Rent Diddy Kong Racing DS for DS
view large frontback

Diddy Kong Racing DS

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.4

872 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Diddy Kong Racing Two..I mean DS.

posted by drunkyb (FORT WORTH, TX) Mar 8, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

15 out of 16 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Prior to buying this game, I read the user reviews - and having played the game now I gotta say, don't listen to them. In short, Diddy Kong Racing is a lot like Mario Kart DS - but a little bit better. If you are new to the title, Diddy Kong Racing has something that adds a lot of bang to your buck, an EXCELLENT "adventure" mode type of gameplay. Think MARIO 64, but replace stars with balloons and add in a racing element instead of a platforming, and bam - you've got diddy kong racing. This game is not a ton different than the original N64 version, but that to me is not an issue. Having such a great racing game in my hands ups the experience of the original ten fold. The option to use either a hovercraft, race car, or an airplane adds to the depth, and although the plot of the adventure mode is pretty bland and forgettable, the characters add a lot of charm. This is an excellent racing title, and with the wifi added in it tops any and everything Mario Kart DS has going for it. An excellent addition to the DS library, and thanks to the high replay value and fun, lengthy, adventure mode, this is DEFINATELY the best in handheld racing on the market today. A+.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Is "Diddy Kong racing a good game?"

posted by katbabe103 (SANTA ROSA, CA) Apr 30, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought this game (DK Racing) is a really cute game!! Just 1 problem, it's waaaaaay tooooo EZ!!!! I beat it in three days... But it was a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun game that's just right for younger kids

posted by GameInsane (YORK, PA) Feb 28, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Our 9 year old loved this game. It was a little tough to get used to the hovercraft and plane, but once he got the hang of it, he really enjoyed them. I enjoyed it as well.

The only down side was the limited style of tracks. While there were several different tracks, there wasn't much difference between them overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pretty good

posted by munchlax (BUSHKILL, PA) Aug 18, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i like this game it was pretty fun and hard at some parts and diddy is one of my favortie charcter of charcters so thats another reason why i would like this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

All in All, A very fun racing experience

posted by HybridMark (SAMMAMISH, WA) Apr 8, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Whether you played the original or not, just being able to carry this game around with you on your portable handheld wherever you go is worth the money. Unlike many reviewers have said, this game has lost none of its excitement of fun factor. Some of the stylus uses can be annoying, but it does not detract from the gameplay at all, in my humble opinion. I had just as fun playing this game now as I did when it came out back in the 90s and you will too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

its o.k.

posted by Reindog (BEAR, DE) Jun 13, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is o.k. it is not very fun. I played it and never played it again. it is better for nitendo 64.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

alright

posted by jessiKUH (MURRIETA, CA) May 29, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it was ok, the constant blowing and pulling the wheels got annoying, and made my hyperventilate.

my opinion, good, if your lungs can take it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My daughter loves it

posted by Penelope (MAPLE VALLEY, WA) Apr 24, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My daughter loves this game. It is easy to play but by no means does that make it boring. You can choose different players as well as different types of travel, such as car or plane. It has lots of different things to do and she greatly enjoys it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Three Cheers for Diddy!

posted by linhorse99 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Mar 24, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really like the game Diddy Kong because you can race in three vehicles: cart, plane, and hovercraft. Certain tracks are more fun than others, but overall the game is great!
A lot of people say getting a speed boost at the beginning of the race with the stylus is hard, but after you do the speed boost, you put the stylus in between your index and middle fingers during the speed boost, and then hold the A button!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really good

posted by bjc617 (BOSTON, MA) Mar 21, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Now alot of sites didnt review this game at good scores...i dont know why.. One problem i have is the touch challenges the oen where you have to steer the car with the stylus i mean i finished one of them but the others there is no way it can be done i will pay 50 bucks to see someone finish all of them thankfully you dont have to finish them to advance. Now i always been a diddykong fan over the mk series so for me i think they did a really good job graphics are really good alot of unlockables and they added some ds extras in there. Only thing is they took out banjo and koozie but thats really not a big issues for me. Now the online is excellent i mean its not like mario kart where you can zig zag the whole race or be in last the whole time and win on the last lap this game requires you to use skill and think of what you are going to do or what weapon to power up, online is great. I would buy which i already have instead of rent this is a really good game i wouldnt miss out on it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dissapointed Fan

posted by Oblivion16 (PENROSE, NC) Mar 10, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Diddy Kong racing had a few changes in the pit stop driving down for the Nintendo DS. Sadly the crew did not take into account any of the fans or original sentiment that most of us got from the Nintendo 64 classic.

One of my biggest problems with this port is the Unnamed (Or I never heard his name) Indian Elephant. He was a love-able character and added to the game. In the DS version they took away the original voice actor and replaced it with a bland voice that has less charisma that Microsoft Sam.

Just like another reviewer mentioned, all the fun is gone from these tracks. I played my n64 version with some friends and its still gold but the DS version it just feels like you are waiting for it to be over.

The new power-ups are interesting but are un-balanced and throws the game off from its original.

Overall this game shouldn't have strayed so far from the original course set by rare in the N64 smash hit. It was fun but no where near the gold of the original.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Doesn't live up to my expectations

posted by YourMom (PORTLAND, OR) Feb 10, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I remember back in 1998, playing Diddy Kong Racing on the N64. It was a GREAT racing game, with a great adventure added to it.

Fast-forward to 2007. The game is essentially the same as the original. However, the fun and excitement just isn't there. The controls are pretty lousy, and after playing for a while, winning a race seems more like a chore than an accomplishment.

I would definitely recommend renting Diddy Kong Racing before you think of buying it. I bought it, and personally wish I would've kept the $30 in my pocket.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What went wrong?

posted by HasuKuro (SPRINGFIELD, IL) Mar 7, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Diddy Kong Racing on the N64 was arguably the best kart racing game ever. You can race karts, hover crafts, and planes in a variety to landscapes. The game also offered a unique mini adventure when you weren't racing.

These are all in the DS version, but there are a few faults that soil this game's fun. While some of the stylus usage can be fun, most of it is pointless or in the way. You have to spin a tire before the race to get your boost built up, but then you have to drop your stylus to press the gas button or you'll fall behind. Another irritation is that you can NOT change your controls. I would be more comfortable having my "Use" button be R or X.

Other than those key things the game is trying to capitalize on the touch screen WAY too much.

All in all, I miss the original and if you've never played it, you're missing out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Bitter sweet return

posted by teejay13 (GREENVILLE, NC) Feb 14, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game has it's ups and downs, first of all it plays like the original but there have been big changes. Mainly the integration of the touch screen. There are plenty of changes so it's hard to sum it all up. Veterans of the original will have to start there training again especially with the hovercraft. It's even harder to control now then it was before. There's practically no voice acting like before and the cut scenes, well... They might as well have left them out.
If you stick with the game without pulling out your hair, you'll find it becomes easier and more enjoyable as you get the hang of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome

posted by Nighthawk (HAVERHILL, MA) Feb 11, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I got this game thinking it would be just as great as the N64 I was wrong... IT WAS BETTER! it's much harder to get turbo than pressing the a button as soon as the race begins and the stylus get's used to the max my fav parts have to be the new touch challenge boss battles there fun mostly the Dragon touch round!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

move over king kong, its diddy time!

posted by 3atmyshoe (LINCOLN, NE) Feb 9, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

We all love nintendo and how they amaze us with there ability to make kick butt racing games like Mario kart. Diddy kong is no exception this game will take you back to the N 64 days to relive all the flying, racing, crashing into each other fun.
I also think they hit a mile stone with the online mode in this one. You can now keep track of your friends online and set up races that way.
All and all i have this game a 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not good

posted by jkiddfan (SYRACUSE, NY) Mar 5, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I was really disappointed about this game because it was the same basic story mode for the Nintendo 64 one. The controls are very hard to master. Graphics are weak too! Honestly it is a buy or rent game but I just didn't like it at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

If it ain't broke don't fix it

posted by TTC1984 (HENDERSON, NV) Mar 4, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When the original Diddy Kong Racing hit the Nintendo 64 in fall of 1997, I fell in love with it instantly. The mixture of adventure elements and racing alike was an instant hit.

Of course, Nintendo has a thing for porting old games to new systems. Diddy Kong Racing seemed like a perfect candidate. Honestly, Nintendo could have ported the old game verbatim and had a winner on their hands.

They didn't do that. And the few changes made do more harm than good.

First and foremost, some changes to the character roster. Banjo and Conker are gone. In come two of the Kong siblings no one cares about (this was done due to rights issues regarding those two characters, not to mention the fact that Conker has been starring in mature-rated games.)

The biggest flaw - Nintendo took a great N64 title, and turned it into a gimmick game. WAY TOO MUCH forced stylus usage. In the original game you could get a speed boost before the race by hitting the gas at just the right moment. Now you have to spin a tire on the screen with the stylus. It's tough to do this and immediately drop your stylus to start the race, too.

The game's still fun, though, and honestly, the graphics here surpass their N64 counterpart's.

Final verdict? Good game, would have been great if not for the forced stylus usage. Rent before buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

racing!!

posted by fernypants (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 29, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

it's really really fun until you get really really bored with it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

WHY????

posted by GRIZZLY (OVIEDO, FL) Feb 12, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Why is this game so horrible. Mario Kart DS was fun fun fun but this diddy kong Krap is awful from the klunky controls to the horrible graphics i just cant understand why nintendo would release this. then they have the nerve to actually have a so called adventure mode which is nothin g more than a bunch of races behind doors. i had such high hopes for this game but after the first 10mins of play you want to put it down and never pick it up again. sorry DS but Diddy seems more like Doody on this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

better than n64 version

posted by tallmario365 (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I like this game better than the n64 version beacause of the much more easy and new charters

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by MrGuy (NAPERVILLE, IL) Apr 23, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

First off, if you've never played/heard of the original N64 version of the game, stay away. This one is for those who ENJOYED the (Awesome) N64 classic. Also, quit with all of those Mario Kart DS vs. Diddy Kong Racing comparisions! Considering that this is a remake, your literally comparing a DS game to an N64 game. Anyway, back to the review: This game is GREAT! I like the idea of traveling around an island to get to courses, I like how you find secret keys to unlock stuff, I like finding balloons in spots I would've never thought to look in before, etc. It's just so...COOL! The tacked on DS controls do more damage than good (Drawing a rainbow path for your character to drive on?! Spinning a wheel and then IMMEDIATLEY holding A for a speed boost?!). The Taj (Elephant genie) challenges also have some tacked on stuff: Blowing into the microphone to blow out torches. The course creating stuff is fun though (Something the N64 game was missing), along with the racing. If you like exploring, racing, and the occasional messed-up touch screen controls, buy this game! Don't like tacked on touch screen controls? Buy the N64 version!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

BLECH

posted by NatoWorld (LOS ANGELES, CA) Aug 9, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

It's not terrible, but it's not good... Maybe half a step up from 'awful'. One of my buddies asked what I was playing, and when I told him, he said, "Oh, isn't that the cheap version of Mario Kart?" Now that I'm through the game: Yes, it is just a cheaper, weaker, less-balanced and un-fun version of Mario Kart. I played this game because I was in the mood for a kart racer, and I'd already beaten Mario Kart DS. In retrospect, I should have just played Mario Kart again. Don't waste your time on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

IT COULD

posted by LADIIP2 (PASADENA, CA) Jun 24, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

MAN THIS GAME COULD HAVE BEEN A LIL BETTER. IT CAUGHT MY EYE BECAUSE I LOVE DIDDY AND DONKEY KONG GAMES, BUT IT WAS NOT REALLY ALL THAT FUN 2 ME....BETTER LUCK NEXT TIME ON THIS GAME....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mario Kart was better

posted by spoiled (MADISON, FL) Mar 14, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

Nintendo what happened,Mario Kart Racing was sssooo much better and,sssooo much more FUN.The racing on Diddy Kong Racing was not even close to how much FUN Mario Kart Racing IS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse