Rent Devil May Cry 4 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Devil May Cry 4

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.4

14691 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

you wanna know the name?

posted by foolmanchu (BRISTOL, WI) Feb 15, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

100 out of 121 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

DEVIL MAY CUTSCENE

okay so thats not REALY the the name, but it should be. NOT that im complaining. if your a DMC fan, then you know what these games are all about.
1.over-the-top action...check
2.a wicked story line...check
3.awesome cutscenes...check
4.a wicked story line with over-the-top action packed awesome cutscenes...BIG check.

the story and the cutscenes are the foundation of these games, anyone who has played them knows this, and anyone who has played more than one of them is most likely to think that this is the best part of the game (the story/cutscenes, that is).
but why do we play videogames? for the gameplay of course. if i wanted to watch a movie i'd illeagally download-imean,i'd GO TO THE MOVIE THEATER......
so how does the game play? magnificently, thats how. in this game we are introduced to a new hero, Nero(ha, rhyme). now, i know what ur thinkin (if ur a fan), and i thought the same thing too, Dante is what makes this game, right? well, yes and no. There is no cooler character out there than Dante, but Nero brings a much needed fresh breeze to the franchise. he plays completely differently than dante, and trust me, you WILL like it.
why? heres why.
1.his sword is FUEL INJECTED FOR SPEED!(necessary? no, cool,yes.)
2.his revolver fires two rounds at once.
3.he has a demon arm that can grab stuff from a mile away and SMASH IT INTO OBLIVION!
need i say more? thought not. but i will (so there).
this game is awesome, and if your a fan...its even awsomer(yes...awsomer). there are only a few problems i have with it.
1. WHEN you do FINALY play as Dante(sigh of releif), he has all his skills exept the ability to run on walls....sniffle.
2. there are a lot of unanswered questions. i leave it to you to figure out what those questions are(dont wanna spoil anything for ya).
3. the game is too short. even though you wont get lost as often as you did in the previos titles' maps, its still short.
anyways....at least rent this game. 9 of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game!!!

posted by brandonrae (REDLANDS, CA) Jul 28, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

18 out of 22 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

this game is great it has a good story line and many ways to kill all the demons you could ever want. the bosses have plenty detail and this game can keep you entertained for hours(6-7) hours if you know exactly where to go.

CONS: the only cons about this game are that the camera view can be annoying at times and if you dont know where you are going on this game YOU CAN GET LOST and it will take you along time to find the right way. also the cutscenes are very long so if you dont have a very long time, i reccomend you skip the cutsenes because they can last up till 15 min.but if you skip the cutscenes you will miss a whole bunch of the story and will have no idea what is happening.

OVERALL: overall this is a great game and anyone can get into it even if they havent played the devil may cry series before and i definately reccomend it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Devil May Cry 4 Review

posted by Mirafangs (MARYVILLE, TN) Dec 30, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

22 out of 28 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

I just beat the game last night, and I loved it. It had a good story line, and the cut scenes weren't too long or melodramatic like in Final Fantasy.
The world itself wasn't a terrible maze either, and the combat style of both characters is very easy to get used to, even though Dante can be a bit troublesome on some enemies without Nero's demon arm.
As for the rating, i think they over exaggerated as usual. The characters rarely curse, and when they do it's just the minor words. The sexual themes is entirely because of a female character who is rather skimpily dressed, and one of the bosses. As for violence and blood, of course there'll be, it's a fighting game. Though in some of the cut scens characters get run through with swords that are often bigger than they are, when the sword is removed there's just a shower of blood and you never see any wounds or innards.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It's beautiful, so why does it suck?

posted by uberjack (Glendale, CA) May 6, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I've had this game rented for the last month or so, but I'm still trying to figure out whether I like it or not. One thing for sure - playing in casually in human mode is almost worthless - I never seem to be able to amass enough bloody heads or "proud souls" (what the fudge - "proud souls"? five bucks says that this is just a bad Japanese translation) to upgrade my character in decent fashion. I'm more than halfway into the game, and I barely have enough to buy two or three upgrades out of around 20.

The game is ridiculously beautiful, and while I don't agree with the art direction (the basic monsters are basically dolls sewn out of potato sacks), it at least has some artistic direction (think baroque meets contemporary meets weirdness). Unfortunately, it seems like that's all it is - a good looking, but weak, and occasionally frustrating game.

While the levels in this game are not exceptionally long, they have no checkpoints. If the level involves some sort of a difficult passage or trap before a boss encounter, losing to the boss is an ugly and frustrating event. While you can buy artifacts to replenish your health when you die (think of them as "extra lives"), they are ridiculously costly (the price seems to rise exponentially the more of them you buy), and you will probably reach a point where you just can't afford to buy one after every level. Being stuck with a boss when that happens is probably not something you want.

Weapons in DMC4 are a mixed bag - there's some good use of swords, which makes for some spectacular combos - the devil arm is quite useful also. As for the gun - it's quite useless, as it deals almost no damage.

Overall, it's a very pretty game, with a story that's mostly worthless (unless you like bubblegum anime), and gameplay that ranges from 'meh' to infuriating. To describe this game in one sentence, I would have to say that it's a lot like "Castlevania on craack". Very fast, very flashy, but little substance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's the Little Flaws That Count...

posted by timissmexy (FREMONT, CA) Feb 9, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

16 out of 27 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing. Having never played any of the DMC series, I really didn't know what to expect with this one. Right off the back I was thrown into an amazing plot line (my friend who had played the series had to explain a few things to me), but I picked up on it pretty fast. For newcomers, the tutorial notes are very well done, I had no problem picking up on the controls. This game graphic wise looks amazing. Multiple times I've taken a while to start playing again after passing through to a new area, because the shot looked so good I thought it was a loading screen. Combat on this game is almost perfect. I would have enjoyed more animations for the fight scenes, as after a while you found yourself doing the same moves over and over. This game, problem wise, just has the generic capcom blunders. The map is so big that it can in places be confusing what to do or where to go. THE REASON I RATED THIS GAME AN 8 INSTEAD OF A 9 RIGHT HERE: CHECKPOINTS ANYONE???? This has the generic capcom "Savings for quitters" attitude. I played a level 3 times just to beat it. The first time, I got almost to the end, but didn't know how to get past a fireball, and it ended up bludgeoning me to death. To me dismay, I found myself at the start of the level again. 20 minutes later, I'm at the same spot. I get past the fire, and discover a secret level mini game! Unclear on what to do in this mini game, I loose. All of a sudden, I find myself having to redo the whole level. SECRET MISSIONS COUNT FOLKS!!!! After that, I nervously spent another 30 minutes completing the mission, which was basically just pushing blocks around with minimal combat. This game could have gotten a 10 from me IF: A. It had better camera angles, the camera angles are good, but their not at the level I'd like them to be. B. Save checkpoints so I don't have to do useless labor over and over. and C. more animations. Overall, still a beautiful game, a definite rent, possible buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Most Excellent

posted by Marks76 (COLUMBIA CITY, OR) Feb 7, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

16 out of 27 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

I played the first Devil May Cry but for some reason never made it around to parts 2 and 3. After playing through 11 missions on part 4 I remember what a great game is. I have not had this much fun playing a game in a long time. The special challenges you find within the levels, are just that challenges and are far from easy. Thank you Capcom.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I was very into the game until.....

posted by Fusion13 (HOWELL, MI) Feb 11, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Devil May Cry 4, I love the DVC series! especially DMC1. I WAS very into DMC4 until I got into about the middle of the game. The game just got really annoying. You start going back into the same maps, it seems you just do the same thing over and over and over again and again! I was about to just quit the game, but I didn't, I gave the game a chance to see if it will change after a couple missions, but it didn't. the fighting get VERY repetitive. Don't get me wrong though I LOVE fighting, especially with swords and guns, that's why I love the DMC series, but it gets to darn repetitive and annoying. Nothing like DMC1. It's weird because in the fist half of the game you fight as nero ( I believe that's what his name is) and he looks just like Dante. Similar except nero has a devil arm. And l8r in the game you get to play as dante, and when that happens you wish you could still play as nero because dante doesn't even compare to what you can do with nero. Dante's moves and combos just doesn't seem as smooth as nero's and it gets very annoying. You will miss nero's throws and body slams. AT first I would've gave this game a 8.5,
but after half way threw the game I just lost interest. So I will give this game 6.5-7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

with failure comes success.

posted by yumbynhhyy (CANTONMENT, FL) Feb 7, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

13 out of 26 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

if you were thrown off by dmc 3 intense difficulty
and very dark levels then your fine now the game is now very bright outdoor levels and dark 50/50 % of the time
the games difficulty has been toned down a lot but dont worry if you love the finger burning difficult
gameplay the game has 4 difficulty setting two from the start this game is over flowing with cut scenes
and thats not a bad thing the story is very great
it starts as nero the new main character is attending a ceremony of his well cult that worships sparda because he turned his back on demons
then suddenly Dante crashes through the overhead window and assassinates nero's leader that is how the tale begins Dante is also playable half way through the game he play a lot differently than nero so you wont get board also some major gmes sites have been saying that the game play is repetitive but that is untrue each weapon comes with about 4 combos including air combos AND neros
devil bringer witch also adds juice to your combos
then there are a lot of weapons and you also level your weapons up witch give them even more combos and skills lots of bonus content and a bloody palace mode lots of replay value very heavy soundtrack lots of action cut scenes emotional long story so even if you thought dmc 3 and 1
were only ok you will love this theres somthing for everyone only 1 problem this is all i could tell lady and trish from dmc3 and dmc1 dont matter much to the story witch is very disappointing also a few other characters show up from other dmc games but ill leave that for you to decide one final not the game has check points now so if you die you dont have to start all over

a low 10/10 one more problem would have made it a 9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Gets dull quickly

posted by JDShkolnik (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 10, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

62 out of 136 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

Why did I rate this so low? I certainly seem to be in the minority but I'll try to explain. God of War 2 is my favorite game of all time so I have nothing against button mashers, and certainly the graphics seem nice.

I played this up until I killed Agnus then I spent the next twenty minutes running around trying to figure out where to go next. First I ran all the way back, retracing my steps, because it said it was time to return to HQ only to find out that wasn't the way to go. I ran back and tried to figure out where in Fortuna Castle I was meant to go. After a while I realized that even if I found the next direction, the game had lost my interest and it was likely this would happen again later. In short, the design is very poor. It doesn't flow intuitively (when is Japanese design ever intuitive?). There were quite a few instances leading up to my quitting that I had to run and look for the next path, but it was never as bad as the final one.

I felt the gun was superfluous. It does so little damage and is so uninteresting to use you always end up fighting with the sword. Having to press the button to keep shooting can get downright painful after a while.

The fighting was dull. You can basically do that charge attack through everything in your way with the occasional throwing of someone into the air and doing the split. No skill necessary except trying to adapt to the fast-changing camera perspectives.

The camera is horrid. I can't even count how many times it screwed up my movement or hindered the gameplay. Like running into a staircase and then the camera instantly switches and you run right back out again. It's funny but ridiculous.

The cut scenes didn't weigh much in my rating but wow...the Japanese need to hire some American writers. They pile in so much cheesy bad dialogue and plotlines it becomes very difficult to watch. It's so bad it begins to affect how you view the game.

I am disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good...but..

posted by Chill398 (STONE RIDGE, VA) Feb 7, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

9 out of 19 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

This is a very refreshing title for the series. The gameplay is solid and the graphics are very well done. The only part of it that really frustrates me is the secret challenges found thoughout the levels. They constantly ask you to do things that you are never told how to do in teh game or the manual. For instance one might be to execute 5 "royal guards" (or maybe its blocks) to complete it but nowhere is it explained to you what these are. I think its pretty poor for them to just expect gamers to know some concepts from the past games and not tell you how to do them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could have been so much better

posted by TheMailman (ALBION, RI) Feb 26, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Right off the bat let me tell you that I have enjoyed the first 3 DMC games. Even pulling my hair out in 3. DMC 4 could have been so much better but it comes up woefuly short in many areas.

First the good. The Graphics and cut scenes are of course top notch. Mostly smooth and flowing with very few visual glitches. The music and sound is also pretty fitting. I enjoyed the goth/metal bands playing during my fight scenes. The combat was also well done. But come on they've had 4 trys to get it right so it should be pretty good.

Now the bad. The story overall is shallow and predictable. The character dialog and voice acting is laughable in some areas. ( with the exception of Dante who is always smooth...if a bit cheasy).

The Level design is deplorable. Most of the time is spent backtracking trough empty areas trying to move to the next path.

The Guns are next to useless for the majority of the game. With the exception of Pandora of course.

Why did I have to fight the same 3 bosses 9 times???? Are you serious? Berial again....

I played through on demon hunter difficulty my first playthrough and let me tell you it was incredibly hard to defeat the bosses. If you can one shot a boss I give you credit because most of the time it was like 7-10 takes before I would get it right.

I know I'm in the minority here but this game simply wasn't as good as its hype. Better than alot of the drivel we've been seeing but hardly a groundbreaker.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It was good

posted by Matter1387 (MERCER ISLAND, WA) Feb 12, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

but I thought the camera angles killed it, they kept screwing me over, plus the campaign was odd, because it never told you where to go in the level.

I though it was good but only a 4 rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

That was fun...

posted by SgtGodzill (LAFAYETTE, CO) Feb 22, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've never played a game in the Devil May Cry series before (but I did read general plot summaries before playing this one), so this is my first one. And what a game it was. First off, the graphics are simply phenomenal. Especially during the cutscenes, which were the most cinematic cutscenes I've seen since... well, I can't remember last time I saw cutscenes this good. The gameplay is really quite varied in that there are tons of enemies to fight with tons of (awesome) unlockable attacks. The bosses are all massive, albeit a bit on the easy side. This game is great for novices and people new to the series, as it not only gives the option to play on Human mode (read: easy) but also offers an "automatic" mode, where all you need to do is press the attack button repeatedly to pull off some pretty amazing combos, eliminating the need to memorize all your unlocked moves. Many other modes are available (although you have to unlock most of them), which makes playing the same levels over and over again bearable. Also, halfway through the game, it switches you from playing as Nero (the guy on the cover) to playing as Dante (the guy in all the other games) who has a ton of different movesets, which you select with the d-pad. My only real complaints are that, at times, playing on the harder difficulties makes the game quite a bit too challenging and that after you switch to Dante, the rest of the game is back-tracking through Nero's levels, fighting the same bosses (but they are more powerful the second time around) and then you have to fight all the bosses again towards the end of the game. So prepare to fight the same bosses three times each playthrough. In all, I'd say this is definitely worth playing, even if you are new to the series, and the difficulty and gameplay are varied and easily controlled.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Devil May Cry 4

posted by Icetroll (CENTENNIAL, CO) Feb 20, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

Devil May Cry looked beautiful as far as visuals go. I found the game to be very narrow and it forced you down a ridged path. The camera angles also were very clunky and annoying. The boss fights are very fun and exciting however the game just feels out of date with a nice engine slapped on top. If you are a fan of japanese style hack and slash then you will probably enjoy it. This was not my cup of tea.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Wanted to like it.

posted by hayabusaslice (HIGHLAND, CA) Apr 16, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Just too much it's doing wrong. I hate the back tracking. I hate that you can go back to any spot. I hate that the camera ofter points you into the wrong direction, and you end up getting lost. I hate that the enemies don't even fight back. They just stand there and balance on one leg. I hate that the character never seems to have enough reach to hit his enemies. I hate the controls and recovery frames of the animations. I played up until Mission 10, and decided I'm not gonna try and force myself to enjoy it. It was just completely boring. As bad as NG3 was, I still think it was a far more enjoyable experience. This game came out a long time ago, and this was my first time playing it in 2012, so maybe I have already been spoiled by other games and mechanics. I thought Castlevania Lords of Shadows was a much better game. This was just a very boring game to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Is this really DMC4?

posted by JSakon (BAY CITY, MI) Oct 12, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Feels like im playing devil may cry original. They have made no strides to change gameplay at all. And with a stale story line this doesnt have much going for it. Unless you enjoy playing Dante and his metro-sexual buddies I wouldnt recommend picking this up unless your THAT die hard of a fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is beast!!

posted by carbonsnak (WEST PALM BEACH, FL) Jul 8, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is freaking awesome. The graphics are amazing even on a standard tv (no HD). IT gets very challenging when you unlock other difficulties. However when it comes to achievement most people wouldn't want to keep it but i did. Most of the achievement will unlock after you play a while and get your skills up. The game isn't just a regular button masher it involves some strategy and thinking which makes it fun. But i love this game overall. Any questions email me at nysbestgamre at yahoo . com

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Another excellent piece of garbage from Capcom

posted by PeteWad (HASKELL, NJ) Feb 18, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

i've played all the other DMC games before and they've all disappointed me. after playing through the first few levels of DMC4 i actually thought they got it right this time...NOPE! at least in previous DMC's you had a few weapons to choose from but now all you get is this stupid sword that dose the same 4 combos throughout the whole game. the gun is completely useless. after level 5 enemies get to so ridiculous and annoying you'll want to avoid any fights you can. in level 10 i spent the better part of my weekend trying to beat Dante( worst boss battle ever). camera angles suck just like every other Capcom action/adventure title. the game does look nice and the cut scenes/story is pretty good but the game gets old faster than you can complete a mission.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game I've ever played in 20+ years.

posted by muhnooer (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 4, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Reasons DMC4 is Hit or Miss:

1) controls - bad default layout, painful after 20 minutes.
2) limited character control - hack shoot hack = boring.
3) poor level design - I'm sorry but if you design a room that requires you to replay 15 minutes of the game every time you make 1 mistake, with multiple options to make that mistake, you as a game designer need to go back to school.
4) overall high expectations of player - don't make the game BORING because I've never played DMC before, sorry but I have other things to do and other games I might want to play.

I can imagine why this game got an 8 average, but there's too much keeping a novice from enjoying it to the point where they'd be remotely capable of scoring it at that. In the meantime I'll be re-playing 99 Nights to fulfill my action-game needs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a great game...but it feels last-gen

posted by imperial (WILLIAMSVILLE, VT) Feb 8, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

first of all I played DMC 1, 2 and three all multiple times so I know what Im talking about when I say that DMC 4 is a bit disappointing. Not to say that the game is bad however the main protagonist, Nero, is a bit annoying an after a few hours that annoyance is amplified quite a bit. Nero while still pretty darn kick-butt is still not quite as kick butt as Dante is and although you do get to play as Dante his appearance in the game is brief and feels like token fanfare. Nero's character is a lot like younger Dante's. He is sarcastic and jaded and a bit of a trashtalker. But luckily for him he can back up his words. Which brings up a question. Why bother focusing on a character so similar to Dante when you can just have Dante? I don't find the game's focus on Nero to be entirely a bad thing, but I would still rather play as Dante. The gameplay in DMC4 is great but it just feels too much like the previous three games rehashed with a shiny new coat of high def graphics. The controls and experience are excellent save for an annoying camera which becomes confused when fighting up against angles and bounces around. The sound is pretty good but on my SS setup the audio sounds muted and distorted.
Buy/Rent:it really could be either way on this one . If your a fan of the franchise buy it but if your just curious give it a good rent before you decide.
Overall: A great game. But unfortunately the gameplay is stuck in last gen and their choice of characters seems to me to be a mistake.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Wow what a disappointment

posted by Yogurt109 (MILLERSBURG, OH) Mar 9, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

DMC4 was my first try at the series and I thought it looked pretty good. However once it started I realized it like several other games put more emphasis on cut scenes or video than game play itself. The fighting was pretty simple to follow however it was repetitive and some of the moves I found myself not hitting the correct timing of the buttons to get to perform correctly. I fully understand a button combo but timing between pressing the same button? Sometimes it worked sometimes it didn't maybe that was me though.

My son also tried this and he was much more interested in it than I was and he wanted to give it a rating of 1. Now seeing as to there were upsides to the game video, cut scenes though were long and over used they were nice graphic wise I could not bring myself to giving it that terrible of rating.

After playing this for a much as I could stand I am confident in saying I will skip DMC5 when and if it ever comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Slam Stunk!

posted by Turnbuckle (PEMBROKE, NH) Mar 9, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is for ADD kids or something and technically, I am an ADD kid. This game proves the diagnosis given to me, about me, to be, incorrect. So very not up my alley. All of the missions are so faced paced that while playing you don't get to enjoy the amazing graphics. Some of the rooms in this game are so detailed that you want to just stand still for a few think about them and absorb them. But you can't because all of the missions are timed and if you waste even a little of it, you get a much lower score. To the point where you'd have to play the game twice, once to beat with a high score and once to actually enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible isn't even close...

posted by damianjay1 (BALTIMORE, MD) Feb 26, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

...to describing how painfully boring, dull, and dismal this game is. Thank God I just rented it, rather than purchasing it. The game is slow, cut scenes are boring and achievement points are close to unattainable. Granted I devoted most of my time to Call Of Duty 4, While I had this title, but still, very boring game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad

posted by burnze148 (HAMBURG, NY) May 31, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

terrible game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Truly awful game, wish I never played it

posted by AceMilo (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Feb 19, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Where do I begin with this game? I rented it because of all the hype surrounding it and all the positive reviews. I've never played the first 3, but I figured they're all the same so I wouldn't be missing anything (and I was right about that). The game is basically a movie with some playable scenes as a game inbetween. You basically watch a 2 minute cut scene, play for about 5 minutes, watch another cutscene, fight a boss, watch another cutscene, and repeat 20 times. The cutscenes are actually more enjoyable to watch than playing the game. It's overly difficult and it seems to be that way just for the sake of being difficult, it doesn't make the game more enjoyable or advance the story, its just hard for the sake of being hard. It's not hard like the enemies are too strong or they have better reflexes, they're just cheap. You can be in an uncontrollable move (like when you do a special move you can't do anything while its attacking) and the enemies will still be able to hit you. The worst thing about the game is the camera. It's truly unbearable. I've died more times because of the camera than anything else. When you actually are playing and not watching a cutscene, it's just not fun. I got more enjoyment out of the cutscenes than the actual gameplay. Another thing is that you can't just beat the levels, you have to beat them with style to get the most points so you can buy upgrades. The less upgrades you get the harder the game is and the harder to get more points, etc. Overall it seems like a way for ppl to try to show off how good they can remember combos and time everything more than a real game. As an overall game experience, this game was horrible and is truly one of the worst games I have ever played, ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse