Rent Devil May Cry 2 for PS2
view large frontback

Devil May Cry 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.9

975 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty fun, but too short and bad story.

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) Apr 26, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

GAMPLAY: I dont know what everyone is complaining about it being too easy! If you want it to be harder, just put it on Dante must Die mode or somthing!! Anyway, i though that DMC2 was pretty fun to play. There where alot of new moves and abilities to get, and there where these secret moves that i found out about that you can do with the shotgun. If you hit triangle once and then hit square, dante will do a cart-wheel shot with his shot gun. If you press triangle twice and then press square 3 times, dante will do the "fireworks" move like he does on DMC3 ( just not as long). Then if you press triangle 3 timesa nd pres square, dante will do this cool thing with the shotgun ( i forget what it does, but you should try it). So you see that there are many moves to get. But one bad thing is that the ONLY melee weapons you get are swords. You dont get any fire gauntlets or anything like on DMC1, but its still fun to get new swords with their own aspects and whatnot. One good thing is that you get alot of different guns. You get Ebony & Ivory, The shotgun, A missle launcher, and sub-machine guns ( which are really cool because they fire VERY fast!).
STORY: The story in DMC2 isnt so good though. Its really bland and uninteresting UNlike the first DMC where you wanted to see what happens next. On DMC2 you just really want to see what new enemies will come or what new weapons youll get. ALos, dante acts really.. dark and RARLY talks. It makes it seem like hes become some hardened warrior for no reason and makes you not like dante as much. ALso the game is too short! Its only like 10-15 hours long!
GRAHICS AND DESIGN: The graphics in DMC2 arent the best. I think the graphics in DMC1 may have been better! As for design, alot of the levels look the same and are all really dark and not detailed well at all. The enimes hardly ever fit the environment and the game just felt REALLY rushed!
OVERALL: Fun to play, but bad story and a rushed Design.
RATING: 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good Concept, Good Graphics, Horrible Controls

posted by WolfBrotha (MELBOURNE, FL) Mar 11, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The DMC series has a cult following and has since the first one and with the release of the fourth game in the series its predecessors are going to be getting a lot of attention. Unfortunately, this game isn't really worth it. The controls and camera angles in this game were so bad and the controls so non-responsive that it detracted from the overall likability of the game. The graphics were great, especially for the time when this game was released, but the story was sub par, and the secondary characters were undeveloped. If you're a DMC fan you should play through with Dante just to find out what his story is about, but don't waste your time on the second disk. Lucia is a terrible character and the extra little tidbits of info you glean from her story is not worth the effort.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not even remotely as good as the first!

posted by Krazoom (CHICAGO, IL) Jul 9, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is my first time playing this game series and I really enjoyed the first one but the second game did not live up to the first in the least bit. The controls were awful the story was not very compelling and it lost the chilling sound and scenery the first had. The first game seemed to be a semi horror but this one went full fledged action. I also didn't like how it seemed as if they cut budget on the item and power-up menu. I liked those options on the first game especially the music in the power-up menu! This game is OK but it's a downgrade from the first game. Hopefully the third game will be better and if not, there is always the fourth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Unbelievable

posted by gamezrme (EDGEWOOD, MD) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is very different from most games in it's genre. First of all, the game has more of a 3rd person view to it and you really don't feel like your the character. Second, you have magic bullets which you can upgrade and a sword. Plus you can do acrobatics everywhere like spiderman style flips and wallruns plus matrix style air shooting. Rent this game A.S.A.P because it is very cool and long. If you don't like amazing graphics, free roaming enviorments, and demon hunting in a realistic world of hacking, slashing, and pistol shooting this game is NOT for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game is cool

posted by Blockos (NEWPORT COAST, CA) Jul 14, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Has a sweet storyline and is a great action game. Get it if you have any good taste in games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

DEVIL DID CRY

posted by RATTLEHEAD (COLUMBUS, OH) Jul 25, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you have played the first game in this series then dont, i repeat DONT, DO NOT play this game it SUCKS!!!!!!!
If you havent played one of the greatest games of all time, Devil May Cry (the first one) and you played this game and think im being to crtical then play the first one and get off me!
The game play wasnt bad and the graphics werent bad either. In fact if this wasnt a Devil May Cry game then i would prolly have given it a 6 or 7. As it is the brain giants at capcom that put this game together should be kicked squarely in the nut really hard several times!! When the only thing you had to do to make a good sequeal to DMC 1 is make a new story line and add some new moves and weapons, maybe. And you screw it up then you deverve to have your title taken from you and living in the streets. SERIOUSLY all they had to do is throw Dante in there with some new swords and new levels and PRESTO youve got a good game dont screw around with the fighting style and dont screw around with the game play and dont screw around with anything else. When I played the first one I was a novice and I couldnt get past the first Shadow. I had to quit start all over and play it on easy to beat it. My 13 year old brother, whos only gamin experience is Pokemon and some Madden, beats this game in 1 day( by the way he still had me walk him through the first one and he was on easy) then you know your game is too easy. Im not saying they shouldve made it as hard as the first one but they didnt have to pussify it either.
So in a nutshell if you loved the first DMC like me then dont play this game!! If your looking for a decent game to kill a few, literally few hours on then go ahead. Personally like I said if i didnt play this game expectin more it prolly wouldve gotten a 7 not a 5!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

that swag game

posted by DONTAE18 Feb 28, 2013

i like cool game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Joke

posted by CreepingDeath29 (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 20, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This is what if they made DMC for the original PlayStation, decreased the gameplay and took a dump and that was the story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Way too easy

posted by ae55403 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jun 11, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I won an entire boss fight with my back turned to the screen. At one point, I just stood there and let two enemies attack me, and they just circled me for 30 seconds before one of them made a move. After that they circled me for another 10 seconds or so, before doing anything else. Top that off with getting the devil trigger and dozens of moves right out of the gate and viola! You have the worst game in the series. Most games aren't that easy on the "easy" setting. Heck, most games aren't easy on the "very easy" setting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Devil May Cry ever!

posted by Vegito (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 14, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This is the worst Devil May Cry game ever. The difficulty of this game is a joke, it is obvious that the developers merely made Dante have extremely flashy moves with little-to-no story at all for the sake of sales. There is no challenge in the game and by the end of the game you will be left feeling empty as everything in the game is obvious and cheesy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Wow really?

posted by tisokan (BLUFFTON, SC) May 18, 2010

Member since Jul 2006

I got this a long time ago and forgot to review. This game was the worst to come to our good friend Dante. The controls were horrible, the game was made to easy, and the story.... its pretty stolen if you think about it. It is almost just like the first one but shortened and not as creative. Also They took out the ability to buy new moves as much its mainly just update this weapon, and thats it. Rather play the first one so just skip this unless your the type that has to play all the games. That was the only reason I went through this whole game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

My review of Devil May Cry2 (dantes disc)

posted by onilink150 (KINGSVILLE, TX) Mar 10, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

I gave this game an 8 out of 10 because of its good combat system. I like the way the gameplay is. The story line does not follow from part 1 which too me i didnt like but its still ok. The grapics are good as well since they use like cinamatic movie cut scenes. The boss battles were all fun except for one boss they like overpowered. This game is worth playing to me but buying it im not so sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Where is the Dante we all know and love?

posted by dannap (REDDING, CA) Aug 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

If you like the first game, then you may be a bit disappointed....
The graphics and gameplay are basically the same as in the first, but something is...missing. The game is noticeably less challenging. Dante isn't his usual likable self anymore; he speaks rarely, and in monotone, with nothing interesting to say. The game introduces a new playable character, Lucia, though she seems somehow out of place. The story is boring, so much so that it can be hard to follow.
If you decide to skip this one, you won't be missing much...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

sad but its true

posted by Prolix1022 (CUTLER BAY, FL) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

overall the game sucks no story no nothing the gameplay wasnt much to it and if your really bored you can literally beat the game in two hours the game is to easy that all you need is your guns really and your done what a disappointment

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

devil may cry 2

posted by razors (GRAND CANE, LA) Aug 1, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

game is awesome until level 4 very hard to pass but worth trying out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Devil May Cry 2

posted by KatonRouka (WYLIE, TX) Jul 20, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Ok first of all. If you people are bored enough you can finish this game in one day. The game length was short and the storyline was so vague. The first game had more structure than this. I like the fighting. Good game if you wanna just waste time and kill stuff. There's really nothing worth working towards unless you want to unlock Trish. My opinion is buy the first game. Better way to spend your money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

camera problems

posted by abear68 (LEESBURG, GA) Jul 15, 2008

Member since May 2008

so far in the game the only thing i don't like is that you can not control the camera, or I could not found out how to control it, but that is the only thing i don't like. the story line is good action is none stop all together it is a very good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not what I was expecting

posted by Blyss7 (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 14, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

For a game that had such a strong (if somewhat frustrating) predecessor, this game was a HUGE disappointment.

The story in the first game was iffy at best - this one is nonexistent. There is no flow, no plot, it's just some loose dialogue thrown in for the loading times and in between Dante (and Lucia.... Wait Who the heck is Lucia again?) killing demons.

That's IT!!

Capcom is one of my favorite developers, but this was a major disappointment. I can only hope that 3 and 4 are better offerings.

John

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Devil May Cry 2

posted by mandyinsc (TRAVELERS REST, SC) Mar 7, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

I thought this game was very slow starting out. Graphics are not impressive. I thought the concept was interesting. I like the way the main character handles his weapons. Overall, I was not impressed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What happened Capcom?

posted by defrox336 (GEORGETOWN, KY) Feb 7, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

Wow! I just saw the previews for Devil May Cry 2, and they looked awesome. Let's just say I learned my lesson about renting games before I read the reviews. I will make a list of the ratings that this game should really deserve for their "innovative" efforts:
Graphics: Sucked
Gameplay: Sucked More
Challenge: Sucked even More
Duration: Sucked Hard

This list is true evidence(if you can call it that) to the fact that this game overall: Sucked.
I played the game for about 2 hours, and sent it back because I could not think of a game more boring and overall not at all challenging. Another reason I played for 2 hours is because the disc had messed up on me. See how bad this game is? Even the game doesn't want to play itself because it's not very confident in it's quality. Looks like the game guessed right! Take it from me. This game is not worth your time or money. Go ahead and rent it, but be prepared to send it back within a 2 day period.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Unsatisfying sequel

posted by BrickSide (BOWLING GREEN, OH) Sep 29, 2007

Member since May 2007

I was really looking forward to this. I had heard what it was like and how different it was, but I didn't care much as I was just excited to play as Dante and tear it up. Unfortunately, I didn't tear into much of anything.

Gameplay seems slower than in the other games. I had no problem chaining together attacks in DMC 1 and 3, but in this one I could just never get that flow going. It slowed the game down at times and made the actual combat tedius and boring.

The graphics are good, probably about the same as DMC 1. The voice acting isn't terrible but isn't great either. Dante barely talks, and it's just odd they made him that way in this game.

So is it fun? Ah, it can be. Many fans skipped this due to the developers taking steps back instead of forward. Luckily DMC 3 remedies a lot of the issues presented in DMC 2. If anything, I would suggest skipping this and playing the other DMC games. Or, if you are new to the series then go ahead and play DMC 2 first and then 1 and 3, just so you can see the true evolvement of the series so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This game is awful.

posted by PengCon (EUGENE, OR) Aug 21, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

Everything that made the original a hit is missing in this god-awful sequel. The wise-cracking Dante is now a mute, the story makes absolutely no sense, and the new character, Lucia, is boring to play as.

It is sad that the series took such a huge step backwards with this sequel. Luckily Devil May Cry 3 put the series back on track. Just pretend this one never happened.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

somethings new somethings old all good

posted by VGking (PUNTA GORDA, FL) Aug 7, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

well this game is almost the same game you played the first time but with the ablity to get amuletes to power up your devil trigger in this one you don't get any gontlets unlike the first one but the devil trigger is al more useful in this one, they give you the option to play as lycia after beating as dantie but the levels are practicly the same. the battle system is still repetive. the beserk mood wich can be activated by using a devil trigger when your life is in red. during this time you will be inveunlble, regemurate healt and be abile to fire balles of energy wich will do critecal harm, this can be a life saver in a hard boss fight

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »