Rent Dewy's Adventure for Wii
view large frontback

Dewy's Adventure

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.9

503 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Interesting, yet a little disappointing.

posted by twister782 (LINDEN, TN) Oct 5, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I've heard a lot of good things about this game before I rented it. Yet, when I played it, it didn't live up to most expectations. The game started out odd, but as I played along in story mode, it got really interesting using a drop of water. The problems with the game:

-Multiplayer just wasn't that interesting at all.

-The camera on the game was a bit shaky.

-Story mode was shorter than expected.

Would be very fun to be a drop of water. It's just this game doesn't display enough to make it worth buying right away. Rent it first before you consider buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

horrible stretch if you're desperate

posted by veelaunch (GLENDALE, UT) Dec 27, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I did find a few things to like about the game like transforming into an ice cube or ball of steam depending on if your drop of water was too hot or too cold. Also the music was a decent sound track.

Otherwise the game was sorely lacking. It was full of frustration that I could not make myself trudge through. Game control was irritating and the story was awful. I was hoping for a game that would be on par with Elebits but it was nowhere close. I can see how you might make an afternoon of it if you have nothing else to play but for the most part you should stay away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Frustratingly Fun

posted by Dohboy (ATLANTA, GA) Sep 28, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Dewy's Adventure is indeed a very unique game. It is from the same makers of another quirky title, Elebits. It employs you as the titled Dewy and you are a droplet of water chosen to save the denizens of the elder tree. The game uses the phases of water as a main proponent of game play. Dewy can be turned into ice, water vapor (a cloud), or back to his normal state. These phases facilitate some of the puzzle solving within the world. Lakes must be frozen before they can be crossed. Electric bolts can be used to turn on switches. Combat also uses Dewy's elemental powers. Turning Dewy into ice allows him to use an ice spin attack. Turning him into a cloud allows him to send out electric bolts. And Dewy can employ his basic jump attack to take out enemies. The game is presented in colorful detail. As mush as Elebits used the Wii remote in a unique way, so does Dewy's Adventure. The game utilizes the Wii remote's motion sensing capabilities to maneuver Dewy around the game world. The player will actually manipulate the world in which Dewy slides on, not Dewy himself. Tilting the remote around moves the world plain. The Wii remote can also be shaken to conjure up an earthquake or a windstorm. But the control is where the problem lies. The Wii remote is often not responsive enough (even in the highest sensitivity) to get accurate movements around the world. It's often frustrating to make Dewy go where you want him and often times, you'll find yourself sending Dewy off a cliff. Jumping can be just as tricky as you have no reference as to where you're jumping to. However, the game is full of charm, albeit very high on the sugar level. The different environments are colorfully detailed and has an art style that sets it apart from other games. The combat is simple, but fun. It has to be credited for the fact that it is a unique game built from the ground up for the Wii. If you're still unsure about the game, it's definitely still worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OMG

posted by seeker666 (TUCSON, AZ) Oct 17, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

OK this game absolutely sucks. i honestly don't know how this got past the game testers.

the graphics are really nice, the color scheme is moderate, and the visuals are top notch... but you see, i don't know anybody that plays a game to look at pretty colors. sure graphics are important, but he game has to be good enough to play.

the game play of this game is so beyond horrible that if there was a lower rating it would still have to go past -999999. Lets start with the controls, using the wiimote in a tilting matter isn't exactly easy, there are thousands of spots in this game that one wrong move of the wiimote and your stuck in a spot where only restarting the entire level(that's right... no check points) will get back on the right track. the enemies are weak enough to almost always die from a 1 hitter. there are 3 forms that dewey can become. water ice and mist. water is the default in which all you can do is jump and ground pound. ice is more of an offensive mode but you can't jump worth $%&#
. and mist is electric but you cant move, jump, slide, or do anything for that matter but shoot lightning, and all that does is paralyze.

so i guess what I'm saying is i wasted a week of game time waiting for this in the mail over gamefly and i kinda want it back. i'm encouraging everyone to never lay eyes on this game. and if you already got a hold of it, i absolutely feel sorry for you poor poor sap.

-99999999999 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disappointment

posted by sayandjohn (BESSEMER, AL) Feb 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

It looks interesting, but it is really weird. The controls are weird, the story line is weird. I returned it the day after I got it. I don't even think little kids can enjoy this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great Rainy Day Solution

posted by ThaSquare (ROSEVILLE, CA) Feb 12, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

Raindrops keep falling on my head! That doesn’t mean my… Oh, hi. I’ve just gotten done playing a bit of Dewy’s Adventure and I can’t keep that cute little raindrop off my mind. With such an adorable mascot, who can blame me? As Dewy, you must save the Tree of Seven Colors from the slimy clutches of Don Hedron and free the forest of the corrupting Black Water. Turn Dewy into a block of ice or a cloud to defeat any foes that Don Hedron has sent your way. Free the Eau, solve puzzles, and drizzle your way to cleaning up the land of this evil menace!

You may have noticed Dewy’s Adventure looks a little childish. Yes, this game is definitely geared toward the younger audience but the gameplay is great. It’s a cross between a ball rolling puzzle game and a platforming adventure and it pulls the mix off quite well. However, there are a few snags here and there. The game isn't too long of an adventure and the enemies so far have been very easy to take out. Other than that and keeping Dewy from falling off the edges of the map, there isn’t too big of a challenge here. There are a few problems with the controls too. Jumping isn’t the easiest thing done in this game and movements themselves seem a bit sticky. Even with a few drawbacks, Dewy’s Adventure has a bright silver lining around its clouds.

This game is a real joy to play, even if it is rather short. It’s a truly original story and it’s a great break from the usual gaming affairs. From the controls to the story and right down to the visuals, everything in this game excels. However there are some big drawbacks for older gamers. The kiddy theme is sure to detour even the most passive of players with all its cute squeaks and huggable characters and the ease of play too will have many a gamer wishing for a more difficult challenge. Even with those setbacks, the game is a knockout. It may appeal to the younger audiences but even with its bells and whistles, older gamers should find a drop or two of enjoyment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

It Had Potential

posted by LACCA88 (LOMPOC, CA) Dec 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

I was excited to get this game. I'd seen it in stores and thought the cover was so cute and that it would be alot of fun. I also noticed that it went up to 4 players so I was excited about that. The game has very cute menus and sounds but fails all around for me. Multiplayer makes no sense and isn't fun at all. Plus, when you're playing, you have to move Dewey around by tilting the wii remote and this gets frustrating. If you play too long, it starts to bug your eyes. The game had promise and a fun storyline, but it doesn't make me want to play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good for kids

posted by kynankrew (CENTENNIAL, CO) Aug 8, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

My 7 year old loved this game -- we ended up buying it from Gamefly.

The attacks and game control were pretty easy for him to master. I had to help in a couple of places that were impassible for him. There were a couple of tricky puzzles to solve, and I've observed the tilt control feature in some games to be a little difficult for younger kids. If you plan to be involved with your child as he plays, this is a great game to play together.

It has some great humor. Dewey is very cute and had my son laughing several times. (The intro scene is like having an icepick driven through your brain, but just ignore the annoying voice talent and enjoy the game).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Interesting game

posted by FRUITFRUIT (REISTERSTOWN, MD) Jun 30, 2008

Member since May 2008

I just started my account on gamefly and I only get games for the Wii. Now I have gotten about 5 games so far. But I have played many. This Dewy's so called adventure, is actually a puzzle game. I for one think that this game is quite simple. All you must do is free these weird circle things and defeat these bad guys. Pretty Simple.

When I first started the game, I was thinking: This so exciting!
When I found put that to move you had to tilt the remote, I thought it was very creative. However, after about a few hours you get bored of it.

Positive: Innovative, Interesting, Hard puzzle, addictive.

Negative: Simple, Primitive Graphics, Gets boring quickly, Simple attacks.

Bottom Line: If you are considering this game, DO NOT BUY IT OR RENT IT. I ADVISE TO ONLY GET IT IF YOU HAVE A GAMEFLY ACCOUNT!!!!!!! THAT WAY YOU CAN HAVE IT FOR A DAY OR TWO AND THEN SEND IT BACK WITHOUT HAVING TO PAY A LOT.

ONLY GET IT IF YOU ARE RENTING IT FROM GAMEFLY!!!!!!!!!!

I hope this review was helpful to you. This is my first review. I will be writing many more! If you found this helpful, look out for my next reviews COMING SOON!

HAPPY GAMING!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SUCKS

posted by Ross10 (CARMICHAEL, CA) Jun 23, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

SSSSSSSSSSSSSSSUUUUUUUUUU- UUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU- UUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU- UUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU- UUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUC- CCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCC- CCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCC- CCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCC- CCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCC- SSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS- SSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS- SSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!- !!!!WORST GAME EVER!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Controls ruined the game

posted by tictac (SCHENECTADY, NY) May 27, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I've found with Wii games that the controls can make or break a game and they broke this game. I may have gotten into this if the tilt controls weren't so hit or miss. There were times I tilted and Dewey should have gone straight and went left, should have gone backwards and he spun around in circles and then went forward. There just seemed to be no rhyme or reason to them. The button controls worked perfectly fine though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dewy Really Care?

posted by Morwii (HOWELL, MI) Feb 22, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

When I first got this game in the mail, I was expecting something far more imaginative than the lackluster and somewhat irritating game play that was Dewy's Adventure.
From the opening scene, I thought that this game had the ability to captivate the user into a friendly and quirky world. What I got was something far worse, and it all began with the controls.
Had it not been for the difficult controls, this game could've been fun. Instead, I found my self getting frustrated because Dewy wouldn't move the way I wanted him to, and instead of turning he would plummet off the cliff side. Using the nunchuck to move him around could've made things a lot easier.
When Dewy transforms into his three stages, (the predicable solid, liquid, or gas) I found that when I was the Ice Dewy, he had the same controls as the Water Dewy, so it didn't make a lot of sense to switch back in forth. Although Gas Dewy could strike more foes, he couldn't move any where and would just sit stationary. This game, for the most part, was not very hands on.
Had I read listened to the reviews, I would've spent my time playing something more developed and well thought out. So Dewy's Adventure? I give it a 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dewy made me louie

posted by Capdain (SAN JOSE, CA) Jan 8, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

PLease no, this reminds me of a Nintendo 64 game for some reason. The game play of tilting the controller to play is interesting but totally boring and loses its fun quickly. Super Paper Mario was more fun and I gave that one to my kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not my type, but still good

posted by BigTung (Austin, TX) Dec 6, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

Now, I used to love playing Marble Madness, and this game kinda reminds me of it, but as I grew older, I stopped liking this genre, so all the Mercury Meltdown, Super Monkey Ball, Pac Roll (ugh) style games I do not really like anymore. With that out of the way, I have to say, this to me was the most fun (although I actually enjoyed the minigame in Mario Galaxy that was to this style of gaming).

Pros
- the graphics are mostly clean, colorful, and crisp. although not to nintendo 1st party quality, still very good. wish all 3rd parties could have solid graphics
- tilt controls work well
- interesting take with the three levels of dewy's state (gas, liquid, solid), and how it changes how you play through the levels

Cons
- Will get boring if you're not into the above mentioned style games
- Replay value? none
- Should probably rent, no reason in owning

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Overly simplistic gameplay, not much challenge

posted by slimz0rz (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Nov 25, 2007

Member since May 2007

I rented this game because it was made by the same team who worked on Elebits. The game is charming and fun, but obviously aimed at younger gamers. The game play heavily utilizes the tilt capabilities of the wiimote and can be frustrating at times.

I'd recommend it to families comfortable with playing video games together, but don't expect game play as addictive as Elebits.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWESOME-RIFFIC!!!

posted by dewyman (BEAVERTON, OR) Nov 6, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

Alright, I don't know WHAT these other people were thinking. This game is awesome!! It challenges you to solve puzzles and battle bosses, like any good game. The color is magnificent and the game has great graphics. Plus, there are extras and things to unlock, adding to the fun.

GO DEWY!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

cute, fun platformer

posted by cometgrrl (SANTA CLARA, CA) Nov 5, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

This game was very cute, but the controls aren't as precise as I would like. I found it very hard to control at points, especially on the ice world.

If you like inventive, fun, platformers, then this game is probably for you. It's a bit like a combination of Super Mario + Super Monkey Ball, since you control Dewy primarily by tilting the world using the Wii Remote.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Konami Lost It's Edge With Wii Games!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Nov 2, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

There is no need to rent this game. You cant get past "grassland"; the controls are silly and believe it or not this is better then Elebits. I am not going to trust this pub-lish-er anymore!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

another "marble in the maze" tilt game

posted by xxXMXxx (ELK GROVE, CA) Oct 17, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

This game isnt very good.
Right off the bat, it needs to be mentioned that the Wii doesnt need any more of these "tilt the controller to move the marble/monkey in a ball/mercury droplet/water drop" games.

Dewy has a little more going for it in the way of story elements than say Kororinpa, and it does offer some variety by letting you change into a cloud to electricute enemies or ice to freeze water hazards. But when you break it down the game just isnt all that interesting for more than an hour or so.
The story is the telling of magical water droplet that is trying to save a withered tree from Blackwater (If I recall), and if you ask me, this is just an under-handed jab at the Blackwater Private Security firm protecting our leaders and diplomats from The Taliban and Al Quada over in Iraq.

Anyways, I'm pretty heated up right now thinking about the liberals trying to screw with these types of "happy land gummi drop saves the land" games, and then calling the enemy Blackwater.

The Wii needs more games where we can kill terrorists, race million dollar jet cars, or beat up gang bangers.
I'm sick of the kids table menu.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

MonkeyBall Clone

posted by MaxisNut (ELIZABETHTOWN, KY) Oct 6, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

Cut scenes that cant be avoided. Horribly cute. Like a super cutsified version of Monkey Ball.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »