Rent Diablo III for PS3
view large frontback

Diablo III

Rent

Keep for: $21.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $59.99

Used: $21.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.9

1222 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

button-masher

posted by boomer467 (WILMINGTON, IL) Jan 18, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game is visually one of the best I have seen. The camera angles are great. However, it is a repetitive button masher. There isn't a lot new other that the graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This game is a parody of its clones....

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Oct 24, 2013

Member since May 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Diablo 3 is not a BAD game by itself, but then again it isn't quite "Diablo good".. The thing is, that the other Diablo games are quite a bit deeper in letting the player decide on how to develop their character.. This game has been stream lined to the point to where it doesn't even live up to the status of a diablo clone, as most diablo clones allow deeper customizations on character development... What makes a Diablo game so good is the fact that you could have two people of the same class and yet they could be two completely different characters.. In this game there is no distinction in your character development beyond what moves you set as active, and what equipment you carry.. Is this game a complete failure? NO, it isn't.. THIS game is nothing like that piece of garbage on the PC that goes by the same name! NO ERROR 37 or mandatory real money auction house, since it has complete OFFLINE mode! But The Classes are still somewhat shallow like I said before since AP has been done away with, and the abilities are unlocked, and the classes are stuck to their respective proficiencies when it comes to weapons.. So, with no unconventional character builds, the game comes up Woefully short to being a true successor of the series, and there is likely going to be a more "complete" version (or game of the year version) that is likely to be released at a later date.. Either wait for the more complete version, or wait for the price to drop which is what I am going to do... As of this writing Borderlands 2 game of the year edition was recently released, which verifies my point... Keep on waiting as this game will be worth the wait! Or at least, Try Before You Buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FINALY!!!!

posted by plunk86 (CRESSONA, PA) Sep 11, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Been waiting forever for Blizzard to get back into console gaming. Loved Diablo, Diablo 2 Lord of Destruction, Champions of Norath I and II Boulders Gate......etc. This Game is Stellar all around.......Endless replay value, amazing mechanics and great graphics!!!!! 15 out of 10!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The game is over rated.

posted by fanatichitman (ANCHORAGE, AK) Feb 20, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I noticed a lot of rated 10 reviews. However, when I played it, I quickly became bored after my character Monk turned to level 20.

For three reasons, the layout maps are repetative. To win the matches, all I had to do was press the"X" buttons ferviously. There were no subtitles whenever I pick up the diary books especially important for international people whose English is their secondary language, and Deaf people. I wonder if the diary books are the same as the Mission quests?

On the good side, the graphic and the sound are beautifully executed. The story line is quite interesting.

I would reccomend for hard core players to change the game level from normal to expert.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fighting, running, doing chores

posted by Ghost1993 (IRMO, SC) Dec 10, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The title speaks for itself after grinding and putting about 9 hours into the game all the running around seems pointless. I played on normal and constantly felt like i was being babied i hadn't died not once after going deep into the story. Although the fighting is great and the enemies constantly change between areas. The game keeps making you doing the same thing over and over, fighting and running fighting and running and occasionally finding loot. And the leveling up takes extremely to long! Just making it past level 10 you have to kill about 5000 enemies, no i'm not kidding! If you are interested in fast paced RPG's this might be for you but the fighting doesn't add up with the leveling up. In the first 6 or 7 hours of game play it felt like 10 points per kill feeding into about 10,000. This game is a nothing but a big chore and i have had enough of it. Also there is no character customization.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sweet as H E L L!!!!!

posted by kloner (LAKEWOOD, CO) Sep 8, 2013

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I never played a game like DIABLO3 before but when I got this game I got to say it's a lot of fun especially online wit your friends I can't put this game down glad it came to console it's a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

its a good game

posted by leondarkmoon (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Sep 4, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

the game is good renting or buying it. its better to buy it then rent the game theres lots to do and so much game play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW

posted by THEcisCo (SENECA FALLS, NY) Sep 14, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

ok I have always wanted to get into to rpgs for a long time but I was just an average call of duty if you wish but I always just wanted to try those pc game such as WoW which is decent but didn't live up to some review for me but once I found out diablo 3 was coming out for console I went insane so the day I get it I turn my ps3 on and am just totally shocked by how cool the menu is but the gameplay is just amazing like OMG the textures look so good I could just sit there and look at the environments but this hack and slash RPG is amazing just running around and killing monsters is just heart warming and sooths my need to play COD for awhile this also proves that just about anybody can jump on this game and absolutely LOVE IT so if anybody reads this that hasn't played diablo 3 ........ PLAY IT!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Kingnothing0980 (DANVILLE, WV) Sep 5, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This game is AMAZING, enough said.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Thank You GameFly

posted by ALtheBULL (MANSFIELD, OH) Dec 16, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Writing a short review to thank Game Fly for the free 30 day rental of Diablo 3. I'm not much for the top down Hack and Slash Button Mashers, but this game has it's Merits in the manner of all around fun. To me it's one of those games I can pick up and get right to without having to set up and/or prepare for like I do with Racing or Hard Core Role Playing Games that I know I'll be into playing for awhile at a time. Diablo 3 is one that you can load up, run around killing a bunch of hoard's of Baddies for 15 - 20 minutes or so to get a good Hack & Slash Button Mash, Kill em all fix! Giving this one a 6 out of 10 merely on the premise that these games are not really what I'm into. For the gamers that like these types of games you'll like this one if you havn't played it yet!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Graphics not Great!

posted by SmallvilleFan30 (CANTONMENT, FL) Nov 21, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

Game was ok but the graphics were poor.I thought it was going to be like God of War but I was wrong.The graphics were way better in God of war.Can barely see your characters when playing/ and battles are not up close view at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

i tried, i really did.

posted by terrahawk15 (LONGVILLE, LA) Nov 19, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

i really did try to like this game. but it was so terribly boring right from the start. there was nothing special or interesting or unique that drew me in. so naturally, i couldn't even finish it. you will read this and try it anyway, so hopefully it works out better for you. have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

After playing Warcraft and Skyrim

posted by tymjoe5 (CONRAD, MT) Nov 15, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

After playing games like Warcraft and Skyrim, i can not get into Diablo. The characters are very small. I like the character size of Skyrim and games like that. It makes you feel like you are there!!! Alot of people love Diablo games so i would suggest to rent this anyway to give it a try. For me though it was a 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

All in all

posted by kaveman56701 (THIEF RIVER FALLS, MN) Nov 6, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

The best games I have ever played. Hands down! Epic job.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by devmike123 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 3, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

This game is the best I've ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good port

posted by jstapp0 (QUEEN CREEK, AZ) Sep 20, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

I absolutely enjoyed this version of the game. I don't think it is really ever going to be as good as a PC version. The thing I like about Diablo in general it has a lot of reply value and what I think they did a better job of in this series create different back stories of each character. What I think they could have done better is allow more customization of the character and the story seemed to follow the same format. Other than that, I thought that this was very well done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ok, but.....

posted by Easton99 (YUCAIPA, CA) Sep 1, 2014

Member since May 2007

Nothing but a button masher pretending to be an RPG. Not terrible, but nothing surprising. You run around, hit the attack button till all the bad guys are gone, pick up some gold, then move on. Looks pretty nice, and it is smooth. Good way to waste a couple of hours, but doesn't pull you in to the story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing game! Much better on console for gameplay

posted by sandruu (CHESAPEAKE, VA) Aug 9, 2014

Member since Aug 2008

Not a fan of this on PS3 due to graphics but it will be on PS4 soon so I can wait! Even will par graphics, I could not stop playing this game even after beating it. I love the new gameplay mechanics they changed in it for the console!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent

posted by Arshus (GREENWOOD, IN) May 29, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

I have to say that I'm on the fence as to whether this is the conclusion I wanted. Nearly 15 years ago I set off to the depths of a church in the town of Tristrim. Much was unknown other than the church was releasing monsters of horrific abominations. I battled my way through the dungeons mobs of evil only to come face to face with one of the prime evils in Diablo. After defeating him and trying to contain his evil within a soul stone I realized that i would have to contain him with myself.
Emerging from the catacombs of the place where the devil lives. I was greeted as a hero to what remained of the townsfolk. However, I blacked out only to find myself wondering to the west. Always compelled to the west I set out. Never turning back. From town to town I wondered. Screams of torment and agony clawing at my skull and my soul. I felt as though I was losing myself to the evil within. The further I traveled the more I felt myself slipping away. The more I slipped away the more I lost track of where I was and what I was doing. Till finally my journey ended with Diablo destroying me and reuniting with the Prime Evils of Mephisto and Baal.
The story continues as heros in my wake eventually caught up with Diablo and Mephisto defeating them and thus believing that all is well.
Of course not all is well. Reuniting with this title was more personal than rewarding. I mean the graphics were great, voice casting was good. Seeing Tyrael was just jaw dropping. The story was well balanced and co op was decent. The conclusion was epic and in Blizzard fashion cut scenes were amazing. However, I kind of got bored mid way through cause it is a dungeon crawl and combat does get linear. Skills are cool, co op breathes some life into it once it gets old goin solo. Loot in large amounts and large maps. Good game rent it, judge it, go from there. Thanks for your time. Game on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Diablo by tyler

posted by Tyizhi_209 (JACKSON, CA) Apr 24, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

OVERALL
I liked the game it wasn't 'bad'.
It just felt like run of the mill dungeon crawler, although it did have some fun abilities.
But if your new to the genre 'dungeon crawler rpgs' then this is a good place to start; or if your a die hard for this type of game it's a must.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

How On Earth Could This Game Rate Higher Than 3

posted by Omens (MOUNT HOOD PARKDALE, OR) Mar 26, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

This game would have been cutting edge back in the days of Atari, but to put a game like this out on the market now? What a colossal waste of any gamers time. The only reason that I gave it a 3 was because of the beginning story. I could not stomach playing it for more than an hour and I give all games a chance. I have quite often disregarded GAMEFLY reviews because I discovered if a game is difficult or has a lot of moves to learn, then many members give it a poor review. Unfortunately I actually went with the reviews on this one because any rating around an 8 is hard to get. Do not be fooled by the ratings or the cover picture.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Diablo is back!

posted by Colombian603 (OVIEDO, FL) Mar 21, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Loved this game so much i had to buy it after renting on gamefly. Perfect game for hours of couch co op game play. haven't never played the first 2 games, this game got me hooked and had a more addictive loot system than borderlands 2 which is a plus for me. The story may be short but the added difficulty with added loot make a reason to keep coming back for more rare loot!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

definitely fun but shortlived

posted by stevelo (MASSAPEQUA PARK, NY) Mar 18, 2014

Member since Aug 2013

This is my first diablo game, and while I had fun with this game playing with friends I do not see the purpose of spending more than 10 dollars on a game like this [even if it was brand new I'd say the same thing]

It is a button mash that does not end [you just can do a new game plus]..Online is somewhat messed up, can't directly join a friends party as well as nothing else to the game. My replay value is only with friends, and even still, I barely continue to play it..

Worth a rental, possibly a buy for you, thought I would be interested more long term in the game but I've seen all there is to see from the game minus 2nd run thru loot.

I will point out that it's like Champions of Norrath for the ps2 which is why I was into it at first, but it did not keep my interest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not sure what the hype was about

posted by NotoriousN (SAINT ALBANS, WV) Mar 17, 2014

Member since Aug 2010

While this game is entertaining for about 45 minutes, it quickly becomes apparent that it is only a button masher disguised as an RPG. I hadn't played any of the Diablo games for quite some time so I had forgotten how repetitive they become. The story is not compelling enough to keep you wanting to go back to whatever next dungeon you get sent to either. I know some are gaga over this, but to me it was just meh.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game, though a little dissapointing.

posted by Solarplight (MISSION VIEJO, CA) Feb 4, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

Overall this is a fun game, but it does not live up to it's title. The biggest problem with this game is it's lack of customizability in the build system. That said, I did have fun laying waste to hordes of enemies with my wizard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse