Rent Devil May Cry HD Collection for PS3
view large frontback

Devil May Cry HD Collection

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.4

874 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

The classics return in HD!

posted by Lucread (CLEARFIELD, UT) Apr 3, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

15 out of 15 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is an absolute must play for any and all DMC fans, especially those of us who grew up with the franchise. These games bring back a lot of fond memories of staying up late with friends from HS trying to beat that next level... the old times before online competitive play, when single player games still ruled, and you would switch turns between deaths.

On top of that, we have the return of the classic stories, and with the addition of DMC4, we now have the complete saga of Dante on one system. A chronology as confusing as can be, lol. To play these to full effect, I recommend playing them in order... not of release, but as they take place... but the requires you grab DMC4, as well. The order is as follows:

DMC3 > DMC > DMC4 > DMC2

This is, of course, becasue DMC3 is a prequel, and DMC2 is the final confrontation with the Devil (which is still one of my favorite boss fights of all time).

At any rate, I can't say enough good about these games, and this new HD transfer is just wonderful. My only complaint about it would be that they did not (could not?) render the actual FMV sequences in HD, and thus the games go in and out from full widescreen storytelling in HD to boxed 4:3 FMVs in SD... but such is only a minor inconvenience.

This is absolutely recommended to any and all DMC fans. Its sure to hold us off, at least until the reboot comes out later this year. Happy gunning!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Welcome Back!!

posted by DragonRain008 (SEVERNA PARK, MD) Apr 19, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've been wanting to play through these DMC's again and this copy makes all of that possible. This is a must have if you're a DMC fan. All I can say is great! I also can see the parts they re-mastered and the parts they didn't which is fine. Don't let that hold you back...

And for those few people giving this a negative review are probably people who never played single player games on ps1 or ps2. I mean by now everyone should know this isn't going to have ps3/xbox360 graphics so why give it a bad review because of that?? If you never been a fan of any of them why get it and give it a bad review?? If you never played any of these before and you're used to playing games from this era, still it doesn't deserve to be called a terrible game. The only thing I can say is a problem are the camera angles sometimes.

Overall, not really expensive which is a plus and it's 3 games in one. Happy Gamming!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

True Dmc Fan

posted by LeonRE (EUCLID, OH) Apr 23, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

DMC lives on in this Collections its a must buy if you Love DMC :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by shidory3905 (BRONX, NY) Apr 23, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Just like i remember from back in the days were games used to be good, now is better and its has trophies/achievements which is even better :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Classic game, "ok" port

posted by Dekaron (BLAIRSVILLE, GA) Apr 21, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Devil May Cry series is one of the best. The problem with this HD port is the amount of bugs and odd trophy list per game. It's worth a rent, I still prefer the PS2 version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible

posted by FourSquared (SILVER CREEK, NY) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

3 out of 21 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

I couldn't play it more than 20 minutes it was just simply a bad game. This has a strong cult following and if you're into it that's fine but otherwise it's not fun to play at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

camera angels are terrible

posted by tinascott (FORT WORTH, TX) Apr 16, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

camera angles are so bad to the point that i do not even want to play the game anymore. do not get me wrong the game graphics are upgraded but everything else is the same just like the ps2 version so the camera angles

suck

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DMC HD Collection

posted by mattizsokewl (LANCASTER, CA) Feb 7, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I am a full DMC fan and I love that I can play all the DMC's on one system and it does bring back fun memories of trying to get thru all the missions so if any gamers out there that really like DMC then you should get this to have the full collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

...the right idea...not yet perfected though

posted by sh4dow (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Feb 19, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

This was my first time playing the series and I have to say, I wasn't impressed...UNTIL I played part 3. part 1 was HORRIBLE in terms of game mechanics; a hack and slash should NEVER have a fixed camera system (unless it's zoomed out to view EVERYTHING).
I was constantly having to readjust my move sets during combat or even just running through the mission due to the fixed camera angles throughout the game(s). (just 1 problem, will not focus on my game in particular)
part 2 was an improvement, but not by much; they fixed a few combat problems (e.g. adding target cycling) but the fixed camera was still very much a problem. Not to mention the story was still very dull.
Part 3, tended to the aformentioned problems with a 360 camera, and a decent targeting system. It even had a compelling story.
The endless action wasn't too repetitive either, and the awesome music DURING that action really made you feel like a BEAST!! :)
It has a great "leveling" system to help make your hero stronger. and post game extras add some great re-play value to this title!
to SUM UP, HD collection isn't something I would buy, JUST RENT. DONT BOTHER PLAYING THESE FOR THE STORY since part 3 is the only one with a story.
check out youtube if you're really that curious to learn more.
Unless you're a trophy hunter or just an old fan, look for another game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Really Bad

posted by ishmaila (NEWARK, NJ) Jan 28, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

I started with 1 and after a few minutes of the camera panning every few seconds and the battle becoming repetitive, I had to return it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wow.

posted by gamefanxxx (CLAY, MI) Jan 14, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

The gameplay is is excellent, the plot is amazing, and I wouldn't mind renting it again. As my first game rental, I couldn't be happier with the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Brings back memories

posted by mrjones1982 (WEST HARTFORD, CT) Dec 16, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

THE FIRST DEVIL MAY CRY WAS MY FAVORITE OF THE SERIES BECAUSE IT INTRODUCE US TO DONTE. I HAVENT PLAYED THE THIRD ONE YET BUT THE GAME IS A PLAYBACK TO ME THE GRAPHICS ARE SO SO EVEN WITH THE HD IS STILL COME OFF A LITTLE FUZZY ON THE WALLS. THE GAMEPLAY JUST A SMOOTH AS THE PAST AND THE STORY IS JUST FUN TO PLAY. ITS DEFINETLY WORTH A 30 DOLLOR PURCHASE NOT A 59 DOLLOR PURCHASE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ehhh

posted by synysterjman (WILMINGTON, NC) Nov 3, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

never played series before didn't get 10 minutes into game b4 I packed it up and shipped it back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

no good

posted by Cabo (PALM BAY, FL) Sep 24, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

the movement and agles really stink on this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Capcom Port = Lazy Port

posted by CreepingDeath29 (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 17, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

The two great DMC games ported to the PS3, just the cut-scenes are not updated to HD and there are some problems from the port visual/sound gameplay-wise though it's not that noticible.

If you don't got DMC1 or DMC3 Special Edition, get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

No Easy Mode

posted by minastirith81 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Sep 11, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Ok this game had the makings for a fun game but there was no easy mode for people like me that are not particularly good at video games. Then I tried to have my sister's boyfriend (who incidently is very good at video games and plays everything on hard) help me and even he was having trouble. So overall I was very dissapointed in this game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great Games, Horrible Port

posted by venom3 (MEDFORD, OR) Aug 2, 2012

Member since Mar 2006

I want to say that I love Devil May Cry. I own the original on PS2 and even now the graphics are still good. When I saw this port, I thought that it would be the best of both worlds: DMC on PS3! No more taking out my PS2 to play it. When it arrived today, i was excited and then reality struck.
1. Graphics
It's called HD Classics, Right? Well, I have not noticed any amazingly changed graphics. The only thing I noticed was the lighting was a little brighter than the first, but that's it.
2. Gameplay
This is what gets the most criticism. First, in all the games, the Buttons are switched. In the original DMC, You would make Dante jump using the Triangle button, and all the other buttons are either melee attack or examine. In this version, you use the X Button to jump, Triangle and Squares buttons to examine, and the triangle to attack. I'm guessing it was done to simplify control, and the Triangle to X switch is to appeal to American audiences, but They didn't need to do this! Veterans will find the game more difficult because of this switch. Also, they added new material into the game! In the original DMC, after you get the Pride of the Lion, you go and use it, and you're done with that part. In this version, they add a new boss! He isn't really that hard, but this just makes me mad!
3. Overall
Overall, the games are masterpieces, but this port is majorly disappointing. Newcomers to the series can start with this no problem, but veteran DMC Fans will find difficulty in the controls and added materials. I would recommend Renting the original versions on PS2 due to the unneeded switches and added material.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great games, lazy port

posted by fogopop (SUNRISE, FL) Jul 30, 2012

Member since Feb 2007

My review score isn't entirely based on the quality of the games themselves (I give the games a 10) but rather the quality of the porting, Gameplay is in HD, but the menus and cutscenes are in standard definition. Subtitles don't appear onscreen for every character. I'm not deaf, but I have a cousin who is, and if he wanted to play this he'd be out of luck in that department. I turn on subtitles in games and movies so I can pick up on everything that's being said. The games themselves are a blast, though. Just be aware of minor flaws when going into them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

If only the sound worked.

posted by Caleb_B (DANNEBROG, NE) Jul 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

The combat in this game is fun and feels satisfying. I was having a great time playing this game until I turned my PS3 off. The next time I turned it on and started playing again, the sounds felt weird. I noticed that the gun sound effects were quieter than they were the last time I played, and that the dialogue in the cutscene with the demon boss spider (which worked perfect the first time I saw it) was completely gone. Vanished. There was absolutely no words coming out of the character's mouths when they were talking. I tried restarting my PS3, looked it up online, but I couldn't find a fix to the problem. I was really excited to play these games, but glitches like that made it unplayable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Devil May Cry Collection

posted by Captain_Crunch1 (QUINCY, MA) Jul 7, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

the collection represents 1,2,3 unlike the other ps3 collections this packs them all..usually u get 2,3 but not 1? ok 1 is where it starts its more story based or structured,slow pace,but it packs some action,puzzle solving..2 is not as great but does pack in some moves,it gets better,3 is where all the action is,my personal favorite,its hard as heck bosses,fights but its rewarding,stylish,alot of constant attacking,u need to be alert,can get frustarting but worth playing to beat,this collection if u dont own,or want a few trophies by all means rent,or buy,it packs all in one..the hd looks a bit smoother thats about it..for the devil may cry fan in you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

read

posted by yeaiamgreat (ELMWOOD, TN) Jun 10, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

cant wait to play havent in years

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Devil May Cry HD Collection - A Gamers Review

posted by cheeko2222 (MIFFLINTOWN, PA) Jun 3, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2011

Devil May Cry was one of the first games that made the action adventure games. It was always a uniquely different style of game because there was always plenty of action with some sense of humor. Now, after almost a decade has passed since Devil May Cry 3 Capcom has come out with Devil May Cry HD Collection featuring the very first Devil May Cry games in HD.

Gameplay - Devil May Cry's gameplay is always the same simple game style; shoot, dodge, slash, repeat. It is fun to just go into the next room and kill everyone but after a while it starts to get repetitive.

Presentation - The way these games are set up for the story is in order of DMC 3, DMC 1 and finally DMC 2. DMC 3 is about Dante trying to destroy his twin brother, Virgil's, plan to rule the underworld and unleash heck upon Earth. DMC 1 is about trying to get rid of the demons that are still trying to get onto Earth and DMC 2 is when the demons finally reach Earth and Dante tries to get rid of them....and the devil.

The Verdict - With good visuals, especially from a PS2 series, DMC HD Collection is worth every penny for if you want to go through the story once and then after that sell it. I give DMC HD Collection 7.5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »