Rent Digimon World Championship for DS
view large frontback

Digimon World Championship

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.8

429 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Its a good game for all Digimon traners

posted by Gokuss8 (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Feb 10, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Digimon World Championship is a very easy game to rate, mostly due to the fact that it does everything with a certain level of mediocrity. It is the same way that cocoa bean liquor is bitter, sugar is gritty and milk spoils easily, but if you put the three together you get something much better than the ingredients alone could provide; milk chocolate. Digimon World Championship is my milk chocolate; Definitely not my favorite of candies, but much better than the sum of its parts.

Gameplay- 4
What can I say more than that it is repetitive. Pick up a Digimon, put it in a cage, pick it up again, put it in another cage, feed it, clean the cage, repeat until there is a battle. Battles are really just a show to watch. Hunting for new Digimon can be done, but once you have a team or two, you will probably forget all about hunting and spend most of your time focused on the Digimon you have.

Graphics- 5
It is sprites on top of more sprites. We have seen the style since the '80s. Sprites are not bad, just simple. The bad part is that there is slowdown during battles. I don't know if the slowdown was added for dramatic effect or is a system issue, but it happens on every kill and it gets annoying.

Sound- 8
I do like the soundtrack for the game as well as the sound effects.

Overall- 6
Although none of the individual components of the game stand out by themselves, together they make a decent game that will never really wow you, but makes a great pet sim.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The original V-pet reborn.

posted by sparkz908 (CORAL GABLES, FL) Sep 13, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Summary: Digimon World Championship is a monster training RPG in which players hunt for their own horde of adorable and or meancing monsters. With over 200 different monsters to collect and plenty of unique elements this game looks like a real winner, but is it really all that perfect?

Story: You assume the role of a Digimon Tamer, I.E. The Digimon equivalent to a Pokemon Trainer, however this time around you aren't on a mission to save the world but are actually fighting to be the best! With your training skills you need to climb to the top and collect a large aray of titles and battle it our to become the Digimon World Champion!

Gameplay: DWC plays very differently from other monster training RPGs, in this game the emphasis is on the actual monster training via the use of collectible and connectable blocks called cages. Each cage improves certain stats but decreases others so even if your opponents have the same monsters as you they will be completely different stat wise. Battles in DWC play out automatically so you don't directly control your monsters, instead you assign them one of 3 roles: normal offense, special moves or support. Batles are fast paced and very fun to watch, but they can get a bit repetitive if you spam them over regular training. The battle system was meant to be like the V-Pet so its not for hardcore turn based RPG fans. The best feature however is Digimon hunting which plays similar to Pokemon Ranger but with more enhancements, you won't be doing this often so it's a real treat.

Graphics: 16 bit in the design of the original V-pet, the sprites are very charming and colorful. But 3D modeling wouldn't hurt.

Sound: Quirky music and battle sound effects are short and sweet, but they aren't all to special. I enjoy the battle theme but that's the thing it only has ONE battle theme so it can be annoying at times.

Appeal: This game isn't for everyone, but for those wanting a change in the norm this is definetly worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Still no good Digimon games...

posted by RoboFan (COLUMBUS, OH) Apr 4, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Ah, Digimon... Pokemon's one most worthy competitor, the Sonic to their Mario, at least until Season 4 killed the series and Yu-gi-oh took over... The TV series had so much good, so how come they haven't had a single decent game?? Why don't the Digimon games ever follow the concept of the show? Virtually every Digimon game is just made to be even more Pokemon-like than the anime, favoring COLLECTING Digimon over one Digimon partner per human. Digimon World Championship continues in this tradition, while attempting to get back to Digimon's roots, that is, as a boy's equivalent of a Tamagotchi. The plot is your average shovelware Pokemon-type cliche: there is a big Digimon tournament which you are out to win.... just because. You do this by raising Digimon from egg, to baby, to rookie, and so on. You do this in a customizable training center using a somewhat imaginative point-and-click interface using the stylus. Dropping Digimon in different rooms(you pick what kind of rooms you have and how you arrange them) will affect a Digimon's stats in a different way, usually raising one trait and lowering another. Once their stats reach certain requirements, they Digivolve. Gameplay largely consist of you moving Digimon from one training room to the other repeatedly, feeding them when they are hungry, bandaging wounds, cleaning up Digi-droppings, etc. Can you imagine Angemon being treated in this way, watching him eat off the floor and leaving a mess? No. Then you get into battles using the Digimon you trained. You pick a team of Digimon to fight, and then AI takes over. No maintenance whatsoever, and there doesn't seem to be much difference in what Digimon you use, except for level. I actually haven't gotten far in the game, but I really don't think it gets much better from where I am. Just more training, more AI battles, more training, on and on and on. And judging from other games of its kind, I don't expect any plot twists. I don't recommend this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Pokémon meets Monster Rancher meets Digimon.

posted by oucx44505 (CLEVELAND, OH) Sep 8, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

This wasn't an overwhelmingly horrible game but it was a little frustrating from time to time.

I liked that you did just about everything with the stylus. Feeding, Cleaning up cages, moving Digimon and taking care of them when they are sick.

What did frustrate me a little came in 2 forms.

1. I wanted to take a more hands on approach to battling instead of dropping 1 or 3 of them in the ring with the basic orders to either attack normaly, use special or support and hoping for the best. A turn based battle where you could choose the Digimons actions each round would have suited my style more appropriately.

And 2. There never was enough time. Like monster rancher time was measured in regular intervals but unlike monster rancher time moves forwards regardless of weather you want it to or not. Meaning if you weren't done moving your digimon or feeding your digimon or hunting for digimon like (like in Pokémon) then tough. You would just have to live with it.

Don't get me wrong its not a bad game and if you can live with auto battling and never having enough time then it could be a great game for you. I liked doing things with the stylus I just was annoyed by a few other characteristics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Digimon World Championship is not what i thought

posted by pickelrock (HERNDON, VA) Dec 20, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

It was not as good as i thought but it taught a good lession and that lesson was to remember to feed and play with your digimon and to get them to evelove.If you don't feed them or get to fight the right amoute of battle or they will turn into a digiegg even if your digimon is a mega level digimon.

There are four sessions in the game summer, winter, fall and spring.well thats it say this is a good review and say it helped you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

boring and lame, really bad

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Jan 28, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

this game was boring all u do is clean ur digimon treat them like pets watch them fight and capture digimon, worse game ever. pokemon r better end of story bye bye c ya latoooorr broskis and cook story broooo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good Match

posted by yu5654 (KENNER, LA) Apr 7, 2013

Member since Nov 2010

all you need is a syleist that is it it tells you what to do

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

digmon world championship

posted by coco346 (ATLANTIC BEACH, FL) Dec 10, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

i really like this game because it is fun to play whith the dinosuars.also this game you can battle and train the dinosuars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

bad turn for digimon

posted by ryoga777 (ROANOKE, VA) Jun 28, 2010

Member since Nov 2006

I like the idea of hunting and training but the rope takes a lot of expensive upgrades to catch anything good. If they stuck with the battle system from the other ds games it could have been better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

First Digimon Fail in a long time.

posted by TweekTra (MILWAUKEE, WI) Dec 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game was epic fail. If I wanted a virtual pet, I'd get the original ORIGINAL digimon at the least. I wanted to walk around, with my digimon, battle other digimon and tamers, and go thru the evo process till i had the ones i wanted. I could have even gotten something more based on tournament fighting, but with a story...like Gale of Darkness or sumthing. This was simply raising a pet in an environment, and watching it battle....almost like watching someone else play the best part of the game, while you got to do the grunt work. Lame. True, the dusk and dawn games showed that the format was getting old, but this was a more than a step down. Down, that is to say not even a step backwards. As much fun as it was to do the gigapet thing, it was only fun when you got to take it with you on your keys or something. Still, there's a reason they aren't around anymore.
Get another digimon game, this one's a waste of effort. I think I fooled myself into thinking i was having fun till started raising my in rookies for the elevntymillionth time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

digimon championship

posted by quiency (ANGLETON, TX) Feb 19, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

i was not supposed to have that game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

un expecting POW

posted by wisdom555 (Pittsburgh, PA) Feb 9, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

I was playing this game and raising my digimon and somehow my digimon got turned back into an egg and i had a nice team and that ruined my whole team so i sent it back... forget that. you have to be patient to be able to play this game. i am patient but that just hurt me big time. its a good game and all but i dont like the dedigivolution

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Digimon for fans of Digimon

posted by croyprym (SAN ANGELO, TX) Sep 9, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

Digimon World Championship is a difficult game to rate, mostly due to the fact that it does everything with a certain level of mediocrity. It is the same way that cocoa bean liquor is bitter, sugar is gritty and milk spoils easily, but if you put the three together you get something much better than the ingredients alone could provide; milk chocolate. Digimon World Championship is my milk chocolate; Definitely not my favorite of candies, but much better than the sum of its parts.

Gameplay- 4
What can I say more than that it is repetitive. Pick up a Digimon, put it in a cage, pick it up again, put it in another cage, feed it, clean the cage, repeat until there is a battle. Battles are really just a show to watch (until you unlock the ability to control on of your Digimon by unlocking all of them.) Hunting for new Digimon can be done, but once you have a team or two, you will probably forget all about hunting and spend most of your time focused on the Digimon you have.

Graphics- 3
It is sprites on top of more sprites. We have seen the style since the '80s. Sprites are not bad, just simple. The bad part is that there is slowdown during battles. I don't know if the slowdown was added for dramatic effect or is a system issue, but it happens on every kill and it gets annoying.
I am also disappointed at the zooming effects. Zooming in on a sprite just ends up making it look like a mosaic, and a bad one at that. So, why do it? . . . I don't know either, but apparently Namco thought it was a good idea.

Sound- 6
I will be the first to tell you that I am not a soundphile. That said, I do like the soundtrack for the game as well as the sound effects. There is nothing that just stands out as top of the line, but nothing worth turning the volume down for.

Overall- 6
Although none of the individual components of the game stand out by themselves, together they make a decent game that will never really wow you, but makes a great pet sim.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »