Rent Devil May Cry for PS2
view large frontback

Devil May Cry

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.0

1345 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really fun, AWSOME graphics and a great story!

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) Apr 28, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

GAMPLAY: I had though that the gamplay in DMC was really boring and repetetivem, but its not. You get alot of cool weapons, you can buy alot of new abilities and string together your own combos and its really alot better than i remembered! You get anything from swords, to granade launchers and all the different guns just makes DMC a really fun and cool adventure!
STORY: The story in DMC is pretty good too. There are some parts though that seem as though they dont fit with whats going on or seem stupid in DMC ( you'll see what i mean when you play it yourself) but mostly its really good and has some good twists and touching moments.
GRAPHICS: The graphics for DMC are REALLY, REALLY good for being made in 2001! The graphics look better than some games TODAY!!! The textures and lighting and details in everything just look magnificent!
OVERALL: really fun to play, Great story, and AWSOME graphics!!!
RATING: 8.5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This thing rocks my socks!!!!

posted by Stefano (MIAMI, FL) Apr 2, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Whenever I am down, and I'm sad, I play Devil May Cry to remind me of action and violence. It excites me and it's my favorite game in the whole world!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

PS3 to PS2

posted by ibanez42 (CENTRAL, SC) Mar 12, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is a good game. It has a great story line and decent graphics. The only reason I didn't like it was beaus I played Devil May Cry 4 before I played game 1. Going from a PS3 game to an older PS2 game is not a very good idea. IF this is your first time to the series you'll love the game and should definitely check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Devil May Cry

posted by BlkWolf (PORTLAND, ME) Apr 28, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 17 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

I would have loved this game if it weren't for my stepbrother. He played it the entire time we rented it, I only got to play for about 2 hours. Kinda repitive but lots of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The original anti-hero game for the PS2.

posted by Vegito (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 14, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

A very good game, main character is like-able and the music compliments the gameplay. The RPG upgrade element was a nice touch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A warning for PS3 users

posted by greenlaser (CINCINNATI, OH) Nov 7, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

A quick warning for those who only own a PS3: I was unable to get this game to run on my 60GB PS3. I played it briefly on a friend's PS2, so I know the disc was not at fault, but since I don't own a PS2 myself I had to send it back after the 2nd level.
The small bit I played was excellent, though!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

classic!

posted by dannap (REDDING, CA) Aug 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

Hands down one of the greatest games ever. Although it's about ten years old, the graphics still look great! Gameplay is fun and action packed! The game incorporates a few innovative features into the combat, including devil trigger mode, and style rating, which encourages players to pull off skillful combos. A variety of weapons allow players to switch it up and keep things fresh. Though the factor that really makes DMC a winner is the script. Voice acting and characters really allow players to connect with the game. The game's main character, Dante, cocky and charismatic, may be one of the coolest videogame characters of all time.
All of this culminates into one of the most memorable games of all time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

absolute garbage

posted by cloud25 (TUCKERMAN, AR) Aug 16, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

worse game i have ever played. no storyline, sluggish gameplay, and wow how repetitive. Cant think of a new boss how bout lets just use the same one over and over and over. Seriously 20 something missions and only like 4 bosses total overall. I only give it a one because the site will not allow me to give it a zero.. I was very reluctant to play any game in this series, so i decided to start with the fist and man i wish i wouldn't have wasted the 4 hours it took me to beat it. worst game i have ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BES T GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED IN MY LIFE

posted by danilo (NAUGATUCK, CT) Jan 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

THIS GAME IS THE BEST BECAUSE IT IS EASY EASY GAMES ARE THE BEST THIS GAME IS BETTER THEN IT,S SEQUEL , PREQUEL , AND 4TH INSTALLMENT I JUST SIMPLY LOVE IT AND TRISH IS HOT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fun but to easy

posted by jpby93 (MOLALLA, OR) Dec 6, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

the game is fun but easy the bosses die to easy.favorite boss is th lava spider he is fun but easy. i gusse the missions r kinnd of challenghing but its just a all around easy game.

thank u game fly for a fun experince

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pretty good for an old game!!

posted by dulun21 (CHANDLER, AZ) Jan 23, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

I played devil may cry 3 just recently then decide to rent the previous games to see if they are just as good and also to understand the story.. The 2nd one is ok.. nothing especially but this game is different! Despite being a much other game than other titles in the series.. i enjoy playing this game more than with the 2nd one. The graphic still looks good, gameplay is interesting and easy to use. It could be challenging like the rest of the titles in DMC since they required you to finish your enemies in styles to earn points.. so depend on your skill and how adapt you are.. you could finish the game with easy in 5 hours or so.. or struggling from mission to mission. It's challenging.. but the game has the potential to draw me in until the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

didnt live up to my standard...but it's still good

posted by eiym1313 (OSCEOLA, WI) Nov 14, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

okay, the story is great. its really quite interesting to me. the graphics? could be better...but could be a lot worse too. i have a little problem with the gameplay. it gets repetative pretty fast. you tap buttons as fast as you can, but THAT isnt my problem. i LIKE button mashing, actually. the problem is, if you get hit once, your health takes some HUGE damage. also, one hit just stops you in your tracks. it completely stops your movement for a little too long, in my opinion. you also dont get control of the camera, which is really ANNOYING. i'd be fighting something, then suddenly i'd be facing a new angle, with NO idea where they are. and i know im DEFINITELY not the master of fighting games, but this game is hard. they just kind of throw you out there with out instruction. that's not exactly good when you get it off gamefly. one last thing that bothered me (and i know this is just weird) was that you can STEP off platforms. you can press a button to FALL off, or attempt to JUMP off, but you cant WALK off. well, regardless of that, this game IS good. i recommend that you read the instructions here on gamefly, first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good and bad points,must have ths game

posted by dnkgmr (ESSEX JUNCTION, VT) Oct 21, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

this game was decent enough. but there are some flaws that somewat hinder gameplay but not enough to kill it. examples are as follows

1.horrible camera while in movement,ex.stairs,bossba- ttles,etc....

2.repetitiveness. ex.hand in door,objective clear,and some boss battles

3. multiple encounters with same boss

4. corny one liners

there are some good points as well as bad.
examples are as follows

1.story, good vs evil,revenge,and awesome characters make it a good almost movie like trait.

2.soundtrack, mix of classical and some hard rock and organ music.

3.game play, almost similar to re4. minus the screen prompts.

over all this is why we gave it a eight and not a nine. still it is a must play for anyone who loves survival horror/action/hack and slash.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awfull

posted by chb619 (SURPRISE, AZ) Aug 8, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

This game is simply horrible the fighting is fun but very rare. The puzzles are simple and boring and the gunplay is difficult. If you want to play a good action adventure game then rent god of war or god of war 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Devil May Cry

posted by Iskream (NAPA, CA) Aug 6, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

Absolutely terrible. Maybe it was fun when it was new, but it's just monotonous now. The game consists of "puzzles" to progress. Basically this means each area is about 3 rooms, and you have to back and forth between them looking for some stupid key item while fighting endless mobs of stupid monsters. The combat system sucks, it's just a bunch of button mashing, and the jump key is triangle. Why does Capcom insist upon terrible control schemes? I'm rather annoyed that I wasted time renting this game, because now I have to wait for another one in the mail.

2/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad Game

posted by GamerBoy20 (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Jul 8, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

The graphics were ok, ok plot line, and the game play was terrible. Bad controls and bad camera angles. I wouldn't recommend this game to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mad Props for Devil May Cry...

posted by Thirdeye (COLUMBUS, MS) May 3, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

Graphics were excellect
Game progression was good
The variation in weapons was very nice and the action sequences were very good.
The storyline was a little cheezy, but all in all I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

sweet

posted by Bluewavexx (ONAMIA, MN) Apr 23, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Nice story great game wish i could buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Devils May Cry

posted by geo2005 (NEW YORK, NY) Apr 13, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

This game was really cool. The graphics and the ability to make multiple moves with guns and/or swords was incredible. Cant wait to play the other games in this series!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

PS2 Fans, play this game

posted by MrChaos (SUMNER, WA) Dec 27, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

When it first came out I didn't know what to think of it. The controls were a lot different from anything else I had ever played and the gameplay was a little bit challenging for me at first. But when you get through it, you fight huge monsters that seem almost impossible to defeat. Equipped with cool weapons such as guns or a cool sword makes this game one of the best PS2 games out there

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a really good game

posted by VGking (PUNTA GORDA, FL) Aug 7, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

these is a good game with likeble characiters and a decent story. the conbat though can get repetive is fun my only problem is that after playing through it once there are high chances you may not want to play through it again and it's only 5 hours long

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »