Rent Deus Ex for PS2
view large frontback

Deus Ex

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.6

210 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty good FPS/RPG

posted by Bloodbane (TUCSON, AZ) Sep 4, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is a very good FPS with RPG elements mixed in. I like earning skill points and then spending them on different skills to enhance the game. The weapons (real heroes of an FPS) are awesome like the sniper rifle and my personal favorite the shotgun. The graphics are a little below standard but this came out when the PS2 was still fairly new and computer to console games rarely work in the graphics department. If you like FPSs or any combination of FPS and RPG then try this game out. It's difinitely fun to look for different ways to complete a mission (my opinion).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Fistful of Mediocre

posted by dasilodavi (WATERTOWN, MA) May 2, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I thought the PC version of Deus Ex was pretty good, and I had hopes for this one. What I got was a weak port of a game clearly hoping to cash in on the PC version's glory with minimal effort. Let me give a brief list of complaints:

Loading times are awful.

Graphics are sub par - especially for the PS2.

Controls are a nightmare. Precise aiming is very difficult, and navigating the menus is a thorough pain in the implants

Essentially there's nothing in this game that isn't given in a superior fashion on the PC. If you absolutely love first person shooters and can deal with flaws, Deus Ex has a neat story and some cool elements of play, like lock-picking and security cracking, but if you've played the PC version skip this thing like the plague.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Deus Ex

posted by BlkWolf (PORTLAND, ME) Apr 28, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Extremly great game til the crapy end. Lots of fun the frist time. You can't chage the story as much as I wanted, although it is a good story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the Classics of video game history.

posted by jgarbuz (FAR ROCKAWAY, NY) Feb 1, 2008

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The Deus Ex franchise is one of those greats that simply stand out from the pack, along with Half Life, Max Payne, Doom 3 and a handful of others which, if I were a college teacher of video game history, would be required playing in my class.

While the graphics may now be obsolescent, nonetheless it incorporates a sophisticated and gripping story line, as well as a fair amount of decent action to keep you totally immersed - unless interesting and gripping stories are of no interest to you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of my all-time favorite games! A classic!

posted by HrdcrGamr (HIGLEY, AZ) Jun 8, 2010

Member since May 2010

Deus Ex is one of those games that I keep going back to again and again. I must of played through the game 10x by now between the PS2 and PC versions and though graphics and enemy AI are definitely dated, it is still just as fun to play as the first time.

Deus Ex is a cyberpunk RPG/Shooter hybrid set in a future filled with conspiracy, human augmentation, and corporate manipulation. It looks like a shooter, but, it is a lot more story driven and you gain experience and skill points that you can put into different abilities and skills like an RPG. It was also one of the first games that gave the player a lot of different ways to complete each mission or progress the story.

You play as an augmented agent, so you have the choice to gain a lot of different abilities. Though it is up to you to decide which ability you get. Do you want to run incredibly fast or incredibly silent. Jump high or be able to lift heavy objects. It is up to you and the fact that you can only choose one ability for each body part makes each playthrough feel different.

On a sidenote, I have noticed that the PS2 version gets a lot of flack from the hardcore PC players. But, truthfully, the only real difference between the PS2 and PC versions is that the PS2 version has more load times because the areas in the PC version are split up into 3-5 smaller areas. Also, the inventory system is a bit different in the PS2 version(Which I personally prefer). And the PS2 version has a better intro and has remixed title screen music. The game even supports USB keyboard and mouse support if that is your thing.

Pros:

Great Cyberpunk story/setting
Many ways to complete each mission
Fully voice acted
Augmentations are a lot of fun
Gameplay still lives up to this day
Epic Music
Voice acting is so bad it is good

Cons:

Load times are frequent
Graphics haven't aged too well

I highly recommend Deus Ex! It is a classic and there is a reason some people consider it one of the best games ever made!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ouch... taking a step back to Duke Nukem

posted by Zlash99 (AURORA, CO) May 9, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

Well, the graphics right off (even for a early PS2 game) were not even acceptable, they are subpar at best.

Next the dialog is dry and uninteresting at best. There is no real chance to get under anyones skin and see who the character is because of the monotone voice acting.

The storyline, though cool and interesting, lacks the severe ability to deliever a finishing blow in the end... any title that does that (Jericho anyone?) is an instant fail.

The menus hold far to many sub menus to filter through quickly and easily. Many of the weapons have several different ammo type, which is cool, but frustrating to get to after you have to bring up a menu and push down down down down over up up, ect. to select it. Not a very friendly interface. By the way, most the augments (which all fail miserably for interface reason like the weapons menu) are usually useless or only good for specific situations... not a great addition to the game in terms of building layers for unique character developement.

Next problem I had, load times... loading.... loading... loading... oh wait for it... loading. Any movement which cause a change of scenery more than a few hundred yards in front of the character caused a 30sec-1min load screen. Nuff said.

All in all, I really hope the PC version every raved about is great because this one certainly misses the mark in the realm of FPS/RPGs. Sure its a cult classic on the PC but this one is definitely a pass.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game but graphics suck

posted by JAMESJSC42 (BELLEVUE, WA) Aug 17, 2006

Member since Jul 2004

as i said good game bad graphics lots of cool weapons unlike the new version of the game they all use different ammo and it's pretty specific about weapons that you can and cannot use more importantly the bio modifications suck they aren't as cool as that used in the invisible wars version

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »