Rent Digimon World DS for DS
view large frontback

Digimon World DS

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.3

667 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprised

posted by Kengen (TRACY, CA) Feb 13, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

14 out of 14 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had a lot of fun with this one. It took me back to my childhood with all the original digimon. Combat is pretty straightforward and simple. Also the game is somewhat easy all the way through. Granted I did grind a lot, played to many dragon quest games I guess. So far I'm 45 hours in and have not yet beat the game. There are so many different digimon to get and training them to their mega forms can be very entertaining. I would recommend it to any age group that enjoys Digimon and games like Pokemon and/or Dragon Quest Monsters. About time digimon received a good game for a fun series. Good fun to be had in this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

if you like Pokémon this game is runner-up

posted by TerrySlash (PICKERINGTON, OH) Dec 29, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the only bad part of the game is that the beginning is frustrating and they don't tell you exactly how to digivolve, but besides that this game rocks!Especially if you like Pokémon. This my first digimon game i've played and i'm hooked!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Digimon Game

posted by XxLaharlxX (REVERE, MA) Sep 8, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Digimon World DS ia finally a good and addictive Digimon game for the current gen systems. Throw in the most Digimon in a game ever and online capabilities and you have the recipe for a really good Digimon game with just a few flaws that need tweaking.

The storyline is a mixture of originallity and the basic RPG story making a suprisingly good story. The game mechanics work well together in the story and compliment themselves very well.

To try and serperate themsleves from Pokemon they have changed the capture system for the Digimon. Now to get more you simply have to fight them enough to collect enough data. The Digivolution system also works well with different requirements for different Digimon and multi-branching digivolutions making it never boring raising your Digimon.

The Digi-Farm works very well with your out-of-party Digimon allowing you to raise many Digimon at once and you won't have to worry about it taking forever to raise multiple Digimon at once. This is also where you can take that data from defeated Digimon and make new Digimon by Digiconverting them, new to the Digimon games.

The graphics are average for a DS game and the Digimon are detailed nicely. However, in-battle animations for attacks are extremely boring to use and see over and over again. They are so bland that it is only interesting to see the enemy attack somewhat because they are actually on the screen while all you get for your Digimon is there faces and there attacks appearing from nowhere.

You get more enjoyment out of raising your Digimon that you do at actually battling with them. The battle system is done like a half turn-based system half SRPG system with a grid. Not amazingly enjoyable.

The online play is a little shallow unless you are playing against other people but you require a Friend Code that you have to get first so if you don't have one then you can't do much.

Although the battle system and online play need a little work, it is worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by idcatall (GAINESVILLE, FL) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is ridiculously fun. i have never played a game that was this much fun. I think the best part is that there are 5 stages to evolve into and each monster has different options the more he progresses. Then there is a feature where you can unevolve or degenerate to a lower level to take another path, and when you do that it makes your guys stronger. Amazing game!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than Anticipated!!

posted by Dais7334 (NORFOLK, VA) Aug 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I originally wanted something close to the Pokemon series since I hadn't played anything of the sort in years but I wanted to break out of my norm. This is truly a great game. It has all the elements that Pokemon has and some. To me, the difficulty of the game is somewhat more challenging. There are so many ways for each Digimon to evolve and so many requirements to do so. Trying to ge the perfect team and stay alive gives the game that competitive edge. It's like in Pokemon, once you get to the Elite Four, you want to stay in that area just to get the experience points to level up your favorites. But with Digimon, you can go to some of the higher levels to get that aquan exp. that you need but at the same time you can get dragon or bird exp points. I am going to leave the review to this much and say that this is a must play if not a must have game. Enjoy...I know I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The best game for RPG players!

posted by Ultimtegmr (OLATHE, KS) Dec 30, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

If Pokémon games or Fire Emblem games entertain you, than this game is the best! The dungeon-scrolling basics along with a random battle game play makes this game great. This game is easy though as you progress, it will start to become more challenging. This is very similar to the Pokémon games. Battle, equipment, skills, Hp/Mp, a story and "capturing" are all there. Just remember to save and save often.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best DS RPG compared to pokemon

posted by KH2SS2 (MIRAMAR, FL) Mar 15, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Digimon World DS is one of the best games for the handheld. It is very addicting to tame every digimon and become the best tamer, or tamer king,as said in the game. It will be a competitive challenge to pokemon and a great game to play until the long-awaiting Pokemon:Diamond and Pokemon:Pearl come out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pokémon watch your back!!!

posted by Reviewmon (SEA CLIFF, NY) Mar 16, 2007

Member since Jul 2004

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

The game Digimon World DS is so far one of the best RPGs for the hand held. I have been a huge Pokémon fan from the very beginning and I think that this game has Pokémon's similar battle system except you know who is next to attack, and you can also have three digimon out at one time unlike Pokémon's one on one battle system or rare two on two battles. Also in this game it has both Pokémon's movement system along with a dungeon look on movement. Another good idea on Digimon's part is that they give you an array of weapon's and armor for your digimon that raises stats and also teaches some digimon new moves. The only downside to this game is that there aren't the same digivolutions from the show for example Risegreymon doesn't digivolve into Shininggreymon it just ends at Risegreymon. Digimon has had some good games in its past but it's nothing compared to the Pokémon dynasty, but this game definitely changed my mind about the Digimon games. All thats left to say is that Pokémon Pearl and Diamond better be phenomenal to compare with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Look out Pokémon, you've got competition!

posted by sonicking (PUEBLO, CO) Jan 20, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Up until now, the Digimon World games have been, to put it nicely, substandard. Now however, with the latest installment on the Nintendo DS, Digimon finally comes to the forefront as one of the better collectible monster RPGs out there, console or handheld. The concept is simple, you go around different "fields", encounter various digimon, then collect as much of their "Scan Data" before you have to fight them. The more powerful they are, the lower the percentage of scan data you'll be able to collect with each encounter. When you've collected at least 100% of their scan, you'll be able to "Digiconvert" them & either add them to your party, or send them to one of 4 farms to have them train themselves in psudo-real time. Furthermore, each digimon has multiple digivolution paths: some straight out of the series and movies, others the likes of which no one's ever seen before. And, of course, Digimon wouldn't be so exciting without over-the-top battles with gigantic bosses. Finally, with this installment, Digimon goes where they have never gone before: the Internet. That's right! The series that focused on digital monsters and their tamers saving the Internet from total destruction finally lets players battle, trade, and even mate their digimon with others either through local wireless, or over the internet with Nintendo' s Wi-Fi connection. The only real "flaws": some of the digimon don't totally follow the digivolution paths of the series and movie, and some digivolutions are nowhere to be found. But with nearly 250 forms to find, I'm not complaining too loudly. This game definitely sets the bar astronomically high for the DS Pokémon games to follow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

VERAY NICE

posted by supersam (EL SEGUNDO, CA) Sep 19, 2007

Member since Feb 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

kewl game with nice rpg feel to it, also as your digimon digivolve you see them grow as they follow you too. Many digivolve options and an all over great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

read this its all about the game

posted by yugioh619 (NORTH DIGHTON, MA) Aug 25, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is fun the most fun is lvling them geting them to digivolve buit the begining is pretty hard my advice is start offf with agumon hes the best and the cheat codes are very help full if u get this game be sure to get the ultimate weapons from codes and the 100% dot agumon code and the 100%dot falconmon code they are really good altho they dont digivolve they can be very helpful on ur journey and u can beat the game pretty fast i obtained the codes from the gamefaqs website have fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but short

posted by anonamys (GIBSONIA, PA) Aug 4, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

True this game is alot of fun and it is very addicting, but it is very short. I beat it in only five short hours, also you cant even have half of the digimon your digivice has in it. I would suggest this for renting but defenantly not buying. And it has the same old story line where you go into this fantasy world and then there is of corse a bad guy that wants to get rid of you. Then you have to beat him but then there is another bad guy and u have to beat him. So over all I think that this game is ok and a little fun but if you like long good original story you can rent this but DONT BUY IT!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Didn't see what other user saw in this game

posted by MiniDriver (SOMERVILLE, MA) Apr 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I had a great time with most of the Pokemon games, and from the reviews thought this would be a good match.

Not really. The story is clunky, the graphics are not really engaging, and the development is clunky.

Often I found myself stuck in that the monsters I had couldn't evolve any further until I got to another level, but I couldn't progress to the next level without stronger monsters. I got frustrated with it, and gave up after a fairly short time playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

1 problem

posted by megaman (ANAHEIM, CA) Oct 13, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the game is perfect there is just 1 problem.i wanted augumon and gaomon.wen i started i picked koromon but i also wanted gaomon.i stated new picking tsunomon.i went to data forrest for a koromon.the koromon were gone.they were replaced with tsunomon.

i was mad!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!

other wise the game is good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ahhhh y make it

posted by tokaloto9 (ASTORIA, OR) Mar 13, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i thought this game couldve been much better there really wasnt much to do if it was more like digimon world 1 for psx or play station 1 i think i would have liked it more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Avoid this game

posted by DarkKnight (UTICA, IL) May 15, 2008

Member since May 2004

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game was pretty good till 4 hours of my work was lost when it froze. I started saving, but became complacent and lost a total of 8 hours of play time. Do Not rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »