Rent DiRT Showdown for Xbox 360
view large frontback

DiRT Showdown

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.0

583 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Worth a try, better than expected.

posted by RogueWRX (LONE TREE, CO) Jun 18, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First things first, I would give this game a 7.5 if possible.

For anyone who is going to be upset about a Dirt arcade style game, keep moving, because that is exactly what this is. It does not have the same feel as the main Dirt series, and it is not meant to.
I was skeptical about trying this game after seeing that it was a long call from the Dirt games I had fallen in love with, but I tried it anyway. I was pleasantly surprised. Granted it doesn't have the detail and same in depth feel of the rest of the Dirt games, but something about it is just fun to play.

The Good:
Gameplay is good, only slightly different than the rest of the Dirt games, so it doesn't take long to get the hang of again. Graphics are about the same as in Dirt 3. Soundtrack is really good. Like I said, there is something about the mayhem in this game that just makes it fun to play.

The Bad:
Gymkhana feels assisted, as if the car will kind of "snap" to the tricks you are doing, which kind of ruins the feel of that aspect. Could use more destruction when it comes to how the cars look after getting hit in a demolition derby game. It also requires the VIP Pass for online play, which seems to be expected by a lot of games anymore.

Final Verdict:
Would I pay $60 for this game? No. But luckily, Codemasters only charges $40 for this arcade style game, brand new, which isn't too bad. While Dirt Showdown may not win GOTY, it does have that addictive, mindless quality of fun to it. Don't expect the same greatness in this as you saw in Dirt 3, but at least give it a try, you will be surprised in a good way.

I do have to say that as far as demolition derby games go, nothing has hit the same level as Test Drive: Eve of Destruction, but Dirt Showdown is a good try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dirt Letdown

posted by HulkGod (CALEDONIA, MN) Jun 23, 2012

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was really excited for this game. I played the demo and really liked it. I thought the game should be great fun. Boy was I wrong.

This whole game feels like a Dirt 3 rehash. Take all the arcade tracks from Dirt 3 and put them in this package add new cars and boom you have a new game then charge more money for it.

Not sure what Codemasters was thinking when they made this game. But fun wasn't part of the equation.

Even when you take a car out it just re-spawns and starts like its brand new, this also happens to your car as well. What is the point of upgrading when you start new again?

The Gymkhana is head to head and feels rushed and doesn't matter if you come in first or second as you progress to the next race anyway (pro).

Save your money don't buy it. Only rent if you like repeating tracks and same cars and upgrades.

GRiD stock car was a lot of fun. Not sure what they tried here. At least the dead cars stayed dead in that game. Test Drive Eve of Destruction another good destruction game. Dirt Showdown isn't one of them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Need Update

posted by HACnum1fan (HIWASSEE, VA) Jul 10, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The game did not work. The car was very slow and would not be competitive at all. Searched online and many other people were haveing the same problem. An update would maybe fix it and the fact that you caint change control layout properly. But I still feel bad for people who have limited access to xbox live. How are they going to get the update? Thanks for a horible game codemasters. It wasnt worth getting for free.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful.

posted by USDMatt (Payson, AZ) Jun 21, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

If you like driving games, avoid this like the plague.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by TwitchyTyco2 (FLAGSTAFF, AZ) Apr 1, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

This game was a disappointment from the Dirt franchise. Starting the game, it starts you in a car, and stuck in first gear with no way to change gears. Searching all over the internet people are having the same problem with no fixes. Waste of time to rent the game just to have to sent it back the next morning.

Save yourself the time, and rent one of the other Dirt titles, or wait for the new one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

dirt showdown

posted by deerehunte (LAFAYETTE, TN) May 4, 2013

Member since Jul 2009

its a good game with great demolition derby not so great cars though

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

game is a waste of time

posted by fasterflip (BURLINGTON, IA) Mar 22, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

i wish i wouldnt have wasted the time to rent this game... i played it and its like it was stuck in low gear as if it was a manual and it wouldnt let me reverse even though it says its the break in the controls yet it wouldnt work.... try to change presets and that didnt work either

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Handling Your Vehicle

posted by Resqtattoo (CARROLLTON, VA) Mar 17, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I really enjoyed this game. I am a 41yo somewhat gamer whom loves to play with his 8yo that whips my butt at most games. I could never get the handling of the car down, but on a figure 8 track or crash up derby I was pretty good. Im sure if I held onto the game longer I wouldve become better but time is a hot comidity. For the younger guys its a must to have this game around. Theres no blood and guts which is a plus for the little gamer coming up. Fast cars and fast pace racing. Graphics are good and many options to choose from, cars and settings. Have fun and enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

disappointing

posted by quinnloki (TUNKHANNOCK, PA) Mar 7, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

dirt showdown was incredibly disappointing compared to the rest of the dirt franchise or to the rest of code masters racing game. hopefully grid won't go downhill like like dirt has.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

it is how you say....FUN!!!

posted by cawestlake11 (MANHEIM, PA) Feb 9, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

i cant believe how fun this game is. all those crashes will want you to keep playing for hours...SERIOUSLY!i couldn't stop playingto bad i had to give it a 10 but if you could go any higher i would give it a 100!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Game with a few catches

posted by PastorNick (DAYTON, TX) Dec 28, 2012

Member since Jul 2009

I went in skeptical and found out this game is actually pretty fun, only took about a day to conquer everything on it, but still fun.

They definitely have the best Demolition style gaming out there, especially with the Knockout style games. The 8-ball tracks were pretty sweet too.

I would have given it a higher rating but for one thing, you have to be logged onto the internet with an Xbox Live account to even play the offline version. It excluded my 7-year old son from being able to play whenever he wanted, which is sad cuz he loved this game and I probably would have bought it for him otherwise. I think that is a pretty dumb setting and excludes anyone who doesn't have their 360 hooked to the internet or doesn't allow their kids to play while logged on either, like me.

Other than that I think they did a pretty good job and it gets a 7 from me..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A good addition to arcade style racing

posted by TheSolly (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Dec 7, 2012

Member since May 2009

This is a solid Dirt game. The physics are very arcade style compared to the likes of F1, but are on par or better than most of the racers in this class. Die hard racing fans will not be shelving their Forza 4 disks for this, but it improves on the previous Dirt entries in the most important aspects.
Clearly merging Grid into Dirt, the most fun is found in the various demolition derby events. These range from standard 'deathmatch' last man standing events, to being 'it' in a giant game of motorized tag. Constant point awards for flashy driving make use of the arcade style physics that makes cars all but refuse to go strait.
If there is a difference in the various cars you can purchase, and the upgrades you can get for them, it's hardly noticeable. The vehicles all seem fairly identical within their class, and with a limited number of liveries to choose from, you never really benefit from concentrating on one vehicle rather than just rotating thru them all. All the cars, liveries, and environments look beautiful.
Anyone that's played Grid, other Dirt entries, or most any arcade style racer will immediately find Showdown familiar. I think this is the best so far in the series as it married the demo derby races from Grid into the rally action and Gymkana of Dirt.
If you're not a dedicated fan of this style of racer, or just already have all the previous titles, a rental is probably in order.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Another solid installment

posted by juicedaman (NORTHBOROUGH, MA) Dec 5, 2012

Member since Apr 2007

Dirt Showdown is just as addictive as all the previous outings, in addition to adding more variety to the types of races that you participate in. It is totally worth the rent.

8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good

posted by AfroAaron (SAINT PAUL, MN) Nov 29, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

GREAT!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Do not waste your time

posted by 4flat4life (WELLSBORO, PA) Oct 30, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

Horrible game, controls are horrible, this should not have the Dirt name on it AT ALL! I am very upset I wasted my time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great game!!

posted by sohchx (HAGERSTOWN, MD) Oct 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2008

After playing previous Dirt titles I was looking forward to this one and it did not dissapoint. I did in fact have one problem when I first started. The cars were moving extremely slow for some reason so I decided to do some research on the problem. I found that the game has an issue recognizing the right trigger position on certain controllers. All you have to do is turn off your current controller and switch it over to a different one,simple as that and the game will work fine. A few people posted here about the issue but were apparently to lazy to research and gave up on the game altogether. Anyway, great graphics,one of the best game soundtracks of any driver I have played,very smart AI opponents,just a blast to play all around. I will say the cash prize amounts after a first place win are very stingey though compared to how exppensive the vehicle upgrades are.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Name missleading

posted by wolf72 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Sep 8, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Not what i expected, It was a good game but the title is a bit missleading, meaning I was expecting it to be a more open course game and not on a track. lots of challanges which where fun. it's a good game if you like closed tracks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dirt Showdown=Awful

posted by dominator24 (JONESVILLE, VA) Aug 26, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

I was really excited when I saw this game was coming out. Boy was I disappointed when I got it. Racedriver Grid was a great game, but this is garbage. Don't waste money on this at all. I even saw that Grid 2 is due to release, but the best part is the Demolition Derby and they are leaving that out. How ridiculous is that. The best part of the game they are not even bringing back. How pathetic. I feel like i should be asking Codemasters for my money back for this piece of trash game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dirt says it all

posted by buzkiller (LAKELAND, FL) Jul 24, 2012

Member since Oct 2005

can not change button layout properly,can not change between manual and auto transmission, and you get one speed and that is slow. now that i have rented this and played it one day. its not even worth renting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dirt: Showdown

posted by MidusJudas (PORTLAND, OR) Jul 18, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

It's hard to believe that they can add a few small things and take away a few things from Dirt 3, and call it a new game. Just like Dirt 3, this game is complete crape! Why did they have to add the lame obstacle coarse events, why not add to the Dirt 2 game instead. Better yet, why they wont make a new Grid is beyond me. The new Dirt is boring, and the online game is crape from the Euro connections you have to share with. Dont waist you time or money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

dirt showdown is quick fun

posted by gamerkathan (FOND DU LAC, WI) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

this game wasn't too bad the races were fun, especially the figure 8 races. handling was pretty tight on most cars. upgrading system was ok, upgrades are expensive and its not deep in any right, but it did make a big difference in races. there are plenty of bad points though. the game is even more frustrating when your not hooked up to xbox live. the first 2 minutes every time you turn the game on are spent yes and no'ing through literally 12 pop up windows before you get to the start menu, then 2 or 3 more when u enter a race. the biggest problem with this game is replayability, of which there isn't, and especially if your offline. races in career mode are raplayable, but with no winnings if u already finished first. so there is no way to get more money to buy all cars (achievement) or upgrade anything at all (2 achievements). i somewhat wonder how much better it would be with xbox live but u have to buy the online pass from them just to play online and i wonder how much longer it would even be fun. so in all a fun game but very short game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A fantastic side-addition to the Dirt Franchise

posted by DanNaruto1 (CHANNAHON, IL) Jul 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

This game is NOT Dirt 4, so if you looking for it, it has not come out yet so don't get Dirt Showdown and expecting it to be Dirt 4, bcos it isn't, and a lot of people need to realize that and stop giving this game a low rating bcos they doesn't understand that.

This game is called Dirt Showdown, a fun and an easy to get into party game for casual racers who didn't like the difficulty level of Dirt 1-3.

This game is a great addition to the Dirt franchise and proves to use once again why Dirt is the BEST racing game franchise on the market today.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »