Rent Devil May Cry 4 for PS3
view large frontback

Devil May Cry 4

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.7

7736 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not as good as DMC3, but pretty freakin close!!

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) Feb 8, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

37 out of 49 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

First I wanted to point out that I have been looking forward to this game since i first heard it was being made which was liek back in 2006. I am a HUGE HUGE DMC fan and when i got this game i was overjoyed beyond belief. Then i started playing it and i saw that there where a few faults with it. The biggest mistake being that the enemies arent as combo worthy as in dmc3. WHat i mean by that is that almost EVERY single enemy in DMC3 where enemies that you could utilize any style or combo on. In dmc4, there are several enemies that you can do a bunch of SSStylish combos on, but many that you are bit more limited in what you do either because they have sheilds or some kind of protective thing on that you have to break through or weaken first to start hurting the enemy. Its more resemblant to DMC1's enemies but the combat and pure fun of beating your enemies is like DMC3. Anyway, the next mistake in the game is Dante. I know your saying "WHat the Bleep is he thinking?!" but hear me out. The enemies where designed to be fought by nero mostly, and when you switch to dante, all the enemies that could be hurt better by nero's devil bringer now cant because dante doesnt have that so many of the enemies with the shields and protective barriers are now more annoying to defeat. But that doesnt mean dante isnt fun to play as. You can choose between any of his 4 styles from DMC3 and change them on the go in mid-combat. This makes for some extremely sweet combos and moves especially when you also get darkslayer as an extra style and can switch to that also! Then you get three new weapons that are each unique and totally SSStylish in their own way. The story is very good in this DMC. Even though its mostly centered around nero, its still a cool mix of characters and plot. The graphics are amazing except for the shadows. Also, this is the first PS3 game to have acievemnets!
GAMEPLAY:9.8/10
GRAPHICS:9.5/10
DESIGN:9/10
CONTROLS:9.6/10
STORY:9.5/10
OVERALL:9.8/10. A must have!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Could it get any better?

posted by kuciebil (BLOOMINGTON, IN) Feb 8, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

If you liked any of the DMC series your going to want to pick up this game immediately. The graphics are perfect, and the game play itself is so easy to pick up. I would recommend keeping off automatic so your not always just flying at the enemy. I found myself not using the gun as much but I didn't need though thanks to Neroe's Devil Bringer. Why shoot at somebody when you can pull him towards you and completely dominate him. In the boss battles you can even activate special moves with it.
When you finally get to play as Dante it takes a little getting use to without the Devil Bringer. He has a lot of the comic relief in the game because he doesn't take any of the bad guys seriously. But his moves are amazing. You get gauntlets of course and those are always the coolest. The pandora is amazing to. It's a box that can transform into four different weapons.
The only thing I thought was better in the 3rd one were the fights during the cut scenes. They are still awesome in this one, there just aren't as many as them.
So like I said get this game immediately. It's the first game I've bought in a long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Game

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Feb 21, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

12 out of 17 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This is an excellent game. It can be a pain to wait for the initial install as it takes about 20 minutes but the controls are crisp, the graphics are awesome, and the story is great. The new online accomplishments is a nice touch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

angelically crafted demons, looks good!

posted by BIGCATLUV (DETROIT, MI) Feb 13, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game is great. The load times are much faster if you go through with the one-timed 20-minute download process. The game doesn't freeze. Great epic story and character chemistry. Very convincing animations. Dazzling costumes and architecture. Lots of action. Devil May Cry 4 life! On the bad side, Nero is very emotional and cries a lot. I just want Dante to pop him in his head or something.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game kicks some serious BUTT!!!

posted by nosenugget (ARNOLD, MO) Jun 16, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is my first Devil May Cry game. I will definitely have to go back and play the rest. I just recently got my PS3 and I have to say that this is must have game for anyone. You cannot go wrong here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Like always...

posted by RIPCAT (COVINGTON, WA) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Devil May Cry 4 is yet another episode to the DMC series. DMC 4 has great graphics and game play, however, just like all the games in its series, there is the worst story plot in gaming history. All though the hack-n-slash game play is fun, you will be spending a lot of time laughing at how cruddy and random the story and voice overs are. All in all I would give this game an 8, mainly because of the awesome graphics, brutal combos, and some of the greatest boss fights I have ever faced.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Overrated

posted by Flogger (SOMERVILLE, MA) Jul 14, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

The graphics are very good, but the gameplay is boring. The moves/gameplay you learn in the 1st hour are the same moves you use for the rest of the game. There is no variation or growth, you can buy a few combos, that's it. It's a fairly long game, but only because you spend a lot of time lost running around trying to figure out what the heck you are supposed to do. It is a button masher with a pretty bad story line.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Beautifully boring.

posted by Schpenke (THE COLONY, TX) Mar 25, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

13 out of 26 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm a little confused as to the number of reviews that are ranking this game a 9+. Visually this game is an absolute playground, yes. The textures, lighting, atmosphere, and immersion experience are brilliant.

Game play, however, is downright boring. All of your slick demon-killing combinations basically consist of holding the right bumper, occasionally flicking the left analog, and then bashing the triangle button. There's absolutely no reason for a button-masher to get ratings this high with all the other excellent titles that are in the market.

This title is banking on name recognition alone, and name recognition isn't enough to make it a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Big Promiss, NO Delivery...

posted by JesterCGI (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 16, 2008

Member since Apr 2004

12 out of 24 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Sad to say... of the hundreds of games I've played in the last 5 years, this is near (if not at) the bottom.

Starts out with WAY too many cut scenes (it's a game, not a movie) and Way too easy. The fighting is repetitive and boring. The in-game upgrades befuddled and unnecessary. The load times reminiscent of an old Amiga and the enemy's all clones.

Then you get to a "Puzzle" that has no apparent thought needed, but a decent camera angle that's nowhere to be had.
Add to it the pitiful locked cameras that switch the direction your traveling at many points, sending you back out the door you just came in.

Really pathetic...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

All Hype

posted by MrYates (MANSFIELD, TX) Mar 26, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

9 out of 18 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This Game starts off with some killer Graphics and the best set of Combos any game of this genre has ever offered. As it begun I was hooked looking forward to unleashing the Devil Bringer and taking advantage of the arsenal of combos I had at my disposal. As the game progressed tho something horrible happened..... The scenery Never Changes and you find yourself trampling through the same rooms over and over and OVER again. Not only do you remain in the same locale but you fight the same bosses over and over and OVER again. The first part of this game gets a 8 review but the remainder back tracking gives this game a Blemish it never overrides. And switching to Dante really throws you off considering Nero is much more powerful and everything you do to build up your abilities is just washed away as you make the transition.
This game had plenty of potential but the developers just got lazy in bringing it together. I would recommend that this game be bought at a later date for a much lower price then its retailed at. I beat it, and returned it for a measly 18bucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Frustrating, bad camera angles, annoying gameplay

posted by Waldoman (CLACKAMAS, OR) Feb 15, 2008

Member since Feb 2005

9 out of 18 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is really pretty, and the music is fantastic. But the jump-puzzles using your "Devil Bringer" (a grappling hook type device) are HORRIBLE. The camera angles switch on you in flight, and if you fail in your run, you have to start all over ... the point where I decided I was sick of being frustrated and not having any fun was only in the 3rd mission. If you miss the run of grappling swings at all, or don't let go in time between swings, or the targeting system locks onto the wrong thing - you go tumbling down and have to fight your way out of room full of boring enemies again, before getting another shot at the sequence. I guess it's some sort of 'punishment,' but I play games to be entertained, not to be punished. It's too bad because the game is really beautiful, but I'm putting it back in the mailbox right now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring, Rehashed Material

posted by Funtimez (COLUMBUS, OH) Mar 2, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The graphics in the game look alright...but, I have definitely seen better. They are nothing that will make you fall out of your seat over. The game play is pretty bland..the main enemies are dirt easy...especially if you've played DMC 3. The first two bosses are rehashes of Cerberus from DMC3...the 4th boss...the angel I think...is a rehash of a mini-boss in the same game! I'm sorry...this just got boring and I had to send it back without even bothering to complete it..i became bored out of my mind. I'd give this game a rent at best...don't even think abt buying it though. You'll be definitely be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Made me cry

posted by jakeinbend (BEND, OR) Mar 31, 2008

Member since Dec 2004

14 out of 29 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

2 minutes to open gamefly envelope and put in PS3.
20 minutes to download and install additional files for game play.
20 minutes of boring cut scenes for story setup.
10 minutes of annoying tutorials.
20 minutes of actual game play, smashing the same three buttons.
3 minutes to eject and put back into gamefly envelope.
total: 1-Hour 15-minutes.

It took that much time to realize this game is over rated and over hyped. it reminded me of some of the really bad anime on saturday morning these days. that includes the campy lines and a ridiculous premise that is all over the place. maybe the story gets better later in the game but i couldn't get interested enough to want to find out. the monsters were forgettable. the fixed camera made things very predictable and did not allow for exploring the surroundings.

one the bright side, the graphics were nice.

i am normally easily impressed but this game really let me down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Really painful

posted by pablo631 (SIMSBURY, CT) Apr 6, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I don't usually write reviews but this game is really a total waste. This is my first experience with the Devil May Cry and absolutely my last. Here is a list of things I didn't like.

#1 - it took about 15 minutes to install the game ( all the really bad cut scenes I guess)
#2 - The really bad cut scenes. There are way too many. It seems like every minute of gameplay I have to sit through another minute or two of a cut scene. And the script in general... the teen angst attitude of the main character is freaking laughable.
#3 - the game play is way too easy. First time playing I didn't die for about 40 minutes. I'm really not that good. It was just really hard to die. The moves were very repetitive and got boring very quickly. So boring I had to return it after 1 day.

Don't waste your life with this garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Devil May Cry 4

posted by jzimmy (ELMWOOD, WI) Aug 8, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is not fun. The graphics are nice, and I like how you have infinite bullets, use of a sword, and can quick select who you want to fight. The stylish point system however, is a total turn off. Every monster you fight you need to fight stylishly to earn stupid points. I think if this game didn't grade you on how you kill the monsters, it would be a lot better. Also this game punishes you at certain points if you fail at solving a puzzles. It makes you fight the same dumb monsters. The mini games aren't fun either. You just keep fighting more monsters. Overall just a poor excuse for a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Gamer May Cry

posted by ravensnake (WEST HARTFORD, CT) Feb 8, 2008

Member since Oct 2004

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Hey I have beaten devil may cry 4 and i got the full review of this title. To start the review i will say for all u fans that want dante to be a playable character he is so dont worry. The next is what I like to wonder what game has ign, gamespot, and xplay been playing? the camera really isnt that bad actually in my opinion the camera is better in 4 than in 3 and the puzzles are actually easier for newcomers and are a bit difficult to keep the hardcore happy. The controls are a dream every thing has been worked flawlessly to the point u ask "where are the flaws of this game?" as i right this review i'm thinking of something that ruined my experience and I cant find anything wrong except for that its too perfect i couldnt stop playing but that aint a negative. bottom line buy this game dont waste ur time renting thats for noobs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

good graphics but not my type

posted by BLCKSH4RC (DICKINSON, ND) Mar 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

DMC 4 is the first DMC I've played. and my last it has good graphics but just cheap game play. Button mashing is a necessity all you do is hit buttons the whole time way to easy and none thrilling. Cheap one liners that get old after hearing them a hundred times. Not worth it. The only reason i didn't give this game a one is because it doesn't look horrible. It at least presents itself nicely.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ps3 dissappointment 101

posted by Cukumba (SPRINGFIELD, MO) May 11, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

graphics are crisp and attractive. but that is about it. this game was close to fun for about an hour. then i realized that it isnt really going to change.
basically, any game where your main button combo is triangle, triangle, triangle, triangle, triangle is not gonna hold interest for very long. i hung in there and beat it, but it didnt take very long. if you can keep mashing triangles for swordplay and circles for devil bringers, you too can beat this game. the bosses were visually cool, but couldnt fight very well. games like this look smooth but play bad. it is exactly what i was afraid of when i bought my ps3, that the system would rock, but the games just wouldnt deliver.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST ONE YET

posted by Bjf4108 (STATESVILLE, NC) Feb 7, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

dmc4 is the best one in the series. The game play is spot on and the graphics are pretty good as well. The story is pretty awesome. You play nero a half demon half human who is trying to kill Dante for the
Priest of their church. The dynamics of the game have changed with the introduction of the devil bringer. It is Nero's demonic hand that allows you way more combo attacks. You can grab someone from across the room with it throw them in the air with your sword then throw them to the ground with the devil bringer. Since it is the first next gen title in the series their is way more enemies and the bosses look spectacular. And the boss fights are so cool. They range from Dante to a giant toad to a fire demon with an awesome sword. Altogether this is the best in the series and one of the best next gen titles out. I recommend just Buy Devil May Cry 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Incredible graphics but too many cut scenes

posted by SJAM16 (HAINESPORT, NJ) Aug 25, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

First it took almost 30 min to pre-load 4 gig of data to the HD before I could even get to the start menu. Then there was a 2 minute or more intro movie. Once I was able to finally start the game there was a training session then then cut scenes. I've noticed more and more games having these long cut scenes that distract and take away from the game.

I want to play the game not watch a movie...the graphics though were stunning!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

devil made me cry review....!!!

posted by taildog (CINCINNATI, OH) Jun 12, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

totally wasn't what I expected. Beside from the fact that it took years to load, the gameplay wasn't all that great. glad to have rented it from gamefly, instead of making the mistake of buying it...still may be a great game for most, just not me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This is a great game but it lacks a few things

posted by skilled (RIVERSIDE, CA) Mar 8, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It has so much back tracking that it makes it a less than great game. You pretty much have to fight the same boss about 3 times to kill them. Though the story is great and it's not that difficult it still lacks that new material that is desperately needed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The game offers nothing but frustration....

posted by Gizagamer (EDEN PRAIRIE, MN) Jul 24, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Graphics: 2 out of 10
Game Play: 1 out of 10
Controls: 1 out of 10

This game has the worst camera views i have ever seen in any game. The story is some what interesting but the game play is horribly. The game took too long to load and the menus are not user friendly. The camera view (which help a look around for hidden items/places) does not work and upgrading is difficult. I played half way in to the game and gave up which I never ever do. The graphics are the best part of the game but still not something I haven't seen before. I recommend no one to rent or buy this game unless you like to get frustrated over horrible controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A better title: Devil Does Cry

posted by dateshuu (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Aug 31, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I didn't have high hopes. How do you improve on DMC3? That being said, I gave this one more than a fair chance.
Dante was one of the most awesome video game characters ever. (we all know that wasn't him in DMC2)
Virgil was even pretty cool.
But Nero... omg
First, gone is the fluid combat of DMC1 and 3. Nero fights slowly, you can't change weapons during combat... oh wait. There are no other weapons, unless you count the sword that gives you access to devil trigger.
And then there's the issue of Nero's "arm". This mechanic was so not needed, and so so broken. (Read: circle is now the I Win Button)
Speaking of not needed, his sword has an engine or something. It's not really explained all that well, and using it in combat is pretty much impossible until way later in the game.
Powering up your character is also not an easy feat. When you get 200 "proud souls" per stage (red orbs are only for buying items) and you need 5000 to get good abilities... you see where I'm going.
The first boss battle was pretty impressive. Boss battles had a good chance at being this game's saving grace. That is, until I realized their AI is broken and they're all dumb as a rock. Collectively, they total to one rock. One small, stupid rock.
And to top it all off, Nero is EMO.
Yep. He cries. Over a girl.
If this was not a Devil May Cry game, it might not suck so bad. I mean, I wouldn't have played "Emo Kid Kills Stuff Slowly" but if you're into that kind of thing, it'd be a solid game.
If I were forced to review EKKSS I'd give it a 7 since it's playable and visually awesome at times.
But since it is Devil May Cry 4, and I can't give it a negative score, I give it a 1.
Don't mess with perfection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

devil may cry 4

posted by nickdipao (CAMARILLO, CA) Jun 22, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game was to asian animated for me, i thought the sword fights were pretty lame and the story soft. it wasn't very fun. Lame

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse