loved the one with the ATI/AMD logos on it. Pure Legend! This isn't a game where you just straight rip, you need to be able to manuever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Off-Road Racer's DREAM

posted by Gamer18 (CORVALLIS, OR) Sep 11, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Guys, this is game is just awesome. The sense of speed is ridiculous and it does a great job of balancing skill and fun together. Dirt 2 is a masterpiece in the racing game genres.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Dirt 2 not for the impatient

posted by Adamcoook (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Apr 21, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

WAY TOO MUCH VIDEO!!! OMG, first time i played the game I played 5 races, and it took me almost 2 hours to get that done. Videos are way too frequent and too long!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

tight

posted by brandon23 (TOLEDO, OH) Sep 11, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

best dirt game ever made
gotta either buy it or rent it!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dirt 2

posted by tcraw5 (ALVA, OK) Nov 4, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Don't waste your time with this game...played it for 30 minutes and was already packing it in the GameFly return package...very annoying main screen that won't let you skip any of the games time wasting scenarios!! Again dont put this game in your game q...i thought it would be a decent game to pass the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not even remotely fun

posted by sockit2me (NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR) Sep 10, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 47 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

same as the first, updated graphics, few more dirt roads now made in a track? come on people you gotta be kidding me! the controls suck and gameplay not all i thought it would be. this game needs a miracle to help it. i know this game cant beat need for speed, forza 3 or maybe,MAYBE, GRAN TURISMO(if it comes out this year) and to be nominated for best racing game of the year. when i first saw it i thought it will be decent. the game is just that bad to me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse