Rent Devil May Cry 3 for PS2
view large frontback

Devil May Cry 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.8

2515 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

I like challenging games, but this is ridiculous!

posted by Tom123 (BREEZEWOOD, PA) Jun 16, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Now, i LOVE this DMC series, as far as story line and game play go, its probably my favorite game series ever, and DMC 3 didnt fail to deliver. A prequel to the first one, i think it was great getting to learn Dantes past. Lets start with the demon slayer himself. Dante is a perfect main character, a half demon, rocker like, bad AZZ, that has a black belt in AZZ-kicking-ness. Hes always been bad, but i think the young brash cocky Dante is even more so, and i think that adds more to him. The game play excellent. I think they made a really good move in the desicions to seperate Dantes special abilites, cuz it makes sense because Dante IS younger in this game. Plus getting to know Dantes brothr Virgil, was also a treat to DMC fans. Now this game was GREAT, but it wasnt just challenging, it was straigh up HARD! There were times were i literally threw down my controller and said "THIS GAME IS IMPOSSIBLE!" along with many other foul words. But i think if you master the game, get to the end, then its all worth it. The compelling story and great gameplay was enough for me to pick that controller back up and try again. If this game was JUST a tad less challenging, then i would of probably given it a ten. If you like DMC, play it. If you like uber-challenging games, play it. If youre easily set off, and like to just breeze through a game and get instant gratification, this game is probably not for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sweeeeeet

posted by zazazaza (BROADWAY, VA) May 6, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I myself used to own a ps2. But then i sold it for an xbox:) but i've played this game at my friends house and loved it. It is pretty difficult. Like when he couldn't get passed the first boss (after a day or two) i got 1 hit away from beating the boss my first try lol
but yes i recommend this game to any one who is willing to give it a try!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game. Could of used more savepoints.

posted by Steve0 (DORAL, FL) Mar 16, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Devil may cry 3 is without a doubt the best one so far in the series. But like everything, it has its defects. While the game has superb gameplay, graphics, and cinematics it greatly lacks save points. The game can be incredibly fun but at the same time very annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Second best PS2 game ever made!!

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) Jun 10, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

GAMPLAY: The GP in DMC3 is beyond awsome! Its perfect. There just sooo many moves to get and to upgrade and buy and u get tons of weapons and guns its just soooooo awsome! U can like hit yer opponent in the air with one weapon, hit them with that weapon and then quickly switch to another wapon and hit them and then switch back to the other weapon and then shot them and then come dowm with a slash!! Its just REALLY costomizable and u can even choose yer own style u want at the beginning of the level. Theres swordmaster, gunslinger, trickster and Royal Guard and then u get 2 other ones farthur in the game! Id have to say if u where picking a game and u wanted alot of action and combos, DMC3 is the game to get!
STORY: The story in DMC3 is good. Virgil teams up with a guy named Arkham to try to get this big evil building out of teh ground called teh Teminigru! It really has alot of twists to it and some stuff that u wont be expecting. Its really good compared to the stories in DMC1 and DMC2!
GRAPHICS: The graphics in DMC3 are really good and have that same DMC feeling to it that we have all come to love! The environments are all dark but they dont really give u a dreary feeling for some reason. It mabye the color contrst that they use or somthing but it looks gothic and it makes u not feel dreary either so it has a really good feel to it.
OVERALL: Buy this game if u love Action games becuz this game is THE ACTION GAME... its even better action game that GOW... YEAH.. THIS GAME IS SWEET!!
RATING:10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DEVIL MAY CRY ADVICE

posted by Icebird (BELLAIRE, TX) May 20, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

first thing you need to know is that this game is nearly impossible without a ton of orbs for upgrading weapons skills and having lots of health for hard bosses so on level 1 if you do this lot you'll get about 3-6 thousand orbs per this level and it only takes about 1 min and Navan the Boss is extremely hard on any setting easy-hard so buy about 13 blue orbs these will hurt a boss but most needed for Navan and virgil(Dante's brother) this will help you fly though the game this game is really fun if you don't play level 1 a million times for orbs. that is the only advice I have for you and start off on easy mode for the experience Bye

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A rare thing for me!

posted by Cloroxman0 (MILLERSVILLE, MD) Sep 1, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Let me just start by saying I flat out hated the first two games. The only reason I got them was because of the collection pack and I had official ran out of things to play. They were so hard that I had to go out ancually buy gameshark software just so I can finish the horrible story modes. But when I got to this one, I was like, WHY DIDN'T I START WITH THIS!!!! SERIOUSLY THIS WAS THE BEST ONE! I HAVEN'T PLAYED THE 4TH YET BUT I PLAN TOO, OUT OF RESPECT! IT'S WHY I EVEN CONSIDERED BUYING BAYONETTA! THAT'S HOW GOOD THIS GAME WAS! JUST RIDICULOUSLY AWESOME! AND HOW DARE THEY TRY TO REBOOT YOUR STYLE DANTE! YOU ARE THE PINOCHLE OF ANIME CLICHE'S AND BY GOD YOU SHOULD STAY THAT WAY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Devil May Cry game!

posted by Vegito (DULUTH, GA) Aug 14, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

My favorite Devil May Cry game at the moment, this series was redeemed with this game having moderate difficult enemies with fun (and yet not overpowered) upgradeable moves. The storyline is also very interesting and the music makes the game fast-paced and just plain fun. A+

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too difficult!

posted by Nriver (CLEVELAND, OH) Jan 12, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

First off let me say that I am only giving this game a five because of its ridiculous difficulty. While I think that this game has a great story line and plot and the gameplay is cool, this is an unbelieveably hard game! I have never in any game died on the first board, but with this game I died consistently. I died so many time on the first board alone (outside his shop) so much that they made the easy level available to me. Even on easy, I still have died too many times and can't seem to get past the fire and ice swords boss. This game is too hard and I consider myself to be a hardcore gamer. All I can say for those thinking about playing it is beware: this game causes frustration!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dante is back!

posted by dannap (REDDING, CA) Aug 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

Here is the Dante we all know and love! Sort of...
Obviously, the developers tried to go back to the formula that made Dante so likable in the first game, following the unwelcome change in personality from the second installment. Though it seems to me that they overdid it a bit...Dante is a bit of a dork; he communicates almost entirely in cheesy one-liners. Sometimes it's funny, and sometimes it's annoying...
This miner complaint aside, this game rocks! Gameplay is fun, challenging, and full of action! Graphics are spectacular. I especially enjoyed the cutscenes, which are very well done, and amount to about two hours total. This may sound excessive, but the quality is such that it adds to the experience rather than detracting from it. Several fantastic new weapons come into play, all of which may be upgraded throughout the game.
A few new characters are introduced; intriguing characters that are a welcome edition to the series. I especially liked Vergil, Dante's twin brother, who's grave and serious personality counters that of Dante perfectly.
I highly recommend Devil May Cry 3 to any action/adventure fan!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best videogame weapon ever.

posted by billsnizzl (NEW BRUNSWICK, NJ) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

You get a guitar that shoots lightning. Done and done.

PLAY THIS GAME LOL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by fanofdante (HEMET, CA) Nov 8, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

if I were you,I would rent 'devil may cry 3:dante's awakening-special edition', its a bit more easier and has the extras. otherwise, this is an awesome game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nice

posted by Kane777 (PLACENTIA, CA) Jun 2, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

When I played DMC2, I thought the story was over and I was pretty disappointed. But thanks to the prequel that DMC3 brings, you understand Dante better and see how he got the name of his store and all. This game is nice. I love sword fighting and this game just makes me love it more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Finally, a challenging but fair game.

posted by TuxBobble (EDISON, NJ) Apr 7, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

This is one of the games that makes you think back to being a young child and playing games that were near impossible to beat.

What? You never played those games as a child?

Well, you missed out. But regardless, this game is fantastic. If you like action games, and enjoy having extensive control of your character, this is a game for you. It is easy to start the game and learn some basic moves, but truly mastering the game takes some dedicated effort.

Beating this game with the best rankings will actually make you feel like you accomplished something. Finishing each level with style is rewarding, and earning all the skills and stances, along with leveling them up, offers you more moves to tailor your fighting style to yourself.

Giving many choices and challenge that is unparalleled in most modern games, Devil May Cry 3 is one of the best games I've ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Kinda disapointed

posted by Lemike523 (ASTORIA, NY) Mar 16, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

It just doesn't feel as good as the first and second one. The music in the 2nd one was soo cool the music in the 3rd one just feels like horrible metal wannabes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by blackhat (BEVERLY HILLS, CA) Aug 24, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

Dante's at it again. DMC 3 is an awesome mix of gunslinging and sword bashing
that you just dont want to miss. With amazingly animated environments and sweet
attacks and combos, after finishing this one you'll feel like you just stepped
off a roller coaster. Definately worth the rent, definately worth the buy.
Trust me, DMC 3 deserves your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

devil may cry 3

posted by hiiiii (harriman, NY) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

this game is basicly awesome with all the action and stuff. what i really liked was the 3d roaming thing of the game and all the action it has also liked all of the weapons you can get. so in the end the game comes out 2 be really great! =) =].

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »