Rent DiRT for PS3
view large frontback

DiRT

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.8

2516 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DiRT chews all other racing games alive

posted by Tinsley316 (CHESTERFIELD, VA) Feb 8, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the realistic racing game I have ever played. It also uses something called, LOGIC!(Burnout fails there). The crashes are pretty realistic(Need 4 Speed fails there).The handling is great and gives the game a little challenge boost, like it should have(Burnout and Ridge Racer fail here). Basically, the opposition this game is GRID, and that would actually only be an opposition IF it wasn't made by the same creators of DiRT. CodeMasters went all out and truly proved what racing games should be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by Brittbrat (MARSHFIELD, MO) Oct 23, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was thinking something like MotorStorm, But it acts kinda of like grid. I didnt like grid but this game is a great game. It might become a keeper!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

DO YOU LOVE WRC?

posted by rexeven (COVINGTON, KY) Oct 12, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a really great game! If you follow the World Rally Championship this is a must play! If you don't you should! WRC driver's are the best in the world, I mean who else drives down a mountain full throttle, only knowing whats up ahead when the co-driver tells you? It's a shame there will be no more Colin McRae games (essentially what the WRC events in the game are) due to his untimely death. But as close as you can get to WRC action in the USA! Why don't we have rally's in the States? Way more exciting than NASCAR! Codemasters remain the people to beat when it comes to racing games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Anti-boredom Racing

posted by ABSTASTIC (EAST BRUNSWICK, NJ) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

For anybody out there who is like me, and can't stand driving in circles on a racetrack, this is the game for you. I would call it the Everybody's Racer, made for those who enjoy most racing games and for people like who can't stand a majority of them due to their monotonous and repetitive game play. If I could give you one word to wrap up "Dirt", it would be variety. Not only is every track unique in design, but in challenge as well. Some tracks came naturally to me because they fit my skill set and racing style, while others really challenged me and enhanced my experience by mixing it up and breaking from the norm. It kept me on my toes and never left a dull moment. Aside from that which I feel racers have been missing for long time, it has everything you'd expect from a top racer such as Gran Torismo. Unmatched realism, control, car configuration, authenticity, menu design, ease of use, longevity of play and quick load times.

The only shortcoming, would be the soundtrack. As someone who not only appreciates and expects excellent gaming soundtracks, I even have tons of them on my ipod. I for one was disappointed by the lack of variety in soundtracks, but when it boils down to it, a game like this which really has little to no dialogue except the important in-game turn indicator (co-driver warns driver of different turn severities and grade changes/jumps so they can take the appropriate measures to ensure taking the turns as best as possible), so it really would be ok to turn on music of your own in addition to that provided turn assistance in order to enhance your musical pallet.

Aside from that, I also appreciated a smaller detail that really made it a great game. Everything from each track and each transmission or tire setting has the option to receive audio advice from the narrator and an expert who breaks-down the tracks and even offers advice to help you tackle the tougher portions of each course.

I can't wait to see what will come in the future for Dirt

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

more realistic than motorstorm

posted by sgthackett (TORRINGTON, CT) Sep 22, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

i've never raced any of these kind of cars in real life but i'm sure this is as real as it gets. the cars reaction to the different surfaces and the speeds influence is on point. i also liked that the passenger is your personal gps, for instance, 100 left 2, means 100m ahead is about a 90 degree turn whereas a 4,5, or 6 is a fairly easy turn. also, if you know anything about cars you can tune in in any way possible, camber, suspension, downforce, etc. and it all looks great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty good

posted by Ndru000 (ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL) Sep 17, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

this game is pretty good, the graphics are great, the game play is alright. I read a lot of reviews and this game did fall very short of the hype, however still great.

its almost like your driving a marshmallow or on some clouds, you could be on two wheels and not even notice because the game play doesn't change. And once you notice that all you do is focus in on it. You power slide straight left to right where in reality you should be rolling but nope, just sliding. I mean come on that means the car dynamics in a racing game is wrong. THAT SHOULD NEVER HAPPEN. grand theft auto has better car dynamics then what this game has.

Once you get beyond that, career mode was nicely done, and i love the fact that you cant play the same track at the same level and get the same money. So you play the first level the easiest level is 75,000 you place first now you try to replay it to build up on money but you cant now the easiest mode is 30,000 that was cool. However if you beat it on the toughest level all the level winnings drop that sucked but its alright.

Loading is long but they did it brilliantly by showing you your stats so really you almost don't even notice it, unless you can care less what your stats are then you are probably complaining about how long they are.

If you have no idea what something means you can get help which is extremely nice when it comes to tuning your ride, but i cant see the casual gamer doing that, so i think the put to much emphasis on that and could spent the time making the cars run better.

Damage is hilarious, mainly you are gonna be the cause, i haven't seen the computer actually run into me, furthermore i haven't seen the computer total their ride but i have watched numerous times of me wrecking mine. it seems realistic enough but you will in a race endure parts where your door will fly off and you will have no idea why.

game play = 8
graphics = 9
damage = 8
car = 6
overall a very good rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST RACING GAME I PLAYED IN A WHILE

posted by RE5FANBOY (KISSIMMEE, FL) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I DONT UNDERSTAND WHY IS EVERONE GIVING DIRT SUCH A LOW RATING..THIS GAME IS AWESOME!!...ITS SO REALISTIC.. THIS GAME REALLY MAKES U FEEL LIKE YOUR IN THE DRIVER SEAT OF A RALLY CAR ... THE GRAPHICS ARE REALLY GOOD THE CONTROLLERS ON THIS GAME IS SUPER GOOD... I THINK THIS GAME SHOULD GET AN 8 BY EVERYONE.. MAYBE THEY SUCK AT THIS GAME AND THATS WHY THEY GAVE IT SUCH A LOW RATING.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Feel the dirt,taste the dirt,be the dirt!

posted by daftpunk (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jan 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

addicting game,a must rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Racing Simulation

posted by NaztyNate (NASHVILLE, TN) Dec 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I first saw and read about this game before playing it I suspected that this would be more of a racing game vs. being a simulation with time trials, ability to fine tune your vehicles in every aspect, etc. Overall Dirt is a decent game if your a fan of time trials like in grand turismo. If you are a big fan of time trial rally type racing then by all means this game is for you. The switch races(not sure of actual name) where you race one lap on the outside track and your opponent is on the inside track then on the 2nd lap you switch were by far my favorite. Unfortunetley all you are able to do online is time trial type events which is a major blow to the true potiential of playing this game online.

Graphics=9
Controls=9
Music/Sound=7
Replay Value=5
Online=3
Story=5
Overall=6.3

The graphics are awesome from the detail on the car damage to the driving surface it all looks great.

I have never driven on dirt at almost 100 mph but have a go-cart doing about 30+ and the feeling seems very releastic...well at least the closest I have played to date. The ability to fine tune your shocks, tire pressure, and so much more is also a great feature.

I myself do not see alot of replay value in this game. Yes there are TONS to in career mode, would say around 100 races/45 cars between 11 tiers gives an abundance to do but due to the fact of not being able to actually race and bump against your opponets online; this game just does not match up.

Not much of a story to this one seeing it is a simulation type racing game. You are trying to unlock tiers by gaining so many points in races in each tier to move up to the next one...so on and so forth. No special CG for beating the game or anything. Just race, buy new cars, fine tune setups, and race.

Decent game, just not for me. Thanks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just another racing game...

posted by Buckethead (POMFRET, MD) Oct 31, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

There's nothing that makes this racing game unique where it counts. You can race on different surfaces which is indeed a pretty new concept but it really doesn't add much in terms of driving strategy to the game.

On pavement? FLOOR IT! On dirt? FLOOR IT! On two wheels? FLOOR IT!

The graphics are what you would expect from a next gen racing game and nothing more. I actually found the whole blurring effect to be a kind of shortcut to putting in details in the terrain/trees near the track itself. You can even drive straight through a majority of the trees and bushes without even a hint of contact.

This game does have many different events in the career mode but you can end up doing the same track at different points in the career. The only upside to going through the career was unlocking the new types of races which would bring at least a little variety to the game.

The online mode is a joke and I can't see why it was even tacked on. You might as well of just had the online scoreboards which are there anyhow. All in all, if your a racing game fan, it's going to be a blast. If your not such a racing fanatic (like me) and you think "you play one racing game, you've played 'em all", this doesn't really prove that theory wrong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

decent

posted by madgamer24 (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Sep 20, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

This game is good. graphics are great. Id rather play motorstorm.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best ps3 rally racing yet

posted by twisselmaster (SACRAMENTO, CA) Apr 4, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

Honestly, why haven't they come out with more games like this. Dirt 2 and 3 are no match for the original. This is still my favorite racing game ever..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not Good At All

posted by abb1971 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Dec 10, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Don't waste your time renting this game, as it does not feel that I have good control of the vehicles. Also, the courses seem to be a little repetitive. Gran Turismo 5 is much better!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

dirt

posted by migs98 (NICHOLS, IA) Jan 2, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

very good with e-thing. graphics, playability, and controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fake sounding engines

posted by bdyman (SCHERERVILLE, IN) Oct 25, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

at first it was great, started going through the set up and testing the cars is when it lost me, the engine sounds were the same, and very very fake i guess you can call it that
visualy it looks great but it lacks depth and the audio needs to be re vamped or something, it didnt keep my interest like other racing games have in the past, for renting it ok but to make it part of your library not worth it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

DiRT is an entertaining video game

posted by ThePerson (MARIETTA, GA) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

GRAPHICS:
Now, obviously, this is 2009, and i'm playing a game from 2007, so the graphics aren't as good as say, DiRT 2(duh)but they are rather impressive. interior modeling on the cars is extraordinary, and the cars look nice aswell. And like most rally games are supposed to do, the dirt from the track splashes up onto your car. in the instance that your car crashes, the camera jolts forward, as if it is placed on the drivers helmet. it gives the game a much better aspect of realism, sort of makes you feel like you are ACTUALLY in the car. the damage is also well defined. it can range from a small scrape, to completely wrecking your car. every part of your car can receive damage.

GAMEPLAY:
The game is very fun. you have a multitude of events to choose from in career mode, and quick race mode. there is also a championship mode, i never tried it, so i'm not going to make up a story. anyway, in career mode, you start out by having unlocked 4 tier 1 races(which are low level races).one of which is a rally event, which is your basic point to point race. Rallycross races are basically circuit races done whith other cars on the same track. there are also races with trophy trucks, and later on, buggys. there are also hill climb races, which are just that, hill climbing. the race can either be done with a rally car, or a Rig.races with Rigs have larger turns due to the lower handling capabilities of the truck. overall the game mechanics are smooth, and easy to get used to.

AUDIO:
the audio is spectacular. the cars sound great, and so does the voice of your race cheif. he's there to tell you which turns are coming up, which helps alot when you've never raced on a track before. but he only helps you on rally raid, and rally events.

COMPLAINTS:
The game can sometimes be cruel to you. for example, you may crash into an unsuspecting tree or boulder, causing you to wreck your car, or even lose the race. other than those small complaints, the game is pretty much perfect, 9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dirt

posted by eagle5040 (PALM COAST, FL) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

This game was terrible. When you go on line you are not racing with anyone on the screen. It has been sent back already. Definately did not like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Surprised by all the high reviews

posted by Rethaew (GOLDEN, CO) Jul 11, 2009

Member since May 2007

This game is just about as average as it gets. The graphics are good, but the game play was like a weird slow motion. I never really fell like I had control of any of the vehicles. It was like a constant over-correction is each direction, no matter which car I was driving. And besides that the racing was very boring after a while. There are tons of tracks, but they all pretty much felt the same.

I found myselft more aggrivated with the game than anything. Also there were too many vehicles and too many options. Just over kill for this game. Maybe if the racing was more fun I would appreciate all the different cars, but they all felt the same and therefore just didn't care about all the options.

5/10 for me. Kind of fun, but there are better games out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

this game misses the mark

posted by danielbf (MIAMI BEACH, FL) Dec 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

Keeping it short...I was not impressed with this game at all! Very Boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good game overall

posted by kpyeahbaby (YARMOUTH, ME) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

Love the gameplay, love the graphics, slow-mo replays, etc, etc. Just wish they had more dirt racing with big 4x4s. The small cars on pavement don't really do it for me. Other than that, very good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NICE, VERY NICE

posted by rhutchi72 (MESQUITE, TX) Aug 28, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Very good game, a little long, but it follows the sport, only if you know or follow the sport you will get the game and how to play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

overall great

posted by bedwetter (FORT LEWIS, WA) Jul 31, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Pros: the graphics and damage on this game are very realistic espsually with the co-driver giving you directions, depending on the difficulty level in which you play. The tracks are challenging as well as the AI comp. The cars are very realistic due to actual classes of rally vehicle (i liked the CORR trucks and buggies best)

Cons: The vehicle choices per class. There are limited vehicle that you can buy in each class and unless you buy the most expensive one, they all handle and drive the same.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Captures the essence of Rally car racing

posted by theedge (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jul 11, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

After playing DIRT, I realized how much I like racing. This game captures the essence of RALLY ART.
Its pretty realistic when it comes to the turns, car settings, background, the damage the car gets and overall driving experience when passing through cliffs. I would play the game until I make it to the next tier but I got tired of playing it. Also the autosave is a bit annoying at times,where it has to save every time your finish a race or just practicing.

Overall, you can buy the game a fun game to play with friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Off Road Heaven!

posted by AceRacer88 (PORTLAND, OR) Jun 20, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

This is a great off road game. I have always been an on road racing game player so off road took a little getting used to. Once you get the hang of the slides and things it is so much fun!

Want to try it with a good racing wheel though.

Well worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Loads Of Fun

posted by hulud86 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 1, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

This game is alot of fun. Codemasters make really good racing games that are for sure worth buying. I wouldn't suggest this game to someone who doesn't like rally and time trails because there is alot of that in this game. Besides that this game is awesome. DiRT features tons of tracks and vehicles of all kinds. It also has many different skill levels, so if you aren't that good it will still be loads of fun and not frustrating. Rent this now!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse