Rent Diablo III for PS3
view large frontback

Diablo III

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $59.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.9

1106 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

button-masher

posted by boomer467 (WILMINGTON, IL) Jan 18, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is visually one of the best I have seen. The camera angles are great. However, it is a repetitive button masher. There isn't a lot new other that the graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This game is a parody of its clones....

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Oct 24, 2013

Member since May 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Diablo 3 is not a BAD game by itself, but then again it isn't quite "Diablo good".. The thing is, that the other Diablo games are quite a bit deeper in letting the player decide on how to develop their character.. This game has been stream lined to the point to where it doesn't even live up to the status of a diablo clone, as most diablo clones allow deeper customizations on character development... What makes a Diablo game so good is the fact that you could have two people of the same class and yet they could be two completely different characters.. In this game there is no distinction in your character development beyond what moves you set as active, and what equipment you carry.. Is this game a complete failure? NO, it isn't.. THIS game is nothing like that piece of garbage on the PC that goes by the same name! NO ERROR 37 or mandatory real money auction house, since it has complete OFFLINE mode! But The Classes are still somewhat shallow like I said before since AP has been done away with, and the abilities are unlocked, and the classes are stuck to their respective proficiencies when it comes to weapons.. So, with no unconventional character builds, the game comes up Woefully short to being a true successor of the series, and there is likely going to be a more "complete" version (or game of the year version) that is likely to be released at a later date.. Either wait for the more complete version, or wait for the price to drop which is what I am going to do... As of this writing Borderlands 2 game of the year edition was recently released, which verifies my point... Keep on waiting as this game will be worth the wait! Or at least, Try Before You Buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FINALY!!!!

posted by plunk86 (CRESSONA, PA) Sep 11, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Been waiting forever for Blizzard to get back into console gaming. Loved Diablo, Diablo 2 Lord of Destruction, Champions of Norath I and II Boulders Gate......etc. This Game is Stellar all around.......Endless replay value, amazing mechanics and great graphics!!!!! 15 out of 10!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The game is over rated.

posted by fanatichitman (ANCHORAGE, AK) Feb 20, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I noticed a lot of rated 10 reviews. However, when I played it, I quickly became bored after my character Monk turned to level 20.

For three reasons, the layout maps are repetative. To win the matches, all I had to do was press the"X" buttons ferviously. There were no subtitles whenever I pick up the diary books especially important for international people whose English is their secondary language, and Deaf people. I wonder if the diary books are the same as the Mission quests?

On the good side, the graphic and the sound are beautifully executed. The story line is quite interesting.

I would reccomend for hard core players to change the game level from normal to expert.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fighting, running, doing chores

posted by Ghost1993 (IRMO, SC) Dec 10, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The title speaks for itself after grinding and putting about 9 hours into the game all the running around seems pointless. I played on normal and constantly felt like i was being babied i hadn't died not once after going deep into the story. Although the fighting is great and the enemies constantly change between areas. The game keeps making you doing the same thing over and over, fighting and running fighting and running and occasionally finding loot. And the leveling up takes extremely to long! Just making it past level 10 you have to kill about 5000 enemies, no i'm not kidding! If you are interested in fast paced RPG's this might be for you but the fighting doesn't add up with the leveling up. In the first 6 or 7 hours of game play it felt like 10 points per kill feeding into about 10,000. This game is a nothing but a big chore and i have had enough of it. Also there is no character customization.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sweet as H E L L!!!!!

posted by kloner (LAKEWOOD, CO) Sep 8, 2013

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I never played a game like DIABLO3 before but when I got this game I got to say it's a lot of fun especially online wit your friends I can't put this game down glad it came to console it's a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

its a good game

posted by leondarkmoon (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Sep 4, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

the game is good renting or buying it. its better to buy it then rent the game theres lots to do and so much game play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW

posted by THEcisCo (SENECA FALLS, NY) Sep 14, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

ok I have always wanted to get into to rpgs for a long time but I was just an average call of duty if you wish but I always just wanted to try those pc game such as WoW which is decent but didn't live up to some review for me but once I found out diablo 3 was coming out for console I went insane so the day I get it I turn my ps3 on and am just totally shocked by how cool the menu is but the gameplay is just amazing like OMG the textures look so good I could just sit there and look at the environments but this hack and slash RPG is amazing just running around and killing monsters is just heart warming and sooths my need to play COD for awhile this also proves that just about anybody can jump on this game and absolutely LOVE IT so if anybody reads this that hasn't played diablo 3 ........ PLAY IT!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Kingnothing0980 (DANVILLE, WV) Sep 5, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This game is AMAZING, enough said.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good port

posted by jstapp0 (QUEEN CREEK, AZ) Sep 20, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

I absolutely enjoyed this version of the game. I don't think it is really ever going to be as good as a PC version. The thing I like about Diablo in general it has a lot of reply value and what I think they did a better job of in this series create different back stories of each character. What I think they could have done better is allow more customization of the character and the story seemed to follow the same format. Other than that, I thought that this was very well done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ok, but.....

posted by Easton99 (YUCAIPA, CA) Sep 1, 2014

Member since May 2007

Nothing but a button masher pretending to be an RPG. Not terrible, but nothing surprising. You run around, hit the attack button till all the bad guys are gone, pick up some gold, then move on. Looks pretty nice, and it is smooth. Good way to waste a couple of hours, but doesn't pull you in to the story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing game! Much better on console for gameplay

posted by sandruu (CHESAPEAKE, VA) Aug 9, 2014

Member since Aug 2008

Not a fan of this on PS3 due to graphics but it will be on PS4 soon so I can wait! Even will par graphics, I could not stop playing this game even after beating it. I love the new gameplay mechanics they changed in it for the console!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent

posted by Arshus (GREENWOOD, IN) May 29, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

I have to say that I'm on the fence as to whether this is the conclusion I wanted. Nearly 15 years ago I set off to the depths of a church in the town of Tristrim. Much was unknown other than the church was releasing monsters of horrific abominations. I battled my way through the dungeons mobs of evil only to come face to face with one of the prime evils in Diablo. After defeating him and trying to contain his evil within a soul stone I realized that i would have to contain him with myself.
Emerging from the catacombs of the place where the devil lives. I was greeted as a hero to what remained of the townsfolk. However, I blacked out only to find myself wondering to the west. Always compelled to the west I set out. Never turning back. From town to town I wondered. Screams of torment and agony clawing at my skull and my soul. I felt as though I was losing myself to the evil within. The further I traveled the more I felt myself slipping away. The more I slipped away the more I lost track of where I was and what I was doing. Till finally my journey ended with Diablo destroying me and reuniting with the Prime Evils of Mephisto and Baal.
The story continues as heros in my wake eventually caught up with Diablo and Mephisto defeating them and thus believing that all is well.
Of course not all is well. Reuniting with this title was more personal than rewarding. I mean the graphics were great, voice casting was good. Seeing Tyrael was just jaw dropping. The story was well balanced and co op was decent. The conclusion was epic and in Blizzard fashion cut scenes were amazing. However, I kind of got bored mid way through cause it is a dungeon crawl and combat does get linear. Skills are cool, co op breathes some life into it once it gets old goin solo. Loot in large amounts and large maps. Good game rent it, judge it, go from there. Thanks for your time. Game on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Diablo by tyler

posted by Tyizhi_209 (JACKSON, CA) Apr 24, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

OVERALL
I liked the game it wasn't 'bad'.
It just felt like run of the mill dungeon crawler, although it did have some fun abilities.
But if your new to the genre 'dungeon crawler rpgs' then this is a good place to start; or if your a die hard for this type of game it's a must.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

How On Earth Could This Game Rate Higher Than 3

posted by Omens (MOUNT HOOD PARKDALE, OR) Mar 26, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

This game would have been cutting edge back in the days of Atari, but to put a game like this out on the market now? What a colossal waste of any gamers time. The only reason that I gave it a 3 was because of the beginning story. I could not stomach playing it for more than an hour and I give all games a chance. I have quite often disregarded GAMEFLY reviews because I discovered if a game is difficult or has a lot of moves to learn, then many members give it a poor review. Unfortunately I actually went with the reviews on this one because any rating around an 8 is hard to get. Do not be fooled by the ratings or the cover picture.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Diablo is back!

posted by Colombian603 (OVIEDO, FL) Mar 21, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Loved this game so much i had to buy it after renting on gamefly. Perfect game for hours of couch co op game play. haven't never played the first 2 games, this game got me hooked and had a more addictive loot system than borderlands 2 which is a plus for me. The story may be short but the added difficulty with added loot make a reason to keep coming back for more rare loot!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

definitely fun but shortlived

posted by stevelo (MASSAPEQUA PARK, NY) Mar 18, 2014

Member since Aug 2013

This is my first diablo game, and while I had fun with this game playing with friends I do not see the purpose of spending more than 10 dollars on a game like this [even if it was brand new I'd say the same thing]

It is a button mash that does not end [you just can do a new game plus]..Online is somewhat messed up, can't directly join a friends party as well as nothing else to the game. My replay value is only with friends, and even still, I barely continue to play it..

Worth a rental, possibly a buy for you, thought I would be interested more long term in the game but I've seen all there is to see from the game minus 2nd run thru loot.

I will point out that it's like Champions of Norrath for the ps2 which is why I was into it at first, but it did not keep my interest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not sure what the hype was about

posted by NotoriousN (SAINT ALBANS, WV) Mar 17, 2014

Member since Aug 2010

While this game is entertaining for about 45 minutes, it quickly becomes apparent that it is only a button masher disguised as an RPG. I hadn't played any of the Diablo games for quite some time so I had forgotten how repetitive they become. The story is not compelling enough to keep you wanting to go back to whatever next dungeon you get sent to either. I know some are gaga over this, but to me it was just meh.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game, though a little dissapointing.

posted by Solarplight (MISSION VIEJO, CA) Feb 4, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

Overall this is a fun game, but it does not live up to it's title. The biggest problem with this game is it's lack of customizability in the build system. That said, I did have fun laying waste to hordes of enemies with my wizard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game

posted by Gamer83vt (BARRE, VT) Jan 13, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Loved this game so much!! had me hooked for hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Most disappointing Diablo game...

posted by Riotcraft (FRIENDSWOOD, TX) Dec 31, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

But since this is a Diablo game and this is Blizzard Entertainment we're talking about here, "disappointing" is still better than most other studios "great."

They effectively removed what made Diablo 2 so addictive and such a long-lasting game that was still relevant a decade after release. The classes have been so dumbed down and streamlined that there is no room for constant experimentation with unique builds and the items also do not provide these weird stat combinations that potentially could be used for a unique build, such as a ranged Barbarian, which isn't really possible in Diablo 3. Because of the lack of experimentation, you won't be spending nearly as much time playing Diablo 3 as you would have Diablo 2, but thankfully Blizzard fixed the outrageously broken loot table in the console versions. On the PC version, this problem effectively killed the addictive nature of the game. Now, there's a reason to continue grinding for the dopamine drip-feed of new loot at high levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A fair transition from PC to console

posted by Astronskas (AUBURNDALE, FL) Dec 15, 2013

Member since Sep 2008

I have played Diablo from the very first game in the series and have to say that this is a good transition. The game seemed a bit short to me, but has replay value due to the multiple characters and abilities.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

better than skyrim

posted by 49yroldgamer (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Dec 2, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

i am playing as a wizard and his abilities are AWSOME!! the graphics r just beautiful love the fact u can break nearly everything to look for goodies. the combat is well enough the A I is not bad like having the templar so he can keep us alive i am on the easy level but dont let it fool u it is difficult when enemies surround u but it can be done. i like this better than skyrim because of the graphics and the story line is well written. this is my first time to play a diablo game and I LOVE IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

New to diablo

posted by wreckitrigo (RIVERSIDE, CA) Nov 27, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

New to diablo. The story was pretty good. Though if you are new to diablo like me you won't get the full story of what happened before this game. The cinematic cuts are amazing. The game is pretty fun solo mode. I did play it multiplayer and it was cool too. Not a game i would own mainly because i thought it was pretty short. Its one of those short games that you have to play more than once on different difficulties. If that's your thing then its a game for you. I enjoyed it and def would recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent co-op

posted by mavreix (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Oct 16, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

Excellent co-op game. Very fun and re-playable I'll be keeping this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse