Rent DiRT for Xbox 360
view large frontback

DiRT

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.3

6962 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Only 1 Step to a perfect 10!!

posted by AJrANTZ (SEATTLE, WA) Sep 6, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

31 out of 36 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

When i was running my first race, i tried going ricky bobby on everyone, knocking into people and forcing my way to the front of the pack! A sharp turn comes up i slam into the door of the 1st place guy, his doors fly off as a take the lead!

It seems I have the game in hand, when on the last lap, I hit the door i knocked off ealier in the race, it cause me lose control i hit the guard rail, flip my ride, and the 2nd place car passes me without his door and all!

This shows how awesome this game is, the graphics, the car damage, the realism. So heres my take on why this game is worth a 9.0!

pros:
GRAPHICS GRAPHICS GRAPHICS!
they are amazing, you will be in awe the whole time you race, and i love the view in the car!

Rally realness~ the physics are amazing the guy inside the car is SO helpful. Everyone who bashes having the guy in the car is lame! why? because if you really want realism then race from inside the car! and if you do, then you need the rally guy telling the turns and how sharp they are.!!

Variety of Vehicles: Great selection from, buggies, to rally trucks, to street cars, so semis! Everyone brings a different aspect to the game!

Menus: The menus and navigating are very innovative and neat looking! and Its cool how it shows all these random facts about your career stats as you wait for the load.

CONS:::

ok this is the single reason why this game isnt a freakishly amazing game, THE MULTIPLAYER SUCKS! oh wait, it doesnt suck, its just not even there?!?!?! you can race against your friends LAME, and if you go online you race against other people you simply race there times and not actually them?! why?!?! sadness...

carrer mode, lake of story mode. The story mode is well.... not THERE!, and they make you race same style of races to keep going up in career mode, which is fun, but can get a little redundant.

All-in ALL i think is game is worth a buy, and DEFINATELY worth a rent!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

9.7 Rating : Must have driving game on the 360

posted by Rooney (TOLLAND, CT) Jun 21, 2007

Member since Feb 2005

32 out of 38 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

So I actually bought this game after I downloaded the demo and this game is amazing. The graphics are apparently some of the best you will see on the 360 and the real damage effects on your car and surrounding are great! The variety of game types makes this game never boring, as in some of the other racers. Control is very tight and can be tweaked even further through vehicle manipulation (to the extreme) or you can just race for fun. Personally I have the MS Steering Wheel and this adds to the game with the force feedback and rumble capabilities. Though it will take anyone a little time to adjust to the wheel if you have never used one before, but it sure is fun to roll over a Toyota Tacoma and then keep going! Also you'll need to drive 1st person (or at least I do) with the wheel since the response will feel delayed when you view from 3rd person.

Sounds are great with bird noises, cheering, etc.. On to the design of the menus and overall appearance I would say this has to be one of the most innovative front ends I've seen in some time. You'll need to check it out to experience it.

Overall this game should truly get a 9.7 since there's always room for improvement, but since I can only go 9 or 10 I will round up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I hate racing games!

posted by fe1ixdakat (SAN JOSE, CA) Jun 24, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

...but I love me some DIRT! This game is a blast. Easy controls, amazing graphics, and a ton of fun twisting and turning your way around each track. The races are typically long and cover various terrains; concrete, gravel roads, dirt roads, mountain highways, race tracks. It's a blast picking up a new car, tweaking the suspension and then sliding it around a dirt track at 80 mph. And when did graphics becomes this lifelike? The cars look amazing down to the very last detail. The scenery looks extremely realistic. Finally... a next generation game everyone will enjoy!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Off Road Racing

posted by sem1967 (LACONIA, NH) Jun 28, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Ok all you haters....

Lots of you have dissed this game because of forza, or other platform games that are similar. But lets be honest here. None of them offer off road racing, and that's is what Dirt is all about. I used to be a big fan of the ATV and Motocross games, but there hasn't bee anything good to come that way for years. Then I rented Dirt and fell back in love with the off road experience all over again. This game is a great off road racer. If you never like racing off road tracks, this game is not for you, and you shouldn't be giving a lame rating because you don't like to race off road. But, if you do, or did in the past, buy this game.

I step back from giving this game a perfect 10 because the choices for trucks and cars is a bit limited, but that doesn't take away from the fun of barreling through the woods, or taking 200 foot jumps (hoping you land in a way to not roll the car or truck you're in). You can make small adjustments to your vehicle, but there isn't really any noticeable differences like in Forza. That part of the game is just a waste of time. I haven't completed this game yet, but Dirt is much more challenging then Forza. Another downside that keeps this from being a perfect 10 in my book is no multilayer online. They missed the boat on that one.

Despite the few flaws Dirt may have, the game play is awesome. There are not glitches, and the game runs smoothly. The graphics are off the chart, and with the correct sound system, and the feedback controller, you almost feel like you're really racing out there. Another great thing about this game is that the tracks are well varied in type, and are very hard to master.

I don't write many reviews, but I feel so strongly about this game being underrated, that I had to write one. This is a definite bye, and if you don't trust me, rent it, and find out for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun...for a while

posted by superwilks (CHEVY CHASE, MD) Aug 22, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

one of the reasons i rented this game centered on it being fundamentally different from all other street racing games. I've grown tired of games like NFS and other clones of that.

pros:
1) off road racing is a little less rigid than street racing: you obviously have the ability to slightly go off course if speed and unfamiliarity with the track are factors

2) fairly fast paced and it's nice that just one bad move in a race can take you out of first. makes you concentrate the entire time

3) many cars to choose from

4) a variety of course designs make some levels much more challenging for some than others though i suppose that can work inversely as well

5) easy to find a "favorite course" as game play continues

Cons:

1) voice over explaining turns and degree of those turns and slopes is distracting and at times confusing

2) it seems you almost need to upgrade your car each race and it's frustrating when your prize money for a win is a fraction of the cost of a new car

3) minor glitches. for example, if you go off course, sometimes it resets you after you're already back on the road and this can take you from first to last in a matter of moments

4) some of the turns are so ridiculous, you almost need to stop in order to make the turn

5) the geography of the course sometimes makes it hard to see behind the jump ahead and often times i've gone over it and have flown off the course

6) if you do a race with a 2 stages, sometimes your car is so damaged after the first stage, it's nearly impossible to win the final stage and you cannot restart the first stage at that point

7) repeat of some levels is dull

8) not enough info on time relative to the other racers and positioning

Overall, a fun game for a week. gets old fast and though called "DIRT", many levels were similar to an NSF feel. would've liked more of an off road experience with jumps, really open terrain, etc.

worth renting and replay value is relatively high. i just got sick of it i guess

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A great and unique racing title for the Xbox360!

posted by baltimore1 (HILLSBORO, OR) Aug 26, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

It takes a while to get used of the handling of this game. After renting Forza 2 and then this the transfer from pavement to dirt did not come easy to me. Once you get past that the actual racing experience is absolutely awesome. It has a lot of different racing modes which you will gain quite a bit of experience in all of in "Career Mode" ranging from dune buggy rallies to racing you Lancer EVO VIII through the cliffs to driving big rigs from SUVs to Semi Trucks. The graphics create a beautiful racing experience as you can almost lose concentration looking at the pretty trees your passing by. The title is quite suitable for the game as well because the dirt graphics were the best I've seen on any game ever! The cars were beautiful and the damage on them was realistic enough to rival Burnout along with the dirt that actually gets on your car when you drive through a trail of mud etc. You can definitely tell that a lot of thought was put into this game.

So why did I give it an 8 and not a 10. Well like every game this one has flaws. For example one thing I noticed while driving was that the beautiful landscapes tended to glow in the sunlight a little too much as the 360 and PS3 tend to overdo. Also the cars handle as if they weighed half as much as they actually did if even that which I find very frustrating in a HIGHLY TECHNICAL racing game. And last but not least in Career mode the races tend to get dull and repetitive after a while which most technical racing games are prone to.

As I said earlier though this is a great game that I would recommend renting if not buying (rent it first though).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If your into graphics and racing this is for you.

posted by BistroX (MIAMI, FL) Jun 26, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

To start Dirt is one of the most graphically impressive games out there.
As soon as you start up the game you will immediately be impressed with the design of the menu system. As for online play though you can't really race others at the same time, but it still provides some excitement. Its been reviewed that the load times are long but looking at your stats as you progress through the games load time is somewhat entertaining. The in car mode is one of the best in my opinion and hands down will offer you a more immerse driving experience. As far as achievements go they are semi-easy to acquire.
In the end if your looking for a new racing experience or a new graphical fix...
Dirt could be the game for you...one more thing the game supports 1080p.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

We Should Expect Better...

posted by Travis182 (ANTIOCH, CA) Aug 23, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

After some of us were blown away by Rallisport Challenge 2 for the Xbox, I really expected more out of this newly named extension of the Colin McRae rally racing series. The good thing about this game is that it looks stunning. All the environments are gorgeous even though the frame rate is limited to 30. This does become visually problematic when multiple vehicles are on-screen where you will see the frame rate drop instantly; perhaps this gives you even more incentive to stay ahead of the pack.

Single player is quite extensive and will keep you busy for a while and with multiple levels of difficulty you will easily find your niche to keep you challenged, but still able to progress. The multi-player is the saddest part of this game. Rallisport 2 was able to use every aspect of Xbox Live three years ago and now in a new generation all we get is a surprisingly sub-standard offering. You will never see an opponent on-screen; each racer simply races against the continuously updated times of their opponents. There is also no voice chat whatsoever. All we are given is a set of text messages reminiscent of wi-fi play on the Nintendo DS or the online games on Windows.

Overall the game is good, but at this point in time, I expected much more. The life expectancy of this game could have been greatly extended, but a lackluster multi-player was chosen instead and a sorry frame rate was implemented. Better luck next time and maybe we'll get a better Rally game sometime in the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Top of the line Rally racer!

posted by SickFace (DONALD, OR) Jun 25, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

DIRT is a awesome Rally game. The graphics will simply blow you away. Some tracks look real. The handling is different from games like Forza, so it might take a little while to adjust. DIRT has about a million different types of racing events, although I enjoy straight up rally and hill climb the best. There is really nothing like driving on a one lane road at 80mph with trees on both sides!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wild Ride !!!

posted by 12delioboy (MANASSAS, VA) Jun 24, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Dirt took me by suprise. I thought it would just be any other racing game, but i was wrong.

Goods

Many types of racing modes, all fun .

The damage modeling is awsome.

Replays are great.

I love to see the cars get all dirty.

Good use of vibration when the cars are in the rough terrain Ex: Dirt, mud, sand.

Many different types of cars, BIG RIGS Rule !!!

Ineresting animations with the drivers, like when they win, co driver.

The bad

I wish xbox live had more modes, only hill climbs and ralleys.

Thats about it

If you like racing at all. I recommend renting this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Getting Dirty Never Looked So Beautiful!

posted by DaGamDaGee (WASHINGTON, DC) Jul 15, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Dirt, is essentially the 4th iteration of the Collin McRae Rally series but this time extreme sports poster boy Travis Pastrana graces the cover. Despite this, the game is Collin McRae through and through. It's a bare-bones romp through the varying off-road routes that range from the woodlands of Germany, to the tight asphalt of Japan to the open deserts of California. What I mean by bare bones, is that this game has deep game play and leaves the flashy car customization of many racers found today in the dust (pun absolutely intended). Aside from the impressive graphics and gorgeous graphical user interface, the flair ends there. This isn't necessarily a bad thing at all because it's no nonsense, tune your ride then race away.
The racing is a little different from what many fans of the genre are used to, but the pyramid-style event scheme keeps the races varied and the many locales and different race sections keeps things fresh. The career mode begins at the bottom of an 11-tier pyramid and the player works his way up with rally races, rally-raids and CORR events. Rally races are time trials where you and your co-pilot take on a section of a course. Rally raid is eventually the same thing, but it's just you and the road, no assistance and personally my favorite events. CORR events are your typical 6 to 10 car races. This game is fairly easy at the amateur level, but you'll find as you work up to pro level, the events become quite challenging.

The multi-player aspect of the game is also quite different from other racers. The game features 100 racers competing simultaneously in one event, the catch is, you'll never see one of these opponents on the track. The way these matches work is that all racers vote on a track and car, then compete by racing that section of the track and whoever finishes with the shortest time wins.

Dirt is a welcome departure from a genre that seems to be getting a little tired. It mixes sim-racing elements with an arcade feel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is not dirt

posted by sora199362 (BIG BEAR CITY, CA) Jun 21, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

The games physics are so realistic you think your watching a rally car crashing into a tree but your in control. The games carrer mode is fun and long and the carrer menu is a pyramid and when you complete milestones you unlock the next. The graphics are as good as gears of war. I think this is the best racing game around

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

short discription

posted by SomeGuy7 (THURMONT, MD) Jul 17, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game has very good graphics. The gameplay is good. But i constintly find out that im driving by my self allot. not only in single player but multiplayer. In multiplayer you cannot race with other people visualy. In multiplayer you can only play rally or hill climb and in both you just race for the fastest time. in multiplayer you never race with someone els witch makes it feel like its not realy mutiplayer. its kinda just leader boards. youll also find yourself racing with the same vehicals all the time and the same tracks all the time. you cannot custimize anything. you can only tune your car. you cannot buy parts, just tune. very good graphics though. they annonced at e3 that they are working on dirt 2 witch fixes it with better multiplayer. codemasters is a ripoff why make a whole new game just update the game you already made. i was not happy with this rental. if you dont believe me just rent it yourself its an okay game if your not into multiplayer much. there is also no story, not that i was suspecting but that just makes it more dim. if ya want an awsome racing game get forza mottor sport 2. its got awsome multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Looks Can Be Deceiving.

posted by iTechChef (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Dirt really was the lead up to Grid.
It looks good but what puts this game squarely in the middle is the fact that the cars are too "slippery."
In my own gamer speak, "slippery" in racing games in when the physics of the land mapping doesnt really mesh with physics of the Car. Thus I get a visible separation in the two layers and it takes me right out of the game or rather puts me in one of those old driving games where you steer left or right to avoid the random dropping obstacles that will never ever stop coming until the batteries died.

Now I realize Rally racing is a slippery sport and let me tell you, ima drifter with the best. But even when I was driving on tarmac, the car never shocked with any thing possibly on the road. Just a layer on a layer.

So in Dirt the cars dont jive with the road as well as you would expect or like other racing/driving games (Forza 2 and GTA IV). They dont seem to have any viable weight, I did ten races and was done.

Sorry to say but if you got slippery cars in your game, 5 to start. So its says a little that Dirt is still a 5 in my book.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Over rated.

posted by TheSamurai (EAST HARTFORD, CT) Aug 18, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Alright. I can see why people love it so much, but seriously It's not that good. Graphics aren't everything. Forza 2 is 10x better.

The game itself is ok, but after the first hour it starts to get repetitive and annoying, not to mention the fact that its very unrealistic for a driver of this caliber. It doesn't gradually get much better either. It does have variety i will say that. But most of the time its the same pace over and over again. Forza's speed scale is much better and its the most realistic driving experience to date. DiRT is a good rent but not worth the buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

kind of boring

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Jun 22, 2007

Member since Dec 2003

3 out of 20 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

frist off dirt looks great, it seems to me they cant make that all a round great racing game that comes off real and smooth, true in dirt your car takes damage, but it looks cheap and still i dont see no wipe outs from crashes, the game just puts you back in the race when you go off the road so the race dont end from a wipe out, does this happen in real racing, i think so, i want to see wipe outs i want to see car fires, i want to lose a race because i had a wipe out and my car is gone. to me for the most part its the same old hat with racing games, the game looks better some damage on cars, but after a few hrs its boring, and what is it with this guy riding with you and talks through the race, gosh that gets old, do they have anyone that test these games for fun and for being real like in real racing, give me the wipe outs in racing like they have, its wroth a rent but not a buy, thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GAME

posted by HarryK (READING, PA) Jun 21, 2007

Member since Dec 2003

2 out of 18 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

This game is super

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ABSOLUTE GARBAGE!

posted by danrmn (RAMONA, CA) Jul 21, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 18 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

WOW! THIS GAME IS GARBAGE!!!!!

VISUALS : 8

GAMEPLAY : 0

ALL THE DEVELOPERS DID FOR THIS GAME IS MAKE GOOD LOOKING GRAPHICS. THATS IT. I THINK A 6 YEAR OLD MADE THE GAMEPLAY PART OF IT.

THIS GAME GETS SO BORING, SO FAST. EVERY RACE IS THE SAME BROKEN REPETITIVE GAMEPLAY AND THERE IS NOTHING NEW AS YOU PROGRESS THROUGH. YOU ALSO HAVE TO LISTEN TO THIS CO-DRIVER HALF OF THE GAME THAT JUST SAYS RANDOM NUMBERS AND WORDS THAT ARE USELESS AND DON'T MAKE A DROP OF SENSE, BUT YOU HAVE THE OPTION TO TURN IT OFF. I DON'T CARE HOW GOOD THE GRAPHICS ARE, THEY ARE USELESS IF THE GAME IS BROKEN BEFORE YOU EVEN PLAY IT.

I WOULD DEFINITELY NOT RECOMMEND THIS GAME TO ANYONE ABOVE THE AGE OF 5. DO NOT RENT THIS GAME AND DO NOT EVEN THINK ABOUT BUYING IT.

IT IS A TRAVESTY OF A RACING GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

DiRT

posted by J3ssi3_4U (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 28, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

DiRT has to be one the most easiest game to complete free n easy GS for all I say >,<

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Racing Game I Have Played!

posted by hogol55676 (ROUND ROCK, TX) Jan 7, 2012

Member since Nov 2005

Dirt is a very good game with a good feel to it. The graphics are amazing and the story is easy to follow. Your a rookie driver trying to get to the top of the pack by doing champion races all over the world. there are a lot of types of races from mini cars to 18 wheelers. yes i said 18 wheelers.
The views of the cars are very realistic. you can view from the drivers P.O.V, the hood, the top, and the 3rd person view. brfore a race you can buy cars, customize them and select your car setup.
the races are easy.. i went from a rookie level to pro level in one night. there is a track briefing section witch really comes in handy if your new to the track.
there are many diffrent tracks in campain. also the briefing tells you what type of dirt, gravel or tarmac it is. like loose un even dirt or smooth wet tarmac or rough dry tarmac... over all I think its a really good game for people who love racing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

DiRT Rocks

posted by Enigma7 (HENRICO, VA) Aug 17, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

This is a pretty easy game to play and master on the easier settings. It is extremely realistic. You can start on rookie and complete the game and most achievements in about 12 hours. Great game over all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NEVER RENT

posted by JPCCool (Shiloh, OH) May 23, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

This game is like they were tring to mix nascar and need for speed.
The graghics on the cars are ok but the surronding are treible...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

How I hate this game...

posted by Shunka (ARCATA, CA) Jan 14, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

The first thing I noticed was that it called me "man," and I wonder if it's designed to call you somthething else if your gamer profile specifies you as a woman. Sexist?
The controls were awful, nearly impossible to even keep it on the road; then, when you do go off the road, the screen just turns white and the game puts you back on the road. That is, however, unless you're stuck 30 feet off the road in a thicket of trees and bushes, at which point you just have to drive back and forth, blindly, until you make your way out of the thicket. Then, and only then, does the screen finally turn white and put you back on the road.
I was disappointed that I was unable to wreck with sufficient cinematography. I found the crashes to be boring and lackluster.
Small trees were stone walls, or at least treated like them by this game. Usually small trees would at least bend, if not be completely run over by an offroad vehicle. Even dirt burms, on the side of the road, might as well have been stone walls. There was little realism, no true sense that you were actually driving in dirt. It seemed more like pavement with buildings around than a dirt track, and the little graphics representing dirt being kicked up were lame.
Another thing we didn't like is how it forced you to view all of your stats each time a race loaded, which seemed to take a long time, even for a track that you had just raced on.
A few more things...even on the very easy settings, it was nearly impossible to keep the car on the road, and forget about nailing the gas pedal, you rarely get to do it without disasterous results. We often found ourselves having to drive at 20-30 mph to even stay on the road at all. We admit that we're not the best at this game, but come on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

one of my favorite racing games ever

posted by suspince (GASTONIA, NC) Dec 29, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

this is a really good game.i love racing games and this is one the top of my list of my fav racing games.i dont have anything bad to say about this game.and after i sent this game back i went to gamestop and bought it.

R.I.P Coin Macae

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

DiRT

posted by mandude130 (THOMASVILLE, GA) Nov 11, 2009

Member since May 2009

wow the best rally game out right now.....well i havent played DiRT 2 so when that comes in you'll know +=)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse