Rent Devil May Cry HD Collection for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Devil May Cry HD Collection

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.0

1167 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Its Alright

posted by jasonamy123 (EDGERTON, WI) Dec 3, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you want to just relive the 3 games, its good. but they did not make any cut-scenes in hd so everything is blurry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Same but BETTER

posted by invyking (MAXIE, VA) Mar 30, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

16 out of 19 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

First off I've played DMC 1-3 on the original PS2 so I'd know what to expect. This HD collection has improved the graphics and it is noticeable, if you are a huge fan this is a MUST guy. The camera angles can be a little iffy at times, but it is manageable. Overall all, if your a fan of this series buy it!! If not, defiantly rent this and give it a chance, see how long you stayed glued to your chair. (:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Yes!

posted by Mkaze (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 8, 2012

Member since May 2012

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I have only played DMC 4 so I was anxious for this to come out. I started playing from the very beginning of DMC1 and have not been disappointed! I'm loving it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

DMC HD Collection

posted by A0Nobody13 (LIVINGSTON, TX) Apr 1, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Love the updated graphics while playing the games but the menus, the movie cut-scenes, gallery on the games themselves weren't updated sadly. All in all I still love these games (1&3 could care less about 2) one of the biggest disappointing factors to me was the fact I couldn't shoot/slice the loading screen on 3 anymore nor could you play co-op at the end nor with the doppelganger and I was really looking forward to those features plus the unlock everything cheats for the costumes don't work either. To me it was still worth every penny it will bring me months of enjoyment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bringing back the original

posted by Demon1337 (HARTSVILLE, TN) Sep 24, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have been playing this for a few days now and i have to say it really takes me back to the originals. While i didnt care much for DMC 3 i loved 1 and 2 and really do enjoy the ability to earn achievements on the the oldies. Really thinking on buying this one!

The graphics while not really updated are still nice considering the age of these games but replaybility is where this series has thrived. Bringing you the ability to go as long as you can go in the arena style fighting. I highly suggest everyone play this series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

COOLEST COLLECTION

posted by game_master13 (DOWAGIAC, MI) Jul 21, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This collection had the best games i have ever played.They look fantastic play great and have very lovable characters.The bosses are great they make them seem impossible to beat but end up having some sort of weakness.Yeah it may take you a long time to beat one even if you know the weakness but every boss is cool and fun to fight. I loved that there were puzzles in the games mostly in DMC1 it was kinda like playing the legend of zelda games. I urge anyone who wants to play this BUY IT!!!! ITS THE BEST

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

DIZZY MUCH?

posted by Kathemro (MILFORD, NH) May 31, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The third game in this collection is decent. The camera mostly stays in one spot unless you pan it, and panning is rather slow.
The first two games made me SO dizzy. NOT recommended for people who don't like cameras that change angles every 5 seconds! I would have liked to play this, maybe it would have been better had I played when they first came out.
Overall, not pleased. Returned the day after I received it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great update still same problems !!

posted by MartialLaw01 (HINESVILLE, GA) Apr 8, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

First off I respect the DMC series, and what it means to the gaming community. It also was a series that changed the hack and slash genre. My biggest gripe is the camera in all these games, when your fighting bosses or just looking around it confuses you at times! Then there's just the sheer annoying gameplay that just makes you want to take the disc out an throw it in the trash. I gave this game a shot thinking that they revamped the gameplay and camera along with the graphics, alas great graphics just same reason I bought DMC on PS2 an just hated it. I'm just glad Capcom finally took this series back to the reboot stage. My suggestion if your a diehard fan you'll love it if your new to the series my suggestion is rent it first !!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Devil May Cry

posted by YakuzaShiro (BLACKSBURG, VA) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

To be honest I really just can't stand older games. This game seems to be exactly the same with a slight graphic improvement. If you liked the Devil May Cry series this would be perfect for you, otherwises stay away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Smashin Demons with guns and swords AWSOME

posted by Terror (WILMINGTON, DE) Aug 30, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Kickass dante killing demons with guns and swords with great stories and also secrets and tons of types of guns and awsome bosses.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

More annoying than fun but a decent collection

posted by DanNaruto1 (CHANNAHON, IL) Jun 23, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Terrible camera, cheap bosses and deaths, and no sense of direction, those are the terms I would use to describe the collections of 1, 2, and 3. The 3rd was the best, the 1st was decent, but the 2nd sucked. Overall a score of 3 out of 5 or a 6 out of 10. If you like to have the sensation to throw your controller into your TV, then this is the game for you, but otherwise pass.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow this game is dated

posted by Brnhornet (ROSEVILLE, CA) Apr 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 28 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

played 1 mission...put it back in sleeve and mailed it back!!

I think I enjoyed the installing of the data to my xbox more then the controls and opening mission!!

Avoid! dont waste a rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

really?

posted by jsp (TULSA, OK) Jul 21, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

I was a fan of the series as a kid but this is just a joke. I played for exactly 13 mins before I put it back in its sleeve and sent it back.

HD? only if your in 1998. random additions to control scheme are a nice touch but they ignored the fluidity issues of a static camera IE the perspective shift that changes your directions.

I have never rated a game so low - not worth your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome game

posted by GoDCoMpLeX00 (JOHNSTON, RI) May 21, 2013

Member since May 2013

so the graphics definently arent hd....at all..but im not going to make a big deal out of that...i got this along with the new one so i could go on a big DMC binge and the game is awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Devils Don't Cry...on this Review!

posted by Ashes_Darkmare (CENTRAL FALLS, RI) Apr 16, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I give this game a 7 because it not bad, gets very challenging at times but only when you don't know what to do with it. The game can get you lost sometimes not sure what to do next but sometimes it takes me 30 minutes to figure out something that can be done in 5 or less... its okay though. Nice set of games put together.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A bad port overall

posted by tdlyle (AUSTIN, TX) Oct 15, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

Honestly the camera was so bad I couldn't even stand to play it. Played one time and instantly returned.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same Stuff

posted by DeLuX (VINELAND, NJ) Aug 7, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

No improvement in graphics whatsoever. Returned

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

If you liked the originals you will love it

posted by vorlon27 (NORTH VERSAILLES, PA) May 3, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I played the first and the 3rd one years ago the 4th was my favorite. But if your in the mood for Devil may cry you will be happy. If you haven't played them there isn't much here to miss. The camera is rough, the controls are stiff and not enough control. I rate this game 5 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »