Rent Diablo III for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Diablo III

Rent

Keep for: $29.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
8.3

1086 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great if you like mmorpgs

posted by guitarslay3r (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Apr 1, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I started playing this game, and it was very fun starting up. But over time it gets pretty repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Super Addicting, Fun and Creative.

posted by Viciouslilbit (JEFFERSON, MD) Nov 24, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am a huge MMO/RPG fan so I absolutely loved this game. Yes, it is much better on the PC, but for an console game it is amazing. Let me tell you, at first glance i hated this game. I played the demo at first for a little bit and i really didn't enjoy it. But, i ended up renting the game, therefore, able to choose from a few more characters, customize a few more things as well. The which doctor was so much fun to play and this game isn't a drag to level up in. There are options to play easy as pie for fun, to the hardcore modes for people who REALLY want a challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun and Addictive

posted by TheSnowGator (OMAHA, NE) Nov 21, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Diablo 3 is a fun and addictive game, both on single and co-op. All the classes are accessible and their powers are especially fun. The storyline is surprisingly interesting, but the artwork, levels, and leveling itself, are what drew me in. The graphics are VERY smooth except the frames drop in water environments. It reminded me a lot of previous iterations way back in the day. If you are a Diablo fan, this is an obvious pickup. If you are looking for a good time, then I highly suggest picking this up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great port to the console.

posted by pkhen (BRISTOL, CT) Sep 11, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

It plays extremely well, better than one would expect after playing the PC version with a mouse and keyboard. This version is the TRUE diablo 3 and what the PC version should've always been.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great PC Port

posted by JShultz89 (TROY, NY) Sep 8, 2013

Member since May 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have played Diablo 3 on both PC and XBox 360. I have to say that Blizzard has done a phenomenal job of porting this great hack and slack monster slayer to the console. Although I played countless hours on the PC I was surprised by how much I wanted to play this on console. The controls are actually very smooth and feel very natural. After changing with some settings there was no issue with button placement and everything felt great. Occasionally the item and skill interface take some extra time to navigate but its not much of an issue.

Overall, this game is incredible and definitely worth playing. It's just too much fun beating down hordes of enemies and seeing them splatter into blood.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's a great game.. but still an RPG

posted by Trimatic (FORT MITCHELL, AL) Sep 4, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Coming from someone who's played the previous two Diablos. This game is quite good. Blizzards other famous MMO from WoW. The game is great, storyline is fabulous. The cutscenes are absolutely gorgeous, near picture perfect. The five classes are all very unique.. lore wise. All the classes have a very similar setup. The spells you unlock at specific levels are all used for the same thing, as far as gaining an AoE spell, cleave, something to heal, etc. I suppose it's a way to keep classes balanced in the process of the game so one class isn't terribly easier to play as you level up. The gameplay, is unfortunately, very cookie cutter RPG-esc. You have a 7 spell bar assigned to buttons on the controller. The default setup works as a very simple rotation. The A-button spell will be your resource generator, and will be the spell you spam constantly, of course, there's different spells for different situations. For example, there's one that will be for multiple targets, and one for single target damage. Then your RT button will be your spell to spend your resource for a strong attack of some sort. The biggest downfall of this game is the linear RPG grindfest build. You enter an area, just walk around and kill everything, and then do the mainquest within that area.. over and over again. The boss fights are fairly boring, unusually simple and the rare/elite mobs are all just the same as the normal mobs just with a special name and glow gold or blue. Overall, the game is rather good, if you enjoy a great story, and a completely coopable campaign with more than just one other friend. The ability to join up with a bunch of friends playing through the game on a high difficulty makes up for the grindfest and linear gameplay. This is definitely the best RPG out for Xbox 360, I would recommend it to anyone, especially if you have a friend or two willing to get it with you. 7/10 solo, but with a friend or two, easy 8.5/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disappointing

posted by Badruki (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Oct 4, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After all the hype and all the advertisements, this game was VERY ordinary. The good parts were the graphics and story. Very engaging storyline, I especially liked the voice actors. Normally, the actors seem overdone and forcing it, these characters (especially the scoundrel) were just as they should be. And of course blah blah graphics were good.

The bad parts weren't that the game was bad, but more that they weren't anything special. Regular attacks, a heal, aoe, special, 3 passives. I'm not saying they had to have a talent tree system, but the character abilities seemed almost futile. I played more than one character and they all just seemed so generic. Each hero barely seems different from the next. The boss fights are nothing to write home about either. The last boss has like... 3 abilities? Even on hard, they don't hurt. You can just stack lifesteal and sit next to them holding the A button down.

During my first run through, I kept saying I hope this is the part where the game gets exciting, finally. Then I was at the last boss.

I would rather play Dungeon Siege III or Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning than this, if I wanted this style of game. Thanks for reading.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one word says it all

posted by PorkChop1620 (GALLOWAY, NJ) Sep 6, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

being a huge RPG gamer and playing diablo, diablo 2 and diablo 2 lord of destruction. diablo 3 takes the cake in the diablo series and it makes it even better on the console. we all have to give blizzard props for the greatest diablo up to date. the graphics are stunning, the story line amazing. cant wait for the DLC for this one keep up the great work Blizzard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

better on console

posted by angelpooz (GILROY, CA) Aug 31, 2013

Member since May 2011

8 out of 18 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This is how it should have been.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Exceptional game of it's genre.

posted by StevenNMorgyn (WARRENTON, OR) Sep 4, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

For what has been available as an entertaining RPG for the XBOX 360 has been rare to none. To have a game of this caliber during a time of slow production is astounding. I am extremely impressed with overrall quality. Very happy and am looking forward for the dlc; I know there is still quality to come.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I cant stop playing..

posted by xBEATDOWNSx (CLEVELAND, OH) Sep 7, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

My girlfriend bought this for me since my birthday is next week and all I have to say is wow. I love it. I played the demo on the PC but couldn't afford it at the time but once I heard they were porting it, I got super excited.

It's better on the console than it was on the PC for sure. It controls so much better. You have full range of movement for your character outside of the point and click on the PC. Not to mention they included the dodge roll for the right thumbstick.

The combat is very fun and very rewarding. My Witch Doctor can lay to waste to hordes and hordes of minions and high level enemies with ease and I LOVE it.

The story picks up a 30 years after the events of Diablo 2 and you see that the world isn't as safe as you thought it was when you last left. The cut scenes are jaw dropping. The sound effects fit everything perfectly. From the sounds of your enemies to your character spells and buffs, it sounds perfect.

Trust me, pick it up. Go buy it. You wont be upset.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Pretty bad

posted by stelathene (VALDOSTA, GA) Sep 26, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Welcome to Diablo 3, where the skills are made up and the weapons don't matter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

too much of the same

posted by cobraking (CLARKS SUMMIT, PA) Apr 12, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

while very enjoyable the game was too much of the same thing over and over again, if i owned the game and could stop playing for a few days and then pick it back up then i could get through it (finished act 1) but since i am renting i didnt have the time to spare

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could be better.

posted by Tiny_Tom_79 (LAS CRUCES, NM) Apr 8, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

I am still playing this Console version of Diablo III. It could've been a whole lot better than it is. I played Diablo III on PC when it was first released and I must say that in comparison I am so glad that I did not go out and fork out the money for this Console Version of Diablo III. All I can say in conclusion is that the Controller Layout could've been made simpler to allow better functioning of your character and give you the player more control of them without having to stop attacking to simply dodge when you're in a battle against a horde of Moon Tribe Warriors. Unless I am not looking in the appropriate place though as well there is no way to configure a personal controller layout in this version as their is in the PC Version. I think I will stick to PC Versions of the games by Blizzard from now on but all in all it is sticking to everything else character and story board wise. Thanks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun but repetitive. Would still recommend

posted by ClackyD (GRAND HAVEN, MI) Apr 4, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

The main game is fun. It has some material to it and it's a game that requires you to pay attention. The dynamic difficulty is nice for all gamers (if you want a challenge, if you want to speed run, etc.). However the maximum level requires you to do 4 playthroughs currently. THIS MIGHT CHANGE FOR CONSOLE AS IT ALREADY HAS ON PC. If you are looking to buy the game, it'd consider investigating weather the PC update 2.0 will be coming to console. If it is, then you might want to go for whatever you're comfortable with. If your computer can run it, try the demo from Blizzard, and then decide. Either way, the story is fun and exciting as you run through it. And with collectable Lore Books and an extensive list of in game achievements, you'll likely to never run out of things to do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not For Me, But A Solid Game

posted by KR4Q (WINNEMUCCA, NV) Mar 31, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I liked the first two Diablos but apparently my taste has changed since Diablo 2.

So, personally, I got bored, but I will attempt to review this without bias.

First off, Blizzard did an excellent job mapping the controls to console. All of the abilities work very well with the 360 controller. Each character has an auto attack (A) and a main ability (RT) along with (B) (X) (Y) and (RB) for crowed control, maneuvering, AOE etc abilities. The left trigger locks onto targets and once a target is dead it auto switches to the next target. RB is for potion healing which causes for accidental use if you panic and button mash which is a costly mistake if you're playing on a high difficulty.

Each character has multiple ability build options. Each button has 5 choices along with 5 additional runes to choose from to power up those abilities. You can also choose 2 passives (like League of Legends) to aid you.

There is massive amounts of loot and the rare items aren't very rare. Accumulating gold and items to sell doesn't take much time at all.

The difficulty settings are dramatic. Easy is a breeze, normal.. normal and hard is challenging and requires caution, and the other 10 (or so) extra difficulties are just insane. There is also a hardcore mode which is like old school Nintendo games where, if you die, its game over and that's it.

The frame rate is great, the graphics are pretty good, but I noticed times sound would cut off for 1-2 seconds every 10 minutes which was odd. They reused sound effects from the older Diablos, which I thought was awesome. The sound of potions dropping, getting healed and Deckards voice brought back memories.

There are cutscenes but the story is mostly in game, like Borderlands, which I loved.

All and all my biggest suggestion is, if you love Diablo, don't rent this, buy it, as it will take months to do everything the game has to offer.

PS: the Demon Hunter is ridiculously OP

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fun but needed alot more work

posted by rowguy (CHATTANOOGA, TN) Mar 4, 2014

Member since Jan 2010

I enjoyed playing this game but come on blizzard, your using graphics that look like their from the first one for the PC? And there is no character customization at all. It would be nice to be able to have at least a few options to how your character looks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Diablo returns after 11 years with a Fun Romp!

posted by MrNutJob (VENICE, CA) Feb 20, 2014

Member since May 2013

The system of the game is somewhat familiar, with the weapons and spell screens and the characters are the ones that move the action from place to place. Diablo 3 is a very big game. You play as a woman, I chose to be a witch doctor and you are very bent on freeing the various towns and peoples from angry hordes of creatures.

In time you gain powers, and have many choices as to how you want to wield your powers.

I found that I was powerful enough to deal with any threat after beating the Butcher, who was the hardest one of the ‘Bosses’ to fell. The story is a tad simple and is used to motivate and move the game along, but you’ll find yourself involved in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Woow!

posted by Wolfpackalfa456 (DES MOINES, IA) Feb 6, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

The game was spectacular! I loved the new and improved stuff the story line was amazing. Played this almost non-stop! It was well packaged and it played amazingly on my xbox...I look forward to the rest of my queue requests.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

best 2 player game for xbox

posted by gifts4you (MCKEESPORT, PA) Jan 31, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

This game is special for many reasons..... Re-play value. Each time you beat the game change the difficulty and the monsters grow in number and strength. they also drop better gear in the higher difficulty settings you can also make up to 5 different characters with different strength and weakness. THERE IS NO SPLIT SCREEN so you and a friend both get full screen while gaming which is awesome. Me and my girl friend played this game for weeks and its still fun for us. great for couples who game. I RECOMMEND YOU PLAY THIS GAME ONLINE DUE TO THE EXPERIENCE BONUS OF 25 PERCENT YOU RECEIVE WHILE IN A PARTIES OF 4. 3 YOU GET 20 PERCENT BONUS. 2 10PERCENT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Must own

posted by Malsidius (SPRINGFIELD, VA) Jan 23, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Bottom line is, to experience this games full potential you must own it. DL the demo if you want to try it...you even get to keep the character you created, however, you can't go past Act I.

Overall the game is fairly easy, it's much more interesting playing online w/ friends. You'll find that the game has it's replay value once you hit 60, and paragon systems gives you a better chance to find cool gear the higher you go and additional boss fights.

The downside is that the game does not have as much content as I would like, but IMO it was never meant to be like other Blizzard titles, i.e., 'World of Warcraft'.

Having multiple character classes does make the game interesting, but the story line is not all that interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Games But Better On The PC

posted by EP1CNELSON (NEW MARKET, AL) Jan 21, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

This is a great title for the Xbox 360 and the Playstation 3 but I would recommend that this game be played online mainly because it offers the best experience. I have enjoyed several long hours of killing and looting with my friend on Xbox Live.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is tubro-tastic

posted by Zackguy (CUSSETA, GA) Jan 17, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

I could not find anything wrong with the game it is by far the best 3rd person RPG I've ever played and it has amazing graphic

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Impressive...

posted by Trey_in_Texas (HUFFMAN, TX) Dec 25, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

Normally, I am not a fan of hack-and-slashers, but Diablo 3 impressed me, to say the least.

My family doesn't play online because we have limited data, but playing with 4 players on the same screen is easy.

It's set up to appease everyone, although they should have made it possible for one character to pop up a tiny menu to view their inventory and change skills rather than having the rest of the team wait for the other characters to get done in the menu to continue fighting.

Playing solo is fun and equiping new gear is easy in the beginning, and somewhat challenging when gearing up after level 60.

The only problem I have found with solo play is that if you equip your follower with better gear, then join someone else's game, your follower is left behind in nirvana somewhere and a new one is created when you continue your own game, in turn, losing all your follower's gear.

I'm sure there is a patch to fix this, as I have not reviewed any other online forums regarding Diablo 3.

I have recommended this game to other family friends with kids and they can all enjoy it.

My wife and I rarely played video games in the past, then we got an Xbox for the kids, and we've been playing Diablo together as much as the kids.

This is my favorite video game of all time, other than World of Warcraft, because the customability of your characters is great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Feels Like a Different Genre... In a Good Way!

posted by _Gryphon (EAGLE, ID) Dec 19, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

On PC, Diablo always felt like a very specific sort of dungeon crawler. It was unique and iconic and you could recognize it right away, and games like Torchlight were created to mimic it. On Xbox 360, this newest iteration in the series has not only jumped platforms to console, but feels like a different sort of dungeon crawler.

The look and feel of Diablo 3 is a little different from previous entries in the series, and the game looks a bit different on console than it does on PC. It feels more like a play-with-your-friends hack and slash crawler akin to Gauntlet Legends or Dungeons & Dragons Heroes.

The atmosphere is a little lighter than I expected, and the boss battles are more exciting. The world is large and the game emphasizes replaying levels or even the entire game. The different character classes are incredibly diverse, and you can play with your friends and feel useful no matter which class you choose.

The story is more involved than previous Diablo games, and the narrative changes depending on which character class you choose, which keeps things fresh and interesting even when you are replaying the game.

The only complaint I have is one that applies to the genre as a whole: it's a little tedious. Hacking and slashing gets a bit boring after 12 hours or so. The game combats this flaw by adding in-game challenges and achievements, as well as slightly different objectives on each level (protecting an NPC instead of just killing everything, for example) but there is nothing entirely new to keep things fresh. I'm willing to spend a multitude of hours on this game, but I can see where it wouldn't be for everyone.

But if you like hack and slash dungeon crawlers, or are looking for a modern version of play-with-your-friends games like Baldur's Gate (ps2) or Gauntlet Legends (N64), this will be a welcome addition to your collection. I'm buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse