Rent DiRT Showdown for PS3
view large frontback

DiRT Showdown

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.2

321 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

good smash em up

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jul 8, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overview
================
This is in no way a racing game (skip it if you are looking for actual racing). This is more or less destruction derby no matter which mode is picked (there are several modes that are variants of crash based game play).

Now this doesn't mean the game isn't good. It is actually pretty fun and could be great fun with friends. One of the downsides is you can't play online without a pass. I really wish they'd at least give you a trial (I would have considered a purchase if I could have tried it out and liked it).

Pros
===============
1) great crashing fun
2) pretty slick presentation/good graphics

Cons
===============
1) gets repetitive (which is why you need to play with friends)
2) needs online pass to even try multiplayer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent throwaway fun

posted by Ichiban (SAN JOSE, CA) Aug 7, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Looking for an easy to digest racing game for the summer? This is a good option. Nothing great about it, but nothing terrible either. Certainly better than the similar Ridge Racer Unbounded. Main issue (for me - not fussed about multiplayer, which needs an online pass), was the difficulty balance. Straight races are relatively easy, even at the highest level, though even the slightest crash near the end will still have all other cars fly past you, no matter how well you raced up to that point. The other questionable part is some of the non racing levels (notably the run for the hills, avoiding destruction level) are down to blind luck.

Wouldn't buy it, but fun for a week or so rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dirt Showdown Review

posted by The_Man_TLC (NEW DURHAM, NH) Jun 27, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the better games by dirt is my feelings there is no story mode it is a sit down and smash other players type of game this I feel is a great buy and definetly worth the rent. Great game top play with others as well it has a split screen so 2 can play at the same time. The controlls are easy enough to remember and the music isn't to bad to jam to. If you get a chance to play I would suggest it for you.. Happy Gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Thought It'd Be Better

posted by SneakyAsian (YUMA, AZ) Mar 25, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Not a very good game, there are not a lot of modes and although the demolition derby looks fun the entire game itself is very repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NOT rally car racing. Barely demo derby. FAIL!!!

posted by RecklessPedro (CASCO, ME) Jan 9, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

Im a big fan of the dirt series, but this one is NOT a Dirt caliber game in my opinion. strictly Fantasy racing,
NO ONE RACES LIKE THIS! This is a lazy attempt at a racing game that I could not even finish.
One racing mode absolutely ruined this game for me its called SMASH HUNTER where you drive through blocks of different color. a Huge W T F !!!
Also since when do they allow F ing Trucks and vans in demo derby. are the game developers plugged in or did they let there kids make this game.
A POOR addition to a great game series

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not that great

posted by JMAMX3 (HUDSON, NH) May 7, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

You have to pay money for cars... what happned to ranking for cars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by CageChicane (BIRMINGHAM, AL) May 2, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

This game is dreadful. It is a disgrace to cars and racing; a step back 15 years in video games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

10!!!

posted by AreA_17 (DENVER, CO) Apr 12, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

If it's DIRT then it's great!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good fun

posted by edogg26 (NORTH BEACH, MD) Mar 24, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Great rental, worth checking out for race fans, wouldn't buy as it can get repetitive after awhile.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Below Average

posted by Skuttle (TEMPLE, TX) Feb 2, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

When this game came out I had such high expectations for it. I read about it a little bit online and it had pretty good reviews. Normally, I love these types of games. Some of my favorite racing games are NFS Underground 2, DiRT 2 and Test Drive: Eve of Destruction. This game was nothing like those.

There are many things to like about this game, but there is also many things to dislike.
First, the menu UI is extremely streamlined and still very creative. Giving you an extremely good first impression. Settings are easy to find, scrolling through menus is easy and organization makes a lot of sense. This is where the good things end.

The game play has the feel of something from the Nintendo Game Cube. Graphics are very high quality, but the colors are quite "cartoonie" making it a little displeasing to the eyes.

Car control is clumsy, jerky, hard to predict. Usually I can get the feel of a racing game pretty quickly, but this game requires precise steering if you want to avoid being hung up on track trash, the wall or another car.

It's very easy to get spun out which can quickly take the fun out of a game. In most great racing games, there's close calls, hits, bumps, side swiping, back ends out and you use skill to stay in the lead. Not here. If you touch another car you spin out. Very annoying.

If you touch the wall, you can't get off and will quickly run into something. Another car, track trash, or the wall will have an out cropping to stop you in your tracks. Just when you get into reverse, another car pins you in your place. Very annoying.

Track trash is every where. Lots and lots of walls of tires and cones placed right in the middle of the track. Why? I don't know but it's very annoying

Car physics are far from realistic even when you're driving well and hold a good position.

Overall, I don't enjoy this game because everything about it just felt sub-par and it just feels like I've played it before. Oh yea, I have. It was called Cruisin'

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

smashing good time

posted by bigjohn1894 (PRESCOTT, MI) Jan 19, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

great game for the person that want to race dirty once in a wile
the demo derby's are fun and hectic
i would have gave it a 10 if it were not part of the dirt series
as it dose not fit with the others

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent, but nothing special

posted by looplijuh (MAGNOLIA, KY) Jan 5, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

I rented this game, because everything I wanted, was very low availability. I played this game with iffy expectations, and that's what was delivered. An iffy game. I enjoyed the game, but there just wasn't a draw to keep playing, and I just didn't really care about anything about the game. The driving mechanics were very arcade like. (As they should be) The modes were repetitive. The announcing was VERY repetitive. The entire game was just plain normal. If you want a game where you will destroy other cars in a very normal way. With normal announcing, driving, and adrenaline, then this is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The ball was dropped on this one

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Nov 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2004

Sorry but this game has nothing to do with DIRT or racing at all, while it was kinda fun to participate in some of the events one style that should never ever be in any game like this is the most stupid event i have ever seen and thats the "Gymkana" because your going to lose This game is ok for about 15 minutes after that it loses any fun factor that it had. Rent it if you have an Open Space in your Q and you cant find another game to fill it but dont rent it because you liked any pf the other DIRT Games you will be disappointed if you do

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by gilbert1 (HENDERSONVILLE, NC) Nov 8, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

Just like all the games in this series it is great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

SO-SO

posted by lexman (CRANFORD, NJ) Sep 20, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

OK, So I guess I'm spoiled by the likes of the real racing game's like Grid, and challenging drivers like Need For Speed Hot Pursuit to let myself enjoy this one. Another game that does not deserve the wait time to arrive at the door (no offense Gamefly!). I played it almost all the way through in about 2 hours(..at least it felt that way!)..Graphics are good,game-play is smooth,..but I play these games to enjoy and be to IMPRESSED BY!,..nothing to be impressed about here I'm afraid. For me, the entire Dirt line has been a huge letdown! I see that Grid 2 is coming along in 2013!...Can hardly wait!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not as good as last one

posted by wxman25 (WALDORF, MD) Aug 1, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Just like the title says this version is just not as good. the last one was more race like. buggies and racing trucks on real tracks. glad i rented this first. what a disapointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Poor!

posted by djdanielalan (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jul 16, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

Never would have guessed this would be mostly a demolition derby. I am a huge fan of Codemasters racing games, but this one definitely let me down. The side missions were even exact copy's of DIRT 3. Don't waste your time with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

what happened to rally racing?????

posted by twisselmaster (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jul 11, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

Dirt needs to get back to its roots god d%$# it!!! This is not a racing game anymore, its all hom0sexual now!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucked

posted by gavinscurse (MANCHESTER, PA) Jul 3, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

it completly sucked im glad i didnt buy this game 5 minutes into it i poped the game out and put in wwe 2012 i would rather watch paint dry then too play dirt showdown

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dirt Showdown

posted by xCyCoBaCk (DOWNINGTOWN, PA) Jun 27, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

awesome game, crazy how i see 3 reviews and there 10, 10, and 8. the rating on the game is 6.7. are you noobs serious? all the people that don't write reviews and leave a 5 or even rage quit a 1 because they cant drive. please gamefly, remove your user ratings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

New style for the Dirt series, good entry...

posted by BigD2009 (WEST SACRAMENTO, CA) Jun 19, 2012

Member since May 2009

Let me start by saying that I am a HUGE fan of the Dirt series. I call it my favorite racing series this gen (and that includes Grid as well since it's similar enough and I love it). I loved the Destruction Derby games back in the day and was excited when I heard about this game coming out. It's certainly a different style for this series but it works very well. It's not perfect, but it's Dirt and it's good. I give it an 8/10 because there are some issues here and there but nothing I even feel is significant enough to mention. It's not as good as the other Dirt games but this is a good game nonetheless. I really enjoy the Joyride mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DIRT SHOWDOWN

posted by halloween84 (SMITHFIELD, PA) Jun 18, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

i give this awesome game a 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fun

posted by priscilla2 (KATY, TX) Jun 15, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

very easy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »